(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

I will be going back on 24 Feb. Hopefully can meet up!

My boy 8 months now and also still bo-gay.
My milk supply really dwindling now. Supplementing with formula more and more now. Good thing that formula is cheaper here than in US. But really hope to continue BF till he's one years old. Which mummies still BFing?

CP,

pm me your local contact number...easier to arrange..

Formula cheaper? Ha, then cart 2 cartons back! Its even cheaper if you buy in bulk..thats what i did for Xavier's formula too.

EH...hello fellow mummies!!! This thread back to life again hah!!!

Ivy,

you're the May Mum gathering organiser now!
Next month is at Fates right? Meet before CP goes back lah... Fates, can or not? BTW, come to by house after Feb coz I sent some of the furnitures for "repair"!! Now a bit "incomplete".

How come you and Little Nana bored at home? Your 2 little darlings dun pak tor already meh?

Hi Ino,

Wow you got a "Do Dou" so sexy lehhh... I didnt see that when I was there? Anyway, I have one "Do Dou" which I bought it from Beijing. Yah I think got to wear a cardi for her else may catch a cold.

bbloh, firefly, lh_jyc
I heard from friends that you got to let them cry and try not to give in to them (for milk or other stuff). But of cos you must provide them love and comfort to pat or rock them back to sleep. They will be tired after crying and goes back to sleep. I know is painful to see them crying non stop but got to be tough and endure it through this training period till they get use to it and sleep through the nite. Once you give in, you got to start all over again.

bbloh,

ur boy wearing Nepia M size?
actually my boy v light ,think only 7.9kg ..but L size seems a bit tight liao- tried Nepia pull up pant L oso tight, think his buttock--big..haha

I let my boy cry-it-out too. After several nites, he finally got the idea that there was no point in crying, and he's better off trying to fall asleep back on his own. But yah, it's tough to harden your heart when we heard him cry until like that.

hi Firefly, fates & lh_jyc,

and i thought my boy is the few rare babies who have yet to sleep through the nite. he wakes up twice for milk. we did try to pat him back to sleep without giving him the bottle but he will be very restless, flipping here and there until he is fed.

i think the problem is that he drinks little in the day so need to be fed at night. average consumption of FM is 120 - 150ml. no matter how we coax him to drink more, he will just push the bottle away or bite the teat. he can drink up to 180ml occasionally during 1 of the night feedings.

<font color="0000ff">Race,
Yes. My boy is still wearing size M. Still has some room to grow. He should be > 8kg now.

Re: Crying it out
Don't think I will let him cry it out now as DH is studying &amp; needs a good sleep at night (he zzz in another room)</font>

Hi Race C,

My contact is not really home-made but it's sold at this shop called Le Cafe. Their pineapple tarts are really yummy. Think it's recommended by some mummies in the forum but i chanced upon this shop 2 wks ago. Their cookies and tarts are all very delicious and they even let u try b4 committing to buy.

Race,

For info, the Le Cafe do not accept any more phone orders for cny. i called them last week and order closed liao. Indeed their tarts are nice.

Btw, mummies,
I am looking for babysitter around sembawang drive area to look after my 8 months girl. Anyone got good recommendations? Please let me know

Hi CP,

You're going back on the 24th? Then shall we do our gathering early Feb?

Ivy/Anna - how?

Re: Baby wakes up in the middle of night to drink.

I choose not to practice the 'CRY IT OUT' method. I can't bear to, and personally I think it's not healthy to leave them to cry. This will give them sense of insecurity. I rather feed baby well, and let them have a good night sleep thereafter.

Le Cafe,

Where is this place huh??

I know a friend's mum who makes very nice tarts! Anyone interested let me know la :p

hi..just wondering if anyone is organising a babies gathering?
i wanted to participate in one..but didnt know how to get into one
currently my babyson is 8months old.a may baby..

Fates,
Gathering in early Feb huh? How abt 3rd Feb? Your house okie? If ok, i will start the list...

Janise,
Welcome to join us!

Pineapple tarts:
Hee..me gog to start baking the week before CNY...who wan to eat?

Hi anatasia,

Yup, same prb as my boy. he is drinking about 120 ml per 3 hrs feed and now sick its worse...so if he wakes up every 2 hrs at nite, I usually will feed him lor...coz his intake is really low compared to others. anyway, checked w the pd, he said his weight is still acceptable so its okie la..keke guess he is just a small eater..

Re pineapple tarts :
can try this shop besides hong lim hawker centre. not bad
think its traditional type.

Ohh...another thing. my hub has the tendency to beat my son when he naughty. I'm not an expert in handling kids but really feels shouldnt, coz found my son imitating him these days. anyhow will use his hands to beat pple when he not happy...reallyz!

Hi CP,
hee...me gave up Bfing when 8 months...admire u still can continue! Jia U

3rd Feb is good for me!

Ivy, you know how to bake pineapple tarts? Wow, wish I could bake that, then no need to only dream about it. It's my favorite CNY goodie.

Thanks for responding to me. What is the colour of Pampers premier. My gals weighs 10kg liao. Is it L size? I might need to change huggies cos i need to wake up in the middle of the night to change the nappy cos its wet when i touch the surface.I guess not enough to absorb my bb big big bladder,,,hehee

My bb sleeps at 8pm and i usually feed her at 10 before i goes to bed. But she will wake up at 3am and be very restless. Got to feed her and change her then. Usually what is the norm for babies sleeping hours, can they sleep like 10 hours through without milk?She also cries when her pacifier drops. Quite tiring so we let her sleep with us. Not too sure if it is a good idea.

how many ml is ur bb drinking now? mine drinks 180ml to 210ml

CP,
hee, baking is my interest that was influenced by my mum hence i can make most of the CNY goodies.

Bookworm,
You are busy? Haven see you for a while!

Gathering on 3rd Feb ( At Fates' Plc):
1) Ivy
2) CP
5)

Ivy,

wow, really great can make goodies..
have always thinking to attend cooking class so tht can cook some food or cookies for my BB...but lousy mummy ...

will b joining the gathering oo, whr is Fates stay?

Ivy/Fates:
1) Ivy
2) CP
3) SS1
5)

I read in one of the threads something that maybe we can try when the kids are older:
when they have gatherings, there'll be 2 mothers in charge of coming up with programs (flash cards, song, etc) for the kids, the rest of the mothers will be in charge of cooking/food or bake something for the gathering. I think this is nice as this indirectly is a playgroup that involves the parents. What do you think?

Milk intake:
Isabel drinks 90ml to 120ml each time. Interval 3 or 4 hours or even longer sometimes...on diet??

Sleep through the nite:
Isabel co-sleep with me. If she fuss at night, she just self service with BF. Maybe she just needs pacifier...

On a separate note, Zach @ 29 months now still doesn't sleep throught the nite. Will wake up for milk up to 3 times every time!!! Very siong ah......

Diapers:
Isabel wears cloth diaper during the day. Used to wear bumwear at night and I'll change her if I feel it's wet. Now mummy lazy, let her wear NTUC diaper M at nite.

Cry-it-out method:
Tried on Zach last time, total failure! he'd cry for 3-4 hours! Read some books on attachment parenting and High-need baby, now understand that he belongs to that category. Dun bother to "train" him anymore, just let it be, bo bian!

hi anatasia
my baby is like yours too.she drink only 120ml to 150ml every 3 -4 hrs interval and wake up at around two to three am every day. she only weigh 7.4kg doc say she is of small size.Actually i am trying to let her drink FM as i think she
will not be so hungry therefore in the middle of the nite she wont cry for milk but unfortunately my girl doesnt want FM at all. i hope to stop breastfeeding when she turns one but seeing this is so worrying. she simply dont like. i have been adding half a spoonful of fm into the ebm for a mth and tried putting like one spoonful now. but my girl reject it. how????? sign!! and she also dont like to take water only drink a bit. sign sign. and she is having fever now. dont know if its due to teething anybody had the same experience.cos my girl haven got a tooth yet hee still boh gei

hi matsu,

not sure of my boy's weight now but he was 7.8kg at week 30. my boy has been on full FM since he was 2.5mth old but he still wake up for feedings at night.

fever is a symptom for teething in some babies. try the transition from BM to FM after she is better. for water, i will let my boy sip from spoon directly if he rejects drinking from the bottle.

he now has 6 teeth but there are gaps in between the teeth. sure hope the gaps will be filled when more teeth pop out, otherwise got to do braces in future.

hi Firefly,

same problem with my boy. will go 'arr...' (not crying) as if asking us to pop the pacifier back into his mouth. i tried ignoring him a few times. he sort of dozed off but woke up again. co-sleep is convenient for the mummy but this may increase the child's dependency in future. my suggestion is for you to put him on a mattress next to your bed.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Gathering
Can't join the gathering on 3 Feb as I've got a D&amp;D to attend that night. Enjoy yourselves.

Re: Milk intake
My boy is also drinking about 120ml every 3 hourly. I'm still breastfeeding him during non-office hours.</font>

Gathering

Wah so fast so many mummies liao! Hahaa but I still got to check if my HB is free on that day or not? I get back to you mummies asap ok? Fyi I stay at Punggol

Time? Tentatively 2 or 3pm ok?

firefly..wow your bb drinks alot!! Mine the most will drink 150ml only...most times he drinks 120ml :p
Pampers premium is green in colour, but I think it's being replaced by Pampers Active Baby? ...which is purple in colour :p

Breastfeeding

I am still expressing BM for my boy...but MS had dropped so supplementing with Enfalac when supply is low.

Hi all May mummies, I just found this website. Hope its not too late! My bb is already eight mths and I must have missed so much info.

wow so many still bf !! salute u mummies...i stop bf when bb was abt 5 mths old...was sick badly and took strong medication so that recover ASAP and ms drop so badly ...

re: gathering
hope to join but have to check wif my hubby's schedule.

re:teething
my bb just recovered from fever-as high as 39degree. might due to teething but PD usuali dont believe fever have to do wif teething

re:milk intake.
my gal drinking 180ml of 5 feeds per day..and somemore 2 porridge meal and 2 snacks..eat alot but weight gain not much ...wonder where the food gone to?

any mums bringing ur bb for enrichment?? i'm bring ing my bb for trial at growing up gifted. any1 keen??

Hi CP,

Ethan is so rosy...how much you paid for the studio shots there?
Enjoyed our meeting up yesterday, we really ruin your diet plans! Let me download the pictures and email to you later..
Do add me to your msn.

Any mommy let bb have pneumococcal/influenza injections? Anyone knows if it is necessary?

Gathering..
M flying with bb..will miss again this time.

Ivy, very nice to meet both u and Anna too, plus Kaelyn and Xavier! Ethan had a good time too!

I paid around $25 for Ethan's shots. It's pretty common for Americans to take studio pics of their babies, some take every month. I wish we had taken them earlier, instead of now, so that we could see how he has changed.

I have added you in my msn. Want to get the hotsling, but would it be faster if you send by mail? cos dun think i can wait till Sat leh...

Just went back to work so I MIA for a while. Seems like I miessed so much.

Peds visit
Just sent my dd to the peds. She weighs 8.8kg and stands at 66cm... what about yours??

Pneumococcal (Prevnar)
I sent dd for it... Ouch $170 per shot. Can take if you want your baby to do so...

Ivy/Fates:

1) Ivy
2) CP
3) SS1
4) little_nana
5) sponge (tentative; TBC
6)janise

maybe someone familiar with it gathering msn me more information abt the gathering and hw it goes?
thank youz..

1) Ivy
2) CP
3) SS1
4) little_nana
5) sponge (tentative; TBC
6) Race C
7) Janise

Hey mummies, shld we have potluck or takeaway?

Ivy, I'll have problems bringing food cos I'll be travelling with Ethan alone. I can contribute money if any kind mums can help me bring food. Thanks!

CP,

Baby float can be got from Kiddy palace or Toysrus. Anna and i got ours from Toysrus, about $16, bb can sit inside kind!

Hi Janise~

Are you a May mummy too? Sorry haven't seen you around :p

Hi allye_mum,

Welcome on board! Is yours bb boy or girl?

CP,

Ethan so cute!!!