(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Paula, Jerica's cc is also having national day potluck party...me and my colleagues have ordered some old chang kee curry puffs, fish balls and nuggets for school. Some other suggestions : sugar roll from polar, pandan chiffon and some kuehs from bengawan solo

Paula and spicegal, do your gal need to wear red and white to school on Friday.
Do you all know where to get it huh ? I need white pant.

Cutie, yes have to wear red and white. Jerica happens to have a white skirt from fox and a red long sleeve top from Gap...so just nice lor. I help you ask my colleague where they get white pants for their boys..

Aishite, Paula,

Where to get the Brand New Readers and the Melissa and Doug Puzzles? Pardon me but am really lousy when it comes to shopping...if not for you ladies, i would have gotten my ger the really oldfashioned, really uncool ladybird readers, you know the This is peter, This is Jane one...haha.

Aishite,
Would love to be able to swing by your place. Have been extremely busy and two weeks ago relented, cos fell so ill and gotten myself a part time helper. Still, the daily stuff are wearing me down. Tired is the word. Haha...can't wait for my contract to end this year end, then can join you. Take me shopping k? haha.

Angeline : how are you !!! almost there ! when is your EDD ?? aiyah ... if you can join us tomorrow, i wld like to pass you some of those herbs to bath in ... bought so many and didnt use them up ... - not that i DIDNT bath - but i got lazy and impatient (to boil the herbs) so bathed with normal water instead :pPPP

Paula : buy simple cake or cupcakes ??? tt'll be so cute !! i am attending a cupcake decorating class next week - after that i can be the official cake baker for June06 mummies ! heeheee
Kell is soooo talkative !! so cute !
So is she better now ??

Spicegal, thank u. Went to kiddy palace just now but they sell in set more for boy lei. Will try Hush puppies 2moro, I just need the bottom actually, I need pants because their school will take it as a sports day so need to run around.
I can bring own food because only for her class and there is no Malay in the class.

Calliope
No probs, anytime, in the name of fun!
Give me a heads-up before you come, cos we suka suka can go out anytime, plus I also travel for work once in a while (even though it's part time work!), so need to make sure our calendar gel.
And take care of your health, the weather has gone goo-goo the last 1 week.

Brand New Readers need to order online, I put the link earlier to u oledi :)

k_ong

Cupcakes decoration!!! At Mong's? I was just telling paula about Mong's cupcakes, but too bad, she's not taking orders for Jul and Aug. And yes....pls become the official decorater of June 06!!

Paula,
Get those mini cakes from Prima Deli, but quite sweet. Alternatively, can get those mini chiffon cakes from Causeway point - less sugar, no preservatives. Taste nice too

Lyn

Probably will be 11.15-11.30 cos k_ong and I are taking bus down, ya, we r feeling v gung ho! Play by ear on the venue, leave your hp on, we will call u once we reach :)

Cutie, my colleague says sometimes those push cart selling children's clothing also have white pants. You can also try bossini or cerisi.

kong

haha..i am now 36 weeks liao...so shd be anytime ba but my gynae said wun be anytime now n so to see him 2 weeks later.but hor,my leg now already start to get swollen liao..especially my right leg..so uncomfy n cant walk too much coz can feel the 'preasure' on the swollen legs.me tomorw going out wif mum to get stuff.i already bought the herbs for bathing liao from malaysia..cheaper..30pkts.

Hi Naomi, Kong and Lyn,

U all go for outing today but haven't decide the venue? Want to join me and my friends at fidgets? We have 5 mummies and 5 toddlers meeting at 11.00am, interested?

Stella

I asked around but a few had just been to Fidgets or are too preggy to move agilely in Fidgets, that's why we are opting for Vivo lor. We are also meeting at 11 am! Have fun today with your gathering :)

White pants - can try Op.

Brand new readers - can get from wonderbox too. I also heard tat it's good.

Wow like a lot of activities going on... So shiok!
everyone enjoys.

morning!!

Lyn : vivo ! come join !!

nao : yah, Mong, she has been doing cakes for my sis - very pretty !!!
u free ?? come along for class ?? heehee

Angeline : wah issiut cheaper in Malaysia ?? how come my MIL didnt buy for me ... :p haahaaa
yah usually the swelling gets worse, dont walk so much, prop up your feet, drink lots of water !
actually, can drink a little tea, it's supposed to help water retention !!

Stella : have fun !! Fidgets is fun but tiring ! haaha

ok, back to pumping now ...

Hi MTDT,

Just read about your post asking about the first discovery book. i find them very good book, the graphics are very nice and they have transparent pages that can apply to both pages, for eg in The universe, it has a transparent page of a girl standing at the window, can be flip to the sun page which tell u morning and flip to the moon page that tell u evening. However for informative books, Xavier prefer those Acorn books fm Heinemann, Benchmark books fm Marshall Cavendish, and Pull Ahead books from Lerner Publications. All these books use real photo, one photo w one sentence either on top or the bottom of each page. I borrowed them fm National Library. I dun see them in bookstores or maybe i didn't search hard enough, do you know where i can buy them?

Cutie

Thanks, and sorry that you couldn't make it for today, I know you were hoping to, and the timing of 11 am was made to accommodate your pm schedule :)

No worries, plenty of chance, I will organise something again when I am back from Tokyo in a few weeks' time. And yes, we may just make it for Fidgets then, I need to lose zillions of pounds :)

Aishite, Ya I know, so sorry for that...;(

My boss was saying that I am taking last minute leave but he only come back on Monday...sianz..

<font face="tahoma"> Good morning ladies

Enjoy your outing today.

Aishite,
I went to see Newway to find Pauline but she's on leave. The other lady kept pushing me to take Phil one coz she's one! I will wait till Pauline's back then go again

Didnt realised looking for a helper is such a pain!</font>

Aishite and others who are going out today
Have a fun time! Too bad I am still having bad cough....have to miss this.

Paula,
K is really very, very advance in her understanding. G is at the stage of asking lots of questions but no "why" questions yet.
I will join you at the Coloring contest if I am still SAHM by then? Just for fun. Coz G really don't care about instructions (headache). She suka-suka do whatever she wants. If she is in the mood for coloring, she will do it nicely. Else, just scribble a few lines and say, "enough!".

Bird Park
The shows are quite fun for our tots. I haven't bring G to zoo or the like for nearly a year. Brought her to BP last weekend. Turns out to be a hit for her as she can appreciate it more now. I was not well so we spent most of the time watching shows. Well, that is entertaining enough for her. Maybe try something else next time.

JG
Anyone going for the Chinese cultural class?

Mspiggy

Good thing you chose to wait for Pauline from Newway, she's the best (sounds like another similar name-sake we know in this thread?) when it comes to anticipating and servicing your needs (her other co-worker, sigh, I had to spend 5x the amount of time explaining what I want).

Haha, be patient about the maid search lah, it's part-and-parcel of the process, better to spend the additional 5 hrs or so at the beginning rather than have sleepless nights if a not-so-good-one were to step into your house :)

<font face="tahoma"> aishite,
i totally agree... the other lady... *sigh*

i kept telling her my pref then she will divert and then recommends her fellow countryman again!

we gave up... in the end, my hubby had to "pretend" to look at their bio-data then tell her not so suitable then she's satisified! hahahahaaa

totally agreed.... praying hard for a good one! </font>

<font face="tahoma"> Sunflower,
hahahaaa you think our Pauline has changed job to be a maid agent already?! kekekekekekkee </font>

Joy
Think i paid about S$19 per box from Acmamall, cos it was having a 26% disount then.

Sunflower
Haha, I don't blame you for the mix-up! Looking at how our Pauline is turning out, I think the chances of her setting up a maid agency is remote :)
Toy agency yes, but maid agency, hmmm......

kong

i tink so lei...my mum bought it for me on our last trip back to visit my grandmas..

naomi

u going tokyo? envy envy! i miss the place...enjoy your stay ok..hey,now shd be the peach or pear season...can buy some back..its cheaper n vvvvvvv nice!

celeste

Fairymama said

"Home delivery will be done over the weekend. Will work out the schedule and let you know again."

just in case u got no time to chk.... hehe

Spicegal,
Thanks thanks!

Cutie,
We were given a chance to dress them up either in traditional costume or in red and white. I have no time to shop for traditional costumes so will most likely let her report to the party in a red and white dress that I brought from Gymboree… (one of the ranges that was released to celebrate the states independence day).

Calliope,
You can get that puzzles from Toysrus.

Kong,
Wah… you can set up a catering business customized for June 06 mummies need lei!

Lyn,
You have the contact of that causeway point outlet? Kell loves chiffon cakes from there…

Joyful,
Great! Look forward to seeing you on Children’s Day. BTW, is G able to colour within the lines? Kell is still pretty much into painting rather than colouring but I do notice that she is making the conscientious efforts to colour within the lines but many of the time, she still colour out of the boundary.

I brought this big box of crafts activities for Kell and ghosh, she is into it… when she saw the box yesterday, she kept on telling me ‘mummy, make baa baa black sheep pls’… so ended up working on collages till 9.30pm, way past her bedtime. So shiok!

Sunflower,
Haha… actually, good idea to set up a maids agency… will get alots of business from this thread… it is okay lah, till now, I am still confused between you and Lyn. Kekeke…

Paula, I think there is no contact for the Chiffon cakes. It is not a shop, is a push cart at the basement near to the Singtel shop. I tried the cake before and is better than the one selling at Primadeli.

Paula,
G has tried to color within boundaries(to my suprise) ...but only when she chooses to and more likely to do it with paints than crayons. Think because easier to splash with paint but need more effort with crayons. I won't count her to color properly for the Children day. More like to let her have fun with other kids. Think if G knows what you are doing with K, she will be envious. This mommy here really know nothing about art and craft....Most of the time, I just give her a piece of paper and let her scribble. Me no interest in art lah...:p 怎么办?

Aishite, MTDT, Paula,

Thanks for info on books and puzzle. MTDT, wonderbox great! Aishite, which colour set/s would you recommend for a start?

Joyful,
Yea, talking about splashing paint… I brought her this set of huge flunky brushes (reminds me of those brushes that we used to paint our walls) and she had great wall painting on big big pieces of paper… (like two pcs of mj paper combined). Kell can paint out the shapes of things that she wants to draw but when it comes to crayons, she is still pretty much into circling, writing Vs and drawing straight lines. Actually hor, I am not very good in this aspect too but seeing her passion in it, I forced myself to read up on books on such areas and stock up on those prepacked kits and I hope that I am doing the right things loh… cos I followed what an owner of an arts school told me, expose her to all forms of arts medium now and when she is 3, then starts exposing her to techniques…

Paula,
Hm...That is why K is blessed to have you as mom! Can share what did you get for K? And what books to read? G pretty much would try to make outlines of things as well. Her fave is to use the doodle pad and draw and tell us what she did....with encouragement, will use crayons to color too. Guess it is up to me to be more encouraging though. :p But this last week was down with flu and bad cough...no energy. Poor gal was left to play on her own most of the time. Got into this habit of "reading" books - flipping and giblish-ing away. Well, she used to do that quite a bit but getting worse recently. Now, don't want me to read for her. She rather "read" herself..aiyo.