(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Joyfulmum: Hope G is well in time for Barney tonight. ER's cough worsen & running nose started yesterday. Last night also a bit feverish.

Celeste: I went Yu Guo last night. The crowd is not too bad, just wait for 2 kids before us. The doc said ER has a lot of phelgm and ask whether taking western medicine or not. She suggested doing tui na 3x a week, together with western medication.

<font face="tahoma"> Pauline,
glad Kelly is recovering well

joyfulmum,
speedy recovery to G!

so many kids falling sick... wes starting coughing too!

paula, good to know Kell is discharged... speedy recovery to Kell!

lyn, wow... baking with A? sounds fun... really pei fu you.... can achieve so many things with just one you....

these days, felt that i am doing less for J... need to buck up more esp since hb is going off end June...

Hey...

Anyone went the motherhood fair? Anything interesting? Please share share hor...

Got Playard or not ?? Got sell good good mattress to be placed on floor types or not?

Rodeo...

So u will go Faithfully 3 X a week? Which Doc you seeing huh? I think got 1 very famous one there, surname is TAN...

What time u went dwn to get numbers huh? I tot of starting chelsia to regular TuiNA frm next week onwards....

Paula,
Glad to hear Kelly is discharged. Hope she will get better soon.

Lyn,
the shop U asked yr hb to go abd buy the pooh bear cookie cutter, is it the shop at chinatown pt that sells lots of hello kitty stuff? If so, mayb u sld call and ask if they hv stocks before gg. Last time I also went there to buy, but no stocks left. Bugis Seiyu supposed to sell too, but also no stocks when I went there.

Eh, any idea what I could do to make Kell eat huh? She refused solid and I tried to tempt her with her fave food today also no success. If she still refused food, would cereal be good enough to sustain her?

Btw, mummies ar… viruses are getting very scary these days. There was a baby boy who was warded on Wednesday. He was diagnosed with stomach flu and in less than a day, his bed was crowded with very senior doctors and specialists and it turned out that it is not a simple virus. So ambulance came and transferred him to another hospital. There was also this three year old gal who was suspected to be down with dengue but it turned out that two viruses have marriage together. And yesterday her principal called and asked things. Then told me that HFMD ENV virus is still in town .. Hasn’t cool down … so asked me to keep Kell away for the time being. Viruses viruses … are they taking revenge on mankind?

celeste: Actually I can't rem the doc's name. She's in room 7 downstairs, prob in late 40s or early 50s. Their namecard only got 2 doc. TAN shld be guy. So the 1 I saw should be KOH ....

She said to try 3x 1st, see whether got improvement. Still duno going 3x a week faithfully or not ley. No harm trying though. I reached there towards 8pm last night, left ~845pm.

They gave yao pao. The doc herself said "Don't think he can take chinese medicine hoh, so we give yao pao" They gave 2 yao pao.

I asked the tuina doc, she said can't do tui na alone. It's always consultation followed by tui na cos the tuina will be done based on the child's condition at the point in time. ER did gua sa on his back last night too, cos he had slight fever.

<font face="tahoma"> Pauline,
just give whatever Kelly wants now... most imptly keep hydrated.

she likes mee sua, noodles etc??

guess worst case, will be milk. guess she has no appetite after all those medicine. Poor Kelly

paula: If Kelly takes cereal then use that to substitute solids for the moment. You can try giving her porridge water too. Hopefully she's start eating food soon. It's always difficult to force them to eat if they don't want to.

Aiyo, the viruses sound really bad. I think these virus partly stems from the anti-virus medicine. Those virus that survive the anti-virus medication just mutate into another stronger variation.

<font face="tahoma"> Hi Pauline,
oh... forget to inform you. my mum always told me to avoid giving rice or porridge when Wes had fever.

She always said rice and porridge will bring the fever back again. Dont ask me why... I also dont know the rationale behind. But it seems to work, hence he'll take either cereal or mee sua or mee hoon then. </font>

Mspiggy ar...
My mum also say the same wbt fever &amp; Porridge &amp; rice... so think surely accurate lah... all old people thinks the same... or they are educated that way when they are young. haha

Rodeo..
Yao Bao for what huh? And how much is ur YU GUO visit YTD?

Pauline ar..
U hvnt tell me what happen to Kelly's Elmo Bus hor...

Oh, din know that porridge &amp; rice will aggrevate fever. Hmmm.....

Celeste: The yao bao use scotchtape stick on the bellybutton area. I suppose the medicine get absorbed into body thru the bellybutton??? Paid $18 + $7 for last night.

food during recovery-

dunno leh, the yishi at tuina always told me to dilute the FM, and feed LESS solids. Cos full tummies interfere with recovery? Some rationale like that lah.

Yaobao-
pls be careful, use surgical tape not normal masking tape/ not normal scotchtape.
my kids have sensitive skin, even surgical tape causes a mark/ allergy rash.

I used to powder my hands, pat on the skin where the tape will be, before taping. So that the powder will leave a protective barrier (but tape wun be as sticky lah).

Another way is to tape it at the edges onto the clothes instead of onto skin. But must tape such a way that u dun cover the medicine in the yaobao- must allow to permeate.

pp: Yup, the tuina doc gave surgical tape along with the yao pao. It's very sticky. ER refused to stick the 2nd packet. Had to wait for him to zzz 1st. Err, the tape can't cover the medicine in the yao pao??? My hub stick 3 strips of tapes across it to make it stick so it's totally 'covered' on the outside.

Morning ladies !!

Hows the barney show over the weekend ??
Last min, I bought the Cat 4 tics cos thats the remaining. Tho' is quite far from the stage, C totally enjoyed herself.

I think ER enjoyed the Barney show but he was v shy, refused to get off the seat during the show. Many kids were on the floor dancing/jumping after the interval.

Good Morning Mummies!

Okipoki,
Glad to hear that your child enjoyed the barney show. My ger was stone throughout the show. Maybe first time bring her go such live show...so suah gu hor...think she can't understand why they are 'live' and not on tv...haha. Plus the songs they sang mostly not familiar with leh. They didn't even sing the theme song! During intermission though, she kept asking 'where's barney? Barney come out.' Then i asked her wanna go to stage look for barney but she refused. Haha...think she chicken scared lor. Had to tell her we'd go there to take a closer look at the balloons before she agreed. Good experience still.

Paula,
Glad that Kelly is recovering.
Am sure it must have been quite a terrifying experience for you...yep, viruses these days indeed very scary.
As for foods, I usually just give my ger just milk and water whenever she has a fever. I know rice is definitely a no-no for me when i'm down with fever but porridge is ok. Dunno why but think maybe rice not so digestible so tummy needs to work extra hard to burn them off and in the process creates more 'heat'??? Haha...my own theory lah. :p

Flying to Penang tomorrow. My ger's first flight! Anything to take note huh, though it's only a 1 hr flight? Hehe. Think she'll most likely stone again, wondering what's going on! Btw, any fast way to cure sore throat/emerging cough? It's for me lah...wanna chiong makan in penang but like that how?

Hi Calliope,
It was C 1st "live" show as well but maybe because we are seated quite far from the stage. But lucky they did sang one of C's favourite songs.. I dont remember the song title but is the one where the tree "grow" - picnic song. Nonetheless, is a good experience for me...

hello gals,
anyone knows what is imagination desk from leap frog? need special equipment for the books? is it for leapster?
I am so confused of the vocabulary there. hahaha...

toto,
I baked oatmeal cookies for the kids
I used fructose and maple syrup. no sugar, no colorings, no preservatives, no flavoring. kekeke... baked till 2am on fri. in the end each kid can only have 3 cookies each. last minute went to buy pooh bear mold also for the cookies
kekeke... gonna try banana cake next
need to go shopping for more baking utensils.

my rationale n belief on food:
when kid sick and no appetite, cos their body tell them to stop eating. same for adults. body need 70% energy for digestion. when sick, more energy needed to fight the virus, so better dun eat. then will recover faster. but need to drink more water cos cells need water. n water help detox n get rid of the dead virus from body.

Hi all, just came back from my vietnam trip.

Paula, glad to hear that Kelly is recovering well. Take care.

Joy, glad to hear that Gabby is getting better.

Mspiggy, my mum also tells me no rice or porridge during fever.

Calliope, during take-off and landing, make sure your girl sucks the pacifier/drink water/eat gummies so that she will not get ear pain. Try coconut drink/coke with salt/tonic water with salt for sore throat relive. Enjoy your trip.

Oki &amp; Rodeo, Jerica also enjoyed the show, but she was too shy to come down and dance. Our seats were 2nd row from the stage, very good view.

calliope: ER also stone throughout the whole show. Hmm, maybe becos we were in front row so he feels intimidated by the life-size Barney. He only started jumping/dancing while we were leaving the hall after the concert ended.

There's this little gal ~2yo sitting next to us dancing away throughout almost the whole show.

lyn, wow... baking with the kids? so fun.. i also have winnie and disney cookie cutters. have some with other shapes too... i think there is a US website that sells baking stuff... maybe you can buy online... no need to go out and tug all 3 kids... ke ke...

poohy, how are you? din see J in school last week...

CutieZayn,
Thanks yr kind thoughts.

its okie, am very pai sey that we did not prepare anything for the other tods also.

Ashite,
thanks for the agar agarm and will not fight for yr acc anymore.

and the photos are really nice ;)

Paula,
Glad that Kelly is getting better.
Hope she is up and running and cheerful again
soon. ;)
U must take good care of yrself as well... in order to take good care of her.

Cutie, Jerica enjoyed herself very much, cos we carry her most of the time...she has 2 young cousins to play with and....she was given the chance to take even more junk food; soft drinks, snacks, french fries, ice cream...haha..quite an experience for us, especially crossing the road in that traffic!! Shopping not as fantastic as bangkok, food sucks and very expensive. Overall experience so-so, would not go back there again.

spicegal,
How's your vietnam trip? Where did you go? I will be mostly travelling around Asia now. Hoping to bring my ABC for tours.

toto,
No la... I baked with A only. He enjoyed mixing the flour part. But he dun like the sticky part. hahaha... Asked him to touch, he refused.

Do you know where to get the cheapest Ergo carrier? What other carriers will you recommend?

Need help on the following:-
I just bot the bfree bottles to use with Avent teats but it leaks from the plastic round screw part. The bottle mouth not a right fit into the gap at bottom of the avent teat. Bottle circumference is slightly bigger than the gap in Avent teat. Also noticed that the original bfree teat has a flat base unlike avent's. Mummies using this combi, do you have this leaking problem?

Celeste: So u starting Chelsia on yuguo this week? I brought ER there last night, reached abt 810pm and q was quite long. Not sure if it's becos of the tuina but last night he coughed less.

Lyn, I went to Ho Chi Minh city, dun really like that place, crossing the road in that traffic is really not for the faint-hearted! Shopping and food is lousy, I prefer Bangkok.

I am thinking of getting a hip carrier to hold Jerica's bum while carrying her, my sling pouch is much too squeezy for both of us. Do let me know if you have lobang.

Rodeo, I am using the bfree bottle with bfree teats but without the green stopper, it sometimes leak also if we never cap properly, resulting in a gap between the cover and the top of the bottle, so I will pull the teat out and then close tightly.

rodeo,

i also encounter such problems initially. Then i realise its because of the rubber part which is not intact well with the plastic part. Need to ensure that it sucks/fit in well.

Hope that helps.

Thanks vivi &amp; spicegal.

spicegal: Hmmm, so using bfree's teat may also leak ah. I was thinking whether need to get bfree teats instead but scared ER don't accept them since he's been using Avent's all along. He rejects Avent's variable flow teat too.

vivi: Actually I was comparing the Avent bot vs bfree bot and realise that bfree's plastic is thicker, hence it does not fit nicely into Avent's gap in the teat. So you screw the cap very tightly? OK, I'll try again.

rodeo,

im using pigeon's and Bfree's teats. It does not fit in nicely too.

It leaks occasionally too regardless what teats im using.

morning!
Brought Chloe to zoo n night safari on her actual bday last fri. She enjoyed esp the part where the Sea lion kissed her for 5 secs. LOL.

Lyn:
if u want more cartoon n other design for cookies cutter, u can try BIY.com along bukit timah road. its a baking shop.
bought lollipops and mashmallow for Chloe's bday tat time.

spicegal:
at least its an experience. vietnam's pollution very bad rite?

Rodeo, yes, bfree bottle's design is supposed to use with the green stopper and clear tube, but we omit them so there will be a gap between the bottle cap and the bottle opening. Like what vivi say, just screw tightly and it should be ok.

Lyn, you looking for cookie cutters? Can get plastic ones from Daiso, they selling in packs of 3 designs. Animal outlines like penguin, dolpin, bear, car etc. Cheap and good.

Kite, ya lor quite an experience. Air pollution is quite bad (in HCM city alone, 4 million motorcycles), face masks are sold everywhere, they have cute tiny ones for toddlers, wanted to buy for Jerica but she refuse to wear. haha...for milk, I buy bottled water to boil.

vivi &amp; spicegal: Oic. It's troublesome to use all the parts since our tods are older now. Hmmm, can just use the stopper without the tube? Will that help to prevent leak?

kite: Wow, kissed 5s by seal is very long ley. Hehe, that's definitely a special birthday gift. Do u have pic of that?

Kite, I went to Zoo last Friday also. You saw the 2.30 or 5pm sea lion show ?
I was there at 2.30pcs but it was so crowded so no choice have to go off.

kite, peifu...u can go zoo and night safari at the same time. I reach zoo around 2pm and leave at 6pm. Both my kids already KO liao and I felt so tired. Cannot imagine if cotinue the night safari. ya...remember to load yr photos..

Kite, wah...Chloe is such a brave girl to allow the seal kiss her, I think my Jerica will freak out and cry...haha..

Ya lor, agree with Cutie, peifu you to cheong 2 places in 1 day, the last time i went to the zoo from 3pm till 6pm, already peng san..

cutiezayn:
heehee probably my girl took her nap before we left home. We reached the zoo at ard 3.30pm and continue night safari at from 7.30pm to 10pm. However, she fell asleep awhile during the night show but woke up again for the night tram trip.