(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

<font size="+1">Updates!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ARRRIVED!!!</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Baby's Gender</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>Baby's Weight</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandyray</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>7-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>2.88kg</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-06</TD><TD>18-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Elgin</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>18-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Benson</TD><TD>2.875kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-06</TD><TD>22-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Ariel</TD><TD>2.63kg</TD><TD>Mount A / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>qoosan</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Mount A / C-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinkle-Starry</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kevan</TD><TD>3.55kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amie</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>3.14kg</TD><TD>East shores </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>26-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Darius</TD><TD>3.17kg</TD><TD>Mt A/E c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne du</TD><TD>6-May-06</TD><TD>27-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Natasia</TD><TD>3.06kg</TD><TD>Mount E / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>28-Apr-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Yi Jie</TD><TD>2.4kg </TD><TD>East shores/ Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>30-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sofia</TD><TD>3.34kg</TD><TD>Mount A / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sook</TD><TD>5-May-06</TD><TD>30-Apr-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Wu ShiQin</TD><TD>2.920kg</TD><TD>TMC/Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milo66</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>1-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kaeden</TD><TD>2.845kg</TD><TD>Mount A / C-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>8-May-06</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Deng Qian Yi, Keane</TD><TD>3kg</TD><TD>Mount A / C-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Clarice</TD><TD>3.045kg</TD><TD>TMC/Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-06</TD><TD>2-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Rayne</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sherry</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Mount A/C-Sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-06</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>3.24kg</TD><TD>TMC/Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-06</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>2.77kg</TD><TD>TMC/C-Sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-06</TD><TD>9-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Mount A/Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Race C</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>10-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>2.9kg</TD><TD>East shores/ Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>scott's mum</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>11-May-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Scott Lim</TD><TD>3.285kg</TD><TD>TMC/Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-06</TD><TD>12-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Kaelyn</TD><TD>3.68kg</TD><TD>Portland Hospital, UK/C-sec</td></tr></table>

Ivy,

No fun at all leh.. will feel very depressed heee.. sometimes what we really want is personal time with bb.

Twinkle,

HAHA, u have guests who will stay all day and refuse to leave??

Ya, the idea good also, then nobody hog on to bb on that day haha.. imagine next sat, i dunno how many pple will hog on to bb. Dun even dare to think of it.

BB are like tat, not because ur boy want to tekan u.. hee... now in the day i try not to let mil hog on to the bb too much.. unless i feel super tired and can't do feeding myself. Nite she will take care for me cos i worried my hubby got woken up by bb too often then no energy to work and drive the next day.

Hmmm, me and hubby still have not decided where to place the bb after confinement when we will take care of bb ourselves at nite. Want to put her in our room, but how to on air con?? Ur bb sleep with u now? U got on the air con?

kk,
u never know mah relatives especially stay much longer in such occasion to chit chat like another gathering
and i cannot ask them to leave bcos bb and me want to rest right?

currently bb sleep w me as the cot is in my room. Wat i did was switch on aircon for an hour let the room cool down. later just on fan lor. He is ok leh but must cover w blanket lah. i m trying to test water see whether if i on aircon longer he ok or not. for daytime he sleep w fan on only.

ur bb now sleep w/o aircon at nite?

ivy,

no fun leh, even bb sleeping they will carry and try wake him up. otherwise carry him while he is sleeping. Alamak, i dun wan bb later everytime want to carry then can sleep like my friend's daughter like tat must walk walk and carry then can sleep.

Hi KK

Ice water din affect my lochia flow... dunno seems normal... mine dying down too, hope it totally goes away within the next 2 weeks... but they say at least 6 weeks issit?

hehehe, my husband just came up with the ang ku kueh from downstairs... hey, realli quite nice, a lot of filling... $0.50 each... think will get a tray and leave it at the buffet...

Twinkle and KK

I chanced upon an excel spreadsheet posted by someone is another thread a couple of months back, and so kept it...

1 http://www.meihao99.com.sg
2 http://www.continental-delight.com.sg food was great
3 www.fostre.com
4 www.kriston.com.sg
5 www.jacksplace.com.sg
Gd food n nice set up
6 www.lavish.com.sg thumbs up!!
7 www.chillipadi.com.sg
8 www.fuszinpalate.com.sg
9 www.rasel.com.sg
10 Event Catering Systems 6346 8433 / 6348 7786

I booked Continental Delight, Buffet Menu $10 per pax... Am doing it at a chalet at East Coast... Am also gonna have bbq...

hi bookworm

my baby drinks from one side of the breast for about 15 minutes... she will then stop, i'll burp her... she will then seem like she has her fill, and will hang around or fall asleep, but will definitely come back for round 2 in the next 10 to 15 minutes for more. I will then latch her on another 10 minutes or so... (sometimes the same breast, if emptied, the other one)

But ladies, can i ask, if baby does not sleep after feed, do you entertain him/her all the way till he/she sleeps? Can we just leave her in her cot?

Yvonne,

I dun entertain him when he refused to sleep unless he cries. normally i leave him in his cot. but when he get cranky, he will cries and i will hv to carry him and pacify him.

It can be tiring leh if i entertain him too much so i give up unless he cry, even he make noise here and there but not crying i just watch him.

i dunno whether is this contraction pain a not leh .. having pain every 5min now ... got lotsa transparent discharge from morning till now .. but no sign of bloody discharge or water bag burst .. how ar?

hi twinkle

hahahha! yar... my baby likes to make small little noises. And i feel veri bad, when i just leave her there entertaining herself... hehehhe, but it is reali veri tiring if i go to her, and carry her for every little noise she makes, and trying to get her to go to sleep can take up to 30 minutes or more, or never happens, till the next feed!

I feel more relieved...

hi kk,
i dunnoe how the piles look like lei coz i can't see lar...but it feels round.

hi sponge,
do we need any prescription for the cream for piles? my gynae never prescribe any ointment for me...;-( so sad. i shall call my gynae tmr.

hi hazel,
u may wanna check with your gynae or report to labour ward and let them monitor. If it's at the lower abdomen and/or the pain radiates all the way to the back, then it sounds like contraction.

hi bookworm,
my gal only latch on for 15 mins then she auto push out my nipple, signalling that she had enuff. usually it can last her for 2-3 hrs.

For jaundice, if you are sunbathing your bb, then it's advisable to give her some water, otherwise dehydration will set in.

For pumping of BM, i just pump until there's hardly any droplets of milk left. Usually it takes about 10-15 mins depending on the power of the pump.

woah! how come u gals lose wt so fast? it think i only lost about 4-5 kg only. still got another 5-6 kg to lose.

hi mummies..

can i join this thread? i m due for delivery anytime this coming week. thou gynae says edd 21may06.

Ino, natalie has so much hair!!! very cute!!

KK, starry, thanks for th ebrast massage advise. My dream of TBF is dashed, has to supplement with formula on day 4. Its so difficult to perservere with BF, when people around you are so unsupportive.

I am so disppotinted with TMC and their so called pro-lactation advisors. I was fully aware of the risk of impropoer latching, have been asking the nurse there to see/check whether i latch correctly or not. They see and say , its ok. It was painful,but i thought it's normal. On the 2nd day, my bb's cheeks were covered with blood!!! Called the nurse (i panicked at that time, cos i wasn't sure where the blood come from). The nurse just say that i latch wrongly and told me to stop latching that side and walked off!! During my stay there, no one taught me how to latch or massage my breasts.
Even, on the first morning, after delivery, the nurse just ordered me to go pass urine in toilet. She didn't support me out of bed, didn't even wait for me outside the toilet. Didn't teach me how to wash my wound.
The housekeeping forgot to give me blanket on the 2nd day. My darling daughter did not have any booties during discharge.

kk, you are upset on weekends, when SIL and MIL hog baby? My CL hogs baby 24/7!!! She likes to make me feel inadequate. During my bb's PD appt, it was so ridiculous to see my MIL and CL fighting to carry baby. My MIL was to garbara that she nearly opened car door to a on-coming truck!! My daughter is the only one in the clinic with such big entourage, MIL, CL, hubby, myself.
CL is using BF as a tool to demoralise me. Everytime after direct latch,she will quickly make a bottle of formula for bb. She will tell bb that latching to me was for fun, more like a dessert. When i insisted to latch bb at night, the next morning, CL will say that baby so poor thing, have to starve the whole nite...
I cried so many times.

I have a malay massuer, Auntie S.
IMHO, she is good, sessions around 1 hour, including getting of wind in body, alignment of womb and tummy binding. Her rate is $45 per sessions.
For my 1st session. she used jamu. It was so hot and itchy that i nerly jump out of my skin. The next session, she brought an alternative oil. Not so hot. Pleasant smell.

yo good mornin mummies!
hearing you talk so much about yr babies make me soooo *green* with envy...

was hoping over the last 3 days that my boy will arrive, but again, he's chosen to 'prolong' his stay inside my tummy

these past 3 nights i've experienced some contractions (i finally had a taste of wat it feels like, the whole tummy 'hardens' and pulls with a pain that feels like menstrual cramp) so i thot my boy was coming... unfortunately it looks like i still have to 'wait'... all this while my weight's been piling on and stretch marks i've never seen has appeared, quite depressing. can't imagine how i will ever lose all the weight tt i've put on? 16kgs leh...

SS1 - have u delivered?
Ivy - you still waiting like me?

Gummie,

Dun worry, u will shed the kgs in very short time, especially if u BF
I left with 3 kg to shed. The problem is not with the weight, but with the body shape. All the three statistics seem to expand, was wondering how to go back to original shape.

sook,

My mil hog on to bb, i can understand because anyway the bb is part of the family and may be her one and only one granddaughter haha.. but CL hog on to bb??? FOR WHAT??!! Ur CL highly "committed" to her job haha!

Sook,

Pretty surprised with the treatment u received at TMC! When i was there, the service was really good. I was telling hubby two nights ago that if i am having my #2, i dun mind going back there again.

Twinkle and Yvonne,,

Me too! BB make little noises when she doesn't wanna sleep after feed. We leave her alone. I find that i slowly lack energy to rock her on my laps because she is getting heavier!!

Ya, like twinkle, unless the bb criessssss, we leave her on the bed to play on her own.

kk,
think losing the weight is first step, at least u're doing well there, hopefully i'll end up the same

i heard the rest depends on wat we do to tone up the body shape, exercise is the only way perhaps... but of cos can't do now when u're in confinement ya.

dunno y, but these days i keep 'worrying' (about my boy being too small? his health? etc)... i feel the longer i have to wait, the more paranoid i become...

kk,
Dunno what my CL trying to do. She is a very experienced CL. Should know the mentality of a new mom. Maybe, she dislike me so much. If bb is more attached to her, i get depressed, she win lo. When she leaves at the end of the month, i'll surely suffer with a spoilt bb. The problem is that, i can't win the hogging competition. To avoid nipple confusion, i've never bottle feed bb. Let anyone else to bottle feed BB. This way, BB will always associate me with direct latch.

Gummie
I'm still around! My Vesak BB dream dashed! Weekend BB hope gone! Now, waiting like you. Haha! Jia You Jia You!
A lot of false alarm lor. Then when I wake up, nothing happens... :p

When is your check up? coming 40 weeks right?

SS1,
my next checkup is tomoro (this week is 40th week, EDD is friday), how abt u? now i have nothin to do except sit at home and wait... so have u stopped working oredi?

JIA YOU JIA YOU!

hi sook,

ya lor, everyone was commenting about her crowning glory. kekeke.

looks like u've got quite a bad experience with TMC. i wasn't terribly impressed with their lactation advisers coz i tot they will come to me w/o me asking for them. In the end, i had to ask them to get the lactation advisers to come and see me. Coz i wasn't sure whether i was latching on correctly. there was a time when my nipple bled after my gal suckle on it. Luckily, 2 of them came to attend to me.

as for the toilet thingy, the nurse came into the toilet with me to help me on my first visit...tot it was quite nice. when i accidentally splashed water on her (becoz the temp of the water was too hot), she didn't lose her temper as well...

The midwife at labour ward were good and experienced ( maybe too experienced that sometimes thay make decision without consulting gynae).
The ward, nursery nurse, house keeping, even the midicine dispenser were very lousy. Not as good as SGH. Maybe it was public holiday. Maybe i stayed in an 4-bed-upgrade-to-2-bed-room. But then, when i was a SGH, it was a 5 bed room leh.

Ivy,

Pls update:
edd: 20/May
Babe boy: Pang Jin Heng

How's ur situation now? after giving birth, my rashes much better but still a bit itchy..

Milo/Yvonne,
Aft follow ur advise, i did abled to bump out milk-very less 15ml only,however couldn't totally remove all the hard lumps due to engorgement, is it need to continue and take times?

By thee way, you direct BF baby or bump out first?

Gummie, Zach's mum, jia you, don't be discouraged. Undertand why you'll get panaroid.
Just think that your bb is so smart, ang being naughty, just like to outplay mommy.
Enjoy the special unique moment just between mom and bb. No one can snatch that away from you. Like now, how i wish i can stuff bb back in so that i can have her to myself, ha ha.

KK,

Need ur advise too on weight loss:
My situation: tummy still obvious show like 4 mth pregnant, how long it takes to flatten back to normal shape?

Sook
Thanks for your encouragement. This is my 2nd BB, and I know I'll miss the feeling of BB inside me when it's out. The thing is hubby very busy this week and he's going away end of the week. Now a bit worried what if BB pop during that time.
Is this your 2nd BB also? You delivered in SGH last time? Both Gummie and me are delivering at SGH.

sook,

dun be sadden by ur mil. perservere in ur beliefs and tries to ignore her comments. past few days, i was feeling very down also becos of my mil. appreciate her coming over to help but cannot take her comments. in front of my boy, she actually said that 'ur mummy dunno how to take care of u ah, make u suffer, buy wrong type of clothes lah, sock lah and take the teat with so small hole, poor bb" i hear liao, boil man. but now i gotten used to it

kk,

u jus leave ur girl on the bed is she make small noises? how abt if the noise burst into cries, u attend to her? my boy use to wake up at 3 hrs interval for milk, these few days change to 2 hrs interval though milk intake is same. tried to increase but he dun wan to drink anymore. then from 2 am to 3 am, he very cranky, normal?

when hubby feed, he can manage to go in 60ml only but when i feed, can make him finish his 80ml. how do u do bb has enough? mine will stop but with some tickling, he will suck again.

race,

i pump out mine cos bb was in nicu for a week. didnt have a chance to direct latch him and thus he dun like. 15ml is a good start!
when i first started, only got a few pathetic drops. continue pumping at 3hrs interval and massage as much as u can. slowly those lumps will go away once ur milk goes into full production.

sook,
, and yes, did u deliver at SGH previously? glad to hear the positive feedback...

zach'z mum,
this week and next is also a bad timing for us, cos my husband may not be able to go on leave at all if i 'pop' as he is v busy with new projects. that was y we keep hoping for last week.
really hope your baby arrive soon, at least before yr hubby goes away ya. at least he'll be around at the most 'crucial' moment!

Milo,

Haha, sometimes my mil also say such things.. make me and hubby very sad also. That's how i gotten my post natal blues

With regard to bottle feeding, i will let my girl drink until she stop, she will throw out the teat automatically when she wanna stop. Then will burp her. After that will push the teat to her, see whether she want or not. Sometimes her mouth really close tight if she dun want the milk anymore. Other time she will continue to suck

Haha, talking about little noises.. just now she burst into loud cry again.. wanna to carry again! Then now rocking her on my lap while typing on computer :p

Race C,

My tummy weird leh.. i see here see there it has returned to normal shape liao, except for the little flaps by the side. But when i measure, it is still 35 cm leh!!! I dunno why
And obviously, i try on my working clothes and they still dun fit

sook,
i m surprise w the poor service in TMC. While i was there everyone is very nice and they help me alot. for LC, i tried their advise and if i not happy i called Mrs Wong directly. There is also daily lessons on BF and taking care of BB where u can go and attend. u can even bring yr bb there to BF but of cuz there is an audience lah. Weekday the lessons are conducted by Mrs Wong.

Gals, it seems like many of us are suffering fm mild blues. i already got so fedup of crying and now ignore every comments ple made. i m counting down everyday so that i can hv some peace.

weight lose is easy than trying to tone up the flabby flesh. after bb is deliver, some kg will be lost and w BF even low MS also will increase some calories. The hardest part is seeing weight lost but the flabby area is everywhere and u dun even feel like losing weight take place

Gummie, Zach mum,
Nope i didn't deliver at SGH, thank God. ShiQin is my first Baby. My water bag ruptured at week 25. My gynae advised me to get admitted to a government hospital ward B or C, cos, if i deliver Bb then, Bb needs NICU. NICU at TMC will cost a bomb.
Had a 'dress rehearsal'-stayed the nite in labour room, wating for labour to start. Luckily Bb stay put. But had to stay in hospital for a week. The class C ward, 5 bedded, had a saparate toilet and bathroom. Toilet has wc and bidet. Moms will be provided gown. The downside is that are a mix of patients for all sorts of ailments/operations in the ward.

hi, anyone want to order nepia diapers? I'm ordering 2 packs on NB. Need another 2 more to join in. Collection at Bugis MRT. from what i know, NB cost $14 for 60 pieces.

milo,
Their words are so demoralising. Dunno what's in their thick skull when they say such words. Afterall, we are the Mother of the Baby. Dun we want the best for our little darling???
Disharge day, MIL refused to let Bb lie in car seat. She wants to carry. AND she refuse to put seat belt!!!!!!. I was fuming mad!!! But i tahan, at home told hubby, its dangerous. If its required for adults to wear seat belt, the more for an adult carrying Bb.
A few days later, CL and MIL went together for PD appt. Both of them refused to let Bb lie in car seat AND refuse to put seat belt. I looked at hubby. He said its ok, cos they say its ok!!!!. I was boiling. On the way back, i insisted to be the one carrying the Bb. Both of them sing song that i was too panaroid. Hubby didn't defend me.

Ino,

i m still thinking whether to buy Nepia or not. I may buy 4 pax so they can deliver to me. Currently my boy wearing NB but dun know shld i change to S. his thigh is getting tight soon. I got some sample S size fm NTUC and Giant for mammy poko and sealer but they look big on him leh.

Sook,
u not alone , my mum follow me to the PD and she also insist of carrying bb and dun wan to put seatbelt. i tell her so many times liao she still say dun need lah awhile only. Wat awhile , it is like 20 mins journey leh. Sometime old folks i really give up.

twinkle,

Yah lor, old folks.. everytime i tell hubby no need to argue back, just take it as it is. Sometimes tell them they also bochap. Waste energy explaining to them :p

Ino,

ya lor, now he is almost 4kg, if use S abit big mah, but use NB the thighs abit tight. Aiyo!!1 dun know what to do leh

any feedback on the nepia diapers then? i heard a lot of good reviews about it. if no one is sharing, then i will also order 4 packs. 2 packs NB and 2 packs S

ino,

i also heard good review but never try. but if the price is cheap can buy more and keep. Buy with mixture sizes so u can also use it later.

at times we use more meh. like my boy poo a little few drop also will ask to change. like tat diapers used up very fast.

ya lor.
my hubby almost fainted coz we using pampers and we can use like 7-8 pieces a day. ;-P

btw, fairysnowberry has given birth to her little jayden yesterday at 3.47pm. congrats!!

Congrats to fairysnowberry!!!

Ino and twinkle,

My girl using pampers.. and after she poo, i will change for her, sometimes after change, she will poo immediately..FAINT! So bobian got to change another pampers again lor.

kk, starrry,
Dun risk your bb's safety leh. If they dun want to belt up, dun carry lo. easy as that. Dunno why, the Mother of the child has no say on the child's safety/well being wan.

MIL will take care of bb when i start work. My preference was to send Bb to day nanny. But as usual IL and hubby insisted to let MIL take care. She should be experienced cos she's been taking care of BIL's kid, now 4 years old.
BUT, recently discovered a few shocking facts. After more than 2 weeks, the kid's umbilical cord was so infected, the doc sent baby to hospital. Till today, MIL refused to admit it's her fault. She said the doc was inexperienced. Claimimg its normal, though it smell and swell a bit.!!!!
Her definition of sterilising bottle is just boil water. No need to keep boiling for 10 -15 minutes. And she 'sterilise' only for the 1st month.
Now, i really worry, I have 0 faith on MIL baby skill.