(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

sunflower,
you started to put your names on waitlist huh? Dun worry lah...will have a plc for your ds when time come...

aishite,
Malacca have a famous roast meat rice resturant..Need to ask my malaysian fren for the address tho...But is super famous one so you might know it already? Drooling now....the char siew is lean and juicy.

ivy, celeste,

heehee... morning called the schools. dunno if they bluff me, aiyo waitlist from 60 to 100+ but then I only called Chiltern and mindschamp so far la :p

any recommendation for half-day type?

<font face="tahoma">sunflower,
all sch have long waitlist... dont know why?! baby blooms in Yr2006!

tried alot of sch for wesley also... all said i called too late!

Cindy
We are there from 24-25 Dec, Hotel Puri.Boutique heritage hotel. I didnt want to stay in the typical Renaissance, Equatorial or Makota cos it's just 1 nite for us, n we r not planning to use facilities there.

Ivy
Yes, yes...pls let me have the addy. Each time I went there, it's always led by others, tis time I am doing the planning, so not familiar.

Cel
Malacca is just to eat lah...target to eat 4 shops for each meal, a bit siao I know but it's fun like that. Last time for bfast, we went to 1 pl for chicken rice ball, another for chendol, another for soup noodles, n another for dunt know what. So far me and 1 mummy...trying to cho PC...ai mai...itchy oledi? Come come

celeste,
give up for the time being lo..cos no one to take care of him since its a 3hr only class. Hope i can quit before he starts K1 cos really think the sch prep the kiddos well for primary sch.

sunflower,
chiltern house, halifax, i think have 1 or 2 more vacancies when my fren ask the last round. Mindchamps, can forget it liao..super long waiting list despite the STEEP fees!
You know that shichida also starting the preschool programs from N1-K2? Saw the advert on papers that day..shld be STEEP price too.

ashite,
i ask for you when i see my fren online hor..I know its near the parade sq. If not for the big tummy, i also want to go! But big tummy plus big butt, hard to sit long car journeys!haha..

sunflower
Did u like what u c when u visited Mindchamp? And where about is your location? A new mindchamp is opening up near my place..I have a 7 yo nephew attending their curriculum, and I like v much wat I see whatever he goes through. It's fairly powerful, coupled wif v dedicated teachers. May contemplate to do some look c look c myself when S is 5 or 6.

aishite,

they have a preschool now. The one that your nephew goes to is enrichment school.
I like the preschool, classroom are big and spacious, haha perhaps new also. My boy enjoyed playing in the nursery class when we were there. The one I visited is the HDB hub. That time still got vacancy when I visited early this year! Now fees want up lo!

malacca - went few mths ago. really only eat and eat and eat only. the shopping there - CMI :p we stayed at Equatorial and was given free tickets to their revolving tower. but of cos nothing to see on the towel also lah. :p

Sunflower - where is schchida presch? Tpy?

mindchamps - I went to beo before too. nice place... have a gym room, chinese room, then individual classes. but only 1 common toilet and wld be pretty far form classes. (maybe now i see the convenient for classes to hv attached bathroom. gd for toilet training :p)

Ya, they are opening new outlet v v fast. one in east coast, one in tampinese right.

aishite,

if at HUB, its 1180.
If at the 3 new east coast outlet, its 1280.
All before subsidy. If you interested they having a welcome day tomorrow evening at the hub, call them &amp; book a slot.
The 3 east coast centres not ready yet, target 1Q 2009.

mindchamps 3 new locations.
- East coast
- Tampinese
- East gate

I believe they are targetting more areas to open up, cos they said lookout for new centres!!

aishite,

no prob

Malacca, I went to a Nonya place before, its like at home, only 3-4 tables, must reserve. The food is good &amp; cheap. But then hor, I don't know address liao cos pp brought me there :p

Prices these days for some of the preschools can be quite steep. If we think Spore is tough, HK is worse.

My fren is returning to HK tis Fri to search for preschool for her Jan 06 kid and tis is what she needs to go thru:

1. Prepare a portfolio of her kid (hers is 9 pages)
2. Go down to the school for an interview, where both she and child get interviewed by the school
3. Place deposit with school
4. In the event that the kid doesn't get accepted, then she forfeits [3] for that school.
5. And she has to go through the same cycle for 5-6 schools, and each time, leaving behind the portfolio for tat school, which means she needs to do up 5-6 copies of the portfolios (colour photo, nicely packaged and all)

It's a little ridiculous rite?

My Seoul fren also quite cham, school fees there for Primary School level is USD20k-50k per annum. Cos public education sucks, so no choice, hv to put in private school

Alamak..
Wats this mindhchamps all abt.. any webby?
Hw much huh? Full day or half day?

Sunflower,
Didnt know u interested in chiltern east coast.. that time they offer my fren dun know Half day PM or what,... but my fren didnt take up... Looks like PM really no takers.! The reason why i strike off Chiltern cos very Ang Mo leh.... they never teach much Chinese leh....

celeste,

www.mindchamps.org

the price given above is full day. Half day difference like $100 only.

ya, cos hb doesn't like the one at halifax.
Yes, the PM waitlist is shorter, so I told the girl any session! haha..
oh dear, no chinese?? hmmmm.... they said bilinggual le.

chendol,

there's another one near Jonker street, its at the back. its quite an old rundown private home. facing or near the river. Its very nice, the gula malacca very fragrant. I'll buy the gula malacca when I go there.

forgot the nonya place liao, its shophouse, small place.

sunflower: The 4-digit pricing you quote for Mindchamp is for their 3-hr pre-school? Wow, prices steep ley!!! Btw, we can get subsidy for 3-hr preschool? Understand from my fren need min 4 hrs to qualify for half-day subsidy ley. So I din apply for subsidy this yr for his 3hr daily class. Hmm...I putting ER in 2hr daily pre-nursery. Can get subsidy bo?

aishite: I think it's ridiculous to need to prepare portfolio for kids going into pre-school. What's there to write when the kid has only gone through 3 yrs of human life (sorry ah, sound a bit crude)? I know some international schools here need that though, cos my ex-boss had to prepare that for her gal entering nursery level and the fees is a few k per sem; 4 sem per year. I rem it cost more than our uni fees.

Sigh....so I suppose we're still not too bad here compared to other countries.

rodeo
ya lor...so funny and heart wrenching just to hear wat she has to go thru. Well...in her 3 yrs of life on earth, she has and is still going thru gym lessons, ballet lessons, swimmng lessons...she's a rather good swimmer....quite amazing these days ah..the kids.

sunflower
i am putting S in Gracefields, starting in Jan. See how it goes, if it's not great, I will transfer her to Holy Grace, a church kindy.

How are all of you...

Wow so much talk on CC huh. I have decided not to place Chloe to CC liao cos PIL said they still can take care of her. Also, likelihood they are going to shift in with us next year

Oki..

Staying with PIL... good luck to you.. hehhee.. me very bad.... but really no joke to stay together... Xiang Chu Rong Yi.. Dong Zu NAN!! hahha

Sunflower,
U go beo the bradel heights Shaws... and update me... tat one nearer to me n more conv for me.. on the way to work drop her.. then pick her on way home...

Aishite, I went to the chendol shop posted by MTDT, ordered the Durian Chendol but can hardly taste the durian, so maybe should just order the Gula Melaka Chendol, the Gula Melaka taste very strong and fragrant. As for peranakan food, my friend recommended a restaurent opp Markhorta Parade, signature trademark is coloured glass, I did not venture that far so just settle dinner at the Newton food centre next to Markhorta Parade. As for chicken rice ball, I went to this shop (photo attached) at Jonker Walk, but find it not nice, apparently the nice ones only operates daytime.

1985060.jpg

Spicegal- the pic u posted is famosa. Not Nice!!!

The chendol place also has nice laska...

Nonya place- also have coloured windows. Think tat's the style for perankan.

I stayed at equatorial. Took their upgraded biz suite. Big and spacious. Comes with free usage of the lounge with free fingerfood 24hrs. Haha

Eq hotel gd as walking distance to everywhere. We walked to jonker street, the 2 shopping malls and tat nonya place. Only drive to and fro malacca and singapore

hi mtdt,

Transfer the $$ liao. but hor dunno when to collect from u.. schedule so pack till end of the year.. let u know again.. thanks hor

Funds Transfer to Other DBS/POSB A/C
16 Dec 2008 11:07 AM Singapore

From Account POSB Savings 103-33011-4
To Account POSB Savings 096-09685-2 mtdt
Amount S$42.85
Transaction Reference 2024037209

aishite: Wow, that's quite a lot of extra classes for a 3yo ley. Happen to watch Super Nanny on okto last night &amp; the kids have too much classes arranged for them that it somewhat made the parents lose control over the situation since no time left for discipline &amp; family funtime and the children are drained.

okipoki: Hehe, my view same as Celeste. Good luck to staying with PIL. You can let Chloe go for 2-3hr pre-nursery instead of CC. It should do the same good as going to CC in terms of socialising/educational.