(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mtdt,

oh ya, was there. super packed that weekend, got high school musical i think that's why. I dropped by Borders expo sales, like nothing much le, 20% off books price + 10% BPC and the queue SUPER LONG! never get anything.

MTDT,
Yea, just want to have a generic feel cos Kell has been reading non-stop and she can sit still in one location and do nothing but read and read… we timed her on Saturday and she can go through her books for about two hours non-stop and after reading, would be drawing and painting. So just want to rule out any possible problems. Her mum kiasi lah.

5 to 8 pages = 25 to 30 titles
9 to 15 pages = 8 to 10 titles
16 to 26 pages = 5 to 8 titles

Eh, that statistics is only recorded per reading session… usually on weekends; she will have two to three reading sessions. BTW, can I have the birthday mgs full title huh… Kell also like his books and whenever we asked her who writes this book, she will replied, Eric Carle… think she recognizes his trademarked drawings …

paula - wow tats really alot.

For us - hardly at home for tat long a time... so zav dun hv time to ransack his books. but even hv, think he rather go climb n play with blocks. boys are still boys... so active :p

EC - http://www.eric-carle.com
The Secret Birthday Message - I prefer to get the board book version as he can trace the diff shapes.

another one of his fav - draw me a star

and of cos all time fav: Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me. Actually alot of his books are quite good.
pancakes and the hermit crab one also not bad.

MTDT,
Sotong me, I didnt even know that he has his own website... have been getting his books from amazon.com. BTW, do get the Ten Little Rubber Ducks and Do you want to be my friends! Very good titles.

Yea, she is reading alots... but too much is not good.

been busy. Both girls were down with mild running nose and cough last week, Jie jie got it first and pass to mei mei. Today sch holiday, I"m home looking after my younger one.

Paula,
abt the scholastic books, think I won't wait for yr supplier. Cos also dunno how to get them from you, me in east and you in west. Plus I want to get them shipped to UK, so are getting them from a mummy who already has the books. Sorry abt that.

Brand new readers set
Anywhere else to get them? Both wonderbox and acmamall needs $80 to get free delivery, else have to pay $5 charge. Thinking of getting 1 set for my gal to try, but not worth it to pay $5 shipping charge leh.

wen

really? not suitable for preggie?hmm...tink got to postpone till much later then can go liao...

Pauline

hows ur fullerton stay? nice view of the fireworks? was telling hubby next year MUST go book the hotel room n stay n enjoy...like pan pac or ritz...

mtdt,

I FINALLY went sunset grill hahaha....
nice place. my boy enjoyed playing at the playground more than seeing the airplanes.

seah street deli - long time not been there liao... see your blog early morning makes me hungry

Z is singing lots! our star in making

btw, where did you get the animal puzzles, very nice.

Angeline,
Five stars experience … our room directly faces the floating platform where the fireworks are. Initially, we only expect fireworks view but we didn’t expect it to be so near. Cos, when we stands at our balcony, the fireworks display is so huge and so loud and so near. Kell was scared cos of the loud noise and she sat on her bed with her Elmo and watched the display in the room with her dad while I enjoyed the whole display at the balcony.

We didn’t expect to catch all the bay activities like the speedboats performances, the two planes ‘kissing’ right in front of us and drew that heart shape, then the big helicopters carrying the Singapore flag flew past our heads, the colored lanterns passed by us. Services were excellent too… they prepared a tots size bed for Kelly, showered her like a royalty with crayons and toys and sweets. Best part of all, our neighbors are policemen… think they are protecting the bay area.

Hubby wanted to go back for grand prix. I told him to give me the money instead. Ritz would be nice cos you will catch the performance on the floating platform but will be too far away from the bay to catch the activities. We already told the hotel that we are going back next year and we want the same room! Fullerton is good… cos it is near to Boat Quay and Merlion Park. We woke up at 7am on Sunday, had breakfast and have a good walk from Fullerton to Clarke Quay… the little one spent two hours drawing and painting at the Singapore River and then another hour at Merlion Park. Solid!

sunflower - ooh the small play area in sunset grill huh? so small leh... but as long as X likes it. how's the food. :p

the animal puzzles - from popular. 3set series.

I saw the NDP Preview at Ritz... really eyelevel view for areoplanes,fireworks. we were lucky to be at the 29thfloor (top few floors). and half the floor also serves as police hq. hahhaha.

btw there is a fireworks festival next next weekend right. tat should be shiok too.

paula - ok take note of those few titles

mtdt,

haha, yes the small swing/slide. He was climbing up and down the slide... alot of angmo kids there too. Then he discovered a small playhouse at bottom of slide, but was so dark and I scared mosquito bites only let him in there once. got one kid saw him going into the playhouse, also followed him.

oic, thanks will go beo. is it wood or cardboard? realised now popular TPY do not have much of those eg memory board, puzzles liao... hmmm wonder is it just TPY or all branches.

Popular - TPY dun hv? or they put in another area? I usu goes to SK branch and bras basah.

It's thick thick cardboard.

spicy wings - actually i all along dun fancy. hahhah their Fish/chips nice. :p

Happymum,
Yep, I brought all four sets. The purple and green color sets are more elementary for beginning readers. Each title has an extent of 8 pages. One short sentence per page., i.e., Worm is a circle. Worm is a square. Worm is a triangle. Worm is a bow. Worm is a knot. Oh no. The worm is struck. The sentence in other colored sets gets longer.

Initially when Nao asked me to get this series, I was comprehensive as it looks really simple and that time, Kell was already into Dr. Seuss titles such as How the Grinch Stole Christmas with about eight to nine sentences per page but I proceed and procure the sets cos’ desperately need to buy new books because her learning pace is very fast. So, brought the sets and quite surprised with the results I am getting…

Ashite & Dal, you got quite a good deal for ducktours...I always thought tat the prices are way too steep.

Congrats zzzcookiemonster! Do post pictures soon!

Paula, Kelly really loves reading huh...tat is very good! Jerica wants us to read to her most of the time...she seldom read on her own..
Your stay at Fullerton sounds fantastic! So nice!!

I am super lazy this pregnancy, nuahing at home most of the time...my poor Jerica...haiz...

re: write & wipe books' markers

hey mummies, do you know where to buy these types of markers?

those washable kind doesn't work well on the book.

Spicegal,
Jerica looks so adorable… nuahing at home is a luxury you know? Makes me so envy only… keke… enjoy your rest! Jerica can draws very well!

think SM also uses whiteboard markers right?

i noe wat u mean.. i am using crayola's washable magicpen - smudge v easily right. i also got problem with them :p

Jerica as usual so sweet!

Could I confirm that this is the final list for SSO tickets? Total: 54 tickets?

1. Pauline – 3 tickets
2. Ashite – 2 tickets
3. Celeste – 6 tickets
4. Mspiggy - 10 tickets
5. Steffi - 2 tickets
6. Cutie - 3 tickets
7. sunflower - 2 tickets
8. vivi - 2 tickets
9. Wen- 2 tickets
10. kissbb - 7 tickets
11. Lyn - 3 tickets
12. zzzcookiemonster - 3 tickets
13. pawprint - 2 tix
14. K Ong - 2 tix
15. dal - 2 tickets
16. duffy - 3 tickets

Orders closed. We are lonbanging Dal’s friend to buy for us… might have 10% discount… stay tuned for more!

paula,

tried crayola, when I wiped off it created a huge smudge though after that can clean off easily with wet cloth.

mtdt,

yes, SM uses whiteboard markers. the colour of those washable markers smudge and "spread" across....
was hoping to buy those that comes with the book.

sso baby prom... i also hv lobang to get before sept 1st + 10% discount. but can only confirm mid aug... so still waiting and din dare to share yet.

paula - when's dal fren getting? 1st sept or earlier?

sunflower

wheres sunset grill? can see aeroplanes? celest loves to see aeroplanes...maybe can bring her go there..hehe

MTDT/Paula

wow...your hotel stays sounds so good..hmm...sian lah,this year actually wanted to go stay 1 but hubby gena reservist duty n hor at the NDP..haha..see next year how ba....

aishite,
luckily jezoir is a boy and can use this tactic, otherwise i probably have to jump off the ride! haha....

wen,
thanks for the compliment. i'm alright lah. hehe. :)

pauline,
think jezoir liked the teasing too. jezoir was really cheeky with you and kell. haha!!!
even at home or in the car he does that way of calling too! sometimes i get a headache and have to tell him to use his 'soft' voice. :)
jezoir also kept saying he wan2 take the hippo bus. u let me know when! :)

about the sso baby prom tickets, fren's sis is probably getting it on 1st sept. am waiting for her update. will sms you immediately when i have any news. :)

MT,
aiyoh the Amazon people are sooo annoying! I wrote complaint stating that splitting my package to provide "better service" incurred me ADDITIONAL international shipping costs from my mail forwarder. That I had stated "as few shipments as possible".

U know what the service staff replied?
"Your order did qualify for our free Super Saver Shipping, and I apologize for any misunderstanding regarding how the shipping charges are appearing in "Your Account" or on your shipping confirmation e-mail.

Although you may see shipping fees listed on your shipping confirmation, you should also see a promotional credit applied to the balance equaling the amount of the shipping charge, canceling out the shipping fees.

The amount of the shipping costs you are saving (the amount you would otherwise pay for standard shipping) will appear in your online order summary as each shipment of your order leaves one of our fulfillment centers. We may split a single order into two or more shipments to serve you better, either because an item has been delayed, or because the items you ordered are in stock at different fulfillment centers.

I hope that this explanation clarifies the matter."

Of cos I bloody know it's all free domestic shipping. They really never read.

think to amazon they dun noe it's enroute to Sin. it's a local address to them mah...

and tat paragraph seems like a "model answer cut n paste to u!" hahahaha :p

mine 40books was split into 3 dom shipments. not arrived at vpost yet.. not sure hows the charges going to be like.

mtdt,

if we order from amazon, then how we know they going to split into few shipments, then how we inform vpost?? heehee paiseh so many questions.

MT, 40 books?! Wah!!!
That's why I highlighted to Amazon in my Shipping Preference... but they really din read lor.
Write complaint, also dun read. They just see "Shipping" and give Model Answer, geesh!

Sunflower,
hmm my HB wldn't have bothered lor, he wld have just shipped international directly fr Amazon.
U forward your Amazon Purchase Invoice to Vpost. After that u wait for updates- Amazon will notify when they have shipped/ how many shipments.
Vpost will notify when they receive.
Once correct number of shipments liao, then u pay up Vpost, they'd forward to SG.

pawprint,

hmmm sounds complicated

mtdt,

ya, want to order stuff from overseas but can't get round to the "chimalogy" of the shipping/vpost etc :p haha

sunflower

thanks..will go check it out one of these days...btw,anything to eat for out tots?

PP

wheres the view from? nearby hotel?

A group of us (15 adults + 2 kids + 1 tod) made our way to JB yesterday and arrived back on midnight. I thought the package was quite ok considering what it covered:

1. Coach to everywhere (include tour guide)
2. Seafood lunch at kukup (so-so, 6 out of 10)
3. Seafood dinner at some orang asli place (8/10)

Everything for S$48 per pax. Places covered included a fruit plantation, kukup, kelong...and Shannon was v well behaved throughout, a mighty feat considering it was a 17 hr trip. Lets see how it goes next time, we may even wanna organise the same amongst ourselves, but I think the price probably applies for weekday.