(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Annie,

it take 9mths to put on all the weight, naturally, it will take sometime to lose too.
U r what u are, dun care wat ple say lah.

Hi twinkle-starry,

My boi also already wearing 6-12 mths clothing now .... alot of the new born clothing is all too tight for him .... some of the smaller cutting ones ...he can even fit 12 - 18 mths ....8( ..

so i think i better go back n measure him ... kekek ...

annie

dun be too upset; i'm also in the same boat as u (all my previous clothings cannot wear) .... hopefully we'll be able to slim down once start work.....

hazel,

dun know leh, i follow the tables for sizes which is recommended in the web.

Ivy, can check and let me know if new design baby wetsuit dun hv 0.5 hor. tks ya

Hi Annie,

Dun be sad, coz I think most of us in the same situation ;p

I'm going back to work next week...and I've not have the time to go shopping!!! which means that I'll probably have to wear cartoon PJ to work coz all my pre-preggy clothes do not fit me lor n me gave away my maternity clothes coz me seow tot can slim down w/i 3 months...cute hor..heee!

The infant swimsuit cost $69.95?
Can still order?

Hi Annie,

Your gynae is doc Koh CH at Toa Payoh rite?

Have something to share, currently my bb girl is at my mum's place at hougang, i visit her everyday after work and bring her back on friday nite (weekend). As i go along, i find that i do have some problems the way my mum take care of my gal, our methods/views differ.
So few occasions we have some arguement and i have few unmarried aunties who love babies very much, they add in their effort to take care of my gal.
So more people, even more different methods of handling, im very frustrated actually becos i see my gal been carried by this person and later change person...
To further aggravate my anger, they even "snatch" my gal when i bring her to mum's place on sunday evening, as if so hungry for kids.
Im thinking to place my bb to infant care, so that i can bring her home every nite after work.
Any suggestions?

hello lee,
i suggest you go check out a few infantcare facilities first, then decide if this is a better option than leaving the baby in yr mum's care. i believe it will help you make a better decision

i just went to visit a few in the morning, and find that it really helps!

lee,

personally, i feel watever u do u must be happy and comfortable.

u can 1st check out the infantcare near u and see how u like its envoironment.

lee,

just do whatever you feel happy.

Just to share my situation:
For me, i also leave my bb at my mum's place, taken care of by my aunt and mum. I visit him in the morning before work and in the evening after work. Then i will pick him home on friday evening. Similar to yours, their methods may differ but as long as its harmless, i close one eye. My aunt also super like to hog my boy but think of it in a positive light. They are very concern and love our kids, at least in their hands, you can work without worrying. Infant care, it is still outsider... So given a choice, i will still stick with my family care for my son.

Hi gummie / starry,

i stay at Farrer Park mrt area, near KK hospital, how to locate infant care?

Somemore one of my aunty don't let me drive alone wif my 3mths old bb, she say not safe. Sigh.

Coz im more convenience to fetch/send bb than my hubby who works in the west.

I got intention to bring bb back every nite, but my aunty don't allow me to drive alone my gal...so frustrated leh.

Hi ivy,

Do you feel your boy less bond with you in this way? I got this feeling now, becos the way i see my mum and aunt hogging over her.

ivy & lee,
personally, i agreed with ivy, given a choice to let own relatives to take care of own bb ease our mind of worries.
However, i prefer to let childcare centre or nanny to take care instead own people. I won't want my son to be over spoilt by own people. Or any chances that arguement arise when things happen.
My own parents and my parents in law have diff ways of bringing kids, same goes to me. I prefer to do it my own way.. paiseh, just my personally view. :p

lee,
yap, r u under the same gynea? DR Koh C H.

gals,
Thanks for your console... i doubt i will slim down.. I saw 1 of my primary school friend after meeting Catherine & Race. i kena shocked when i saw his wife with his 2 sons. She used to be slimmer than me and now a King kong size after labour. Sigh! really make destroy my hope of slimming down..

Annie,

Dun worry much abt your weight,surely you will slim down consider you must have the determination..it just a matter of time taken..

After meeting u and Catherine,I also met my friend who we have not met for 5 years after graduating...we chatted for abt 1 hour...lucky go home see baby smiling

talking about bonding, i'm also having this worry at the moment. deciding on a caretaker for my baby has become my biggest headache now. i recently hired a maid to help take care of my little one. at first i worry she may not be up to it... but now it seems that she is getting so good at it that i feel my son likes her better than me, his mummy. i don't know why, but he's always looking at my maid and always stop crying when she carries him. it also seems to me that my maid likes my baby, cos' she oftens offers to carry him or pick him up when he cries, plays with him and i must admit, she is really quite good at handling my boy.

however, i am gettin quite paranoid about this. he's already beginnin to bond with her when i'm around, what will happen when i go back to work? somehow i don't feel good... which was why i decided to check out the infantcare centres near my place.

i'm quite at a loss now. has anyone ever considered or have a maid to look after yr baby when you go back to work? i mean, looking after baby without any supervision?

hi gummie

my elder boy (14mths plus) also stick to my mum (main caregiver) n maid. To him, my mum is the first, maid or me second n my hubby last. Initially, I'm quite paranoid also, always wanting my mum to carry n reject me. But this can't be helped as my mum looks after him since he's 2 mths till now while i'm at work.....

I guess its better for him to stick to my mum rather than outsiders; but now he's sticking to my maid.... headache.... cos my maid is the one feeding him n sleeping with him during weekends... me n hubby will take care of the younger boy (2mths plus)

Guess this is partly my fault also as I dun like to feed my elder boy (his feeding always take more than an hour, thus always ask maid to feed him cos me got no patient). However my mum assures me that children no matter what will stick to their parents when they r a bit older...

Hi gummie,

My boy also prefers my MIL even thu for the past 2+ months I'm the one taking care of him, feeding him, changing his pampers etc. I think it is because she has the special touch with bbies..somehow bbies know whether u are comfortable in handling them and they will prefer that person...

I try to salvage the situation by talking to bb more often, playing w him and also massaging him daily..nowadays, he is more comfortable w me...n let me carry him longer..hee!

Btw, where did u engaged the maid? me still thinking of whether I should get one..coz me really not good at doing housework n wanna to devote more time w bb, but hor this will cause additional expenditure again lorz...can let me know the total cost of employing a maid?? Thanks!

Hi lee,

Fyi, at one point, I also considered sending Rayne to infant care.

There are pros n cons also. One of the cons is that bb tends to fall sick more frequently as they all gather together n also u cant determine how the teachers are supposed to look/take care of ur child.....

of coz the pro is that they are experts looking after the bbies and some centres will play games that stimulate the bbies brain unlike relatives who will only switch on the tv..

catherine,

i think yr case is better as yr boy sticks to yr mum? it is true... i heard too, that children as they grow up will know who their parents are, but it hurts to see your own baby crying in yr own arms and finding comfort in another's, esp the maid, who is not even considered 'family'. i feel even worse sometimes when i feel my maid treats my boy as though he is her own son... calls him 'darling', picks him up faster than i do when he cries... sigh, this is gettin a bit too much for me. besides, she's been here for only one week?

Hi ivy, pls amend my order as follows, Tks! :-

1) Nick: Ivy
Size: 0 (6-12M)
Color: Berry or Ocean
Quantity:1

2) Nick: Annie
Color: Ocean or Coral

3) Nick: Twinkle-starry
Size:0.5(10-18M)
Color: Ocean
Quantity: 1

4) Nick: Yvonne Du
Color: Berry or Apple

5) Nick: Little_nana
Size:0(6-12M)
Color: Berry or coral

6) Nick: Gummie
Color: Ocean or Berry

7) Nick: gina_seow
Quzntity: 1

8)Nick: Taurus
Size:0.5(10-18M)
Quzntity: 1

Hi gummie,

My situation is abit like yours .... my boy also seems to like my maid alot .... and whenever my maid carry him ... he look so comfy in her arms ...and my maid also likes to play with him and he will smile brightly .... 8( ...

But lucky for me ... I also have my mum and she sledom let my maid carry my boy unless she is really very tired or she needs to bath or go toilet .....

gummie,

is there anyone like ur mum or mil that can help to supervise the maid when u r back at work?
somehow its safer that way lor. agree with wat u say, at first worry whether maid can handle bb, then if can handle well, will worry how cum she so nice to bb...sigh, thus till now, cant decide on how

lh_jyc,

i have also been the one taking care of my boy until my maid came a week ago, not forgettin breastfeeding which is supposed to facilitate bonding. that's why i feel sad that he prefers my maid now...

i engaged the maid thru' my aunt's friend who runs the agency. i paid a total of $2283 broken down as follows:
Admin/Agent fees (including security bond) - $128
Insurance - $80
Medical - $25 (this is extra medical check for HepB which i requested for)
Loan - $2050 (salary for 7 months)

You can give this option a try, hope you can get a good one. But, be prepared that with any maid, you will have its own set of problems... but of cos, i have to say that it is 'cheaper' getting a maid than sending bb to infantcare or nanny, esp when maid covers all yr housework n even prepares yr 3 meals...

gummie

same here... my maid also treat my boy like his own... feed him food without informing me n i'll scold her... hubby even saw her kissing my boy which is too much....

at home during weekends, we'll try to play with my boy n not let her carry but my boy always wants to be carried by her.... I just tell myself that its good that my maid loves my boy to comfort myself...... what to do?

gummie,

do u feel weird having a 'stranger' walking ard at hm? i mean its like when u and hubby watch tv in the living room, then y the maid goes? sorry, abit stupid qns but trying to convince myself to getting some help ard

taurus,
u're so much luckier than me. having yr mum around makes a whole lot of difference... imagine i have to leave my boy alone with the maid? perhaps i worry too much.

my mum is sadly, no longer around to help me. initially my mil said she will help us watch over the maid, but now she changed her mind cos she does not want to be tied down. so my maid will be the only person taking care of my boy when i return to work.

i only have abt 2 weeks before i go back to work. now still undecided as to whether i shd keep my maid or send her back n put my bb in infantcare

catherine,
you actually allowed yr maid to kiss yr boy??? oh no... i'm beginning to see that happening to my boy. this is terrible, but i know there's no way for me to stop her doing that since she'll be spending the whole day with him alone at home? now, she even calls my baby 'darling' in front of me... i felt tt was really inappropriate!

milo,
of cos i dun like the idea of having a stranger at home. u are right... i nvr wanted a maid for that reason, but bcos of my boy i had no choice but to explore and give it a try. now i still dun feel comfy havin her ard in the house to be honest... n it's worse when i sense that she's always 'tuning' in to our conversations... she understands english n mandarin so whatever we say, she cld understand... privacy is not something we own these days...

Hi lee,

I personally feel that your gal will be spolit by your Mum and auntie cos they really love him but it's still better to let them look after as yr gal will be sick easily in infant care.(Baby so small fall sick very "ke lian" and you will have a hard time also.)You can sent her to chilcare when she is older like 18 mths. At least that is the time when yr gal need to be discipline and learn things. HTH

Gummie, If u want yr boy to stick to u then u hv to do yr part. For me I donot allow my maid to teach my gal cos she is only 7 weeks old and we donot know the maid well as i don't trust maid. I told my maid just to do house chore and play with my 2 older sons as they are big already so even if the maid bully them they know how to complaint. But baby cannot talk so it's better we take care then leave it to maid as we need alot of patient with baby. That's my View.

Gina,
i can give my maid instructions but i cannot guarantee that she will follow them when i'm not around. as i mentioned, my biggest problem is that there will be no one to supervise the maid when i go back to work. again, this is not the situation i envisioned when we first decided to hire a maid bcos my mil said she will help us but now she's backed out...

Gummie, I personally feel unsafe to leave my baby with Maid ALONE at home. If there is no one to help to supervise then i would rather let my baby go infant care. For me I'm still not use to maid, cos last time i have 2 bois but i never get maid but now 3rd one then i got no choice cos my 2 bois always fight so i donot have the time to do house chore and so i told the maid her main job is house chore.

Gummie,

How about sending ur boy to a nanny instead? It's cheaper n also the nanny will be solely taking care of ur bb? But of coz u must select someone who is good....

For me..me still undecided coz mil offered to look after....but soon my sisters-in-laws are also giving birth...so afraid it will be too taxing to my mil..

lee,

i think my son still quite close to me these days cos i made the effort to go in the morning to say hi and kiss him and then in the evening to play, feed and change pampers...Then on weekends, its the full day with me...He used to cry a lot when i carry him then stop once my aunt take over. Maybe thats becos my aunt took full care of him , day and nite during my confinement. But now, is much better already, guess he can appreciate my efforts! haha...
( waking up at 5.30am so that can be at my mum house before work and slping at 12am is no joke ). Anyway, you can tell you aunt that i also drive bb back alone on Friday nites. I even went out with him alone to my frens' plc. Just put him in the car seat, he will fall aslp right away. Not dangerous at all lah.

Hi annie,

Yes, my gynae is CH Koh @ Toa Payoh and i delivered at Mt Alvernia.

i got intention to hired maid actually, but now im working liao and shd have taken action during my maternity leave. If i exit my baby from my mum, i think she will be angry/offended. So i leave this hiring maid option later when i plan for another baby.
i heard alot stories that weekend parent will have less bonding/alot crying to a new environment/ppl, coz i only visit her during weekday after work and bring her home during friday. Im quite afraid my bb will start to recongnise ppl/noise/environment, anyone know roughly when bb start to recongnise?

Yes, ginnny, i already plan to put my gal to childcare once she is 18mths and mentally prepare she will get sick easily oso. Coz my colleague put her bb at Eager Beaver (Yishun safra), often got Hand/Foot/Mouth disease.

For my option, gummie, i think maid must have someone to supervise her, else she sure show pattern. Or can ask your MIL to drop by spot check once awhile?

hi ivy,

your efforts paid off then, so glad to know that your boy still close to you and that the agony of a working mum. Hai...
That's the case, i think you can bring your boy home every evening and drop his over every morning rite? That is my intention but my hubby say it be tiring for my bb to travel here there and she is only 3mths old...im still cracking my head when is the appropriate age to bring her home daily...

Gina/lee,
precisely, leaving the maid alone at home will surely give rise to problems later on. we are still trying to work it out with my in-laws... my husband is trying to persuade his mum to commit her time here but i doubt it will be anything good even if she agrees now. she can still back out anytime.

lh_jyc,
nanny is only a viable option if she's really good n recommended. also location will be an issue? so far i don't have any contacts of good nannies who are conveniently located near my place.

lee,

its more tiring for us to bring him back every day...cos we have to wake up for nite feeds. So better to leave at my mum house, at least i can slp for 5-6 hrs straight!
BB will not be tired lah...in fact my boy enjoy gog out a lot! haha... ( he is 7 weeks plus now).

hey gummie,

i can totally understand your dilemma as this was what we had went thru. My mil has all along offered her help. From doing confinement to babysitting for us. However, things change (unexpectedly) when my fil got a heart attack. So last minute we gotta hire a confinement lady PLUS look for a caregiver for our girl. Its really frustrating when everything has been planned nicely then suddenly your plans are thwarted.

Lesson learnt, always have a back-up plan. Cannot rely on your mil as, like what you've said, she may backout.

We were also undecided between hiring a maid, a nanny or sending Ariel to an infantcare. In the end, we sourced for all 3. After a big merry-go-round, decision is to put with a nanny. There are pros and cons lor, but most imptly, you must feel SAFE and trust your bb's caregiver..

hi sponge,

i agree, must have back-up plan, like me only think of my mum to take care and thought nothing will happen, see what happen to me now.
my hubby not happy with my mum's side on hogging on my gal and uses different methods to handle her, coz he read somewhere and says that consistant is the word to handling the child.

hi ivy,

when you wanna bring ur boy back for the nite during weekdays? as in how many mths?

Hi gummie,

can understand ur dilemma ... even though I keep telling my mum tt its ok for her to leave bb with maid if she needs to run any short errands but when it really happens ... I still feel abit not secure ...so ended up taking half day leave to stay with bb .... really not easy being a working mummy

lee,

i will bring bb back home on weekdays once he learns to slp through the nite...dunno when will that be though...

not sure where your hubby read, but i think different methods shld be okie so as to expose bb to diff caregiver. Then bb will not be sticking to one particular person, maybe bb will be more sociable as well! haha..

gummie

i will prefer to send my bb to infant care centre given a choice.

i also engaged a maid in Jan this yr to take care of hsechores and sometimes play wif my elder gal who is turning 3. I'm a SAHM. Having a maid at home is defintely better wif an adult supervision.

i'm alwys at home wif my toddler and if will bring my maid along if we are out. for the past 5 or 6 mths, my maid had spain and hurt my elder arm and allowing her to fall and slip in bathroom and had a bump on my elder gal forehead. i will admit that at times, accident do happen and thats my luck then. but my maid allow my gal in the bathroom naked while she is cleaning something in the bathroom..i had warn her many many times that when my child is proirty and hsechores can wait..but she dont listen and hence make this 'accident' happen in the bathroom.

many many incidents happen for the past months and i have been enduring as i need her to do hsework esp during my confinement.. i sent her back two weeks ago and feel so happy without her.

pooh,
sorry to hear about yr experience. hope you are coping well without yr maid around, it's not easy being a SAHM esp with 2 kids huh...

i was wondering if anyone out there has ever installed a pinhole camera to monitor n observe yr maid? is it expensive and how should i go about doing it?

any way to rectify constipation? my boy only poo a small bit nia compare to previous days and can see that he is not comfy. how huh?

hey milo,

Your boy on Fm or bm? if FM can let ur boy drink more water, as FM is quite heaty.

Also can try massaging his tummy, as well as do the cycling motion with his legs. That can help to move the bowels.

pooh,
i guess yr maid want to do her work fast n to finish. Moreover, you are around, think thats the main reason she is afraid that you might scold her if she finish her works.
Its really yr luck to get what type of maid. Currently, i leave my keane to my sis maid to take care. She oso has to take care of my 6mths old niece.
At time, i did go to my sis's hse to spot check same as what my parents would do. She is 1 smart maid since she was instructed to give 1st priority to both babies specially keane if both babies are to cry together. (keane has a hole in e heart). she wont do any hsehold chores if my keane didnt sleep. She would at worst wait till my sis to come home then do cooking.
She is v gd with babies but 1 thing that puzzle everyone is that she is so afraid of bb crys. End up, she won't dare to force my niece to drink milk. (currently, underweight). I have to admit that my niece doesnt like to drink milk, water or even those bb cereal. She doesnt dare to force my niece as she will cry like hell. (in fact, my sis already scolded her many times that she has to force my niece to drink milk).
I guess that she afraids that pp might complain her of ill threat babies since there isnt any adult to supervise her.
Pooh, i believe u can do it. jia you...

heard from catherine that 1 mummy here actually make her bb to drink 100ml water.(duno per feeding or for the whole day). I just learnt from snr consultant from KKH that don't need to make bb to drink water. The main reason is that the water mix with milk powder is enough for bb. Extra water means extra burden to bb kidney as well as the gastric. Since both organs are still developing.
Personally,i feel that milk powder get to expand when mix with water that fill and bb feel full. Additional of water tends to expand e powder which cause more problem in future. I only let keane drinks a bit after each feeding.

sponge,

he never have constipation prob leh all the while that he is on FM. last weekend put him at my mil place, she fed him with 'jin feng san' then become like that. dunno it is the cause or not

milo

My friend told me 'jin feng san' is actually a 'zen ding' medication. So now i dunno if i wanna give to my baby, though my elder daughter used to take that.