(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

spicegal,
Wish you a smooth delivery

sunflower,
You going to visit Mindchamp at TPY? The place looks clean and nice. A loves it too.

joy,
Mindchamp is less than 1k per month after subsidy. They opening 3 new branches in the east. They are childcare. Can send kids from 7am - 7pm. Their enrichment class is in the afternoon. I find it not suitable for A also. Next time I tell you more when we meet

oki,
I still "bu fang xing" to send A on school bus. Nowadays, I realise by bringing him to and from school is a valuable bonding time between me and him during the journey
I also "bu she de" to lose this "both of us" time.

Steffi,
*Pat on back*. I can fully understand on crying loud. My G is one classic one too. Need lots of patience but am sure she will be fine. G is more intense in terms of emotions, also translates into more determination (positive view). Some mommies here had witnessed her tantrumatic cry before (Thank God it is much less often now) and were rather shock. Can see in their faces..haha. Even the classes I brought her, some teachers appear to be scared of her and couldn't conceal the look of "I wish she won't sign up".

That is why I had been bringing her to classes where the teacher is confident enough to handle her and help her. But I figure as she grows older I will have to teach her to deal with different kinds of teachers coz don't think we can choose teachers in primary school. So, hopefully before that she will learn a few things about getting alone with others and handling her emotions, self- control etc...In G case, I can see some improvement overtime. There are less of the big volcanic erruptions. Only times she really lose it is if she gets really tired due to lack of sleep (and sometimes my oversight on her limit. :p)

Reference to Playful Parenting, which I have read only bits and pieces, I learnt something about tantrums. Lawrence Cohen said something like - the kids also have stress built up over time. And if adults know how to vent out in healthier ways such as sports, eating etc...kids' easiest way out is to cry. Sometimes the trigger may be the smallest thing of all but it open the flood gates and the kid may just cry out long and loud to let out the built-up tensions over a period of time. The easiest way out for parents is either bribe or threaten or isolate them (timeout). Whereas L Cohen suggests to bring them to a quieter place and sit within safe distance (far enough so that you wont get kick). Let them cry and talk to them in assuring and calm voice. Acknowledge their emotions. Hug and love them when they stop. Then only can reason with them.

He suggests caregivers to ask ourselves a few questions:
-What do you think the child is trying to express through the tantrums?
-After a tantrum is your child happier, more relaxed, confident, connected, cooperative, or engaged?
-What is the family's usual reaction or response to the tantrum?
-What have you tried to do to end the tantrums?
-Is there a pattern to the tantrums?

Can try to get hold of a copy from library if you are interested. Lots of good tips that I am learning from the book.

School
She didn't cry this morning. We dressed her up and Daddy sent her to school. She didn't cry when the teacher took her in the class to be seated. *Phew*.

With the tip from Playful Parenting, I played with her last night and just make sure we had fun and laughter. A bit of roll play so that she can be the teacher and I be her - a way to release her feelings/frustrations. Then this morning, I woke her up and get her to drink milk before I put on her favourite DVD, the Little Einsteins. I dressed her while she watched. When it was time to get her to school, I tickled her on top of her head and "washed" it down her body to the toes and told her "Mommy shower you with courage and love". I did that a few time and she was giggling away. She asked me to go sit in the car with her. So, we got in the car and Daddy took a small drive around and dropped me home before he drove off. I guess with all the fun and encouragement, it helps. Well, next Monday is another challenge after the weekend.

Rodeo,
13 Jan? Sunflower, you also looking at Tamp's branch? I think I won't bring G. The last time I didn't really took in much info becuase she was with me.

Shortening nap...didn't work. She still "tong" until past 10.30pm. So I decided to let her sleep her near 2 hour beauty nap. This morning she looked more rested. Think that helps set her mood for the day.

Lyn,
Mindchamp is not for G for now coz don't need CC..
Plus still think home is the best place. She loves to be at home though going out is fun. G is not entitled to subsidies...

Hello mummies, finally find time to log in... all 3 kids sleeping...

Praise God, I had a supernatural childbirth, thanks for all your prayers mummies... bbs arrived in 2 hrs, drug free...

A and M have been really good bbs... sleep most of the time, only wake up for milk. it's day 11 now and i am adjusting better, after a series of v bad engorgement and sleepless nites. last nite, finally got to sleep thru, only woke up once at 4 am to feed.

been so busy that i dun even get to shower bbs daily... now i am showering them on alternate days, as they are sleeping most of the time, and in between, i have to do my massage, etc.

would love to upload pics, but hb took my camera back to the US, left me with a big camera, still figuring out how to offload pics from the camera.

been busy preparing my relocation, visas, passports, etc for the kids.. will be departing mid Feb if all goes well...

lyn, is A adjusting well to school?

spicegall, all the best to your delivery.

toto

congrats! take care of yourself..u seem very bz with all the relocation but dun 4get u r now in confinement..
2hrs? tts very good....

toto,

congrats!! Good to hear A & M are doing great
Hope Jake is adjusting well to them too. I had not seen J ard when I picked my kids up in school in the evening. Did he come?

ya being a mother of 3 is indeed much tougher and chaotic. I had been tending to them non stop... at any one time, will busy with at least one. Thankfully too, Josh is a very good baby too... he slept most of the day and is undemanding. At 2 months, he had started to respond readily to us talking to him and would laugh, smile and reply. I really enjoying motherhood. And time flies, I will be back at work soon by the time you are about to leave for USA.

toto,

congratulation!!

u must rest well also... u got so much things to do!!

Luckily for u, poohy and me, the 3rd one are all good baby.. Cheryl also sleep most of the them also..

ya being mother of 3 is just like octopus!! so much things to do yet so little time! I very fortunate to have my mum and helper to help up.

Good Afternoon Mummies!

Congratulations Toto!

MTDT,
Can totally understand it's not easy to organise! Thanks for the recommendations still!
Will most likely go for those three too...pj nite seems interesting as well.

Re: Music class
Those interested in yamaha, they are rather stringent with the age...must be exactly 36 months, right down to the day! They have a pre-ballet class though for 2.5 yr old. Any of your lil girls going for ballet? Also enquired about Kawai...their trial inclusive of registration is 80plus...very steep indeed! Anyone heard of any about them?

Re: School
My ger got her first homework today! So comic to see her lugging home her homework file...hehe. One page of dot joining and a rigby reader...a rather good reader.

Re: Tantrum
I get crazy when she's into it..and it's been rather often these days...argh!!! Am still trying to keep my cool and try either the avoidance or the naughty corner. These strategies really work but guess it all boils down to whether if i can constantly be in that state of mind to use them...sigh...

Have a good day all!

joyfulmum: ok, let's go mindchamp on 13th then, together w sunflower. I won't be bringing ER cos hub won't be interested to attend, also no time to go home to pick him. It'd be almost 7pm by the time I reach Tampines. Will prob need to grab some food to eat during the session.

spicegal: Hope you have a smooth delivery.

toto: Congrats to a fast & smooth delivery. You sound busy. Please take care and rest well when you can.

calliope: Hmm, so means we can only put our tods in yamaha earliest in Jul then. Any idea if christofori also has similar todder music class? I'm not sure about Kawai but 80+ for trial is a bit too much.

Re: School
ER is adjusting well to his new school but i think he misses his old school. He has been telling me a few times this week he wants to go to Teacher Lyn's school. Sigh.....

Have a good weekend ahead. Cheers!

toto,
Take good care of yourself
You gotta rest whenever you can
Having twins is a different kind of happiness. I am sure you will feel that too once you are more settled. I am now enjoying my 3 kids. Sometimes, they are very fun to play with. I will laugh when I see B throwing tantrums and kicking on the floor. B and C now know how to tease each other too. For example, B hold a toy, then get C interested. B will take the toy as if going to give C, then turn around and crawl away as fast as she can. Then C chasing behind. B looking back as she crawls and giggling. Very fun...

A is adjusting very well in school. He loves his teachers and school. He loves going to school. I fetch him to and from school. It's a valuable bonding time between me and him alone. This time is needed cos I have been neglecting him quite a bit.

Hope J is adjusting well.

kissbb,
Long time never chat with you already
Are your AnB attending JG still? My gals do not sleep through the nite as much as I want them to. Can share some tips with me how did you wean off breastfeeding for AnB?

Joyful,
Very useful advices. Really happy to know that G is doing well in school. I am sure she will turns out to be a star in school. Actually, you know ar, this trip is quite a tough one for me and I think Kell is finding it tough. There are times when she will just break out when she saw other kids picked up by their mummies. There will be times when she wanted to call me. Yesterday, she called me, she was audibly holding back her tears and said ‘Mummy, I am a good girl, I wait for you in Singapore’ started sobbing then said ‘I miss you so much’. I kinda figure out that she has quite a sensitive emotional self but quite sensible too. Just so glad that I am going back to her tomorrow and resume my parenting self. Really misses a lots.

Big headlines in the States:
• John Travolta’s son passed away
• A 2 years old gal, Casey Anthony, was apparently killed by her mum, still in investigation. Body was discovered in November but till today, she has yet to be laid to rest…

These headlines just accelerates my urge to go back home and resume my parenting role…

toto,
Take care! Thank God for the supernatural childbirth! Somemore for twins! Wonderful.

Twins
Quite a few pairs of twins in June's thread, ya. kissbb, Lyn, Toto.

Lyn,
Your B and C are very mature! I know a friend with twins. They didn't play with each other until they past 2.5 yo. That must be soooo cute!

Rodeo,
Let me know if you need me to buy dinner for you on 13th. Better eat something coz till 9+ leh. I am not sure if I would stay till the end coz may not have patience. :p ER is very sweet. Miss her old teacher.

Paula,
K is so sensible. Must be tough for you, K and your hubby. Good, good. Coming home soon. Did you rent a container for your loot?

Those terrible news....read the Travolta ones here too.

Joyful,
Hubby seems to have been evolved. He manages her very well when I was away. Gungho enough to bring her to attend a trial arts and speech and drama class and settle all my CNY woes. K was cute. She was ecstatic when she saw me in the airport and for the rest of yesterday, kept on touching me as though as I am not real and kept on running to me and say ‘I want to kiss you’ and ‘I want to love you’. Think she must have missed me a lots. Hubby said she was very well behaved when I am away and remember all that I have told her. I.e, when her grandparents tempt her with burger she will reply ‘My mummy said I cannot eat too many burgers because it is not healthy’ or when she request to ride in Barney car and grandpa offered to let her one more time, she will reply ‘My mummy said I can only sit one time…’ Very pleased with her… there were some scares during the week though cos’ hubby text me saying that there are blood in her stools… So glad to be back!

<font color="0000ff">Paula,
Welcome back! K is really a good girl.

panda,
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!

any TCM to recommend in the West? Thinkin of bring J to see one. He has been sick (flu,coughing) for the past few months. Lots of phlegm in his lungs. Needs to 'bu' his fei...<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Is J alright now? If not, you may want to try:</font>

Shan Dong Traditional Chinese Medicine
Blk 134, Jurong East St 13, #04-309F
Tel: 6564-6335

<font color="0000ff">Please call to check their operating hours and location. Heard that the sinseh is good in baby massage, fertility treatment, etc. The Q may be quite long.</font>

Paula,
G is very sensible and mature. I cannot imagine myself leaving my kids. Think i will cry :p Have a safe trip home

joy,
My B can walk 10 steps already
she can clap.

OKie.. gotta go...

toto : congrats !!!!! they are beautiful !!!!
awwww, so sweet sleeping soundly ...
and your birth is amazing !!! drug free natural - PTL !!

i'm sooo inspired by you !

Hi Toto,
Beautiful babies!

Music instruments
Just want to get some opinions as to music classes. Do you think it is better to go for piano (keyboard) lessons or violin lessons? What is the suitable age? Any good teachers that you know?

how long do your kiddos cry when u first started them on ccc / playgrp? Aiyo, my gal was still crying so badly today...already 2nd week liao and mil didnt have the heart to leave her alone in the class, dispite the teacher's instruction. so she's the only one with adult company today

toto - A&amp;M are so beautiful!!

Wen - type of instruments not depends on ur G's preferences?

Steffi - alot of theory lah. the usual one wld be the earlier u let go, the earlier ur child will stop crying.

mtdt
yalor..i know that..prob is, mil is the one bringing her to school, starts at 10am..so she has got to be 'hard-hearted' dun think she can do it..hubby ask me to take a few days leave to do it instead...

like to ask: any of your toddlers displaying behaviour if they can't get something from someone, they will turn to someone else to get it instead?

Joyfulmum,
You may want to start off with piano when she is about 3.5 years old. Kelly's current KM teacher is a piano teacher. You may want to contact her if you are interested. I remembered her telling me that the age to start is 3.5 years old...

Just for laugh. Kelly asked me just now why do I have to leave her for America the past week. My reply was that my boss wants me to go there and attend to some important jobs. Her response, ‘Tell your boss that I am upset. Cannot ask you go America again if not I will punish her’.

Tell u a even more funny thing... My boss is call 'fat controller'!

Was reading thomas the train books and telling zav, trains need to work if not fat controller will be angry. So mummy also needs to work. If not boss angry with me.

Thus boss-fat controler

haha.... Both K and Z soooo funny.

Music instruments- just wanna see what people think. G will have to be the one who pick an instrument. So far, violin is out. She prefers cello! But she loves piano more than cello. But things may change as she learns more about individual instrument. Used to be to start at 5 yo was considered early. Now 2.5 onwards. Time's change!

Hihi all mummies,

Was extremely busy after a week break from work. Anyway, C manages to take school bus very well and didnt cry today. Initially, she is quite scared when she board the bus last Friday and I have managed to tail the bus till the next stop and she seem fine.

Toto,
Congrats to you once again, wow both of them are soo cute. So who is the elder one ? Amber or Matt ?

Steffi,
When I started Chloe for playgroup last Aug, she cried for 2 weeks before settling down. So this year I have transferred to another sch which is closer to home.

bbloh
thanks for the recommendation. I went to another TCM recom by another mummy. will keep this in my record too..thanks again

kite
thanks! hope J will fully recover after several visits...

toto
CONGRATS! so lovely babies
2071713.gif

2071714.gif

good news to start the new year...i am expecting #2...due early june...boy boy

wen - my frens/sisters always teasing abt violin players. v bad... but v funny

some of the funny comments
1) will the neck be always at one side?
2) learn violin hv to stand for 1hr.. so tiring. at least piano can sit down
3) violin being so near to one side of the ear, will tat ear be deaf over time?

hahaha... v mean right :p

<font color="0000ff">toto,
Your twins are beautiful! How old were they as seen from the pix?

panda,
No problem. Congrats on being preggie again.

MTDT,
eh! panda mentioned "boy boy" right?

joyfulmom,
Are you musically trained? G does seem to enjoy the music class. My boy is way too shy to even touch the violin last week. Wonder if the Teacher Ping can help to "observe" what kinda instrument attract a particular kid.</font>

rodeo,

sorry for the late reply. my hubby said that u can still seek MOM's assistance. They will call both parties down to their office for mediation.If no agreement is reached, u will have to file your own civil suit..good luck

toto,
Beautiful bbs!! Remind my A&amp;B when they are small.
I also let them sleep side by side. U also need to rest well.

lyn,
AnB are not in JG and Shichida this yr. I let them start ACT3 and Seimpi..let them try diff stuff.

How i wean off them?? Since i'm working, i dun really latch them on so often.. They are normally bottle feed during office hr and they can sleep through the night by 6mths. So i dun really have prob weaning them off.

ipanda,
Congratulation!!! How's Josh reaction to the new didi in yr tummy??

mtdt,
my things are still with u... Paiseh!! other than yr house and somerset, other collection pt?