(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi lilfeets

u can check out the hosp website. www.mtalvernia-hospital.org . There shld be extra charges on twin delivery but i think it will b on the gynae 's charges. you might wan to check w ur gynae whether it is included in the package.

I am also taking Mt A. I noe the 4-bedder is more spacious than the 2-bedder. i m afraid of sleeping alone in the 2-bedder in case there is no patient on the same day n hubby is not allowed to stay overnite. so either i will choose sinlge bedder w hubby stayin or 4-bedder... hope this helps.

Hi Lyn

Initially, i only told my sis n mum.. then his mom only when i confirmed w the doc. then the later of the weeks, we hv gathering at my place, my relatives somehow guessed and keep probing on it. well if they asked, i wont denied lor...keke. now my office lady corlics also started to ask liao. i juz smile smile lor.. then they noe lor...haha. they say i got the preggie look. hiak hiak

dear lilfeets

hi.. i think the delivery charges will depend on whether you delivery naturaly or c-section. you might also spend a bit more cause you have twins. i saw the shape of my bb at week 8. at week 6 to 7, probably cant see much. i only saw a sac at week 6.5, and the bb's heartbeat of course. iam also like you. eat like nobody's business. i've already gained 3.5kg, but my gynae said its ok cause im on the slim side. i also dont take cold drinks and i avoid shellfish as well.

dear kk,
wah...you've gotto choose and decide on the type of room you wannt now?

dear icy
hi.. Dr Yeoh Swee Choo was the first gynae i've seen. but didnt find her suitable then as i found out i needed a fertily specialist. she is friendly and caring, and i thought her staff are very professional. minus the long wait, i think she is excellent choice.

dear Alyy
you can go for nite clinic. Dr Fong Yang operates his Tiong Bahru clinic at night, i think Tuesdays and Thursday if im not wrong. i went to see him once at his Tiong Bahru clinic. its a little cramped up though. but his charges are pretty reasonable.

dear cookiemz
thanks for asking abt me. im still on medical leave now. things have got better. i just hope the steriod injections have no side effect whatsoever on my bb. my gynae had assured me that the low dosage wouldnt harm the bb. but i think mothers are natural worriers.

Hi Ryue,

i guess it is a kind of booking first lor. I remembered we filled up a form, but it is quite an informal one. Probably will re-confirm again when the date draws near

Hi lyn,

So far i had gone for 2 appointments and Dr Chan HK charged abt $175-$190, which i think is indeed very expensive. His package starts at 5 mth if i am not wrong. He is quite nice and patient ^__^..I got to stick to him as he has my medical history when i removed fibriod a while back by him.

Can i ask some questions?
1) When is the earlest week we can know the sex of the baby?? I heard is week 12, is that true?

2) anyone try 3D scan?? The link belows show 3D scan pics which seems interesting to me.

http://www.layyous.com/ultasound/early_pregnancy_ultrasound_photos2.htm

3) Do we need to take multivitamin in 1st trimester now??

Hi Evamtb,

I didn't get to know the gender of the bb at week 12. My bb is not totally developed yet and the features aren't sharp yet too. I read from the other thread one mtm get to know that she is having a boy at week 16. So i guess perhaps the earliest to know is around week 16. Basically it is not easy to tell the gender in 1st trimester. I also read that bb girl will need a longer time to confirm.

I am not sure whether multivitamins is a necessity but i am taking them in 1st trimester till now
Seems like it's a necessity for my gynae

Hello Ladies,

Sigh, I cant sleep for the whole of last nite.. was tossing and turning in bed until 7am this morning before I could sleep... Then I went out to take a walk at Causeway Pt, and halfway thru, I felt sharp pain in my left hip area, so I came home to rest. Then I slept for the whole afternoon cos the backache was really quite bad. Hopefully I am able to sleep tonight.

Hi kk, I can't stand anything lately... fruits, veges.. I mean I can still eat them, but no cravings and actually I get a bit turn off by them..

HI lilfeets, hehe, I'm the totally opposite of you.. I'm having cravings for fish.. haha. Was telling my mom to buy some fish back to steam. Erm... but I'm not sure when I eat fish I will vomit or not, just know now I'm craving for some fishy...

hi cookiez, lyn, if my constipation gets any worse, I'm gonna try prune juice or fibre liao... thanks for the suggestion!

hi icy, must remember to take good care ah!

hi alyy, Dr Heng opens until 9pm on Mon and Wed, but she's at Bedok Blk 210, so it could be a bit far for you. But here's her number. 64414276. In the meantime, take good care and dun think to much. God will guide you through.

Hi kite, I can't stand plain water too! Haiz.. I'm drinking Ribena now... hehe

On my first visit to the gynae at week 4, my hubby already announced to all his friends within 30 mins. I was like =_= ... But we have not told any relatives yet as we are not that close to them.

Hi Hidora,

Ur backache must be really bad. Do take care ok? And sleep early tonite!

Hey, me too! I used to get turned off by the sight of vegetables and fruits. But i am attracted to fruits tat we cannot eat, like mango, payaya, watermelon. But luckily i can still resist temptation haha... but it will get better once ur 1st trimester over

It's good to eat fish
Fish still turn me off till now
I dun have a love for fish ever since young. So how can i like it when i'm pregnant? Haha..

Sharp pain in your hips may be due to ur constipation. Take care ya..

During my early 1st trimester, i felt very thirsty and drank a lot of water. Later part i find that i dun get thirsty easily and water somehow turns me off because i find it too plain
But i didn't find any substitute for it. Now it is better liao
Today feel extremely thirsty. Dunno why.

Haha, ur hubby must be really excited!!

Hi kk,

Die lah... I think I slept too much earlier on... Now I dun feel tired at all... Argh!!!!!

Huh? we can't eat mangos? Why ah? Since it's not a liang food.

Ya he was excited, now not so excited liao... lol. Think must be able to see bb kick before he will get excited again.

dear evamtb
hi. thanks for sharing the link on the 3D photo. The equipment at my gynae cant produce 3D prints. I heard Dr SC Chew's equipment does provide 3D scan. What abt your gynae? Does he do 3D scan as well?

dear kk,
hi. my gynae told me that he would only be able to tell the sex of the baby at week 18. that would be like during chinese new year. didnt know that we can detect it week 12. maybe with the 3D machine, its possible

dear hidora
poor thing. why you cant sleep last night leh? prunes and prune juice are very useful for constipation. i used to have that problem as well.
did you see or call your gynae for the sharp pain in your hips?
same same.. i also drink ribena. plain water really puts me off. im just concerned that the sugar content is too high.

dear kk
ya, i also didnt know we cant take mangoes. i have been taking orange mango juice.

dear hidora
aiyo..poor thing. not being able to sleep is very poor thing. why abt you try to read a book? if i cant sleep, i always pick a novel and that usually put me to sleep

Hi ryue,

Think when I go see my gynae 3 wks later, I will ask her about the pain I'm hving.. I was thinking, even if there's any prob now, we can't really do anything about it cos we cant take x-ray to see whether is there anything wrong. I will try not to walk too much and aggravate the prob.

Ya lor ya lor.. cannot sleep is really very bad. This morning, I see my eye rings darken by one shade... >_< I'm gonna watch some animes, watch until very tired...then hopefully can zzzzz

Was reading the thread.. so interesting.. Me also cannot tahan veg, or anything but will still eat. Now experiencing night sicknesss. Every night I shower, I definitely vomit. N will cough very hard until I vomit. Anybody in this state?

Wanted to ask you gals out there:
My bro and I bought a condo and will be moving tomorrow. My hubby will be helping but can I be around when they shift the furniturs etc out of the old place to the new place?

Poohmum

Hi cookiemz,

me too..my Edd was changed to 5 days later..on mon the 7th,the bb was 8weeks3days n is 1.92cm loh..so 2morow will be exactly 9weeks loh. eh,how cum u can c ur bb moves n wave hands at u???do they really koe how to do tt? i can onli make out the head n legs part aft my gynae has told me...but i can c the heartbeat clearly though..i oso wonder whether his 8w3days is accurate anot...its from his tummy scaning machine..me now hav to wait vvvv long to next c my bb..26th sat..

hi gals...

I am not too sure about mangoes. BUT DEFINATELY FOR SURE, please do not ever take GREEN Papaya, especially those salads in indonesian restaurants.
This is what I have read from the internet:-

a)green papaya is unsafe due to the popaine that it contains which causes uterine contrations.

b)Pregnant women should avoid recipes containing unripe fruit, skins, leaves, seeds or latex since this may lead to an abortion. Over dosing may have negative effects. Women from traditional societies used papaya as a contraceptive.

c)Green papaya is an enzyme-rich vegetable known for being a strong digestive aid and also promoting healthy skin. Papaya is an excellent source of vitamins A, C, B complex, amino acids, calcium and iron. It contains anti-oxidants which are known to prevent cancer.
(However, a word of caution, if you are pregnant or trying to be, it is not advisable to consume too much green papaya as it has been reported to cause abortions.)

d)Healing
Healing speeds up with pieces of papaya laid on wounds and surgical incision. A large number of people believe that pregnant women should avoid papaya as it may cause a miscarriage. Scientifically speaking there is no evidence to support these beliefs.

e)Question: I read in article that 'papaya &amp; pineapple' contain high enzymes - so that should be avoided during pregnancy. Is this also true for cashews &amp; cantaloupe?

Ans: It is believed that raw papaya and pineapple can induce abortion due to the enzymes it contains. But there is no scientific evidence to support this belief. Cashews and cantaloupe are safe to be consumed during pregnancy.

My chinese physician also kept on reminding me abt green papaya too. I love Thai green mango salad which uses green mangoes. After doing a short research, I found nothing negative abt green mangoes.

hi angeline,

my bb measured 2.6cm and was dated 9wks 4 days though i'm supposed to be abt 10 wks. bb shd be abt 3 cm at 10 wks, dr also say it is abit small, but the measurements usually are not 100% accurate. hope by next visit bb will grow faster

i also dunno bb can move so early.. my dr was doing a tummy scan when he commented that bb was moving and i could see the outline of the legs &amp; hands and it was squirming! i couldn't stop smiling after that
came home then realised i forgot to ask dr for the scan pic.. ahh! see bb oreadi, forgot abt everything else, heehee... have you booked your NT scan? i'm doing the scan in 2 weeks' time.

hi pebbles,

so fast u 11wk2days liao? i remember your transfer was a couple of days before me leh, and i'm juz abt 10 wks now... when's your EDD?

Hiaz, every day at work, i struggle to keep my eyes open ... but at night, i find it a struggle to sleep.. donno why... i find the breathing path slightly obstructed
And i tend to wake up at 3am and cant sleep until 6 plus, and it is time for me to wake up! Anyone experience sleepiness and insomia at same time?

Hi kk,
Wah... Your preggie news certainly spread very fast... I might tell my mother in law after I see my gynae this Saturday. One of my cousin who experienced the same history as me knew already
. Sometimes I just wonder if my own parents will be happy of the news. So, I am quite hesitant to tell them. The news could be their dreams of attending my graduation being shattered. hahaha... maybe silly me... :p Hormones playing trick on me to "hu si luan xiang" :p.

Hi Dor,
If people ask, I will just smile too
I hope my tummy will not show till 2nd trimester. I do noticed I have grown fatter though. But I still can fit into my clothes

Hi ryue,
Do have a good rest during the MC days
When will you go back to work? Work is just work to earn $$$... Health and baby are more important

Hi Evamtb,
I thought the earliest we can see baby's sex is in week 16 if baby co-operate. Whether you need multi vits or not will depend on your gynae's diagnosis, I guess. I am taking multivits and have been taking for a year already.

Hi Hidora,
How long have you had the constipation? Constipation can contribute to backache too.

Hi poohmum,
I have night sickness too. I can eat a lot for lunch... So I will eat only lunch... But I do not vomit.
Just very nauseated.

Any of you got giddiness with nausea? I almost black out again yesterday... Then whole evening when I was out, I was giddy. Dunno is it too many people or something not so right...

hi lyn,

i get giddy if i look at bright things or turn my head too long. stand too long also will feel faint. it's apparently quite common for preggies to be like that... have to take extra care when taking stairs or escalators oso.

lyn,

me too giddy with nausea! sometimes i walk abit i become breathless... can see me catching my breath like i got asthma like dat
then yesterday i got quite bad cramps and backache... so i went to see my gynae 2 days earlier... and bb EDD shd be adjusted earlier liao... and i can see the big head, legs and arms... so cute.. remind me of my first son.

my gynae told me that actually for subsequent pregnancies.. (other than 1st one), the cramps will be worst unlike popular belief that it will be better.

Hmm in any case, hope this giddy nauseas thing going to past soon... else really very jialat still gotta work and take care of my bb boy...

me going for cruise over the weekend with my entire family... u all take care and enjoy (try) !

when will we start getting consultation package from gynae and when can we start applying anti-scratchmark creams??

Kite,
me should be early 7 week for today already. :D My appettie hadnt been very good since monday.. from very hungry person to picky eater.

I will have to see the gynae again next week. :D

I was told that my gynae will return the booklet that they record for the bb statistic and scans after delivery so me lazy.. havent record much stuff.

lyn,
my parents already know.. i had to becos i cant go back to mum's place as often as i do previously becos i felt unwell for the first 2 weeks. But i specifically instruct them not to tell the sliblings and relatives.

I feel giddy the day before when i walk around too often and get stress up.. so now I am grounded at home.

ryue,
oh, u had seen Dr Yeoh? Actually i went to see her for 2nd opinion and now I am sticking to her. Yah.. the waiting had been long.. last visit, i arrived at 5.30pm and heard that 1 who arrived at 10am, was still waiting for her.

evamtb,
My hb colleague recommend 3D scan to us.. but my gynae doesnt offer so perhaps we will go for another gynae for it if we wanted to. I heard the charges around $300-400 with complete report. They say it is a better scan becos can see better then 2D scan so easier to detect anything.

hidora,
Thanks, I actually cracked my tailbone last feb... now a days it hurts a bit.. I hope it wont get worse. Gynae told me to expect the pain to come in later stage when the bb press on the bone.

Poohmum,
More pantang one will think that it is better that you are not around when they are moving things. Just go to the new hse only when everything is ready.

good morn ladies

how's everyone today?
well i do experience on/off crampy feelin on my right and left side of abdomen the last 3days. but now i m okie. and sometime pain on the hip area. the womb shld b expanding, that's why we feel uncomfortable.

poohmum
u shldn't be ard at both places when the shifting is done, okie. juz play safe lor.
well me at nite also eat very little or simply no appetite but durin lunch time, i m able to eat a fair bit. so i always fill myself w fruit after a light dinner.

Hi cookiemz,
Yesterday I was sleeping, and when I woke up, I almost black out. It's not the first time already :p. I did not wear my seaband... I had two surgeries within a year.. I am only worried I got not enough blood, that's why faint.

Hi Poohy,
Wah... Try to walk slowly. I have not experienced short of breath though. It must be so amazing to see baby's features. Did baby wave at you?

Wow.. cruise will be nice... U take care too and enjoy your weekend

Hi Icy,
I wonder if more rest will help in the giddiness... My hubby dun allow me to go out today. He scared I faint outside. Cos last nite we went out and I was feeling terrible - giddy, nausea, cold...
I think my sisters know, but I did not confirm with them... haha...
Keep them in suspense...

Hey, you gotta really rest a lot. Your tailbone recover already? I had back injuries and surgeries about 10 years ago. At that time, all the nurses and doctors I saw told me I will suffer during pregnancy. But so far ok la, I will just take it as it comes...
hee... I did not tell my gynae that...

Hi Dor,
We same same ah... Only can eat for lunch...

Hi Ryue,

I read from some postings cannot eat mangoes. I also dunno why haha.. if can eat, i dun care so much liao, i will go ahead and eat
but then sometimes such fruits will also come with very high sugar content. Do u all eat oranges??
kao_confused.gif

Hi Lyn,

Me too, i can still fit into my clothes. But how i wish i can fit into maternity wear soon so that i have reasons to shop for more

When i announce the news to my mum, she dun sound very excited though. But then she show concern through her actions like cook many dishes when i am back for dinner on weekends and also boil tonics

I am not sure how my mil reacted when she heard the news from my hubby. I dun see her really very excited also

Graduation? U are still pursuing ur studies?

For me, i didn't feel giddy in my 1st trimester. Feeling giddy is pretty common, so not to worry
But then if too often, must tell the gynae about it, ya?

Btw, if u feel giddy on waking up, try to sleep on ur sides and not on ur back. This will also reduce the stress on ur back, else u may get backaches.

Hi Icy,

My consultancy package started on my 3rd visit. I paid for my 1st and 2nd visits. I guess once the 1st trimester is over, the gynae will start on consultancy packages.

I have not bought any stretch cream yet. I read that some mtbs start applying the cream rather early in their 1st trimester. As for me, i have not seen any stretch marks yet. I am thinking whether to buy or not, because base on some, it may not be effective afterall.

hi cookiemz

My EDD was 28th August 2005. ET Transfer happened to be on Day 14 of AD. By right I should be 11 weeks 5 days today but doc scanned last time was 11 weeks 3 days, 2 days difference anyway
Tomorrow I am going in to see doc again. Hope bb is still kicking inside.

I have been resting for about 2 months plus, dunno whether can cope with work a not, chiam liao.

hi pebbles,

your boss quite accommodating leh, can let you rest so long. i took so much mc until i paiseh and quitted my contract job. u are approaching 2nd trimester soon, MS and fatigue shd ease off by then and perhaps easier to go back to work.. that is if you dun have 2 mths backlog of work to catch up on.. hehe

update us after your doc visit tomolo.. it's always both worrying and exciting to see our bbs again.

hi cookiemz

now you stay at home and shack ya beautiful legs ah?????? hee hee . My ms has kinda eased off, what abt you? Luckily i dun have any backlog of work since they get some part timers to help. I will jus go back work and act blur blur for the next few months
Hope everything will be fine for all of us here!

Hi kk,
I hope I will still be able to fit into my clothes till 4 months... lol... I dun wanna buy maternity clothes... :p
haha... I think my mum will also prepare food for me and get worried for me. I think my MIL will be very excited and worried. I just had an ectopic and surgery in July... so everyone might worry for me. That time my MIL told me to wait for 6 months first. I wanted to wait.. but accident wor... kekeke... lol... But my MIL longing to have a grandchild. I also scared later they cooked so much for me and I cannot eat... cos nowadays, I can be like hungry at one moment, then when I finish cooking, I dun feel like eating already :p

About stretchmarks, my mum last time put olive oil... And she got very smooth and nice tummy... kekeke...

Hi pebbles,
Do have a good rest
Dun worry too much about work
I am a little bit confused of your EDD... Do you mean something else?

lyn,
i suppose so.. older people always tell me to stay on bed. i went for x-ray before, it supposed to be heal, but then before i am preggy, i would sometimes experience pain.. dunno what happened. I thought I better let the gynae know so that they have a record.

KK,
orh, me already 3rd visit next week when I am week 8. how much does ur package cost? what is the standard package? but normally cannot "bargain" one hor?? :p

For anti-stretchmark, my friend advise me to apply soon as it works nicely for her. mmm..

hi cookiemz
I feel so tempted to queue too, i feel so lazy.

Hi Icy,

Any recommendation for the cream?

My package cost $2200 + GST. This is a standard package i.e. natural delivery. But if c-sec, then $1000 extra is required. The package does not include blood tests and other misc scans and tests.

Heee, i am very lousy in bargaining. i think cannot bargain also

Hi Lyn,

Depends at what rate your tummy grow lor

For me, this sunday will be my 4th mth liao
And i can still fit into my clothes. But i foresee my bottoms will be a problem soon as i find my pants tight now and my skirts can't fit me anymore.

Dun worry. If ur mil cook a lot and u can't finish the food or have appetite to eat, they won't blame u lah
I still remember during mooncake festival my mil cook steamboat and i only ate two fishballs
kao_shy.gif

hi lyn

Hee hee, i think i stay at home so long till i "gong" already
Doc did not tell me yet and i always forget to ask him. I checked online calculator since i know my implantation date and it should be somewhere early june. Anyway tomorrow I try to ask him again

Oh ya, abt stretchmarks, many people told me stretch creams not of help so dun waste money. They said olive oil will be good enough.

You r so lucky to be able to fit into ya clothes still!!!! Me cannot wear any of my clothes though my clothes are normally a bit loose. Think i am going to be fat fat than others

Hello hama...
I just finished my second bowl of "mee sua" in lotus root soup.. kekeke... I am prepared to eat more for lunch and not eat dinner today... I got terrible nite sickness last nite... :p

Hi icy...
I think back or bones injuries need more time to heal. Last time my spinal surgery took me about 1.5 - 2 years to become pain free. At that time, I thought I will have to bear with the pain for the rest of my life already... :p

Hi kk..
Wah.. I also hope to be like you. 4 mths already still can wear your clothes... I hope I can... My clothes are very loose... Now still a bit loose... lol...

Hi pebbles,
Will you be doing a detailed scan? By then, should date your EDD rite?

Hi Lyn,

That's very special! mee sua in lotus root soup
Btw, my mum didn't allow me to eat "dong fen". She say it is liang. I am not sure i can eat it now or not
because i prefer dong fen to mee sua

I find drinking hot stuff e.g. hot beverages or soups makes my night sickness better.

hi Lyn, so sad that u have MS in the nite..
but never mind, take the best chance now to eat more in the day-time..

i occasionally will have MS in the middle of the nite.. weird man..

Hi Lyn,

But hor, there is one reason why i wanna wear maternity clothes. My school very "fan" leh, always want teachers to mass exercise nowadays. And the next mass exercise they are starting on is Tai Chi!!! I dun want!! So if i can look pregnant, they won't ask me to join in

Hi kk...
I like to boil soup. So today I boiled lotus root with black beans, some herbs and "bak kut". Then I am craving for carbo... And I found "mee sua" in my cupboards, so just dump in... very nice
I like something "qing dan" now. I can just boil vege and eat without sauce ;).
Yap, "dong fen" is super liang one.
Last nite, I felt so nauseas, then I thought I was hungry... So bought curry vege and rice. Aiyo... terrible ah... The vege tasted so salty and I only ate a little... and finished the rice. Then went to buy something, felt the air con so cold.. then on the way home, also felt so terrible. Reach home, just lie in bed and sleep... So terrible also... my hubby just give me all his pillows... lol...

hama.. you mean you get MS even you are sleeping ah? I felt much better after I fell asleep. But this morning.. woke up very early.. looking for my hubby to sayang me again... :p

kk... hahaha.. good excuse ah... But school holidays coming rite? So still need to play Tai chi?

hi Lyn, yes i can woke up suddenly feeling the MS attacking me.. then couldnt fall asleep afterwards... at times, feel so awful till wanna cry...

hehehehe, so did ur hb sayang you bor ? give u a sweet kiss and hug can make ur day beautiful for the rest of the day..

Hi Lyn,

Ooo, lotus soup my favourite too! I love to boil soups too and lotus soup is one of my favourites. It is healthy and also can remove heatiness

Haha, probably the spicyness turned u off too. Do u suddenly have a craving for spicy food? I love spicy food a lot during my 1st trimester, but weird thing is i dun take much spicy food ever since young

It's already school holiday for sec students. I am only on o level invigilation these few days. So pretty relaxed
But i still got to attend the staff workshop tomorrow at new park hotel. Saturday leh tomorrow!!! I hate it!! Next week will be a busier week for me as there are invigilation plus school meetings. And i have 2 presentations to do the week after next

hi lyn, i'm at my mum's plc which i din not download MSN.. can only chat with u later tonight or tmr... willbe going back to my nest home tonight after dinner.. dunno what time will reach home...

btw lyn, do u have any idea what type of food and veg are Liang..

hama,
Yap... my hubby sayang me
hee... he also dunno how to help me when I feel terrible... :p

kk...
I can drink lotus root soup everyday one... haha... I like to add black beans and red dates
Then become very nutritious already.
I seems to fancy curry. But curry makes me sick after that...
Wah.. you have got a very busy schedule...

sama sama Lyn.. my hb also very *GONG* one..

they can only be there for us when we are feeling terrible.. and treat us better and sayang us more during this period..

hama,
My cousin told me no watermelon, pineapple, papaya. I took lots of watermelon though..
Liang vege are cai xin, bai cai. But I still take cai xin. I love "lao huang gua" soup too, but that is too liang, so i avoid. I avoid winter melon, bittergourd too.
Probably I will be online tonite. My hubby dun allow me to go out today... So at nite will still have energy to go online. He asked me to rest at home... cos past two days went out liao.. kekeke... and tomolo going out again...