(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

ivy, hope X recovers soon, v tough to look after an ill toddler without help, esp when preggy.

re AM/PM - for LW - AM and PM curriculum is the same - only full day will have PM naps. actually, i like PM better than AM - cos by the time J comes home after 5pm, he takes his dinner, play awhile, shower, and by 7.30 pm he is in bed, by 8 pm he is asleep. that gives me more time to do my own stuff and to rest.

If he goes for AM, somedays he does not nap in the PM, which is fine, but that will mean I have to keep him occupied the whole PM, and I will not be able to do my work... so PM works out just nice for me.

Anyway, next term, J will be in AM session.... having second tots re sending him to PM... however, we will only be in Sing for 5 wks, relocating in early Feb, so no diff la...

Hmm...

one of chelsia's schlhse by the bay teacher run to Odyssey Kindergarten.. Tried googling but to no avail... But one of my frens went.. and almost fainted when she learnt abt the fees... half day also 1000+

full day abt 1400

hub just update that ER is too heaty. The doc changed TCM medicine. When the new course finish, go back to old course then for review.

Ivy: Glad to hear that your boy better now.

CutieZayn: Yup, kinderland don't have much on PM. That's what they told me when I enquired previously. For some CC, they only take full day.

Celeste: Hmm, so Celeste does not take PM naps?

It's easy to put our tods in full day CC, but if they are sick or if CC close, then still need someone to be at home to look after them while I am at work. This part is tough 8(

cutie, oh yes, will relocate after my twins are 1 mth old. i am planning to deliver end Dec. now gal is breech.... hope she will turn down soon...

http://www.theodyssey.sg
this one really EXEXEX! but heard tat really gd...

PM CC - hmm.. the same set of teachers teaching? then i also v skeptical.

usu in Zav CC, when the kids nap, are the teachers rest time, lunch time. But if u say PM kids starts class...when the fullday kids nap. then means the teachers dun hv rest time?

calling for spicegal...
did you go atrium last week for your lunch? Got see the pushcart selling the CNY goodies? Got her contacts?
Her almonds cookies are very nice BUT i did not managed to buy last week cos hb was rushing off. And heard from the minimart auntie that they wun come back liao...sob sob....

Celeste,
Most of the schools do offer PM services. However, if you are looking at solid curricula for Chelsia and die die wants PM session, then I suggest you look to ang moh school (LW?), cos their set up would be more similar to Bay. If not and unless the school can assure you that there will be a separate class for all the PM children and can offer you very detailed timetable, then, better not cos’ what the other mummies said here about PM session is very true. The other alternative is to look into GUG.

cutie

yah..celest in kinderland..most of the activities r in the morning..afternoon nap then after that tea break..etc..then drink milk again..not much stuff liao..i oso notice tt there r only half day for the morning session...

celeste

how abt those CC at our house area..halifax behind kkh..since the school fee more or less the same..

celeste,
ya, halifax is near KKH, got sch bus. These angmo sch quite cool leh, they even have "interview" session before orientatin. During the interview session they ask the parents and learn more abt the kids like if there is any special areas they need to look out for. maybe you shld go down take a look. And best is it comes with the JD edudrama too..so weekend you dun have to bring C to extra classes.

Ivt really? Whats JD edudrama? I already sign up cpeech n drama for chel with LW @ united sq.. starting 3 jan..

And how much is Chiltern huh?

Celeste - sign up liao uh. wat timeslot?

ya loh. hailfax soooo many famous schs... shd go beo there. :p but hor last i enquire chiltern, they required kids to be toilet trained already. Is Chelsia trained yet?

i think ivy means JG... :p becos chiltern is same as Julia Gab.

re schools for our tots - LW is sourcing for another site for a 2nd LWPS in the East, that is, if you can wait... ke ke....

MTDT, thanks for posting the free shows. Already brought Jerica for the Barney show at IMM on wed night.

Jerica's Milk+Food Intake :
8.30am Breakfast (in cc)
11.30am Lunch (in cc)
12.30pm Milk (210ml)
3pm Snack (in cc)
4.30pm Milk (210ml)
6.30pm Dinner (usually rice with soup)
8.30pm Milk (240ml)
9.30pm Milk (180ml)

Rodeo, Jerica sits in her high chair for meals, but recently she wanted to 'act' like us so we make her kneel and eat on the adult chair during mealtimes. Are you having dinner together with ER? I find it easier when the whole family sits together at the dining table and eat together. Then they will know that its proper to sit by the dining table during mealtimes. As for public transport, I think its too early for our todds to use Ez-Link card now, our todds have not reached the height limit.

Ivy, I seldom go to atrium for lunch as I often join my colleagues who drive out during lunch or take the feeder bus to IMM.

Celeste, dun mind you pass my crocs to MTDT when you meet at baby prom.

MTDT, will collect my crocs from you when I collect my learning resources items. Thanks. When are they arriving?

Crocs : now I am stuck with so many pairs of crocs. Jerica's new school must wear white shoes; sandals, clogs and slippers not allowed.

Steffi, only half an hour. No need to queue one, just go and sit down in front of the stage. Ok if you happen to go shopping, not worth to purposely go for the show. Wed night already quite crowded, I think weekend will be worse.

MTDT,
Chelsia S&D with LW is on every Saturday 230Pm.. Go leh... Put Zav in! hahahaha

Toto,
LW really opening one in the EAST? When when when?? Go spy abit more

Spice..
Crocs .. really sorry for the delay... Ok i will pass to MTDT... But now also too big for jerica... haha... If u stuck with too much crocs for the gals... send me pics.. I take over... hahaha

spicegal: No, we don't sit together for dinner. ER usually start his dinner at 545pm. Earliest I can have dinner on weekdays is about 730pm. I usually eat alone. Even if hub eats with my timing, he eats in living room sofa in front of tv, or he eats in front of his PC in his study room. Prob only 10% is eat with me on dining table. I already given up asking him to eat same timing cos already tried for many yrs since we got married & it's useless. It's only when I go back to my mum's place that we sit together for meals. No such 'eat together at dining table' habit at my in law side. Maybe that's y it's more difficult?

MTDT...

Sorry tat i did not pick up frm u last saturday cos something crops up n i forget all abt it... hahaha... really sorry and PAISEH!!!

celeste - dun need to be sorry as I also FORGOT abt it and din bring the items out with me!

hahhhahaa

so pass u this sat huh?

Afternoon ladies !!

Rodeo,
If u are still looking for the talking Elmo, just saw it at Robinson Centrepoint selling $129.90. Currently they are having 20% discount

12 12 12 12 - Try to decipher it !!

Joyfulmum called up Chek Jawa and confirmed that low tide next Fri, 12 Dec, is around 4-5 pm, which is the best time for kids to discover the sea bed cos of exposed corals and marine life (sri lankan crab not included !)

Suggestion here is we meet at ferry at changi village, grab a boat to Pulau Ubin, take lunch there, and let the kids live a kampung life. If they get tired, they can sleep in the coffee shops (on our shoulders of cos!) Then we rent a van to Chek Jawa.

Caveat is the weather + min # of pp needed to form a boat trip. Moment the boatman gets 12 pax...he will move.

Venue: Chek Jawa at Pulau Ubin
Time: 12 noon
Date: 12 Dec
Cost: ferry + van ($12 per pax for the van)
Bring: mossie repellent + sunblock + hat + towel

We expect to reach the shore of singapore by 630-7 pm.

1. Joyfulmum + G
2. Aishite + S

If u gals ever happen to be in Jakarta or Mexico or Tokyo...must check out this super duper cool place for kids....S was wif me in Jkt last week and she enjoyed it v v v much....best age to bring them is 4 yrs old...cos there are limited stations for 2-3 yr olds....still fun lah....she actually get to cook in a real kitchen with real stove, real microwave oven (all made for children)...and she has her own supermarket to shop in, complete with kid-size trollies and check out counter etc....

If I have USD2 mio...I wont mind setting tis up in Spore myself. Best to play in Jakarta for the moment...cos only SGD13 for 5 hrs of pure play.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kidzania
http://www.kidzania.co.id/ver2/index.php?catid=31&artid=160&mnid=128

okipoki: Thanks! I bot it from Robinsons last week liao. They said only 30 pcs per store, so reserved & bot it. The $129.90 is already discounted price. Anyway, ER loves it.... keeps carrying it around.

Rodeo,
Dont mention. Infact, juz last week I didnt see the Elmo displayed for sales till yesterday when I dropped by again
$129.90 expensive leh... u really dote ER alot. Kekekeke....

Hi all...

Need help....

Check with you all hor... For the paid childcare leave... we are entitled to 3 days this year right... but if employer willing to give 6 days, 3 will be paid by employer, 3 paid by govt is it? of that only start 2009?

An my colleagues got 1 child < 2yrs old... so meaning he will be entitled to 3 childcare leave n what about unpaid infant care leave? How is it prorated?

And come 2009.. he will be giving 6 childcare paid n 6 infant care unpaid right?

Hi Celeste, no need prorted lei, my HR automatically informed us that we entitle to another 3days CC leave and must clear before 31st Dec. I think different company have different practice.

okipoki: Yes, elmo Live is EX!!! Not I want to buy for him, but my hub intro it to ER, said will buy for him and even brought him to the store to buy but it was OOS. So I had to help him source for it loh. I've yet to claim the $$ from my hub though....hahha....

Celeste: Not sure about your qn on childcare leave if co agrees to give all this yr. For infant care no-pay leave, I think your fren can take as long as co approve since the ans to the FAQ below said no prorating allowed. Yes, next yr confirm entitled to 6 childcare leave + 6 infant care unpaid leave.

Extracted this from the FAQ
As an employer, can I pro-rate the Infant Care Leave by the duration that an employee has worked for me during the yearly entitlement period?

No. As the leave is unpaid, it is unlikely that employees will take the leave unnecessarily.

Thanks all for the reply....

Think company giving 6 days childcare leave this yr.. since govt paying so jus give lah....

Infant care leave will be 6 days too for this year .. hahah

Lelonging!

Stories with Speed-reading CDs, similar to that used in SM.
How to use:
Flash stories card by card, as you narrate or to CD narration in various speeds.
Condition: Cards all mint except for 2 or 3 abit bent right at edge only. CDs mint condition.

melpawprint at yahoo.com.sg

1) $60 "Alphabet Stories"- 26 stories professionally printed on hard A5 size card.
ie. 234 cards, comes with 2 CDs.
The stories are narrated 4 times on the CD, in normal speed, 2x speed, 3x speed, 4x speed.

2) $55 "Prefix Stories"- 24 stories professionally printed on hard A5 size card.
ie. 216 cards, comes with 1 CD.
The stories are narrated 4 times on the CD, in normal speed, 2x speed, 3x speed, 4x speed.

3) $74 "Suffix Stories"- 32 stories professionally printed on hard A5 size card.
ie. 288 cards, comes with 2 CDs.