(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hey ryue

woh.. we r hvin the same EDD. hiak hiak. but i will b at Mt A so we cant share the same ward. haha. I m changin my gynae but hv yet to see him. Only this Fri I will hv my 1st visit w this new one. Henry Cheng at MtE/ MtA. I thnk the NT scan will b done in wk 16 or so. will chk w him again. i cant wait to see my bb again...

Hi ryue,
I read that hotdogs are not good for baby's brain development. I also think ham is no good cos lots of preservatives and salt like hotdogs. So I am a bit KS, and I avoid taking them
What about the cheese? Is it cannot eat becos of bacteria? I only know cannot eat those softcheese cos might have bacteria. I thought cooked cheese is fine cos those on pizza are mostly cheddar. I love pizzas now... Jialat... I love the cheese and the tomato paste... kekeke...

Hi Dor,
hmmm... mushrooms with gou qi... Sounds interesting... How to cook? What type of mushrooms? What other ingredients? kekeke.. maybe I will try when I get bored of the lotus root soup... hahaha.. I just remembered, yesterday I also drank lotus root soup boiled by my MIL. After my first m/c, I drank lotus root soup daily for 2 weeks and still not tired of it... kekeke...

ryue,
If I were you, I will not take. Cos I am avoiding seafood too
. The sea is polluted with mercury now...

kite,
What about butter and sugarless jam?
Oh lotus root no good ah? alamak... k, I will ask my gynae when I see him next...

Last nite I was asking my hubby if we wanna go for down syndrome test. I dun really wanna go for it

my goodness... you ladies are really "on" on this forum!

Lyn - i think you should cut back on Ham etc cause these are processed food with high level of salt and fat. Not much nutrients to boot as well.

Ryue - does Clarins have stretch mark cream. I went there two weeks ago and they only have the oil which I bought. Quite expensive. About $70++ per bottle. No cream though.

I had some chrysanthemum tea yesterday cause very heaty already. Weather is so hot these days. Thank God for air conditioning.

All - So excited to hear your report. I can't wait to know the sex of my babies but I have to wait quite awhile.

Need to get new clothes but they are so expensive and much too big for me now. I'm only about 7-8 weeks but not fititng into work clothes already. *sigh* Any recommendation for good and cheap maternity clothes?

dear kite
aiyo.. im also at a lost what to have for breakfast. i love peanut butter, but i heard peanut can cause asthma allergies in babies, so i refrain. then i changed to ham, and then now cant take ham.

why suddenly change gynae leh? you dont like your previous one? oh.. i know Henry Cheng. my Aunty is seeing his wife, also a gynae. Henry Cheng also does fertility and if im not wrong, has a clinic at Bishan right? I thought Henry Cheng has a clinic at Gleneagles? I didnt know he had moved. NT scan only at week 16? my gynae said can check by week 12. maybe clearer pic by Week 16. i also cant wait to see my bb again. the waits in between the scans are horrible. i dont think i can stand waiting for a month. maybe i request to see him bi-weekly. heehee.. i feel better knowing that my bb is fine.

B2B3M4, u take care. Hope u'll feeling better. I fell down yesterday, then tripped like 3-4 times after that. Think feeling weak and unwell that's why. Don't worry think everything is okay. U better rest well too.

Hi Lilfeets,
I dun take ham nor hotdogs already. Even when I ordered hawaiian pizza, I will pick out all the ham.
These processed food will worse endo and fibroids too... So I dun take them for quite some time already. And dun take anymore when preggie for the sake of baby

Hi ryue,
Now your gynae visit is once a month already? I still gotta see gynae fortnightly... Getting a bit expensive...

Oh hmm now i hv to scratch my head liao. probably wil buy margarine (dun like jam) n spread onto bread n eat it w HL milk. something lighter in tis way.

Hi ryue & lyn,
how long hv u been eating ham w bread? i have been eating since last week hope it wont harm bb. very scare.

dear lifeets
yes, the clarins one is actually anti stretch mark cream. but i would like to consult with my gynae before i use it. if he say is a waste of money, i wouldnt buy it. but chances are that he would say that you can try, but not sure if it'd work.

i also think those maternity clothes are too big for me even though i already 11+ weeks. i still can fit into some of my jacket suits, but my stomach buldges out like as it i had gained a lot of weight.

Hi Emily,
If you are not well, better stay at home and rest more

My hubby dun allow me to go out alone too often already... Cos sometimes I get dizzy and faint spells...

kite, some soup ideas for you. What abt watercess soup? Peanut soup, black bean soup, yong tau foo soup, chicken soup, black chicken soup, fish soup, etc etc???

Hi lyn,
so will it harm e bb if i started to take 1 wk ago?
hi emily,
heard that watercess soup is liang one? just that melon soup (tong gua).

Kite...
What about oatmeal for breakfast? Do you like oatmeal? hee... I started to have craving for quacker oatmeal
So I just took it for breakfast
I just add a little bit of brown sugar
Now I changed my sugar to unrefined sugar also...

hi lyn,
those oatmeal in tin one? eh long time never eat since when i was young, abit blur. wat brand to recommend?
quacker oatmeal? can add milk instead of sugar?

Hi kite and emily - heard that too much watercrass actaully increase chances of getting UTI .. Not sure how true but be careful..... Preggies then to be prone for this.

Don't feel like eating these days. Just feel sick and no apetitide to eat at all. *sigh* Feel like I'm force feeding myself to make sure my babies are fed.

Ryue - I have dry skin so i htought better go get some oil/cream for tummy since Ihave twins so skin willbe stretched alot more. Anyways, dry skin will be itchy so take it as mosturising my skin! hahahaha

Any one can stomach fish? I can't seem to stand the smell of pork, fish etc...

Hi kite,
I bought the packet one
There are many brands of oatmeal out there. I love quacker one
. You can add milk if you wan. I just add water and a teaspoon of brown sugar

Hi Lilfeets,
I cannot stand the smell of fish when in my mouth... Yesterday my MIL cooked stir fry sliced fish. I thought I can eat. But I cannot stand the taste after one bite.

Hi Lilfeets,
me too like u, always like feeling sick everyday. No appetite to eat too, even i drink plain water, can feel full and want to vomit. I love pork and fish but recently i cant stand the smell, like very raw, i asked my hubby and he said no leh. hehe we too sensitive liao esp pregnancy.

Hi lyn,
okie tks. add condensed milk shall be okie rite?

lyn, yeah I am quite bad / naughty actually. Will do things that I normally do.

Like yesterday, fell in toilet while I was bathing with my son. Luckily he was okay. Then today, I was shifting chairs in the office... just pushing them only. About 15-20 of them until I started having sharp pains in my tummy. Then I sat down and stopped. Now a little worried, but should be okay.

Yesterday, tripped and nearly fell down the bus while alighting. My husband was carrying my son and gave me the angry look after that. :p Can't imagine if it really happened so pai say. Then after that trip in pasa malam a few times somemore. Luckily my sis caught hold of me in time or else I would have fallen.
Think maybe all these are due to centre of balance off now that I am preg???

Hi kite,
When I was cutting vege just now, I suddenly thought what soup to drink already... Pumpkin soup...
kekeke... unless someone tells me cannot lor... Last time I tried, pumpkin, red dates, gou qi, and "bai kut".. taste very nice...

Hi Emily,
Take good care

Hi Emily,
Going back to work tmr. This is the 10,11 week, hopefully all those MS problems will go off soon. Can't go on feeling this way in my job.

Re : Is ham, hotdog n cheese harmful?
Ham n cheese r processed food with lots of salt n preservatives. Usually not recommended to take esp if one experiences water retention, the salt will make it worse. the same applies to salted veges, pickles, plums etc. They won't kill the fetus but its best to take fresh food now.
As for cheese, they r ok except those with live mould like blue cheese n the soft cheeses. Therefore, cheddar, morazella (hard cheeses) r fine.

lilfeets,
i can't take fish too, that includes scallops n prawns, esp if they r steamed. i'm only into carbo, veges n fruits. recently i tried fish in ketchup, wasn't too bad, can still stomach it but fish curry is out.

Re: Oatmeal for breakfast
I got those quarker oats in 3-in-1 packs. more convenient, can make it in the office when i feel hungry or faint. Dun buy those other brands like "super", think its too sweet n contains more sugar n creamer than oats.

any mummies always have this bitter taste feeling on their tongue??
I'm not sure whether its bcos of the medications i'm taking or pregnancy. every now n then, i will have this very bitter taste n everything i eat will be off. anyone with problems like that?

aiyoh emily,
why u so lun zhui??? better be more careful, dun think the centre of gravity has shifted. i believe its more of those giddy spells, see stars thingy that comes n goes. u take care!!!

Are u still breastfeeding Ethan?

lyn,
u have lots of ideas for soup hor??? The pumpkin soup u mentioned, u remove the skin of the pumpkin n cut in huge cubes??? how much pumpkin u use?? one whole small pumpkin???

Ya, certain brands are very sweet. I normally buy the instant cereals with BLACK RICE which is very nutritious. They have it with brown rice too. I oso have a small container where i keep my instant oats in the office so it can be added to the instant cereals to make myself fuller.
BEY hey, oats are wind-causing food and it may make your bloatedness worse

b2b3m4,
I put the amount I like.
haha.. I dun measure how much pumpkin to put, I only measure how much I wanna eat... kekeke... Usually, I cook for myself, so I dun cook much. Yes, I remove the skin and cut into small cubes.
I buy the instant oat, not the 3-in-1 cos 3-in-1 got added sugar which I cannot control the sweetness...

B2B3M4,
I also have the bitter taste on my tounge, esp when i'm not eating anything. when i do, i try to suck something like sugar free candy, mints or eat a little bit of raisin. I also notice i produce more saliva these days, so the candy thing helps too.

dear mum2b & b2b3m4,
i also have the bitter taste in my mouth. good idea, maybe i'd try raisins next time.

wah.. i think you guys are very healthy.. refined sugar, oats and all. i dont take oats at all. hee.. very guilty now.

dear emily, you better take care when u walk. is your shoe too slippery or something?

btw, i've downloaded MSN chat. if you guys available, can ping me at ryue

Afternoon Ladies,

Threads moving very fast again...

Hi Mum2B, you can call up Enfa and Dumex and I believe other brands to get free sample of the milk powder. Like for Dumax, they actually give you one whole can. So maybe you can try the samples first before deciding which brand to get.

Hi ryue, I think it could be due to gastric too...Think I will go and see a doctor later..

Wa lyn, you are like an expert in soup cooking! You know how to use herbs? Teach me leh. The only herbs I used is "yang sheng xu". Share your recipes here! Hehe

Hi Emily, take care of yourself.

hi hidora,
yes, i'll call them to request for samples first. btw i have a concern, i read in some other forum that preggies who drink pregant mum milk usually have their weight balooned up and even increase the risk of getting GD (gestational diabetes) because the milk is actually not low-fat. so some preggies drink "normal" low-fat milk like HiLo, Anlene etc. anybody can share?

Hi lyn,
hehe u always got alot of ideas on soup. wil share w u if i discover which soup can drink w/o worry
U know since u told me abt e ham n hotdog, i bcome very worried whether eating of 1 week of it wil harm my bb anot. Cos i can eat 2 to 3 ham n hotdogs w bread at e same time leh.

The instant oats u bought is plain one rite? not 3 in 1 hor?

Hi B2B3M4,
Thanks for e explaination on ham n cheese. how abt hotdogs? me too my tongue is abit bitter at times but most of the time is tasteless like feeling sick.

Hi hidora,
i heard yang sheng xu is abit liang one. just fyi.

Hi ryue,
how long hv u been taking ham? me can take 2 to 3 ham n hotdogs at 1 go and eaten daily for breakfast for 1 weeks liao. so scary.

just now i gave my incomplete email address on hotmail. my email address is [email protected]
you guys can add me to your contact list if free to chat.

dear hidora
i also got a free can from Dumex yesterday. it was hand delivered.
ya, you better go see a doctor soon.

hi kite

Yeah. My hubby said my sens eof smell is extra sharo now. i can smell rojak a way off and told him about he. He told me there'sno stalland when we walked further, there was the stall! Amazing eh?

Mum2B - be careful with sugarfree sweets cause they contain some chemical in place of sugar. read ina magazine those are not good for preggies as they affect babies or someting. can't remember now. I eat dried fruits to get some taste. Get those wihtout preservatives - sun dried kind.

Hi hidora - I cook black chicken soup with DOm! hehehehe.. As long as the alcohol is boiled with the soup, it will evaporate and you are left with the herbs. Don't add too much... just about 1 tablespoon ful. Throw in some dates and Guo Qi Zi (wolfberries) and if you can afford it, cordecepts. I cook that once in awhile for my hubby and me. quite nice. Another variation is to cook chicken soup with ginseng . I add in wolfberried and red dates into most of my soup to make it sweet. Sometimes throw in some wild ginseng -- think called "Pow Sheng" or something like that.

Cooking is fun. try and experiment wiht all sort of stuf and sometimes, they do turn out quite nice. =) hope this helps!

dear lilfeets

can take DOM meh? DOM got a bit of alcohol leh. but i think small amts is ok lah. someone from this thread gave me the contact. but that was quite sometime back. sorry, i dont have it now. let me go back and search ok.
are a SAHM?

Hi ryue,
What is your email address? Yahoo or hotmail?

Hi Hidora,
Have you just woken up? kekeke... Can sleep well last nite?
I will go and see those ready packed soup herbs and "yan jui" what they have inside. I have several types of normal herbs in big packets. Whenever I boil herbal soup, I will pick and put the amount I like. If I like it sweet, I put the sweet tasting herbs more. If I like bitter, then I put the bitter tasting ones more
I need to "bu" blood, so I will put lots of red dates usually.
I love soups... so I do experiments...
Today my soup is very tasty and I had 3 bowls... kekeke...

Hi B2B3M4, so looks like u are earlier than me. :p You are wk 10-11. Me only wk 9. ehehheeheee... anyway, trimester 1 will be over soon!!!
Yes, am still breastfeeding Ethan.

re: watercres soup
I didn't know we cannot take too much. Ai yeah! Everything cannot take... looks like we eat plain porridge with caixin can liao. :p just like B2B3M4... ehehehheee....

Ai yoh! This thread moves too fast... am dizzy already.

hey lyn
tonight i go n see wat ingredient my mom put and let u know. keke.

hi ryue
Henry cheng has 2 clinic. One at Glen E n the other at bishan

Emily
aiyo.. plse take care of urself. why u always trip huh?

Kite,
dun scare yourself
So far your baby is fine
Just try to avoid next time
. Yap, I got the plain one. The 3-in-1 too sweet for my taste.

Lilfeets,
You have endo or fibroids or cysts problem before rite? DOM has dang gui inside. If have the condition mentioned, better to avoid DOM.
Not all types of ginseng can be taken by preggie. "pao sheng" is ok.

Hi all MTs,
finally after 3 weeks of rest at home... cos' of sickness... now finally it's over! i felt so much better these 2-3 days.. at least no more severe headaches and giddiness.. though still slight vomiting but at least it's better now! yeah! (that's way i've MIA for 2 wks.. heehee)

i just went for my scan last wk.. now into my 11th week..

Hi lyn,
okie tks.

heard during pregnancy cant take alcohol. Think yomeishu also must avoid rite? cos i got a bottle of yomeishu n i dunno can drink anot.
Last time i used to boil herbal soup like si shen, liu wei, ba zhen, tian qi, bu qi tang and etc now i dun dare to take cos all got alot of different type of chinese herbs n not all are suitable for pregnancy. Better consult doctor first.

Hi emily,
dun take white vegetables like cabbages and etc. take more broccoli and spinach. i take spinach once or twice a wk.

Hi Lynn

Thanks for the advise. yes. I have endo which i removed abt 3 months ago. Heard about the Dang Gui thing which people mentioned. There is no absolute scientific prove on what causes Endo so I'm not too worried. In fact, there is no cure for endo and its a recurring issue. Nothing you take or don't take is going to affect the state of endometriosis. Personally, i take alot of stuff in moderaton cause I don't quite like the taste of Dom. I only add a tablespoon into my soup for the herbs and abit more punch for my hubby cause he's always so tired lately.

Yeah. cannot take the liang ginseng esp the tail one. thanks for being specific.

Hi Pebbles - I didn't know Anmum 1 have choclate flavour. Do you know if they offer sample? I'm not fond of the taste of milk since I was young so trying to force myself to drink some. Only had multi vits and folic at the moment.I had sample pack from Enfamum but still procrastinating to drink that cause i don't like milk.

hi Emily - thik we need to eat everything in moderation regardless of whether we are pregnant or not! hahahaha.... Just need to be more aware of what goes into our mouths for babies' sake. In any casem you can have watercrass soup etc.. just don't have too much! Did nto say you can;t eat it at all. In fact, I just had a bowl for lunch but I have not drank that for a few months already. Try papaya soup. =) It's actually rather nice and light tatsing.

Please try to avoid Dang gui and bazhen when you are pregnant. Yomeishu and Dom have these herbs inside. Dang gui is frequently used in those herbal steamboats. Once in a bluemoon to consume should be alrite but still try to avoid.

hi lilfeets

Though I normally prefer the vanilla HL milk, but for those milk powder, I prefer choco types. I bought Anmum1 choco for pregnant mums and it tastes good.
Can use chill water instead of hot water.

To those who have seen my postings the last couple of weeks, I am sad to say that it is more or less confirmed that I have blighted Ovum i.e. gestation sac growing without the presence of yolk sac and foetal pole. I have also got a call fm doc today that my HCG is declining which means to say that the pregnancy is failing. I am waiting for a natural mc, not D&C yet, in the hope that there could still be some miracles. Last week was kind of bleak for me as I was on a week's medical leave after some spotting, happening around week 8 when doc couldn't detect any heartbeat, yolk sac and foetal pole.

The diagnosis was kind of confirmed when i went for a 2nd opinion with my ex-gynae. I was truly sad with the results. Within a year I have 4 so-IUIs, 1 op and then 1 IVF with 2 gest sacs developing. It was a moment of elation for me when I learnt about the twins but alas, a 2nd mc looks set to happen.

While I am saddened by this whole experience of TTC which saps my energy, time and money, I am hoping for a 2nd chance with IVF. I think I will take a break for a couple of months before trying again. It is a learning and trying experience for me. I had a very smooth pregnancy journey with my girl who is currently 4 years old, except that we tried for about 2 years before conceiving her at our first IUI. Never in my mind that our 2nd try for a baby is at least 5x more difficult, and defintely emotionally and financially draining. It just tells me that we cannot take things for granted.

To all MTBS, I sincerely wish you all the best of your pregnancy journey and sometime someday you may find me back in this website again. Best wishes to all, and thank those who have been giving me support and advise one way or another. Really appreciate that and God bless!!!

hi pebbles,
ya before pregnant i boiled herbal soup like ba zhen and tian qi now totally avoid.
Y those dang gui and yomeishu cant drink? my MIL stil boil dang gui for me leh that was last monday.

Is Anmum1 heaty? cos MIL wanted to buy a small tin for me to try out.