(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

steffi,

me same plight as you. Last time my boy also got night routine and will read story book with me on the bed at 8:30pm and by 9:30pm he will be asleep. But my mum, brother, godsister came to stay with us last year for 2 months and all my effort at routine gone. He does not concentrate on story book anymore cos he want to stay outside to play with them and watch tv.

paula,

same problem with chinese lah. I had never had any problem with chinese... but my 2 kids dun seem to know much chinese. When I read chinese story books to them, they look clueless. S dun pronounce his chinese properly also... sounds like ang moh. I am very anxious to send him to berries chinese enrichment liao. Its very hard for me to speak to him in both english and chinese at the same time leh. I am trying to expose them more by playing some DVDs in chinese (eg. 10000 whys) or reciting san zi jing for them. A bit worried it will be hard to catch up... when I listen to the way he pronounce.

paula,

ya really treasure the time spent with the kids especially since we work. But at times the body v tired hehee
I tried to pay more attention to J nowadays in the evening. I teaches S stuff when we travel to his school in the morning... we will go through counting (he knows addition and counting quite well now), phonics revision, spelling, san zi jing etc. At times I read books for him on the car. Bo bian, really need to make use of any time... even then also find that I din do enough. cos cant very well practise writing on the moving car. And in the evening, needs to practise violin... that one even more tough... can vomit blood kind cos must keep repeating untill he can follow the beat.

Something to share, from a workshop organiser

Reading - The Most Important Key To Success
At School And In Life
Pardon me if I ask "Is your child a good reader of books?"

The reason that I ask this is because having a goodreading habit is such an important thing if we want ourchildren to do well in schools and in also in life.

Unfortunately I notice that there are still many children who are not interested in reading and they prefer to spend long hours playing computer games and watching TV.

And through many of our parenting and educational
talks in schools and companies, I realized that there are still many parents who are not aware of how importance reading is to their kids and how it affects their children's learning in schools.

Children who don't read a lot nor read widely will find learning and studying in schools a challenge, especially as they move higher and higher into the education system. Why is that so?

The reasons are:

- they have limited vocabularies and hence they will have too many words which they do not understand in the materials that they study - this will affect their understanding of the materials and comprehension skill.

- they will not do well in exercises, tests and exams, especially in sessions as such cloze passages, comprehension, composition and essay writing.

- they have little or very limited knowledge about things in life which in they can actually learn through reading of non-fiction books. With limited knowledge, they will find studying in school becoming more and more difficult and
ultimately many of them will lose interest in learning.

Laura Bush, the First Lady of the White House in USA said this: "Reading is the path to success in school and in life. When children learn to love books, they learn to love learning." And I agree totally with that.

Whenever I meet parents who share with me that their children are not doing well in their studies and ask me for my advice, my first question to them is "Does your child like to read?" And most of the time if not all the
time, the answer is NO.

If we want our children to do well in school and develop their potential in life, as parents, we must help them become good readers. It is a 'must', not a 'should'.

Personally for me, I feel that having a good reading habit is the most important key to achieve success at school and in life.

I have seen many parents who have invested lots of money into tuition classes and enrichment programs for their kids, but their kids are still not doing well in their studies. And the key cause for this is that their children
don't read widely and in large quantity.

I am not saying that tuition and enrichment program are not good. In fact, they serve their own purpose well.

Tuition and enrichment programs can help our children to improve their studies and learning greatly only if our children also have a good reading habit. Otherwise no matter how much money the parents invest or how many hours that they children attend such classes, the
positive effect will be limited.

To assist you in helping your child to become
an avid reader, I'd will like to share the following tips with you. Hope you find them helpful.

1. Have lots of good books in the home at all times. You can either buy them or borrow them from the library.

The National Library has tons of excellent books suitable for children of all ages - story books and information books (you can find books on all kinds of topic, e.g. books on animals, seasons, famous artists and people, human body, interesting places, occupations).

In my family, we make it a routine to visit the library every week if not every fortnight. It is a great family outing for all of us.

2. At your home, have the reading materials and books easily accessible to your child so that he can get hold of them at his convenience.

The best way is to have an open book shelf that is of the right height for your child. Providing him a proper place to keep his books and stuffs is also a good way to teach your child about responsibility - teach him to care for his things by getting him to put them back in the right place after use.

3. Adults at home (especially parents) must set good examples by reading books regularly. Children learn by observing what their parents do.

Be a good reader yourself. I'd recommend non-fiction books - e.g. books on parenting, self-enrichment and improvement etc. (By the way, newspapers are not considered because there is simply too much negative news and sensational but non-useful information in each publication - they are not good to our brain and personal
growth.)

4. If you have young children at home, read to them daily. Make it a routine, like before bed time. The best persons to read to the child is her parents and that is you. Reading together with your child is also one of the best ways for bonding with your child.

5. Carry books with you when you bring your child out so that you can read to her when an opportunity arises, e.g. while waiting for someone, at the petrol station, on
the MRT/ subway.

6. Give lots of encouragement and praise when the child make the effort to read by herself. Encouragement helps to boost your child's self-esteem and help her want to do even better.

7. Make learning fun and enjoyable. Discuss with your child about the things she has read and has fun with her by acting out some of the scenes in the books. This will help to fill your home with lots of laughter and love.

Poohy, my kids tend to zzz early even with nap... if happens to skip nap, even earlier. Really limits amt of time HB can spend with them, esp since he works from home (teleconf) a few nights a week.
I notice most FTWP have kids who sleep later, for more interaction time lor
. Really admire u and another gf- like u say, have to grab every opportunity even if travelling in a car and dead tired

lyn
u've made me very curious to know wat shicida talks abt in the book for daddies..maybe daddy's role is to bring in the dole? hahahah

paula
it's really good that K can take such a long nap & yet sleep so early at nite. N's nap is shorter now as she got older, only 1 plus hour & while she used to sleep by 8 plus, now becomes 9 plus...same routine but maybe cos she naps later now so can't sleep if too early. wondering if cc will tire her & make her sleep earlier at nite.

re chinese
my ger oso averse to chinese at present. though she'll still listen to me read chinese story books every day, she'll comment or ask questions in eng still...how to get her to reply me in chinese ah? no wonder they say it's best for each parent to use a diff lang.

Pauline,
their 2nd class started... hehe.. let's see wat happens.... u know wat i mean lah! keke...
but after reading all the posts on the little tots being maxed out at school and sleeping early and parents having only only a few hours with their little ones on weekdays, it does make me think twice about putting jezoir in school leh. :-( but since i'm considering half-day session for him, it may not be dat bad, hopefully. aiyah i also fickle minded. wan, dun wan, wan, dun wan, .....

Cheri,
Thot N is at TELC@SIM? Jezoir doesn't even nap and really can tire me out everyday. And almost every day asking to go swimming pool, playground, and take the free shuttle bus service for few rounds! :)

re chinese language - recently i'm also teaching jezoir this. 5-6 words 2-3 times a day for 3 consecutive days (no character reading of cuz! only verbally), and they are of the same category, eg face features (eyes, nose, mouth, ears, hair, head). then another set of 5-6 words after the 3rd day (like food category - rice, noodles, porride, water, milk, juice). then i'll ask him questions in chinese and he must answer in chinese, if not i'll repeat the question again. haha...

Jezoir's also using a few more cantonese words these days. we can have a conversation in cantonese with him but he'll answer in english. think it's hb's fault. keep asking him to only speak to J in cantonese but he mixes with english, and then say J not using cantonese. haiz...

happymum,
Thanks for sharing. Reading is indeed very important. I dunno how to cultivate reading. Bring A to the library, he's only interested in pushing the books carts, arranging the books, run around, etc. and not reading. When he sees me reading to B or C, he will then run to me and then flip a few pages. Then run away again.
Read to him at nite before bed, he will want to disturb B n C or jump around the bed. So now, we stopped all activities on the bed, except for sleeping.
I do read, but in the toilet when doing big business. hahaha... that's the only free time I have without disturbance. But A likes to take out my books to flip instead of his books.

cheri,
hahaha... quite easy to get that book for daddy
Think my hubby did not finish the book.

Chinese:
A pronounce mandarin like an ang mo... Now trying to get him to speak Mandarin. He will follow me nowadays. Speak to him in Mandarin, he will reply in English.
Initial agreement was my parents speak to him in Mandarin. Now, they change to speaking in English to him!

Poohy,

There is also a Tisen Hua Chinese Language School that you can consider for Chinese language. Kell’s Chinese teacher also feedback that she speaks like an ang moh but she also commented that Kell is putting in effort in speaking Chinese language. There is a bigger boy in her class who speaks really good Chinese but think he is having the same problem as Kell with English language. The longest Chinese language sentence that I have heard from Kell is the Three Little Tigers song in Chinese but I tell you lah, she sings like an American singing Chinese song. Really chiam lah.

Apart from Lyn, you are really another super mummy in our thread. Really salute you … but remember, you must take some time to rest also now that you are preggy.

Happymum,
Thanks for sharing! Reading is important and I started to love reading when I was in secondary schools… that are why I started exposing Kell to books when she was very young. Lucky thing is that she loves to read and I am planning to send her for assessment with I Can Read when she is three years old. Her teachers also said that she is the most active participant in class during storytelling and puppetry sessions. I don’t think she recognizes words but I think she is doing quite well with alphabets recognition. A few days ago, she shocked me by reading out the phonetic sounds of E L M O from her Elmo boaster. She is into newspaper these days … she will be checking out the pictures in the newspaper and start describing what the people in the pictures are doing or at times, will just grab a copy of my novel and starts reading out.

Cheri,
When you asked a question in Chinese, try responding in Chinese and get N to repeat after you?

Dal dear,
Only ½ a day lei … and please hor, when you picked JZ up from school in the future, I grant you with permission to pick Kell up too and you can bring her jalan jalan okay? Keke… Actually, I have never regretted placing Kell in school cos she really benefited from it. The only thing is her health. BTW, I was reading up a piece on giftedness child the other day and it was stated that if a child refuses nap but does not display crankiness in the latter part of the day; that’s a sign of giftedness too. In this thread, Gabby and JZ really posses some of the traits of giftedness. I go back and retrieve that URL and share with you.

Dal,
Do squeeze in a request to Joan to have JZ placed in Kell’s class lei. Kekeke… you will be really impressed by Teacher Wen. Kell’s please, thank you, excuse me and sorry … all these are being reinforced by her teacher in school so much so that these days, she will automatically say without the needs of us reminding her. And hor, I have never ever come across a teacher like her who will be so happy whenever her children achieve another milestone. Got time, I share with you the communication booklets… it is like her documenting the successes of her children. Really respect her and really hope that she could still be responsible for Kelly when she is in N1. An laoshi is also another fabulous teacher … she is a quieter version of Teacher Wen but she is really patient and will find ways in nurturing the children’s interests in Chinese. Also, she is a very thorough observant of children… she is always the one who will feedback me with things that others might miss, like, ‘She really uses her brains in situations like…’. Aiyoh, I can rant on and rant on about the school and their teachers. Really paiseh. Haha.

paula,

I felt so tempted to switch my kids to LV@RP whenever I read abt your account of them. Sigh its a little too far and out of place for us leh.

happymum,

thanks for sharing about reading. Reading is indeed v important. Sometimes I wonder why but I remember when I was young, I used to read lots of books. I love to read so much, when I walk home after kindergarten, my mum hold my hand and I will have my other hand holding a book and reading it as I walk. During Primary school, when its time for exam, my mum confiscate all my story books. I save all my money to buy lots of story books. Nowadays, parents need to go through so much effort to make the kids interested in reading... likely because there is too much distraction like computer games, internet chatting/gaming etc. Last time my mum was illiterate, no one reads to me at all. I read encyclopedia when I reached kindergarten. I really think it contributes to success in school and academic.

Poohy,
Try considering LV@NTU, it is nearer to where you are now. The good thing is that they integrate Chinese lessons into the curriculum and their Chinese teachers are all language experts.

paula/poohy/lyn
my gal is the exact opposite..she can speak mandarin with ease, but not ang mo...mainly becos both hubby and myself speak to her in mandarin at home..we are hoping to expose her to more spoken english in the cc.

dal
ya, N has started her cc oredi in SIM. Actually half day is quite good. I get a few hours off in the morning b4 i pick her up at 12 noon. Then we will enjoy our bus ride & walk home leisurely. She will nap from 2 to 3 plus & we still hv lots of time to do stuff tog till 9 plus when she sleeps. I used to think i may wanna go back to work if she naps till 4-5 pm but i guess they sleep lesser as they get older.

re chinese
ya, i hv been reminding her to answer me in ch...i guess i'm hoping she'll do it voluntarily hahaha. She's able to sing a few songs in ch now & can understand quite a bit of chinese (thanks to mths of JG mandarin class haha)...just not readily speaking. I will persevere cos dun wan her to be a kentang like my dh lol

lyn
my ger oso dun wanna read when we r at the library. she prefers to run ard, play wif the kids etc. But she loves me to read to her when we r at home or in the car...can go thru a few books in one sitting. I play cheat a bit sometimes cos i wanna expose her to more variety of books...when she's too hooked to a particular book, i'll conveniently hide it so that i can read other books to her instead...i try to read her at least one non-fiction book a day.

Pauline..
You really promote LV@RP leh.... Look.. now all Mummies are tempted... Cannot liao i mus do my part for Schoolhse by the Bay too... hahahahaha..

Tell you ar... if LV is at other places OTHER than woodlands, I can still consider... but WOODLANDS .. NO WAY!!!

Steffi, LV@RP is at Republic Poly in Woodlands..

paula,

actually we did considered Learning Vision at the old HDB building. My hb works in that building so if we place our kids there, it will be super convenient. We paid them a visit but dun really feel very impressed with the teachers leh. And I had never really like open concept classroom where each class is just partitioned by some mid height shelves. I find the environment too noisy as the other classes (especially older classes) will be making a lot of noise.

I think LV@NTU is only opened to their staff.

lyn,

my 2 kids also love to run and play chasing in the library. I got so embarassed by the noise they create that I dun dare to bring them there too often.

Celeste,

I wanted to put my kids in schoolhouse by the bay last year. Heard so much good reviews of them. But too far and out of place for us too
I think jurong west is a bad place to live with children's education is concerned. I am thinking of moving too.

<font face="tahoma"> Wes is not so keen in books!!! how to motivate him? he really depends on his mood... occassionally, he will just bring out one of his books and can sit down for long time "reading" it himself. but most of the time, he's not interested!

am happy yesterday coz i saw him fixing a 12 pcs puzzle all by himself! the puzzle that cutie brought for the bash present!

Celeste,
Haha, but the school is really good mah. They always surprised me with things that I don’t expect them to do. Or maybe I am mountain turtle lah cos’ I spent my nursery days and kindy days with PAP… where got exposed to all these things? They can make a zoo in one day, bake cookies on other days, go picnic at RP’s premise on one day and on another day, they go on an adventure hunting for bear’s footprints. This school is really setting the standards! Haha, you smelly lah… even now you want, also no space liao. On waiting list liao….

<font face="tahoma"> re : Kindergolf trial

Anyone keen?? If you're Citibank cardholder, trial cost $20 per session (UP : $40)</font>}

<font face="tahoma"> Pauline,
Still arranging... trying to see if we can form our own class.

Btw, this promo is from AMKhub branch. Not sure if applicable to other branches too. Let me find out more then feedback here.

<font face="tahoma"> re : Kindergolf trial @ AMKhub

Date : 20 Jul (12pm)
Fee : $40 <font color="ff0000">(50% promo for Citibank CC holder now)</font>
Duration : 45 min per session
Max 4 kids in each session

Pauline, you keen?
Currently one of the june bb is interested, they joined for our 1st bday bash. </font>

Good Afternoon Mummies!

Re: Reading
Haha...think my ger's a more avid reader than i am! Hubby and I always tease she's so serious and studious, a 'tak chek kia'! It's really ironic, cos we didn't expose her to reading for noble reasons but rather selfish parents us, just want her to be able to read on her own and not having us to play with her all the time....hehe. Just like to share my experience with you ladies. I do have in her bedroom, an open shelf her height filled with hand-me-downs and nothing expensive. She'd go to them first thing in the morning since she knew how to crawl. I also read to her from birth at least twice a day and bring her to the library every fortnight. AT the library, she knows she has to pick out only one book at a time and go to a table to read. I used the bigger kids as examples and non-examples tooo..hehe. So far so good.
We'll read about five books and then she's free to roam. I feel it's all about training and best to start as young as possible, just like potty-training, which I'm having so much difficulty now...argh!!! Oh...you may not believe this but when she was a baby, hubby and i actually recorded us reading out loud stories and played to her whenever i was busy with housechores. Hubby did mandarin while i did english...we thought we sounded funny!:p

Re: 2nd Language
Again, best to start from young i guess. I've been fortunate to have sent my ger to a very Chinese-oriented cc. She can speak pretty decent mandarin, for her age at least or i think, and she knows the distinction between the two languages. For language acquisition, best to have it person/place specific...read somewhere. Hubby was supposed to be the one speaking to her in mandarin so really thankful to the cc. Another important aspect i feel is not to baby talk. Actually this wasn't so much a conscious effort on my part cos i can't baby talk...am not so good with babies sort...so a blessing in disguise, i guess??? Try to speak to your tods as you would to adults. Don't worry about them not understanding. They would if we do so consistently. Have been really delighted with my ger's language devt...surprises from her everyday...am enjoying them so much!

Mummies, just a question out of my mind. Any mummies read story on sleeping beauty, snowwhite etc.. for your boy ?
My gal know this stories very well as we always read to her since baby but just couldn't make it to read this to Zach. Have feeling that this stories is for gal..

All talks abt reading.. Ethan is quite ok abt reading then his concentration span becomes shorter as he grows.. His younger bro is worse.. though very young, but got no patience to sit down to read..

Calliope
you are so lucky.. your gal is smart!

cutiezayn
Yes, i do read such books to ethan. He is quite ok with the stories.. actually he knows that gal called snow white.. he concentrates more on the drawf, esp sneezy drawf, but not so much on the prince n love story..

Btw, mummies, seem that we have more perks for giving birth more bbs.. Have you read today's newspapers? Seem that the govt is keen to increase the perks.. hurray..

no.. cos when i read these books, i dun really focus on the actual love story, but twist the story to make it easier for him to understand..

E.g. i juz explain to ethan that snow white is a good gal that helps the dwarfs to clean up the hse and that she has many good friends etc.... i also explain to him that the prince is like a doctor that helps snow white wake up..

Mspiggy,
Yes, I am keen! Just a few nights ago, hubby was asking Kell if she wants to learn golf so that when she could accompany daddy to golf course when she is older. She replied yes after watching a news clip on a particular golf tournament in CNA. I think she is more interested in the ball than the stick.

Cutie,
Maybe the boys could imagine them to be the prince charming in the stories mah! :)

Paula,
I never love reading.. kekeke... When A was a baby, I dun read story books to him. Maybe that's why now he dun really like reading. I read Dale Carnegie's books to him as I read. hahaha... I am wondering if I should read Shichida's books out loud to him when I read.

My A is also another ang mo speaking mandarin. hahaha... At least, now, they are willing to follow us and speak. My friends' kids at 3 and 5 years old, now tell their parents "can you speak in English please". hahaha...

Kelly is also gifted
She's very smart and ahead of her peers.

Poohy,
Wah... Kindergarten already reading encyclopedia! I only get to own a set of encyclopedia when in Secondary school. I do flip encyclopedia, but not much. hee... My ten fingers can count the number of novels that I read till now.

I goes to Bishan library usually cos the children's section is away from the rest at basement.

But for the past few days, my hubby really putting in efforts to read to A before bed. Yesterday was quite successful when I started to read to B n C. hahaha... Then A also wanna join in, so he sat and read the book with me!

Cheri,
Where do you find short non-fiction books? What kind of non-fiction books do you read? The non-fiction books that I have are all very thick and all words.
It's good to read a book again and again. Everytime you read, they will absorb different thing. It also trains concentration. That's what Shichida says in his book.

lyn, scholastic has many good non fiction book. J's school recently has a book sale by scholastic, the books are between $4 - $7 dollars, i got him some non-fiction books on healthy diet and shadows... bought many books for him. J loves reading - every morning, he will read at breakfast, after that, will ask me to read to him, after shower, first thing he will run to his bookshelf to select books.

think you can start organising your books in a bookshelf that is of our toddler's height - that helps. and remember the eadventure non fiction books, they are great too! J simply loves them... think my investiment in books are paying off!

re potty training - i am seeing some success now. J's diaper is mosty dry, and he will pee in the toilet once he wakes up in the AM, and before he showers. I will have to bring him to pee more often, and I am sure his potty training episode will be a success!

<font face="tahoma"> Cutiezayn and Pauline,
yes! we have 4 already.. will call them later to make confirmation.

will keep you informed again!</font>

lyn
i find rigby series has very good non-fiction books on insects, weather, plants etc. I din buy the whole series but rather chose indiv titles that i like &amp; i hope she would too hahah. Abt 8-10 pages per book wif very interesting graphics &amp; maybe 2-3 sentences per page. I oso got some 2nd hand ones from church thrift stores, salvation army store etc...very cheap, less than $1 per copy. Not sure where u can buy brand new ones though..possibly online?

keke ya i know they will learn diff things each time they read the same book. But i hope to expose her to variety now too as it's easier to mould or shape their interests when they r young. When they r older, will probably wanna choose their own books. Plus gers seem to lean more towards fiction so a lil intervention on my part now hehe. It's a balance, i guess. At least she has many fav books now compared to just a few due to the exposure. Will still take them out from time to read again after i 'hide' them.

Cheri, oh yes - ridby rocket has some good non fiction books too! wow... less than $1 per copy, think eadventure prices quite steep....

Lyn,
Keke, yea, I remember I dread reading when I was young. I only catch up and fall in love with reading when I was in secondary schools. My boss commented that Kell might have been ‘influenced’ when she was inside my womb cos’ during the course of pregnancy, I traveled a lots and when I fly, I can read one up to two to three books per journey. But then… influence are negative influence lah cos’ I was reading those chick-lit titles. Haha. But it is quite a laugh these days to see her holding my copies of Mitch Albom books and start ranting away.

Nah, she is no where as intellect as JZ or Gabby. The only thing about Kell is her level of maturity and street-smartness.

Toto,
Congrats on successful potty training!

lyn,

I never own any encyclopedia set when I was young cos my family was v poor. I always go to my cousins' house to read theirs. I had a collection books which I bought as I save up some of the lunch money my mum give me. I read and re-read them all the time... last time no internet. They are my only entertainment other than watching tv soap opera with my mum.

recently I also start to read to the kids more. I read to J yesterday and then after J goes to bed, I read several books with S. Its really a nice feeling reading to the kids. How I wish they will learn to read soon and discover the joy of reading.

Paula, he like me to read since his sis like those books. He bring the book to me and I just can't bring myself to read to him haha...Will try again tonite and see how should i read Snowwhite to him..

Toto, I also seeing improvement on potty train. Z's diaper is mosty dry also. Wearing pull-up for him now so can bring him to toilet to pee..but he still always miss for big business..

cutie

same here oso..celest doing quite ok for pee pee..at home,she will either tell me go 'toilet shh shh' or when i bring her go,she will pee liao. but still sometimes got 1/2 misses...her poo poo timing haywire.nv poo successfully in the toilet bowl before....cham...now tinking of how to make her poo..i haven start them when we go out yet.when outside still diaper..coz cant imagine have to dash to find a toilet for her when she say she want shh shh...+ women toilet always long queue..how har...?

mspiggy,

Ur kindergolf trial full liao? Was very busy yesterday and did not see ur posting.
Any more mummies interested in <font color="0000ff">Kindergolf trial @ AMKhub</font>? If so, I'm try to call the centre.

Details from mspiggy.
Fee : $40 (50% promo for Citibank CC holder now)
Duration : 45 min per session
Max 4 kids in each session

<font face="tahoma"> Pauline and Cutiezayn,
Arrgghhh... now kindergolf told me Sunday can only have 2 pax in each session coz there's only 1 coach on sun! Else will be Sat 3pm which is bad timing for me coz it's Wes nap time.

Her suggestion is 5pm - 2 students then 6pm - 2 students. you gals okie?

Hi Blur_p,
seems like max is only 2 for sunday trials unless you going for sat. </font>

<font face="tahoma"> Pauline and Cutiezayn,
they have other trial classes :

Sat : 3pm (4 pax) but i cant make it. if you gals prefer this timing, please go ahead.

Sun : 12 noon (2 pax)
5 pm (2 pax)</font>

<font face="georgia"> Pauline,
I try to arrange another Sunday for you and cutiezayn can? say 27 Jul? coz muffinmocha and myself have earlier arrangement. initially thought can accomodate 4 pax but then... arrggghhh sorry!!!!

Cutiezayn, you ok with 27 Jul 12 noon? </font>

toto
edventure sells rigby books too? hehe ya 2nd hand books r very cheap but gotta really spend time to rummage for good finds lah. i will always get my helper to clean every page wif the hand sanitizer thingy...but most of the ones i got r in very new condition. i will not buy those wif doodles etc on them cos i dun wan my ger to think it's ok to draw on books. Dun wanna plant that idea in her head hahah