(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Kite,

Yah, agree with droopy. I guess ginger and confinement stuff can be taken. Older generation always believe in taking ginger and taking alcohol during confinement period.

My mum already soaking ginseng in martell in bottles, ready to be used next year during confinement. And she is also preparing about a dozen bottles of rice wine for cooking during confinement.

My hubby say i will become a better drinker than him after confinemnent despite not a drinker now, haha!

I have just started drinking Anmum-1 milk today
Tastes great! No difference from the normal milk powder that i have been drinking.

Hi B2B3M4,
Perhaps u can wear a spag top or a tube over w a black shawl or black cardigarn (for me black cardigarn wil be better) cos now during early stage of pregnancy, sure afraid of cold. Til 5 mths n above, u wil not afraid of cold, instead u wil scare of hot. hehe.

Hmm what actually causes GD? any precaution or watever?

Hi kk,
at first i always have cramps now at times only. Most of the time is feel tired and stomach feel very bloated like no appetite n feel like nauseous.

hi B2B3M4,

did your gynae say what is causing you to spot so frequently? i also have spotting on and off for past 5 wks though i'm on progesterone jabs and pills, dunno when it will stop.

dear all

hi. i read on the net that 40% of women with PCOS will have Gestational Diabetes

For more information, refer to attached link: -
http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org/gd/gd_prevention.htm#Can%20Gestational%20Diabetes%20Be%20Prevented?

i have been diagnosed with PCOS and is now very worried that i will have GD. sigh.. i have also gained about 3.5kg. I am about 11 weeks, nearing 2nd trimester. To relieve nauseous, i've always took sweets. I also cant drink plain water anymore, so i lived with ribena and honey the past 2.5months. sigh... i think i will cut down all sugar in my diet from now.

on the contrary, i dont have the feel cold problem. my body always feels very hot!

im going for NT scan this Friday to check for DS. my gynae didnt give me a choice on whether to do it or not. also, he will do the blood test for me at the same time - for HIV (he says encouraged by the government), rubella etc etc.. i cant wait for Friday to come.

dear B2B3M4, welcome to the thread. congrats on your pregnancy. which gynae are you seeing? have you spoke with him/ her about the spotting?

Hi Kite,

Today no appetite
In fact full of appetite yesterday. But after eating teochew porridge buffet at New Park Hotel, no more appetite until now.

Normally i spend my sundays sleeping leh, cos tired and then cannot eat much. Dunno why my bb rebel on sunday! Haha!

I read from the website posted above about GD. Think exercise and diet is important. The gynae say i can start swimming and also, cycling on stationary bike. but then i guess i won't exercise lor, cos i dun wanna anything to happen to my placenta since it was low before.

For diet, i am eating healthier now. Hopefully i will stay healthy
But then, depends on appetite at times. If craving for unhealthy food, must really exert self control but may be too difficult at times

My hubby has craving for laksa tonite, so i cook laksa for him. Luckily i can't eat much so didn't consume much laksa

dear all

i went shopping at United Square yesterday and discovered a shop selling quite nice and cute maternity dress. i forgot the name of the shop but its at B1 near where Nature Farm is. you can go check if out if you keen. i didnt get any cause i think they are still too big for me. i also went to Thyme Maternity (on the 2nd floor).. they have very nice maternity jeans that looks very fashionable. im very particular about fashion and will not wear anything that is not in my fashion dictionary. hee!! i am doing sales so dressing right is important for me.
anyway, after putting on 3.5kg, i feel i've never felt so unattractive all my life. i cant fit into those shorts i used to wear during weekends. i cant even pull them up my thighs. sob sob sob.. but on the other hand, i think those maternity pants are too big for me. so in the meantime, i wear my hubby's clothes.. hee!!

Hi Ryue,

My body feels hot too! But dun let body gets too heaty. I am so worried i will get headache again when i get "over heat up" haha!

What is PCOS?

I had my blood test on Friday. My gynae didn't say about the NT Scan. My blood test include test for high risk of DS, HIV, etc. For HIV test, have to sign a letter of undertaking.

U need to pay extra for the NT Scan rite?

dear kk
hi. my gynae also encouraged me to exercise.. like swimming and brisk walking. he had advised me against yoga though. but like you, i also refuse to exercise cause im worried that it would affect the baby. i dont even dare to walk fast.
i heard that there is nice teochew porridge at Orchard Hotel also. on Friday and weekends only. they were having a promotion for UOB card members sometime back. 1-for-1. but always fully booked so i never got to try. my main diet is porridge now. if i eat laksa or chicken rice, i think will feel nauseous for 2 days afterwhich.

Hi Ryue,

The only exercise i do daily is walking! Haha! And i can walk fast. In my 2nd trimester, i will tend to forget i am pregnant and then walk at my normal pace and i am definitely not a slow walker because i am an impatient person and always rushing for time :p

I tend to be more cautious in my walking when i was just confirmed pregnant. But gradually, seems to be walking faster and faster already haha. My pregnancy colleague also, in her 20s week, walking very fast. The principal ask her to slow down, dun walk so fast haha.

But then now u won't see me chasing after bus liao. I dun dare to run like before anymore :p There was one morning when i chased after a bus. After i sat down on the bus, i felt a bit weird, like tummy a bit cramp. So after that i scared liao.

I love teochew porridge a lot now. When i will be at home during the dec school holidays, i guess my lunch will be white porridge everyday

dear kk
hi. PCOS = Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. its where you have lotsa useless cysts in the ovary. i think 1 in 5 women have this problem. i also get headache when im too hot. seems that all preggies got the same problems.. heehee..

not sure the NT scan how much leh. i can claim for all consultations and scans. so im not very concerned about the costs.

Hi Ryue,

How is PCOS discovered? Thru' usual scan?

I read that can claim whatever we have spent from medisave. But i dun really know the amount we can claim. Any idea?

Mine is expensive. My blood test was $198 and my detailed scan next appt will be $180. My colleague at KKH spent much less than this.

dear kk
we have so much in common. the only thing i can tahan now is porridge also. i dont care if its teochew or not, as long as its porridge. my whole family takes porridge with me too. i just had a glass of plain water. makes me wanna throw up again. sigh.. but its better than having GD. i think i will throw away all my sweets from now!

you must be a teacher. good lah. you can have 2 months holiday soon. me doing a sales job. still must go see customers sometime. but i'd try to minimise cause i dont think i look very good now. sigh..

dear kk
hi. PCOS can be diagnosed thru normal vaginal scans.
http://www.4woman.gov/faq/pcos.htm
ya, i also read that can claim from medisave. i think you can keep your Antenatal consultation receipts and then pass to the hospital administration to process the claim for you. but i think the max claim is 400 bucks. aiyo, 400 where got enuff. my consultation + scan + injection + medication already 200 to 300 bucks EACH time.

wow.. blood test for 198 is quite ex. btw, who is your gynae?

Evening ladies!

And also a warm welcome to B2B3M4!

Finally managed to sleep last nite.. Anyway, just wondering, any of you have this cramp like pain directly at the triangle below the ribcage? I've been having cramps and pain there for days. I was thinking whether is it gastric flu or wat... And sometimes the pain is so bad that I can't sleep until I lie on my stomach. But I didnt have any diarrhea, so was wondering is it really gastric flu... Haiz...

I'm like hving alot of prob... =_=

Hi Ryue,

Yah, 400 dollars is really nothing. Incuding the detailed scan, i would have spent more than $700 already. Not forgetting money spent on the multivitamins, etc.

My gynae is Dr Lim TC. He is at Tow Yung Clinic at Tanglin Shopping Centre. It's one stop service lor. I am having all my scans there and the lab for blood analysis is also there. My sis-in-lae told me that he tend to charge higher but i feel that as long as he is good, i dun mind the money spent
Most important is to feel assured every appt

ask u all. i hving been eating lesser n lesser cos appetite no good, just eat a mouthful and feel full liao (in fact e feeling is like want to vomit and bloated, like indigestion). Is this normal? cos i m afraid bb doesnt get enough nutrients from me if i dont eat much.

Hi Kite,

This is normal!! That's what i am experiencing today lor

If you force urself to eat, u find that u can't digest at all. Everytime vomit, the food will come out in original pieces haha.

Kite,

Dun worry so much. From week 9 to week 14, that's how i get through. Can't eat much lah, vomit lah, halfway through my meals, will sit there stone, dunno what to do next. That's why i lose 1 kg.

Hi cookiemz,

i shd be sticking to this current gynae loh...AL Lim at TMC..lazi to change n those tt i want v expen sive...its true tt those wif better machine chrgs higher amt...guess to recover their cost ba..mine those normal type...normali jus pay consultation n medicine if any tts all..usually less than $100...

anyway,already starting to vomit n feel extremely tired liao...today go eat fish head curry at toa payoh..onli put the curry sauce wif rice is appetizing for me already..but who koes, soon aft,i vomitted out all of them..haiz...so upset..now abit scared to eat food liao..not much appetite oso..

Hope u all rest well last nite.

For me.. SIGH.. i dunno why.. the moment i lie down, i felt slight headache... i wake up go toilet, feel nothing.. i lie down again, on and off got the headache SIGH!!!!

Luckily i didn't vomit, else my bird nest will be wasted
Yesterday first time i prepare bird nest.

Today still gotta come back to school for whole day meeting
Make chrysanthemum tea before i left home this morning. I guess i am starting to get heaty that's why.

dear preggies
hi.. good morning to all of you!!

dear hidora, im glad you slept well last night. sorry to hear about your stomach flu. sounds like gastric to me. is it because you've been eating too much or too little?

dear kk, i thought we cant drink chrysanthemum tea bcos its liang? my granny had advised me against taking it leh.

dear all

feel so xian coming back to work after 2 weeks of leave & medical leave. i wish i can rest at home and lie down whenever i feel like it

Hi Angeline,

How many weeks is ur bb? bb now 7 wks and i started to feel abit nauseous w poor appetite, i think its normal and bo bian i have to bear with it til 2nd tri and hope it wont be better.

Hi kk,
ya chrysanthemum very liang leh, better avoid it leh. Drink more plain water and eat more fruits like apples, i realised apples can ease my sore throat leh and heatiness.

hi ryue,

dun be sianz, just take it easy and dun stress urself too much abt work since we put bb in the top priority. I m now doing reports at office, quite relax today, if i need help on carrying things, wil ask the guys to carry though i hvnt tell a single person in my office yet.

dear kite
good morning to you. ya, you are right. i wouldnt pile unnecessary stress on myself. i also felt very uncomfortable at 7 weeks. Major stomach disorder i recall. but i get the nauseating feeling every now and then, and sometimes it can last for the whole day. yesterday, mine lasted the whole day. i cant sleep at night also.
like you, i also have not told anyone in my office. except my boss of course. im doing sales, so a lot of evening entertainments. so by telling my boss, i can be excused from those evening waste of time events

This thread moves like a MRT train...

Re: My gynae
I'm going back to my gynae in KK, Dr LC Lim. She did check on my spotting n the bleeding has stopped. The spotting are always brown spots which r not so serious, juz continue with the jabs n tablets. Unless i have fresh blood bleeding, then i must go back immediately. otherwise, from the scan, nothing seems to be wrong.

Re : Gestational diabetes n PCOS
There's nothing very much one can do abt it but it has always been associated with high fat intake, sedentary lifestyle n overweight. therefore, drs will usually advise one to be more on the mobile side n control one's diet intake. one shld avoid trying to put on too much weight in the 1st trimester. cause by the 2nd n esp 3rd trimester, one put on weight like 1kg every week, so if u back calculate n start to put on weight now, one can easily pound up 20++ kg!!!!
As for exercise, avoid strenous ones, but keep up with the waking (n swimming if possible) it not only helps one to control the putting on of weight (n easier to lose weight after preg!!!!) but it oso train up your body for themost strenous exercise of the whole pregnancy. DELIVERY!!!!!! unless of course u planning for C-section!

Re: Food n vomiting n diarrhoea
Vomitted like crazy yesterday even there's nothing to throw up oredi. end up crying in the car bcos it was simply unbearable. think the car ride made the whole thing worse. now i'm very scare of taking the bus, will take MRT at all cost.
Also prefer soupy food now. cannot bring myself to eat oily, fried stuff. Hubby thinks i'm pathetic, eat plain porridge with pickled caixin.
N must eat in really small portions. Half a bowl of porridge n can fill the food at my neck but one hour later, fill darm hungry again n if dun eat, the stupid nauseous n giddy feeling kicks in again!
N for some resons thats' beyond explanation, food either get digested super fast or my gut is so empty now, that almost everyday, i can clear my bowel. its almost like diarrhoea. n i dun eat enough to be on food poisoning.

Re: Blood tests for Down's syndrome
were u guys asked to decide whether to go for the triple test or ultra scan + blood test for Down's babies??? I have to let my gynae knows by next week cos the scan needs to be done at 11-14 weeks. Its more accurate but oso more expensive. n if at the end of the day, the test shows to be high risk for Down's, stil need to go for amniocentesis which put ones at risk for miscarriage.
DILEMMA!!!!

Hello good morning gals!

I think my appetite is improving
I can eat a lot yesterday. But after dinner, I felt so terrible. I am still picky on the food I can swallow. Yesterday I tried a slice of fish and I wanna puke, so gave everything to my hubby... Only had vege and rice

Ryue,
Have your spotting stopper? If not, go to gynae again and take more MC... lol...

Last nite, I was telling my hubby that he wun be able to see baby with me in my next appointment cos it gonna be a weekday... haha... Then he told me to remember to get the printout and let him see.. haha.. I think my hubby is also very excited about the baby after seeing the heartbeat. What about your hubby? Excited?

ryue,
i feel the same. going back to work soon. can't bring myself to face the fast pace n pressure again. not to mention fending oneself from all those politics.
Arrrghhh!!!!

good morning to u all

yesterday was really a hot day. i got headache since afternoon till nite. cant even take my dinner. i wonder if i sleep too much or is the weather.. haiz.

hi kk,
u started the annum-1 drink. try not to put the recommended amount (eg 4 teaspoon w 200ml water) cos i drank that for straight 3 days n my stomach cant take it.. kenna diahorrea 2wks ago. till now i still got phobia to drink lei.. mayb half the dosage 1st unless u r those who drink milk everyday b4 preggie.

Hi Dor,
Are you feeling better today? The weather is very hot recently... Remember to drink more water ah.. take care

I think I am having craving for oatmeal, so bought some oatmeal yesterday

Do you all take any chinese "bu" now? My gynae seems to be puzzled that I am not taking any "bu". hahaha... Dunno is it I gave him the idea that I am KS type, or it's so common nowadays. I dun really believe in chinese sinseh, or rather I haven't find anyone that I can trust.

kite,
Today I am boiling lotus root soup again..
kekeke... Today I added yu zhu, huai shan, gou qi, red dates, little yang sheng xu. kekeke... Dunno how it will taste like or whether I will like the taste or not.. kekeke... my soup experiments again today
Oh yes, I am going to add black beans and soya bean too in to the soup
cos beans gives protein and baby need protein to grow

hi lyn
i still hvin a slight headache now.. i hate the sun rays..arrgghh. hey r u a soup expert, can also make my share not..hahaha. i got craving for the chicken yang sheng soup. btw, can we eat pineapple tarts not?

dear lyn
hi. i think you are a little confused. hee!! iam not the one with spotting. but i had hives 2 weekends back. it is a severe skin rash caused by an allergy, either by food or drug. i was hospitalised for 3 days and the itch was so bad my gynae gave me steriod injections. he was worried that i would get asthma attack and die in the middle of the night. it was quite serious. but thankfully, the hives are gone now. and i did a scan last weekend just to be sure the baby is fine. and i was glad to see my bb waving at us on the screen, like assuring us that he/she is doing ok.
my hubby is just as excited about the baby as me.
as for "bu", i dont dare to take any, cause i dont know what am i allergy to till now. so i just talk milk.
i envy you can boil soup everyday

dear dor
i also felt very hot yesterday. i think the weather is terrible. i blasted the aircon at home yesterday. the fan just wasnt enuff.

Hi Ryue,

Chrysanthemum tea in moderation is ok. Just dun drink it everyday. At first in my 1st trimester i dun drink at all. But then getting too heaty, headaches frequently, cannot tahan! So i start drinking chrysanthemum then ok liao
Even plain water can't help.

Chrysanthemum is still ok. But no barley. My hubby did consulted the chinese medicine hall before about this
And try to use bai ju hua, just need to pour hot water over it. Dun use those yellow colored ones which u need to boil. That one more liang.

We got to enjoy more air con now. Else during confinement period, can't on air con at all!!

Hi B2B3M4,

I think u refer to NT scan for down syndrome? No harm going for one as it is just a normal scan. Triple test is compulsory!! My blood test for DS was requested by my gynae, without asking me want or not haha! He did not mention about NT scan though.

Hi Dor,

Ohhh, no wonder i have watery stools in the evening after i drank anmum-1 in the late morning. I put 4 spoonsful as recommended haha! Ok, shall cut down the amount. I think no matter what, got to drink lah because it is good for bb brain development

My mil bought pineapple tarts for me before, so i guess ok to eat. But then i never try hahaha...

Hi Lyn,

Ur soup will sure turn out nice
But won't it cover the taste of lotus root? I normally put those tonics with chicken for my chicken soup

I prefer original lotus root soup

dear kk,
oh ok.. i thought we need to avoid all types of chrysanthemum tea. i love chrysanthemum tea, but have been avoiding them.

and i love pineapples tarts too. maybe i'd ask my gynae whether i can eat or not. aiya, he sure say can. to him, everything can. he even asked me to drink cold 100 plus.

are you gals not intending to wash hair for a month during confinement. i cant even stand not washing hair for 2 days or more. and my hair is very long, and im not intending to cut it. i dont think i can tahan 1 month. and i think i will switch on air con also. 1 month without aircon in singapore's weather is unthinkable

Hi ryue,
understand how u feel, few days ago out of the blue, i woke up middle of the nite n felt like vomitting and stomach feel bloated n full dunno y. Btw how many weeks ur bb now?

Hi B2B3M4,
true now i try to eat little and a small potion else will feel like vomitting again.

Hi lyn,
me too, i love fish until i got pregnant n now avoid fish, find it stink. I always dunno what to eat cos eat alittle i wil stop eating n stare at e food.
Really, wow lotus root soup again. yummy. Gou qi and red dates is nice, but both gou qi n red dates are quite heaty so just put one kind is enough, maybe put red dates wil be good.
probably tis week i want to boil lotus root soup w nuts or later office lunchtime wil drink that. hmm but daily drink lotus root soup wont hv any harm rite? its neutral, not liang one hor or either heaty?

Hi kk,
gynac will automatic inform me i will have to go for the NT scan and triple tests rite? we no need to remind her hor.

btw i have been drinking HL milk and eating boiled ham & hotdogs w bread these few breakfasts and i love it alot. Is eating ham & hotdogs daily harmful? btw i oni drink HL milk once during day n nite. HL milk or powder milk better?

Wow,
A lot of things to catch up!! I have a terrible cramp on sunday, wonder if it is becos i drunk 1/2 cup of carbonated drink. :p

KK,
have to check again with my friend, what is that brand for the antistretch cream.. cant remember.

most mothers try not to take epidural becos it is bad for health. I remember one friend told me how she tahan through.. she keep reminding herself, she can save thousands to buy other better stuff and she really pull it through.. hahaha.

hi ryue...
Oops... sorry.. I getting blur liao.. hahaha.. pardon me...

kk,
I like mixture of taste now
Now lotus root alone is ok.. but I prefer more taste now...
kekeke.. so I add whatever I think I will like. The color of my soup looks good now
hahaha... nice colour also can improve my appetite.

dor,
Pineapple tart should be ok.. But dun take too much

Err.. chicken soup ah... I dun take lots of meat nowadays. I am half vegetarian
I prefer to take protein from beans and vege
. Iron from vege too
. Meat got hormones and diseases, so I avoid

dear kite
hi. my bb is 11+ weeks
dont worry, i also have ham for breakfast quite often. i think ham is ok as long as they are well cooked. i love hot dogs too. just cook them well..

dear icy
hi. i read from a magazine that Clarins anti-stretch cream is good. its recommended by a gynae from Mt E. I forgot her name. but i also read from other threads that you'd have those ugly strech marks regardless of whether you use them or not

Hi kite,
I put seedless red dates
I think lotus root soup is neutral. I put red dates is to "bu" blood. Gou qi cos I like the taste
. If my appetite allows again, I will take lotus root soup with mee sua again...
. kekeke... I think my appetite is good during the day. I just had a bowl of oatmeal
. My nausea usually starts at about 5pm lately...

I read about hotdogs is not good for baby's brain development. I also avoid ham too... Last week, I ordered Hawaiian pizza and pick out all the ham.. hahaha...

dear lyn,
i also stopped taking pizza cause i read in some websites that some types of cheese are not good, so i stopped taking them altogether.

hey kite and ryue

lyn is rite. cannot eat so much processed meat like hotdogs. if can, do avoid. for ham, i still eat but not often.

Lyn,
dun eat the meat lor.. jus the soup. juz now i ask my mom to cook mushroom w gou qi soup.yum yum.. i love that soup. hehe

hi ryue
think u are in the same wk as mine.ur edd is when? cant remember keke. mine is 3rd jun but i think it may move to may.

hi everybody,
looks like this threat is moving v fast. i'm 8.5 weeks pregnant now and my EDD is 22 June 06.
Now having severe nausea and vomiting
(since week 5!)
i haven't started drinking pregnant mum milk (I still drink Anlene since b4 preggie), and would like to know which milk is good? I saw many ppl drink Annum, but there's also other brand like Enfa mama, etc, so quite confused where to start

anybody planned to deliver at Mt.E? How much is the total bill for 2-bedder there ya?

dear dor,
oh ok. i will stop eating ham from now. i love ham.. sigh.. there are so many things that we can eat as preggies.

REALLY? My EDD is also on the 3rd June, same as yours. everytime i scan, my EDD is the same. so we are 11+ weeks now. i cant wait for week 12 to come. I am going to have the NT scan. im feeling very nervous about it. will you be doing yours too? btw, who is your gynae? Mine is Dr LC Foong at Gleneagles.

wow really cant take ham & hotdogs ah
i hv been eating since few days ago and its daily and i ate alot cos yummy. really scare me off now. I think i shall stop totally now. Now i hv to scratch my head wat to eat for breakfast w bread. Any idea?

hi ryue,
i think we shld avoid seafood like clams, mussels, gong gong, zu zu and etc. so sad cant eat ham no dunno wat to eat for breakfast w bread.

Hi lyn,
before i got pregnant, i drink watever boiled soups my mum and i prepares. But now i think some soups cant drink leh hor. so i tend to drink lesser now. my mum in law just told me not to drink too much lotus soup and my mum told me lotus root soup is to bu SHANG (injuries), not so gd drink often. Now i begin to scatch my head what soups to drink cos i cant live w/o it.