(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi alyy,

I am indeed sad to hear the news. At least you have one healthy gal now whereas there are many people who have failed so many attempts in IVF and they are childless. You can always try again but in my 2-cent rupiah opinion, seek a chinese physician and build up ya body for at least a few months before ya next IVF ok? I spent a mini fortune to build up my body by taking expensive pine bark anti-oxidants, royal jellies and visit the chinese sinseh regularly a few months before my ivf. Hope to hear from ya good news!

hi kite

I think Yomeishu has Danggui too as it is a herbal wine. You can always seek opinion at the medical hall. Little bit of dang gui never mind but still better avoid. Avoid alcholic stuff as much as possible too. Seek more opinions before you embark on those stronger herbs. hee hee
Better be save than sorry eh?

Anmum1 choco is nice,it is not as thick as those HL choco milk. I used to take vanilla HL milk. Anmum1 is not heaty. So far I did not see small tin of anumum1, I think it comes in one size

hi kite
think anmum1 is not heaty but can cause loose tools if u followin the recommended dosage. I got lau sai after drinkin the recommended amt for straight 3 days. so juz reduce the dosage 1st.. then increase later

Hi Lilfeets,
Oh ok... If you think it's ok, then should be fine

Hi Pebbles,
Yap... my gynae adviced me no dang gui and no ba zhen too..

Hi Alyy,
Hugs hugs... I am lost for words. Do take good care of your health
Stress is no good for our fertility...

hi kite

Also remember not to buy those packet BA KU TEH as most contain some herbs we should avoid. There is another packaging for pregnant women to drink as they dun use those strong herbs.

Hi lyn,

I jus had my simple soup which comprises of cai xin, fishballs and one cut tomato.
I normally eat this with meesua or rice. Very sian to eat outside every day.

Hi Alyy,
I think pebbles is right. Do build up your health
. I spent quite a bit to get my health better after my second miscarriage. I do think a healthy body is vital for a pregnancy.

Dor,
Do you have lactose intolerance?

Hi Ryue,

My gynae also, everything also can eat. Only raw food cannot eat. Anything cooked is ok to him.

Chrysanthemum in moderation is ok lah. My mum also said ok and my mil also said ok
Dun drink everyday lah :p it comes to a stage where i have headache and then vomit like crazy. Can't help it liao too heaty. And i think as our temperature shoots up further, the situation will worsen.

I am also not cutting my hair. I have had short hair for so many years. Until last year then my hair is long. I even had it permed.

Hi Kite,

I dun think lotus root is liang. I drink so much yet get heaty haha! i only try to avoid bittergourd and old melon soup.

I personally think powdered milk is always better as it is purer. But then, powdered milk can be very heaty. So i may say anmum1 may cause heatiness. U know my hubby can't drink milk powder? Once he drink for few days, he gets heaty. For me, i think i get used to milk powder already since i have been taking it for 20+ years haha...

I also bought a small tin of anmum to try. i dunno nice or not so i dun dare to buy a big tin. But turns out the taste quite rich
if u can accept the taste of milk powder, anmum is ok for u

Dun worry, the gynae will guide us along. At the right time, they will want certain tests and scans to be done
I dun go and question my gynae on what's for me next lor, i am confident of him
as long as everything's smooth.

Btw, chicken essence should be fine as some ladies have mentioned before

Just wondering.. if u take yomeishu, will it be too heaty for u? Because it is extremely bu!

i also read that hot dogs should be avoided. I dun have love for hot dogs so no problem for me haha.. but then i took ham in my 1st trimester before. That was one occasion only. After that no more. i didn't know cannot take ham, but i guess since cannot take hot dogs, maybe ham also out. So i dun take ham anymore.

Hi Lyn,

I love the taste of gou qi too!! Before pregnancy, my breakfast is always a cup of milk with quaker cereals with huai shan powder with gou qi and wu gu powder. Nutritious ya? Haha.. but now cannot liao, because seems like i take milk in early morning i will vomit

My pregnant colleague so marvellous on saturday! When we were at buffet lunch, saw her eating preserved veg, and basically anything displayed there. Fruits, she also take payaya, pineapple and watermelon. Makes me wonder whether we can basically eat everything in 3rd trimester haha. She say ever since 1st trimester, she eat everything in moderation. As she is those type who eat and vomit, she can't afford to be selective.

Hi kk,
I was just thinking about you.. how come you are so busy today? kekeke...
Wah.. really nutritious! wah... where do you get the huai shan powder with gou qi and wu gu powder? I only have wu gu mi... never tasted wu gu powder though. Sometimes I take black sesame seed paste
but not very often...

Hi pebbles,

yest i cooked potato, fishballa n tomato soup too, and i dont include carrots cos heard carrots not to be taken too much. Initially i love ABC soup w big onions, potatos, carrots n tomatos. not sure can eat onions now anot.

Hi Lyn,

Sigh, schools always have meetings at the end of the year haha.. i just came home from one meeting called the SEM (School Excellence Model) meeting. Luckily end early! Else i dunno when my headache will fu fa! i am still doing some work now. Some work that always need to be done at this time of the year.

Oh, huai shan powder.. i think my mum got those pieces of huai shan and then ask the medicine hall to crush into powder lor. wu gu powder can buy in packets from those chinese shops at bugis. I think it is fu lu shou centre. Actually taste very nice and highly nutritious
I heard good to control diabetes.

I love black sesame seed paste too. But very often they are very sweet leh.

Hi Kite,

I am still taking onions. Aiyoh, what is potato soup without onions? haha.. not nice anymore! I still put carrots but i dun eat too much.

Hi Lyn,

Are u the one who mention pumpkin soup? Pumpkins are highly nutritious and i like to stir fry them because they are simply delicious! I stir fry them with minced meat

i heard pumpkins can curb diabetes too.

Is it ok to take corn? I love corn soup a lot! And i buy maize to cook soup with carrots. Sweet and delicious. Yummy!

Tonite also steaming tofu and also stir fry minced meat with sea cucumbers

Now i dun like to eat out. Dunno what to get from outside. Contains so much MSG and also, limited varieties.

I love maize soup w carrots too, use pork ribs to boil this soup and put some red dates, yummy

Normally i boil soup, i wil use slow cooker or either use normal pot to boil for 2 to 3 hrs under low heat, soup turns out nicer n tastier.

Hi Kite,

Yah rite! Normally i will use normal pot to boil. Own boiled soups are always better than those sold outside. The soups outside always taste "artificial". They dun bring out the fragrance and tastiness of the ingredients used.

kk,
I get the black sesame paste without sugar one. I dunno how to boil black sesame paste myself yet.. kekeke.. so I buy instant ones.
Yes, pumpkin is very good
My new found favourite soup... kekeke...

hi kite....

this threads moves too fast..today shd be 9weeks3days...hope it will get better soon...jus vomitted my bee hoon out...now hungry but dun koe wat to eat..abit scared leh...

is it ok for pregnant women to go reborning of hair.

i went to see my gyna last week and did a scaning and when my gyna say see that is the heart beat of the bb ..my silly husband can ans him have meh how cum i can not see...until my gyna buay tahan have to do a close up again and my hubby was saw my bb was kicking inside...

Hi Pebbles

Am new in this discussion thread. Can I take Anmum 1 now that I am 8.5wks? Gynae had advised no nd to drink milk until 2nd trimester.

i think not advisable to dye/highlight or rebond ur hair.

Btw sometimes when i dunno what to cook, i wil cook japanese noodles w seaweed chicken n pickled w some seaweed. Or even i will steam chawamushi (japanese egg custard). yummy.

volf20,

It is ok to start drinking it now . i aready started to dink it on my 5week of prgnancy.. it is really very good for you and your bb... ur bb bones will be very very strong when she or he is born...trust me...coz my princess is very very strong.

Thanks KK & Mother of a Princess for the tips!

Maybe I will try it out.

MS is so scary. Just thinking of it makes me scared and wanna puke.

Hi kk,
oh wat did u hv just now? hope u feel better.
well chawamushi very easy to do.
Pour an egg onto a bowl, dun use spoon to beat e egg, use spoon to do zip zap motion and remove any other bubbles formed around e egg.
Add 1 tablespoon of japanese light soy sauce and 3 to 4 tablespoons of plain water. u can add crabmeat and mushroom into the mixture and stir gently and pour mixture into a cup and steam it under low heat about 10 to 15mins until cooked.

I think i need to start cooking again. All these talk of home cooked dishes is making my mouth water. Just so tired by the time I get home, no mood to cook at all. *sigh* I would be delighted if anyone makes me a bowl of meesua homecooked at all! so sad.....

Re : What food can take, what food can't
Ok, ok.. there's seems to be alot of confusion here on what to take n what not. alot of things that can be taken at 3rd n 2nd trimester may not be suitable for the 1st. essentially always remember the 1st trimester is the developing stage, the fetus are developing from a ball of cells to grow into diff impt organs. so at this stage feed the fetus carefully with good nutrients. u dun want to jeopadise anything at this stage. This applies the same to medications. best to avoid all medicines now.
at 2nd trimester, most of the vital organs has already been developed but still some are developing. still take cautions.
At 3rd, baby is essentially putting on meat, that's when mothers start taking all those durian n coconut stuff. that's why mothers at 3rd trimester seems to be more liberal with their food.
Also, at 1st trimester, any illness like food poisoning (like raw food) may have n effect on the developing fetus. imagine the a ball of cells fighting against the infection versus one that already has hands n legs, who do u think has a better chance to survive?

Re: All kinds of alcohol during preg
AVOID!!!!! Studies have shown certain amts of alcohol DO have an effect on the brain development of the unborn child. how much, they dunno. u want to take the risk?

kite,
Hotdogs are the same as ham. they contain preservatives n lots of salt. n at the way u describe, sounds a bit too much for one sitting. try to keep to one hotdog per day n dun take it everyday.

re: milk for mothers
in case any mummies are piling on the milk now for the extra calcium n still worried abt weight. one can actually start taking extra calcium from the 2nd trimester. like what i say, 1st is only for developing, the baby needs micronutrients like folic acid n vitamins. the bones n meat part only start from 2nd, taking extra calories n milk can start from 2nd trimester.

re: rebonding hair
Same thing, dun do all this threatening things now. if die, die must do something, pls wait when everything more settled. better still, dun add in all these chemicals, we really dunno whether the baby will be affected n no drs will be able to answer either.

wow alot of food discussion... makes me hungry.
Lunch came out.

#2 bb not so lucky... eating instant noodles w/ porkfloss mainly. sigh. #1 quite a handful lah.

now feel like ordering PIZZA.

b2b3m4

Hmm.. My gyne told me OTC medication are ok when taken in first trimester occasionally. I guess what he means to say it's ok to take mild OTC medicaiton but it should not last for more than a week.

Can I be so bold as to ask where you found this infor from? I read some pregnancy books on the need to eat nutriously not just for baby but also to keep mother in pink of health. perhaps more critical to keep away from radiation or severe medication that may affect growth. Hence, don't self medicate.

In my child development course while doing my psy degree, alcohol does affect development of babies. I mean if it kills brian cells in adults, of course the damage is to infants as well. This is not to bar all from having any alcohol but to really limit one's intake. In many culture in the ancient days where water is hard to find, people drink wine and their babies are fine. Of course EXCESS of a glass per day consistently will have sever effect on the unborn child. Keyword is EXCESS DOSE. In short - a lot of moderation - common sense.

My boss gave an advice- Don't see pregnancy as a disease. Behave as you would with more care (bigger size and all) and not live like there's no tomorrow and one will be fine. If you don't have an extreme lifestyle to start off with, you have nothing to worry about.

I feel learning to enjoy your babies and your pregnancy is important rather than worrying about all little issues. I know our babies are precious to us but what good is it if all we remember is how much we have to watch what we eat, what we do, constantly worrying about everything. Trying everything everyone says. Think it will stress one out.

For christians - Trust God and the wisdom he gives you and you and your babies will be fine.

My two cents worth =)

wow u all make me mouth watery, now feel like eating hainanese chicken rice but since pregnant til now, i hvnt been eating that. scare too oily.

me too wkdays after work, i seldom cook cos too tired. probably can use slow cooker to boil soup n after work, when u come bk u wil hv soup to drink.

as for cooking, i wil oni cook on wkends. really no energy by e time i reached home after work (wkdays).

alyy...

*hugz* pls really take care of yourself and be too sad. I always understand the pain of subfertility cos i conceive my first son thru so-iui too and had a m/c with clomid after many years of ttc too. But hold fast to your faith, eventually it will happen. do take care and share your grief with someone ....

medusa,

ya lor.... normally bb2 dun receive as much attention as the first one hehehe

Hi Kite,

So for chawanmushi, when u say zig zag motion, means that the yolk may not be totally mixed with the white? Or they will mix eventually?

Thanks for sharing!!

I vomited the second time after catching a short 15 min nap

Kite: wow, how do you cook your jap noodles? I love jap noodles. i read that seaweed is good for pregnant women too.

KK: understand how you feel. Was puking the whole morning, and now i'm so tired I just want the day to end and for me to go back home to rest !!

Angeline: I'm abt 9 weeks, 4 days too !

Does anyone know where to buy those peanut soup/black seasami paste ? Ie, the ready made from hawker center sort ?
I had sudden craving for that on Sat but my friends and I didn't know where to go to get that !!

Lilfeets,
This is from a medical journal publish around 2 years ago. drs have found that any amt of alcohol will have an effect, just that we dunno how much. in fact it make it to the news when i was preg with my 1st one n i felt pretty bad abt consuming some.
it maybe true that it will not have a so much of a detrimental effect until the child becomes a retarded, but it definitely DO has an effect. meaning the child could have been smarter.
I'm just sharing what i have learnt from my previous pregnancy as well as my profession allows. mummies can take it or leave it. But i truely meant it for the good of all mummies.

Hi kk,
mix evenly together.

Hi k ong,
its very simple. u can buy any types of jap noodles, soba, udon n etc and cook as usual like maggie mee and add jap light soy sauce (go for e better one, dun buy those w msg), 1 bottle abt $5. Then u can add seaweed in packet (from ntuc) and add whatever meat u want. for me i add seaweed chicken n crabstick. but crabstick considered processed food cos maybe add some natural food.

Hi B2B3M4,
wow so scary if consume alcohol. I oni consume twice during my pregnancy which is one during family dinner we hv drunken prawns (oops is that alrite) and dang gui which my MIL prepares. Consider contains alcohol? Other than that, never consume. Will my bb be okie?

Does anyone encounter this...i am on mc for 3 weeks coz of spotting ..so gyna want me to stay hme.. and i just recive a call from office and a stupid old women "tong shi" called me and asked me why i mc for so long and i told her what happen and she said y u never go hospital to check and what do my gyna mean by rest?? Rest for how long then called rest and she sayed there must be a cut off line what???? I am so angry... when i told her that i am pregnant ...she go the cheek to say " you pregnant at the wrong time" Bloody hell what did i do wrong????? Sorry for so long post cause i really got no where else to pour out my xin suan.

My two cents worth on foods to eat/aviod during pregnancy:
Alcohol consumption
If it's used in cooking, the alcohol content will evaporate during cooking, leaving only the flavour and not the alcohol. So no worries abt it, but you may wish to aviod desserts like tiramisu cuz the biscuit fingers are soaked in wine.
Also, my friend's gynae "allowed" her one glass of wine over the Xmas celebrations. :) I'll be sure to check with my gynae when I next visit her!

Motherofaprincess:
Take it easy, i think as a woman, we are expected to fill so many roles, at work, at home, as mum, etc ... we can only do what we can, and there's no point "pushing" it. I think you sld ignore her and take good care of your health and of your bb :)

kite: thanks ! so u buy the dried packet issit ?
which brand if you dont mind me asking ?
yum yum, i'm hungry thinking of dinner already !

b2b3m4

Thanks for the clarification. Mosy people do things wiht the best of intentions.I mean no harm. Just wondering cause I read many books which states that if you do consume a little once in awhile, it's fine. Of course it's best to avoid consuming raw alcohol altogether. you know how anxious first time mummies so if they had some, it sends them into guilt trips or worry frenzie. =)

Mother of a princess

Don't get angry over such people. They are just busy bodies. You don't need to explain anything. You are covered medically. I will just say i'm not well. Anger not good for your babies. There will always be some people like that. That's why i don't tell peole in my office I'm pregnant except my Boss. Let them be..... =) Most important is that your precious one is stable and well.

dear alyy
im sorry and sad to hear. this must have caused you a lot of pain and misery. i also agree that ttc zaps out all your energy, time and money. i also have personal experience with that. its an arduous journey. i suggest you take care of your health first for now. maybe you can go to a sinseh. thats what i did for 6 months before i could conceive. im sure you will conceive again. its just a matter of time. let me know if you wanna have the contact of the chinese sinseh. May God be with you.

dear b2b3m4
agree with you that more care on food intake esp on 1st trimester. but i think even a little of alcohol wouldnt harm lah. my gynae gave me 2 doses of steriod injection when i had hives at week 9. i was worried sick cause initially i didnt know it was steriods. but he kept reassuring me that the low doses wouldnt do any harm to the baby. so i dont suppose a bit of alcohol or hotdogs would be that bad.

dear motherofaprincess,
i think your colleague is really ridiculous! must be a man? or some not married women? i think she/he shld have been more humane. but calm down dear, getting upset not good for your health. so has your spotting stopped already?

dear mother of a princess
oic.. i figured she must be some old woman. but she has a kid and she should understand mah..never mind lah.. you had a valid reason to stay at home, so dont worry.

glad that your spotting had stopped. you rest well and dont move around too much

Mother of a Princess,

Try to ignore her. She is being plain selfish and inconsiderate. Not that you want to spot even. I spotted twice, and my doc made me stay in bed for 2 wks too. This is a must to stabilise the baby.

Try to zen out - I know it is difficult. She is not worth your baby and your sanity. This type of woman - will get their just retribution one.

Hi kk,
I will add red dates and gou qi to the pumpkin soup
You are in your 2nd trimester already rite? What did you eat to cause you to vomit? Take care ah...

Hi MotherOfAPrincess,
I think it's not advisable to rebond your hair.
Do have a good rest
Your colleague could have been very stressed up in work at the time she called. It could be some "qi hua" that she will regret for saying.
When women are stressed up, we tend to say a lot of things we shouldn't have said... :p

Hi b2b3m4,
Thanks for the advice. I think I will certainly avoid alcohol. keke... Not going to take any risk, especially it will affect the brain development of baby. I have read articles on that too. When I go for wedding dinners, I dare not even touch any alcohol. Not even a sip.
I want a smarter baby

Do you take titbits? I know they contain lots of salt, sugar and preservatives, but sometimes cannot resist the temptation... :p
Is raw salad ok? My gynae told me to eat salad at home and wash the vegetables thoroughly.

Hi Lilfeets,
I think there's no harm in confirming again with gynae about the OTC medications even in the first trimester. It's better to be safe than sorry...

<center>
335023.gif
<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 2006 mums-to-be</font></font>
335024.gif

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>07/06/06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>09/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>CT Yeong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>mid-June</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>icy</TD><TD>29/06/06</TD><TD>SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Arieslim</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>SM Chua</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milim</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoep</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>21/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~</td></tr></table></center>

Anyone else want to be included in the list? Anyone wanna edit the information? Do let me know... So the table will look more complete