(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Joy,
Actually I brought most of the stuffs and those that she has already completed work on are the following My Sticker Art, Tissue Art (this is fun… I actually brought another box so that we could do all over again), Farm Colleges (this is quite cool too); can do a search for these items on www.alextoys.com. If you are interested, I pass you their 2008 catalogue lah… Reading is good and that’s the best headstart that we can provide our children with…. We spent an average of 60 to 90 minutes reading books before bedtime but when it comes to weekends, she will surround herself with books wherever she is in the house. I am quite happy with how Kell has progressed cos these days, she can read out the sentences without any help But whenever she sees a new title, she would make me repeat the book two, three, four times before she starts reading herself. I guess, she is trying to memorize whatever it has been read out and yet at the same time, trying to be familiar with the book. I think I am really heng lah… cos I started her off with DK books and that step really helps in building up her vocabulary and opens up her interests in reading.

Hey, try growing some plants with G… I think she will enjoy it. I brought a big packet of green beans during the weekend and plant them in disposable cups with Kell… so used up 30 cups in all (cos my gal refused to stop) and I task her with the responsibility to water them every day. We saw sprouts on Tuesday and yesterday, we saw leaves… she was so happy and so proud of those cups and kept on ranting ‘qiqi plants this’….

muffin,
u can check out tokomama cos i bought from her previously

paula
i've been wanting to plant wif her too but hv not got down to it heheh. Wat else did u put in the cups? cotton wool? or just green bean, that's all?

okipoki,

cheri,
we did it in one of the GUG session as well

you just put moist cotton wool and put the green beans on it to let it grow.
the beans will take root in the cotton wool.
hope this helps

Sunflower,
Hmm, she is not selective in her readings, she reads everything including newspapers and magazines.

Cheri,
Yea, have to soak the cotton wool in water, place the cotton wool in the cup and place the beans on the wool! Quite cool…

huh? not starting in sept2008??

but anyway only soccor is for our tots... the rest are for older kids. good for PP/tinkelbell etc nia. :p

alamak few days never read.. so many things to catch up..

Think the LUK order had been cancelled.. cos the sg distributor complain and US side force to cancel our order.. STUPID!!

celeste,

its been so quiet for few days lor... maybe all the mummies went holidaying or shopping, left few of us here poor things working away :p

Aiyah, quiet today cos some of the noisemakers went DuckTours....quite fun.
Tics at 40% discount to normal prices.....so we pay 21.80 for 1 mummy + 1 toddler. Highlight: make sure you send a mummy with beautiful eyes, ie like Dal to buy the tic, cos the chance of higher discount is v v high :)

Anyone plan to go SSO concert at Singapore Botanical Garden this coming Sunday? Has anyone been there before? Worth the effort? Need to go really early? Difficult to find parking slots?

aishite,
The ducktour was indeed fun. Jezoir was frightened initially by the loud engine noise, the speakers and bumpy ride, so have to tell him that it was a transformer - change from a bus to a boat, and that slowly calmed him down. He kept telling Pauline "Dun wan ducky bus, dun wan ducky bus.' Haha.

Angeline,
The discount is applicable to locals lah. :)

Pauline,
Kell has beautiful hair. Soft, shiny, full and best of all, 2 tones of brown! :)

Wen,
Great meeting you again! :)

Dal
Creative mummy u! Transformer from bus to boat!!

Angie
Discount of 40% is dished out to Singaporeans across the board, think they want both tourists and local business lah

Dal,
Great seeing you again too. You are one hip mommy.

Angie,
Good thing that you didn't go. Think it will be too bumpy for you. They said not suitable for expectant mommy and baby below 1yo.

The ducktour was great fun for G. She was telling everyone about it.

MT,
did u use Amazon International shipping or forwarded via Vpost?
I requested as few shipments as possible, instead Amazon split up my order with an email saying "to provide faster service". A case of NOT better service.

Now 2 thin books of real wt 0.5kg is charged volumetric wt 1.4kg (SGD$13 weight charge excluding base charge!!!) by Vpost USA.
Still another 2 parcels fr Amazon (7 books, 2 DVDs!) not reached Vpost USA yet. I think I'm going to FAINT. But I see other people use Vpost leh... what am I doing wrong ah?

pawprint - i am using vpost too. oh no....
but amazon international shipping is even more ex (I tried and they charged me USD200)

but my shippment was divided into 2 boxes... not as bad as urs. wait for the other 2 parcels then ship together. in this way, only 1 based charged is charge.

Dal,
Thanks… I really had fun teasing JZ on Friday… he talks really well now and I like how he kept on calling you. Kell went home and told her dad to take hippo bus… so wait for you hor!

Muffin,
Hmm, interesting to know the variations...
(1) Read to the child
Re. Reading Books…
Btw, generic survey… how many books does your child reads per day?

5 to 8 pages =?
9 to 15 pages =?
16 to 26 pages =?

(2) Read on their own
Re. Reading Books…
Btw, generic survey… how many books does your child reads per day?

5 to 8 pages =?
9 to 15 pages =?
16 to 26 pages =?

Eric Carle’s My Very First Book of Animal Homes

This is a very good book to get for our tots as it teaches them about associating one thing with another. Bird lives in bird nest, bees live in bee hives, mouse lives in burrow, and penguins on icebergs…

sunflower - no problems.
u rest well...

paula - wow, doing survey huh. but i cant rem leh. :p think a range of 10+ to 30+ bah... depends on mummy's mood actually as i am still very much reading to him. he do try to read or narrate some of his favourite books... but tat wld only be 1-3books at one time.

pages - this one really cant rem. thin ones wld be the sight word readers... thick ones can be the pooh bear ency book.

Eric C - Zav likes most of his books. his fav is "head to toe" and "secret bday mgs". both books he can "memorise" liao. :p now he is into Mr Seahorse...

Dr Seuss - those "human parts" books also v good. like the foot book, ear book etc. Zav v tickle by them. hahaha :p

sunflower

I wanted to go expo on sunday... then tot of calling u to see if u were there... ur chruch there right?

but in the end the carpark full.. so detour :p