(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi annie...
wat u mean? u r a stingray already ah? u eat too much to revenge for your idol har?

alamak...u said difficult to get stingray now...then u ask me to find ah...u really got a sense of humour...

hi little nana,
forget about the window mobile shade. my fren said it's not good...hee

i will see what i can provide for the bbq and update all.

Annie,

Your agar agar inside bao abalone, sharksfin or birdnest? So ex.......
Ya you said difficult to get stingray, still ask ino to buy? I guess Anna wants you to get cos' you mentioned you ate it very often to take revenge for your idol. HAha..

Ino,
Yo! A tip....fishball....sotongball....
Just remember to bring natalie! I wanna see her leh!

bbloh,
Join us leh! We should b there about 2pm bah? Swim, chit chat & all, then BBQ

annie

ur friend order agar agar ingredient frm japan or US ??? SO EXPENSIVE !! or your friend making a super big agar agar to break GUNINESS record har

A pic to show all the agar agar i order for my family. only $35 and somemore delivery to my home and so big.every1 of us had a piece (size of those bengawaka keuh) and also have left over.

572680.jpg

ino..

Too late oso... kekeke my bumper mat has arrive today :p cannot tonbang liao

Annie

Really cannot believe agar agar cost soo much. Since you are paying thru Credit card, i'm sure there's a retail shop. Can show link or address??... Den we can choose the flavour tt suit us la.. but hor 80SG is far too X liao.. Cannot imagine... eating gold huh..

Pooh

Where did you order is agar agar?? Can share the details... looks good. Can order this for nephew's birthday..

Mummies..

Would you guys prefer Curry Chix or Flower crab huh??? so tempted to buy for BBQ

Can I confirm my attendance later? My hubby jus informed last nite that he cant go as he has exams near the corner. Will have to jiao my friend/sis to come w me

For the hair losing mummies, me included: Was told the Henna treatment is good for hair loss & gives natural color to those grey hairs as well. Got a contact, been wanting to try but no free le. Usa: 97372549. Those who tried give feedback ok?

wat time is the gathering? Anna, do u have cooler box? Cos am bringing Ben & Jerry's, need to keep chilled. I will buy the ice packs.

Hi Ivy,

Will try to ask one of them to come w me but not sure whether they are willing...

Hi Feng,

Wat is the Henna treatment huh? I mountian turtle...hair is becoming extinct for me liao.

ATTENDENCE:

1. Anna - Provide BBQ essentials + Drinks+curry chicken
2. Milo + 1 - Meehoon + Mango Pudding
3. lh_yjc - Chicken wings and hotdogs
4. Annie Ying Bin + 1 - Fried rice + agar agar + veggie salad
5. Taurus - Marinated Pork Chop & Sambal Sotong
6. Fates - Satay and sweet corn
7. Ivy - Otak
8. Yvonne - (actuali attendance TBC, but i'll try...) Prawns and Ben & Jerry's!
9. Gabby + 1.5 - fruits and achar
10. Ino (TBC)
11. sponge (TBC)

pooh,
thats a nice agar agar. got coconut milk in it?

i think i replied too fast lar..
i asked ino to take stringray since she didnt know what to bring.

little nana,
My colleague called to place order for the indigrents lar not me... faint.. i ordered from my colleague..

Wahh! pooh bear shape, doubt my colleague has the mode to do leh! she said will the bring the photographs on monday for me to choose the pattern..

didnt Know has online order for such agar.. hmm by the way, whats the favour hor? i ate the agar agar my colleague did. Every new products she get us to test ... hehe..

hmm.. by the way, did another think whats the back up plan if happend raining like today? Althrough rain has turn "small" but i doubt anyone dares to let bb to go swimming since its already "windy season"?

Any shelther for the bbq area?

Ps dont kill me hor! i am NOT BIG MOUTH LAR! So happend was outside today to shop birthday gift for my niece ended trap inside tampines malls for hours..

Milo,
yappee! xmas lightning is on from today onward leh! i am going to bring keane 2 orchard road soon...

Annie,

i think its payback time for all the "test" agar agar that you ate...Your colleague must have factor in those costs that she paid for previously in your tasting sessions, thats why its SO EXPENSIVE for the one you ordered.

Really, do try to cancel lah..not worth it leh.

I also dunno le. Heard from fren. I think like a normal hair treatment. They'll apply something on the hair & then let it sit for a while then wash off ba.

the pooh agar agar have coconut but its not too sweet type ..if any1 keen, pls PM me for the contact ok?? not so nice to publicise here coz later ppl tot i doing advertising here..

wah so much talk about the BBQ ah? you all mummies really belly ON leh...

yo anna, can't join you all this time round, my HB say too rush liao since we got wedding dinner to attend leh. (BBQ still for 26th right?)

join you all then for the next gathering. HAVE FUN hor! show me pics har...

my poor brayden is real sick. he has cough since thur n fri i bought him to the PD. sat morn getting beta but nite time start to hv flu n cough getin worse. the milk intake of 7oz i given him, he vomit out omost 5oz. tis morn n afternoon feeds oso vomited out the milk. aiyoh c him vomit n cough n flu till so badly mi reali heartache. will bring him back to the PD tmr morn. hope he will get beta... duno y like tat man...

Achar

Yes... its homemade... know how to do it as I saw my mum do it but have not tried to do it solo... hehehe

BBQ
COnfirmed that my whole company will fall in on that day!!!

ivy,
I doubt so lar. Not the 1st time i ordered from her. i ordered twice for the mooncake agar agar past two years then 1 birthday agar agar for my father.

This time, i ordered 3 agar agars ( 2 diff types). I must said its the "work".. thats cost.

Milo,
Got your bumper mat? i let keane to sleep on leh.. since the cheap mattress sink @ the center part. Keane has a hard to flip lar..

I extract this information from the baby centre. For additional information

Week 27 Baby Tip

Nitrates in Vegetables

Hi Annie Quah,
Now that your baby is eating some solid foods, fresh is usually best. However, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics, beets, carrots, collard greens, and turnips contain large amounts of nitrates in some parts of the country. Nitrates can cause a type of anemia in your baby. Even though you can't personally test the vegetables in your area, rest assured that baby-food companies take precautions not to use vegetables high in nitrates. So if you want to feed these vegetables to your baby, it is safest to buy commercially prepared jars.

annie,

got the mat liao but haven try yet. weekend bo eng, never mop floor :p

littletot,

watson got sell. brand is dentinox.

Hi Gina,

Is your Brayden better? Did your PD let you know what exactly happen to him? Hope he is feeling better now.

SSW mat

So mummies who bought....mat good or not? :p

Seven medicines you shouldn't give your baby
Approved by the Medical Advisory Board
Reviewed by Nancy Showen, M.D.
Last updated: April 2006

By the BabyCenter editorial staff
Aspirin
Anti-nausea medications
Adult medications
Any medication prescribed for someone else or for another reason
Anything expired
Extra acetaminophen
Chewables
A cautionary note
Related Links

Babies and children are much more likely than adults to have adverse drug reactions, so giving your baby prescription or over-the-counter (OTC) medication is serious business. (In fact, until your baby reaches her half birthday, consult her doctor before giving her any medication at all, other than a carefully measured baby dose of acetaminophen once she's more than 3 months old.)

Here are seven medicines you shouldn't give your baby:

Aspirin
Never give your baby aspirin or any medication containing aspirin. Aspirin can make a child susceptible to Reye's syndrome a rare but potentially fatal illness. Don't assume that the children's medicines found in drugstores will be aspirin-free. Aspirin is sometimes referred to as "salicylate" or "acetylsalicylic acid." Read labels carefully, and ask your doctor or pharmacist if you're not sure whether a product is aspirin-free.

Anti-nausea medications
Don't give your baby an anti-nausea medication (prescription or OTC) unless her doctor specifically recommends it. Most bouts of vomiting are pretty short-lived, and babies and children usually handle them just fine without any medication. In addition, anti-nausea medications have risks and possible complications. (If your baby is vomiting and begins to get dehydrated, contact her doctor for advice on what to do.)

Adult medications
Giving your baby a smaller dose of medicine meant for an adult is dangerous. If the label doesn't indicate an appropriate dose for a baby her size, don't give that medication to your baby.

Any medication prescribed for someone else or for another reason
Prescription drugs intended for other people (like a sibling) or to treat other illnesses may be ineffective or even dangerous when given to your baby. Give her only medicine prescribed for her and her specific condition.

Anything expired
Toss out medicines, prescription and OTC alike, as soon as they expire. Also throw away discolored or crumbly medicines basically anything that doesn't look the way it did when you first bought it. After the use-by date, medications may no longer be effective and can even be harmful. Don't flush old drugs down the toilet, as they can contaminate groundwater and end up in the drinking water supply. Instead, seal them in a childproof container and toss them out with the trash.

Extra acetaminophen
Many OTC cough and cold medicines contain acetaminophen to help ease fever and pain, so be careful not to give your baby a separate dose of acetaminophen. If you're not sure what's in a particular cough or cold medicine, ask the pharmacist or your baby's doctor. And if your baby's already taking a prescription medicine, don't give her acetaminophen or ibuprofen until you've first checked with her doctor or the pharmacist to make sure it's okay.

Chewables
Chewable tablets are a choking hazard for babies. If your baby's eating solids and you want to use a chewable tablet, crush it first, then put it in a spoonful of soft food, like yogurt or applesauce. (Of course, you need to make sure your baby eats the entire spoonful in order to get the complete dose.)

A cautionary note
The next two types of medications aren't 100 percent off-limits, but you should carefully consider whether or not to give them to your baby:

Some herbal remedies
Many herbal remedies are gentle and safe, but just because something is natural, or derived from a plant, don't assume that it's safe for your baby. Herbal products can cause allergic reactions, liver damage, and high blood pressure. In certain doses, and/or when combined with the wrong medications, they can be fatal. Check with your baby's doctor or an alternative medicine practitioner before giving your baby any herbal products. And always let the doctor know about any herbal remedies your baby's taking before she prescribes a medication.

Over-the-counter cough and cold medicines
Coughing helps clear your baby's lungs, so a cough suppressant is often counterproductive. And cough and cold medicines, including decongestants, won't help your baby get better. At best, they'll only temporarily relieve some of her symptoms. And they may have unwanted side effects, like anxiety and sleeplessness. Some of these products also tend to become less effective, or even cause the initial symptoms to worsen, over time. So if your baby's miserable with a cold, first try other options, like a humidifier and plenty of liquids. Then talk with her doctor before you grab an OTC cough or cold remedy.

Yap, will be going for the bbq coz my friend agreed to go w me. but will not join in for the swimming

Sigh...me really getting more and more tired and haggard. althu me on 3 weeks leave, am actually working everyday after boy sleeps, meaning working from 10pm to 12am. then have to wake and pump but at least my hubby will helps me to feed boy when he wakes up in the middle of the nitz...this week he on reservist!!! I have to look after boy and work and all alone...

not sure whether I can cope..mati lor

Hi Gina,

Hope that Brayden is better now? u take care also

joyce,

haha...your hubby and fates' and mine in the same camp huh? All on reservist together this week.

Maybe you can ask your parent to move in with you so that there will be someone to help out?

SSW mat is good. I like playing and rolling on it. Daddy bought it for me when I was still in mummy's tummy and I've been playing on it eversince I started to flip.

On behalf of Ariel.

As of 14 Novemeber 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummies</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Weight</TD><TD>Height</TD><TD>FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KK</TD><TD>Liaw Yu Jun</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD>8.95kg (6M)</TD><TD>68.5cm (6M)</TD><TD>Wyeth Gold Promil (S2) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>Ariel Lim</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD>8.1kg (6M)</TD><TD>66cm (6M)</TD><TD>Enfalac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>Natasia</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>BM/Nan 1 HA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fate</TD><TD>Jarrett Tan</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD>7.68kg (6M)</TD><TD>67cm (6M)</TD><TD>BM/Enfalac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet</TD><TD>Sofia Teo</TD><TD>30/04/2006</TD><TD>8kg (5M)</TD><TD>66.5cm (5M)</TD><TD> Similac Stage 2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milo</TD><TD>Kaeden Cheng</TD><TD>01/05/2006</TD><TD>8.5kg (6M)</TD><TD>70cm (5M)</TD><TD>Nan 1 HA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>Keane Then</TD><TD>02/05/2005</TD><TD>7.35kg (5M)</TD><TD>63cm (5M)</TD><TD>Similac Stage 2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angelzwynd</TD><TD>Clarice Tan</TD><TD>02/05/2006</TD><TD>8.25kg (6M)</TD><TD>66cm (6M)</TD><TD>Enfaclac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ih-jyc</TD><TD>Rayne Ang</TD><TD>02/05/2006</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>BM / Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ino</TD><TD>Natalie Wong</TD><TD>07/05/2006</TD><TD>6.35kg (5.5M)</TD><TD>63.5cm (5.5M)</TD><TD>BM/Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>Claris Yeo</TD><TD>07/05/2006</TD><TD>7.3kg (5M)</TD><TD>64.5cm (5M)</TD><TD> Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kissbb</TD><TD>Aiden Ng</TD><TD>09/05/2006</TD><TD>8.3kg (5M)</TD><TD>67cm (5M)</TD><TD>BM/Mamex Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kissbb</TD><TD>Brayden Ng</TD><TD>09/05/2006</TD><TD>7.3kg (5M)</TD><TD>64cm (5M)</TD><TD>BM/Mamex Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wen</TD><TD>Gabrielle Chang</TD><TD>11/05/2006</TD><TD>7.3kg (4M)</TD><TD>63cm (4M)</TD><TD>FM/BM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anna</TD><TD>Kaelyn Soh</TD><TD>12/05/2006</TD><TD>7.6kg (5M)</TD><TD>66cm (5M)</TD><TD>Enfalac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>15/05/2006</TD><TD>7.3kg (5M)</TD><TD>64.5cm (5M)</TD><TD>Mamex Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy</TD><TD>Xaiver Ong</TD><TD>18/05/2006</TD><TD>7.6kg (5M)</TD><TD>68cm (5M)</TD><TD>Mamex Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>Isabel</TD><TD>18/05/2006</TD><TD>7.3kg (5M)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>BM/FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gina</TD><TD>Brayden Loh</TD><TD>19/05/2006</TD><TD>8.3kg (5.5M)</TD><TD>63cm</TD><TD>Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fairarina</TD><TD>Kendrick Kwa</TD><TD>28/05/2006</TD><TD>7.98kg (4M)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>BM/Similac</td></tr></table>

hi all mummies

Like to chk wif u on the $$ given to caregiver. Is it true once bb on solids, we need to give additional $$ for caregiver as she need to cook for our little ones. So if i add the $$, then wat abt the food? Do i still need to pay for the fish and stuff etc, or is it alreadi included in the additional $$ i give?

hi babe,

my mil was a bb sitter. when bb starts on solid food, most of the parents gave her add $50. they will provide fish etc as well though.

and just want to compare price of avent bottles and teats.... how much does a 260ml bottle and teat cost?
i'm in australia and the cheapest i can find is AUD13.99 for 2 x 260ml bottles and AUD6.99 for 2 teats.

hi fates/joyce,

tks for the concern. i bought brayden to see the PD again ytd coz his cough . flu is getting worse. we oso took x-ray coz PD afraid he might have pneumonia. results shd b out tis few daes. haiz c him coughing n sneezing so badly mi reali heartache man...

Cant reali keep up with all the posts. So many within a few weeks.
Sorry.
Would like to ask who went for wedding dinner already?
I cant fit into my dresses.Hehe.Difficult to slim down.hehe
Any suggestion where to keep a lookout?Budget of $50.
Please help,.

Auntie littletot,

When i wake up, i will have my first feed of the day! I will have around 5 feeds per day. Each feed around 110 - 160 ml. Every feed mummy will put cereal into my milk. And hor, i also take porridge in the afternoon when my grandmother feeds me. Or i will also take brown rice.

See! I am excited and waiting for my next feed again!

577761.jpg

Little_Nana,
your bb so kuai. Drink 7 ounces n only 4x a day! Mine still drinking between 5-7 feed 100-160ml/feed.

kk,
your bb so cute...i wanna pinch
!How much cereal u put in with the milk har?

how much cereal/porridge do your give per lunch feed? Do u judge by tablespoon/our dinner spoon?

Joyce, is your baby still on TBF? I'm puzzled that you still have to wake up in the nite to pump. Cos even if he's still on TBF, he should be able to last the nite now. His feedings should be around 4-5 now. Try to get more rest.

Littletot
My Isabel worse...lately sometimes song song drinks 30-60ml, sometimes 120ml still not enough! Whoa, very cham when it's not enough coz I give her warm up EBM, takes time!!
She's such a snacker!!

BTW Mummies,
Isabel got teeth already!! 1 quite prominent one at the bottom, top one can feel but can't quite see yet!

Annie
Watson got Winnie the Pooh promo. Spend $10 and above can buy 3 Winnie the Pooh stuff at $3 each. Got Water bottle, bag, blanket, pillow, mug. Go grab!

KK,
YJ is really cute! Very photogenic too.

Gina,
How's Brayden now? He sounded bad from what you mentioned. Hope he gets well soon!

Joyce,
Thanks and nice meeting you...yet to see the effect!! ;)

Hair loss problem:
I bought a bottle of Clear shampoo Hairloss prevention to try. Not bad, still got some hair loss, but the hair is quite smooth. NTUC got promo, $7.90 for 500ml bottle + free conditioner. Sorry...I try the cheapo method first. :p

Constipation:
Isabel got constipation for days after starting solid. I stop giving her solid for 2 days already, still no "output". Any other babies got this problem? How ah?