(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

sunflower,
its as though you were up all night.

lyn,
my fair boy, think he got it from me cause when i was at confinement indoors i also became fair..

tinklebell,
agree its a mind game.yr body seems to know...

stephanie,
my boy also went through the scratching ears phase.

food jar:
forgive my memory, which mummy asked about my leaky thermos mug? the price tag still there its $27.90 from sheng shiong, but its mug size dont know if its the same one u all eyeing.

mil came last night to take care of my boy for the week and my boy couldnt recognize her at first! frown over his face and wanted to cry liao...cause mil took a week break when my mom was here last week.mil had to sing, play etc then slowly my boy accepted her again.

anyone tried giving carrots to their baby?

mil also said my boy prefer fresh chilled EBM then frozen ones cause more fragrant!this choosy boy..anyway mil say very soon he'll eat porridge lunch and dinner, milk about 3 times a day only then what do i do with all my stock of frozen EBM? i can go more holiday mah...

So many bday tis mth. Mine too. falls on 10 Dec

Sunflower:
my Jack n lily shoes fr BP on e way, hv ordered 12 to 18mths, i can say e shoes are very sweet looking.

sunflower,
5 more days to Saturday! That's dreadfully long!
I was thinking to apply 1 day off on coming Wed...

tinklebell,
I've started my boy on similac stage 2 last fri. But i mix 1 spoon stage 2 with 2 spoon stage 1, this last for 2 days. Then yesterday, i began with 2 spoons of stage 2 + 1 spoon stage 1. So far he's fine. I'm not sure whether stage 2 is cow's milk but the fragrance smells better to me. Now i only worry if it will cause constipatient cos he has not poo for 2 days already! I've also started him on 1 cereal meal a day. Wow your gal really can drink, she must be very chubby now? How much is her weight now?

morning every1..

And happy bdae for all dec mummies n babies..

Finally, back to work liao after 5 weeks holiday..

A bit lost...

kite,
Happy birthday in advance. Mine falls on 6 Dec. Last sat, my hub celebrated with me and my baby together too. 3 stalks of sunflowers, a birthday cake, a nice dinner and 1 precious card with my son's foot print on it, words from my son written on behalf of daddy which moved my tears! But it was a great gift.

oki, kite,
How much did you pay for the shoe?

vivi,
Welcome back to workforce....
Can't be help to feel lost, everyone of us gone through the same too...Even till now, i also don't feel like working sometimes, want to stay home and accompany my baby.

Serene,

ya lor.. But at times i feel like taking care of my boy for 24hrs a day is super tiring...

Last1 week, he fussed at least 4 x at nites..

BTW, ur hubby very good...

mum2B,
Yes, my hub is very thoughtful, i never expect the surprise. He actually bought the birthday card 1 week ago, secretly asked my maid with the help of my mum, to paint my baby's foot and do the foot print of the card....I'm touched and moved with tears esp the words that he wrote on behalf of my son...it goes, "dear mama, can't write yet, so papa is writing on my behalf on this card with my foot print, with the help of auntie fe, ah ma and ah bi kor kor. I want to thank you for taking care of me so well and i love you very much...i will tell you all these one day. Love, brayden"

vivi,
agreed, sometimes when my son makes alot of noise, i also think the same, maybe if to let me take care of him 24/7, it will be quite jialut!
My hubby is very sweet, he told me this year, my birthday is very special cos we have our son celebrating with us.

Fi, mum2B,
When i read it again, my tears will gathered again...i think it's more on the part of my love for my son. So i'm sure if one day my son knows to write a birthday card for me, i'll be easily moved and will be tearing for sure!

Tinklebell: Happy Birthday to my dear Aaron.. heehee

Sunflower:
VERY CHEAP!! i paid $40SGD in tw!!
can send to tw? then i also wanna buy!! they're just so lovely!!! if you're willing, find out the shipping for 3 pairs. Thanks!!

I attempted to feed Brendan with some juice & peach puree yesterday BUT he doesnt like how? he did the "pretend" vomit action... he practically pushed all the puree out of his mouth... will attempt again today!!! is it ok for them to eat cold food?

dal, yes, bb jake is taking 4 feeds of milk and 2 feeds of cereal daily. but his milk intake only 180 ml - 200 ml per feed. sometimes less. for mixing milk into cereals, first few days, you need to make it more watery, there after, it can be like puree form. not sure how much to mix... i will take about 30 - 40 ml of ebm, mixed to the desired consistency, then leftover, let him drink using the spoon.

td bb jake had pear mixed with cereals, and he loved it. over the weekend, we brought bb jake out to kfc and tutu... he sat in the baby chair happily... only regret is that we din bring his cereals out, so he just stared at us eating. next time, will make it a point to bring his food out - cereals and possibly food jar.

tinklebell, so sorry to hear of what happened. have you gotten a pump already? if not, maybe manual squeeze your milk out?

serene, your hb so sweet. i remembered when my hb went to Oz for one month during my confinement, he wrote a sweet card with bb jake's pic and stuck on my wall... the card was from bb jake... reminding me that he loves me and is very appreciative of me taking care of him... whenever I was frustrated with baby sitting, i will look at the card...

kite, sunflower, i also got jack and lily shoes... 12 - 18 mths.. so now cannot wear yet... ha ha...

sunflower, if bb don't like the float, maybe can do floating with him in the pool, then intro the long noodle foam?

mic, did you intro other stuff before peach? think you should start brendan's first solids with something more blend - rice cereals mixed with your ebm - so it tastes familiar?

Amy: no i didn't... taste familiar... SIGH!!! Bren doesnt drink from the bottle...
how???!!! my bm should taste familiar woh...

so ve jus decided to feed the puree... i intend to feed him cereal at 6 mths (haha) irony right.. and yet i give him puree!!

i guess he's not ready yet...

hey, jake can sit in those high chairs already!!! not dangerous or bad for his back?

amy,
i was wondering how to bring homecooked abby food when eating out. like frozen veggie or fruit cannot sit on room temp for long rite? so u r giving baby food jar when outside?

Mommies:

i noticed most of you ahve used the exersaucer already. i've a couple of Qs.

1) can you babies feet touch the base?
2) won't it be bad for their backs if they cant touch the base?

amy,
how u prepare the pear? ang moh pear means soft white colur flesh,the shape like bell is it?

i gave my boy carrot on saturday.cut into small piece, steam in microwave, then smash with spoon then mix with EBM. the texture was still a bit grainy so i didnt dare to give too much,dont know if can swallow, just a few small spoons. but he started crying cause i was too slow and he wants more so have to quickly carry him to room to latch on.i was experimenting, maybe should try food with smoother pastelike texture is it?

mil will give apple (red,powdery kind) today.scrape with spoon and give.she also mention to mix cereal with vege while fruits are given on its own, maybe cause its more proper? but actually anything goes right?

michelle,
how do u prepare peach puree?

amy,
Your hubby is very sweet and encouraging too.

Michele,
Maybe you want to start something easier to accept for him 1st like apple sauce puree. The 1st jar food i gave to my son is apple. There's once, my maid listen wrongly to my instruction and gave him the whole jar, he finished up happily! Yesterday i gave him sweet potato, maybe mix into cereal is better, now i usually mix into the cereal and serve.

mum2b, yup... bit diff to bring homecooked food out - unless it's porridge, which you can place in a tiget food jar. now bb jake is on 1 cube fruit/veg in the morning, another cube in the evening. think should be ok to bring the frozen cube out (st from freezer), then soak in hot water to defroze prior to mixing in his cereals and milk.

i also stocked up some organic food jar, but will only use this as last resort, as i have also prepared frozen organic cubes - carrots, pears, apples, sweet potatoes. can mix and match.

mic - exersaucer, yup... bb jake can touch the base.
high chair, it's ok for his back, cos he can lean backwards, though sometimes he will slough.... ha ha... gotta keep adjusting him lor...

Michele,
My boy's foot can touch the base of the exersaucer since he's 4 mths old. My exersaucer has 3 levels of height to adjust.

Fi... ooh... think you should not feed direct from fruit at this stage. if possible, you should de-skin, de-core, cut in cubes, steam, then blend, adding liquid from the steaming process if necessary to attain the puree texture. once done, freeze in baby cubes, so you can reuse later.

the above process applies to carrots as well, hence remember to ensure that it is puree texture, not grainy, at least at this stage.

re mixing fruits/veg with cereals, you can do that. but at the start, i tend to intro by itself, so baby knows what the food is. after few rounds, i will mix with cereals.

Fi, another thing to note - try to observe 4 day rule. isolate the food for 4 days... to rule out allergy.

Serene,
Your hubby is so thoughtful...
I teared when reading your birthday card... :p

Michele,
Peach is very tasty to babies le... Maybe the peach stimulated his tongue too much already.

amy, mum2b,
Yalor... now very difficult to bring home cooked food out for babies when they are eating so little... My mum said next time gotta bring liao.. cos yesterday went out from early morning till nite, and never feed Aloysius with his pumpkin...
Correct me, if I am wrong... I am thinking that steam vegetables should be able to bring out in a small container... For fruits, they will oxidise with the air and lose some nutrients.

Fi,
should be able to blend the carrot for babies... Carrots is one of the first food for babies.

amy,
4 day rule means give the same thing everyday for 4 days or give 1st day, then 3 days rest and see...

have to blend a substantial amount for the blender to work right. mine is the normal kitchen blender. if blend too little, the knife is unable to reach the stuff.

so many steps to puree, how to tell mil..when i go away a week, she'll do her way but at least it's fresh food..i can do the puree myself over the weekend. but it'll be...

puree frozen food (smooth paste) Vs fresh food (grainy, cause just use spoon to smash after steam)

hhmm...did i conclude that correctly?

lyn,
i read a babybook from US that says be careful that some countries carrots, turnips etc has high concentration of nitrate. must be from the soil's fertilizer? but i think baby eat only so so little, dont matter right..

amy,
u prepare your own frozen organic cubes? carrots, pears, apples, sweet potatoes, u bought all these organic? bb jake sounds like have quite a substantial menu to choose from ya..

u use those proper plastic cube container? if i buy small container from sundry shop u think it can tahan and safe for freezing? some doesnt have the marking can be use for freezing on its bottom...

Fi: gerber... haha!! me nt so hardworking BUT am gonna learn how!! waiting for my freezer cubes to arrive 1st..

amy, serene: am refering to the safety 1st exersaucer woh... or maybe ur boys re jus very tall liao!! how tall re they?

lyn: teach me how to make carrots... must cook? step by step pls.. thanks!!

Michele,
Peel one carrot, cut the carrot into small cubes (so that can steam faster), boil water, steam carrots till soft.
If a substantial amount of carrot, use a blender. If not, use a metal spoon to mash till very fine like cream. Add a bit of breastmilk till you get the right consistency. The consistency is something like the cantonese porridge.

Over the weekends, I went shopping around for organic jar food. I found out that fruits puree will have ascorbic acid. I guess that's to prevent discoloration or oxidation (I may be wrong). Even the vegetables mixed with fruits, ascorbic acid will be added. Vegetables puree is just the organic vegetables plus water. I will use the organic vegetables jar puree as last resort next time

any of u using maxi cosi car seat? how is it huh?

i wanted to buy the reflection range. coz the material seems easier to maintain. but it's out of stock everywhere. hv to wait duno until when. sianz...

wanted to hv some feedback on the normal material maxi cosi car seat. maybe will just get tt instead????

thanks,

Fi, 4-day rule... meaning, day 1, 2, 3, 4 all on same food. observe if bb has any allergy, if not, next 4 days can intro another food, but can also eat the previous food alongside.

bb jake's menu is purely organic. carrots, pears, apples, sweet potatoes in addition to his this week's menu - long beans and peach. these are all stage 1 weaning food. stage 2 will be another batch, only after he completes these food, i will intro brocoli, cauliflower, apricots, banana, also observing 4 day rule.

i use those baby freezer cubes to store the food. so i just defroze single cubes when i need them. think you can also use ikea rubber cubes, but only pour the puree in when it's cooled down. when freezed, pop them out and transfer to zip lock bags. alternatively, you can freeze cubes in avent milk liners.

mic - yup... safety 1st... bb jake can touch the floor since 5 months.... now he enjoys playing with the toys... will keep turning round and round... he can sit there for a good 30 mins. his fav toy next to jumperoo...

re frozen food vs fresh food - think at this stage, bb only take very small quantities, hence i am going frozen. when his intake increases, i will ask my helper to prepare his meals daily... got a book from annabel karmel, very good recipes... even can make spageti... western meals... v fun....

lyn... i found some organic food jar that does not contain absorbic acid leh... gerber and HT... but only for certain food....

AMy: doesnt he lean forward? how tall is jake?

Edksd: i use the maxi cosi, i love the fabric!! this is my model: Maxi Cosi Cabrio Fix Nautica

the peach puree doesnt taste very good leh... even i wont eat it!! haha... so i guess i'll just try another flavor next week...

thanks lyn!! then the water how? mix with the puree or?

amy,

u v hardworking leh..i haven started do the puree yet..lazy mummy..hehe..i only intro pumpkin n recently (hengcai)...but hor i didn follow the 4day rule..hmm,tink i better do...but hor,abit diff for me to cook porridge everyday for 4 days..coz sometimes i am out...

bought a heinz baby biscuits at vivo yesterday..its meant for 4-6mths.. try feeding my ger but she dun like...arrggghhh..have to try again later..else so wasted buy liao,dun wana eat..

amy,
wah..*drooling* my boy can join bb jake for lunch?

lyn,
i did your method for his carrot on sat. so my little experiment was ok huh..just that he want more cannot wait so started crying..think cause i took too long to prepare till he hungry liao. i had so many utensil on the dining table-pump for EBM,microwave steamer,his feeding set.. and kept saying 'baby, why yr food so difficult to make...'

angeline,
are those teething biscuits?

i always wonder if give teething biscuits wont that stick and stuck gooey to their teeth? some more so little teeth, i only wipe with cloth during bath time. do u all do anything special to clean teeth? i saw those rubber thing that put into finger but i thought at the most got only 2 tooth and so small, that thing look coarse and giant...

edksd:
i ve 7 cats and they are always in my baby's stuff!! so even before Brendan got to sit in his car seat, my cat decided to make it his home...
i did wiped it clean before we put Brendan in it. it's now in the car for good!!

how old is ur baby?

Fi, think i'll be like u... haha!!

Mothers: kids mall having year end sale!! lucky u mothers... if i were back, i'll get another exersaucer for Brendan... sigh!!! taiwan dont have...

Serene, your hubby is so sweet
saw him downstairs yesterday wait for u all in the car while i was coming back home after lunch.

Thanks ladies.... phew! my MS finally back to normal! Think my boops only like Avent pump so today i cont to use the pump til my replacement parts come but have to hold it properly so that the funnel doesnt drop out loh.... managed to pump 250ml just now
so relieved

re: frozen food
u mean cook the food first then put into the freezer cubes? will it destroy the vitamins cos i always thought that freezing destroys the nutritional value of food partly ... the same for our breastmilk. correct me if i am wrong.

Fiona had her first taste of adult food on Sat ... all thanks to my dad .... chocolate cake!!!! *****FAINT*******

stephanie, mum2B,
my girl going thru the scratching ear phrase now..
intially me thought that something got into her ear!! haha..
PD say its just a bad habit and exploration of her ears..

Serene,
yr hubby soooo sweet

michele,
my girl not that tall yet, so when put her on the exersaucer, she will lean forward, like very difficult..
so not sitting her in for now..

where can i buy the food cubes?

mic... think abt it... yes... jake does lean forward when he is in his exer. but he seemed to be enjoying himself, so i wasn't concerned.

re: frozen food - hmm... read few books and this is what they taught on making puree... din really think about loss of nutritional value.

tracy: food cubes - there is a BP going on in marketplace. check it out.

Fi, ha ha.. next time make more carrots la...
bb jake din like his carrots leh...

Amy: then arent u afraid that it'll hurt jake's back or spinal? my hub thinks like tracy, so no exersaucer for now.

edksd: check kidsmall, they ve my model. i bought it there.

tinklebell: my same sentiments!! about the nutrients. Brendan does drink from the botte only when it's freshly pumped, doesnt drink when it's frozen.. so i'm thinking if i should freeze his purees.

tracy: i'm the one doing the bp lah... haha!!

michele,
I'm also using safety 1st exersaucer, i thought it has 3 levels of heights? Did you lower it to the lowest level? Now we put him on level 2 height but it seems to be abit low for him yet hubby think otherwise. I think my son is 68cm now. When i put him in when he's 4mths old, his foot able to touch the base already.

Tinklebell,
Oh you saw my hub yesterday ah? U recognize him by his car huh? Yes we went out at about 2pm yesterday. Maybe one of these days, we should meet up.