(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

dear all
hi. i wonder if you have announced your pregnancy to your family and friends? for me, iam very particular. i dont want my colleagues and friends and even relatives to find out. i only want them to find out after week 12 when everything else stabilises, like when the baby has been checked for down syndrome etc.
however, my parents know abt it of course. my MIL is staying together with my FIL and SIL. There are 3 other of my MIL's siblings staying in the same block at my MIL. that is why i had asked my hubby not to tell my MIL otherwise the whole block will find out, and i dont like that. he had promised me that he wouldnt and only my MIL knows. when i went back for dinner (just), i realised that the whole block had found out abt my pregnancy! i was so furious. they started asking me if i like sweet or sour food and deduced if im carrying a boy or a girl.
i dont think i will tell my husband the sex of my baby, otherwise i think the whole spore will find out. i think he shld have respected me and kept it to himself. im so mad now i dont think i can sleep tonight. hiroda, you have company.

hi cookiemz,

i oso dun koe..the gynae didn say anything..i am week9 today n so by the time my appt,it shd be week11 liao leh..i oso read up somewhere tt the NT scan is done during week 10-week 12..wah,ur bb size shd be ok lah..i wonder wat my bb size will be the next time we scan...was itching to go to c oth gynae whose machine is up to date...mine is quite back-dated...normal tummy scan..cant even hear heartbeat...so sian..this thread moves too fast liao..

hi ryue, the way that your whole block knows is so funny. But haha, welcome to the insomnia night.. Thou I think with you been worked up, it's easier to sleep cos you will waste lots of energy getting angry. I think your hubby is very excited that's why he can't keep the secret in.. so dun get mad at him lah.

hi hama, dun pai say, the more people in the thread the merrier.

hi kk, dun buy too much bb clothes leh, cos bb grows very fast, by 2nd mth, cant wear 1st mth clothes liao.

hi lyn, i suspect that's the case too. Cos I slept in the day so cant slp at night. But I read that we must be in deep sleep by 3 am, else the cells wun regen, so sleeping in the day doesnt help..

Hi ryue,
Cool down...
Maybe your hubby is also very excited about letting his mum knows about the good news

Hi hidora,
You are indeed a nite owl... haha... I am chatting non-stop on MSN with my preggie friend... :p But I gonna sleep soon
Now listening to lullaby... :p

dear hidora, lyn
hi.. thanks.. but my hubby doesnt feel wee bit apologetic. i just feel dissapointed that he didnt contain this. i really wanted to share after all the tests are ok.

do you guys use skype chat? i dont have MSN installed in my PC leh

Hi ryue,
Nope, I do not have skype chat... :p I usually MSN... kekeke...
hmm... dun blame him already la... he's very happy with the news also and wanna release also ma... ;) hee... be a happy mummy

hi hidora,

sleepless night again?

hi ryue,

maybe your hubby unintentionally let the cat out of the bag lor, dun be angry with him.. my hubby cannot keep secrets wan, i told him to tell a relative that i was unwell and not able to attend his birthday celebration, my hubby blur blur went to tell him i was expecting and dun wan to attend coz of "chong xi". aiyo.. really smacked my own forehead when he told me that. so now i also "kan kai" and juz keep low profile.

dear cookiemz, lyn
hee.. i didnt know there are so many late birds on this thread. i thought it would just be hidora and me!! heeehee
aiyo.. maybe all men are like that..

hi lyn & ryue,

so many nite owls around.. kekeke.. i slept half the afternoon, so now quite awake. but have to sleep soon coz have to go for jab early in the morning and go work after that.

lyn, the lullaby for you or for bb? heehee

hahaha cookiemz.... so funny ah your hubby... You also nite owl ah?

My hubby now still in the shower... He just came home from a D&D... so now waiting for him also

cookiemz,
I have mixtures of lullabys that I have downloaded. For me and baby la.. hahaha... but baby got no ears yet leh... :p

Tomolo, I will be seeing gynae too...

hi angeline,

my scan will be at 12 weeks and done by another gynae at KK. maybe you have to ask your gynae very soon if you intend to do the scan. btw which gynae are you seeing now? some gynaes have very good scanning machines but their charges will correspondingly be higher..

quite sian now, today see red again.. dunno must rest until when

dear cookiemz, lyn
wow.. seems that Saturday is a popular day to visit gynae. i m going for jab tommorrow morning too, but only seeing doctor on Friday. the days of waiting to see the gynae is always agonising for me. i keep worrying if the baby is ok.

dear cookiemz
sorry to hear that you spotting again. maybe you shouldnt work since you got spotting. im sure those progesterone jabs will help stop the spotting. did your gynae say what is the cause of the spotting?

lyn,

i have always been a nite owl, bad habit since uni days. now preggie liao cannot tahan very late, usually 10pm will knock out and morning will auto wake up very early.

update us after your gynae visit hor..
gotta koon oreadi, hubby nagging..

hi ryue,

not sure what's causing the spotting.. my gynae said something abt restless womb while my family doctor said no such thing. i spot once in 4-5 days and it goes off very quickly, but it is very disturbing to see red lor and i'm on jab somemore. makes me worry abt bb. i have quitted my full time job oreadi, now working free lance. guess i have to minimise my walking..

dear cookiemz,
oh dear.. which gynae are you seeing? i understand your distress with the spotting. are u on jab twice a week? i read in other threads that there are preggies whom go on jabs 6 times a week.

hi ryue,

urrggghh... 6 jabs a week, that will be painful! i'm seeing SF Loh at KKH. He said not to worry, so i trust him lor. it could be due to me walking too much, carrying heavy stuff & moving stuff around, i'm quite a chor lor person, can even pull a muscle trying to shut off the morning alarm, haha.. anyway will wait till my next visit to ask him again..

dear cookiemz
hi.. ya, then you shld trust your gynae. dont worry, im sure you would be fine.
i thought you said your hubby nagging? why still awake? my hubby is sound asleep. but im still sore that his whole block knows that im pregnant

Ohayou mina-san!!

Pui, it's not even 6am, and I'm up! No surprise, Was tossing and turning for the whole nite again. Still wanna try to sleep, but been hving cramps, and feel like vomitting everytime I sleep side way... And I'm hungry now....

hi cookiemz, your hubby also very cute.. lol. For me, at week 4, my hubby already go announced to all his frens and colleagues. I was like saying it's not stable yet, and he said dun worry, confirm stable.. >_> I mean since he announced, I also go announced lor. Then 2 weeks ago when we go met up with his frens, all of them were congratulating me at week 6!... Haiz.. wat to do.. lol. And aiyo, take care of yourself leh, dun be so chor lor, and dun over stress yourself.

Hi ryue, I think your hubby is not apologetic cos he must be feeling real happy that he "strike lottery". Hehehe.. men are like that one.. The more you wanna keep it a secret, the more he couldn't keep it in.

Hi lyn, lullaby helps to make you sleep ah? But my pc and my bed in different rooms leh... by the time I walked over to my room, I think I'm alert again, haha..

You know how werid it is when pregnant women are suppose to be more tired, and tend to sleep early, and I'm not... Grrr... today, I'm gonna stay awake for one whole day. Then see I will sleep early or not... Grrr

And oh ya, me also using MSN.

Argh! Very hungry... dun type liao, must go make myself some milo.

morning hidora,

u are up so early! go out shopping today lor, guarantee you come back and koon very early.. hehehe

hi ryue,

my hubby was still up by the time i logged off, so my turn to nag him to bed..

okies, gotta go work!

hello ryue, lyn n hama - thanks for the welcome.

ryue - i'm now 31 weeks liao. (going to count down liao)
how abt u?

lyn - wow! A big congrats
have a smooth 9 mths n yeah must have enough rest. i'm so happy.

hama - yo! i dont understand leh?

Hi cookiemz,
Wah.. you are an early bird too! I just woke up and finish taking my supplements. Now waiting for my hubby to tabao something for breakfast

You gotta really rest well and have lots of bed rest. My cousin told me she rested for 4 months in her pregnancy. I think her case worse than yours cos she gotta jab herself 3 times a week.
Since your family doc and gynae has different opinion, will you want to consider a second opinion from another gynae?

Hi ryue,
Yalor.. I wan my hubby to accompany me to see gynae, so usually I will choose Saturday unless I have no choice
I am a confused person now... Dunno if I am excited or worried. It's like judgement day today... :p

Hi hidora,
Yap... I have a laptop in my room
Lullaby helps me to relax my mind
I usually listen to soothing music. I feel like getting a hi-fi surround sound system in my room, so that I can play music to my baby
hehe... will think about that when the pregnancy is more stable

Hi confused,
I think it will work out this time

Have you decided on how you gonna deliver? I am pretty worried that I cannot deliver naturally... When I go and see my gynae, I also dare not ask him. I am scared of news I dun wanna hear and get me more worried after that... So everytime my gynae asked if I have any questions, I will say no.. :p

Lyn - oh! dont worry too much. u must relax n rest well now. As for delivery, dont think now, the most important is bb is growing well.
i didnt think of how i'll deliver, so long bb is healthy n if i cant deliver naturally never mind.
how many weeks are u now?

Hi ladies, sorry MIAed cos my gal was ill whole wk.

Can I check if anyone has gone for the nuchro-translucency (wrong term, something like that... it's to measure the neck thickness of foetus to detect Down Syndrome)? I forgot which wk it's supposed to be. :/

Medusa, it's between wk 11-14 to take that scan. but am not doing it coz what's the point? If got prob, will u terminate the pregnancy? If not, then no point paying to find out... can also find that out in the detailed scan at 20wks.

Am back from the gynae. Everything seems fine. EDD pushed back again. Bb 2.04cm now. Saw heartbeat, so everything should be fine.
Am at wk 8 and 6 days now (or so that scan says), so now EDD is 18 June. Lyn, can u help me change? Thanks.

Thanks hamasaki and Emily.

Yes I will terminate if there's a problem. Even if it's a difficult personal decision. I think I'm late for my 2nd scan, sigh, need to schedule.

hi hamasaki, happen to see u here so came in to kpo kpo. btw r u preggie?? if yes, A BIG CONGRATS to u!!! u & Lyn sure know how to keep secrets well huh... so happy for the both of u!
have a happy & healthy 9 mths!

hi lyn, how's ur checkup today? update me ok? now u & hama can be buddy, how nice.

I follow my preggie buddy into tis thread. Hee hee... HAMASAKI, a big big congrats to you!! Gong Xi Gong Xi!!

Was looking for u at MSN, Lyn, how's yr chkup?

Hi lyn,
eh i put those kind of nuts for boiled soup. its my mum who helps me buy one. maybe u can try ntuc or market. Wow what kind of herbal u throw into the soups? For si shen and liu wei, i bought it from the chinese medical hall, all well packed liao. Me too nowadays i love to eat apples (previously dun like apples) and its really improve my appetite when i feel like vomitting or bloated.

Do u know any particular food to avoid so that bb wont get jaundice and etc? cos jaundice is the most common among newborn bb. i heard hv to avoid ginger n those yellow stuffs like (yellow mee) as it wil cause jaundice? really?

Hi kk,
dun worry, time wil fly fast n u wil get to know ur bb gender
btw what is placenta? Also wat is epidural? not everyone need it? how do we know whether we need it anot?

Btw i bought a pair of scroll shoes today at metro since now got 20% off til sunday tmr. Costs $50 after discount, very comfortable and got something in e middle which can helps blood circulation
Me wil start wear tis instead of heels liao.

Hi hidora,
Hey know wat! today my hubby got car park summon again. urgghh. u mentioned u r hving MS n may i know how many weeks ur bb is? mine coming 7 weeks and gynac said it wil be worse from 8 to 12 wks so i hv to start prepare myself. hmm now begining i started to feel abit nauseous esp in the morning n yest in e middle of the nite therefore cant slp (luckily today is sat).

Btw natural or c-sec is more painful?

Hi Kite,

I never heard before cannot eat yellow noodles leh. U mean those use in mee rebus and fishball noodles? i only heard ginger may be too heaty for some, so not advisable. But i never heard it cause jaundice.

Placenta is where the bb gets all nutrients from us and also removes wastes through us. Low placenta may cause complications lor, if not careful. It may cause miscarriage in 2nd trimester.

That's why worries are endless. After 1st trimester, still have to worry about 2nd trimester as 2nd trimester is not 100% guaranteed safe for bb too.

Epidural i think is a drug to ease pain. i think those who cannot tahan pain will take epidural. i dunno epidural got what other functions (if any). Well, i will know more when the day draws near

Yah, it is good to wear something flat and more comfortable. Can forget ur heels for the time being

Hmmm, i also dunno natural or c sec more painful. But my hubby read the papers that day and he said c sec need more time to recover. i guess more pple opt for natural because the process is ultimately satisfying and "enjoyable". It is a life experience
I guess when the time comes, we dun really care how painful it is liao. The only concern is to get the bb out to see this world

Hi Cookiemz,

Do take more rest and dun carry heavy things and walk around unnecessary anymore. I had spotting problem in my 1st trimester. Was given one jab and on progesterone for a week. The gynae gave me 3 days MC, just in case i continued spotting after the appt. Luckily my spotting stopped right after and i returned to work the next day
And dun feel too stressful. The gynae did ask me whether i felt a lot of stress that time.

Hi Hidora,

Yah, i won't buy too many clothings. Anyway i got a lot of bb clothes from my sis-in-law. If mine is a girl, i dun need to worry at all. If a boy, i may just get a few to top up the existing ones
I have 2 nieces and only 1 nephew, so there are more girl clothes

I even wish i get milk bottles, etc etc from somebody else. But looks like no one can provide me with these
Got to buy when the time comes.

I am also waiting to see who can provide me with playpen, pram and other big items haha! That's why i have not done any shopping yet.

kk,
can wait for sales lor.
I shopped around whole of last pregnancy to buy everything from scratch (cldnt get any hand-me-downs).

c-sect vs natural- of cos go natural if can. I had emer c-sect... more considerations when 2nd bb eg. need to have enough timelapse for wound to heal, whether wound healed well for a possible labour for #2 (sometimes wound fused with other parts, can cause complications), plus my wound developed into a keloid (not that gynae din take precautions, some people's skin just tend to have keloid scarring), too many c-sects may cause problems in future (HB said we'd stop at 2 if I end up 2 c-sects cos women more prone to future abdominal surgeries for OTHER problems later in life... not gd to cut so many times lah).
As for pain- no pain DURING c-sect cos either epi or general anaes. But horrible post-delivery. Recovery takes MUCH longer than "normal" natural (not referring to special cases lah). I never had natural... so can't comment which is worse in terms of PAIN- but there's the option of epi during natural if u desire... so idea is to try natural for starters, and see how things go

Hi kite, I'm in wk 8 now. MS starting to come.... been having the urge to vomit vomit vomit... haiz... so I think it is indeed true that it will get worse from wk 8 onwards.

Hi kk, I'm also looking for hand-me downs from frens... but it's their first bb, so think they may keep it for their further pregnancies.

Anyway, I took a 2 hr nap in the afternoon, hopefully I can still sleep later....

Hi missy and droopy...
I saw baby's heartbeat today
Gynae said it's about 9 weeks.
Today I had a blood test for haemoglobin. It's normal. My weight has increased, so gynae suspects that I might have GD. I am going for a blood test for blood sugar in my next visit. I am eating less, but my weight is still increasing. Maybe I have GD, cos I am so so so tired... scared scared...

Hi kite,
Yes.. apples do make me feel better when I get nausea.
hmm... I think jaundice of baby, will worry later...

Hi medusa,
CAn you go through natural birth this time? I had a cut too, so I am in a high risk of uterine rupture in the last trimester.
I wanna travel overseas. My gynae told me to travel in 5th month only. I cannot travel too long, cos I need monitoring

can i join u ladies??? unable to confirm my EDD til now. Tentatively shld be in end May or begining June. LMP was 5th Sep.
I'm oso experiencing spotting every other day. Quite distressing. was put on twice weekly injections plus oral hormone tablets.

Hi kk,
Hmm thats wat my mum told me cos when i was a bb i got jaundice too but mild one cos she ate alot of those yellow mees and curry and ask me not to eat for the time being or eat very little. Ginger is my fren who told me one, can cause cos i wil avoid. Ginger is said to get rid of wind in your stomach (qu feng).

Hmm how to check if my placenta is fine? gynac wil let me know automatically if its low? if okie, she wil say anything rite? Ok do keep me update on Epidural. Cos i also dunno whether to use anot.

Btw, tis morning, i hv slight transparent liquid discharge, wondering is it okie and due to hormones changes? me quite worried leh.
Also, I always feel very cold these days, hv to wear long sleeve to warm myself.

Hi lyn,
so ur bb got wave to you? hehe, got feel touched anot? May i know what is GD and wat causes it & wat are e symptons? Dont worry too much okie hv a gd rest

thanks lyn,
yep resting at home now but this spotting has been going on for weeks. cannot be on MC forever.

kite,
U will see a increase in discharge during preg. not to worry, that's expected but it getting worrying when its bloody.

yah, i have the same thing abt coldness. i'm totally intolerant to cold nowadays. i can't imagine how can those mummies be wearing tube or sphagetti strap maternity tops. in fact i'm wondering what to wear for my brother's wedding this dec. its the not here nor there stage n maternity gowns are soooo expensive.

i think the GD lyn is talking abt is gestational diabetes. the usual signs are thirst, freq urination n sugar in urine, but that is usually too severe already. if mum put on weight too fast, the gynae will usually suspects GD n put the mother on sugar drink to test for GD.

Hi Kite,

During breastfeeding, too much ginger and alcohol that the mum takes can cause jaundice. The baby's liver is not functioning very well at birth.

As the pregnancy progresses, you gynae will be able to scan for the position of the placenta. Dun worry
And if it's low, definitely will tell you.

I also tend to feel cold lately...

Err... I did not see baby waving, but I can see the shape of the baby
I just feel, ok lor... I just smile
My hubby very puzzled and amazed at the fast heartbeat. When he came home, he cannot forget the fast heartbeat.. hahaha.. cos my gynae let us hear the heartbeat. I also got a printout of the scan. haha... I can remember the spot where the heartbeat is. hahaha...
GD is gestational diabetes...

hi b2b3m4,
Can you still fit into normal gowns? I still wear normal gowns for wedding dinner
Or get a normal baby doll dress

uh oh... I am very thirsty till I can drink 4-5 litres of water a day! I dun have frequent urination though... phew... haha... Oh... my gynae just asked me to eat lunch and do blood test 2 hours later leh...

hi Lyn, hope that ur next visit, u will have more gd news for us..

but I'm still wondering what causes expecting mums to have GD..

Hi Kite,

When it is low placenta, the gynae will be very able to scan and spot the problem at very initial stage. I was told low placenta (placenta near to bladder) in my week 12. i am so glad it got shifted up liao

Well, if really low placenta problem, that's nothing much we can do, except to rest and dun walk too much.

I think ur discharge ok lah
Now i am still having discharge in my 2nd trimester. Only when u find that it smells or looks weird, then something may be wrong. Else it is ok
There are gonna be lots of hormonal changes in us during the early stage of pregnancy.

U dun have cramps rite?

For me, i dun feel cold easily heee.. but i started to take warm showers despite taking cold showers daily before pregnancy. I love cold showers
especially in singapore hot weather. These few days singapore having very hot weather!!! Cannot tahan walking outside

Hi B2B3M4,

Extending a warm welcome to you
kao_welcome.gif

Some mummies are more resistant to cold, so they are in spag straps etc. And mummies do look prettier and younger in spag straps rather than the usual maternity tops hee...

Hi Lyn,

When is ur next visit?

Dun worry ok? Hope everything's fine. My blood test results will also be known in my next visit. If u worry, i worry too

Hi kite,

Hee hee...actually I dun belong to tis thread but saw yr question n happened to attend a talk before, the gynae said during the talk that there is no way to avoid jaundice esp for asian women coz bb's liver is not functioning well at birth but after a while it will go away. He did mention can take ginger and confinement stuff since cannot avoid.