(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hei fairysnowberry,
i went to see gyne on thurs 11th...she said she dun do VE unless want to induce and of cos she advised going natural...so, i guess it's really waiting game for me...have strange feeling baby not coming out soon...but i think i taking maternity from 17th onwards liao...

ino...what's this ameda brand??? it's not medala u referring to is it? Where did u buy it from and how much....

yah...the metro sale...they had some hiccups...i saw the detergent at $8 which is alrdy special price and the sales staff confirmed still got 20% on it so i put aside 3 boxes then when the sale started, they said they cleared away all the detergent cos supplier didn't wan to give 20% anymore but they would honour my reservation...and so, by far...got it for the cheapest at 6plus...haha...

well, i have been drinking as much raspberry tea as i could...wondering if there's anything else i could do...haha...still enjoying good normal human beings food...but feeling more tired everyday...sigh...
take care, mummies to be...congrats, mummies...tho i know it's about moving on to a new set of 'problems' (of BF) right...sigh..

kk,

no leh..
it still hurt and i am starting to feel cold machiam like falling sick liao. any idea wat doc to see if this doesnt get better?

ivy,
Anna opt for induce but had to go for c-sec in the end as her baby is facing up and also quite heavy.

milo,
i have the same problem as u. After pumping breast will go soft for awhile. But after 10 mins or so, it will become engorged again. Due to this, i had been feeling hot and cold. Now running a fever
i guess the only way is to massage ur breast 1st before pumping, so as to empty ur breast completely when u pump.

ino,
xian mu!! shd have buy the ameda pump! Is the suction very strong?

hi fates,
so u now hvg yr confinement? how's bb?

i've booked a postnatal masseur for $420 for 7 sessions. i tried her for antenatal andshe's good so booked her for postnatal.

Hazel, Racoon, I miss Dr Adrian already. Next appt is for PAP smear 2 weeks away.
Why i LOVE him? Though he is seems quite, he knows what he is doing. Very reassuring and comforting. Though th evisite may seem short, he never get impatient or rush you if you have questions for him.

kk & starry,
I dare not try my working clothes as well. Dun think can fit in, even now the upper body also balloned due to breast milk ma :p When go for gynae appointment or pd appointment, i still wear the maternity cloth ler.

fates,
I dint try massage yet as mine is c-section, got to wait for at least 1 month then can do the massage.

Hi all mom/ mom-to-be,

I have delivered on 10 May at ESH under Dr Heng.
Here's the story:

0200 Feel freq contraction every 5 mins(not pain)
0725 Call Gynea, she asked to admit and see me at
ESH at 8am. Quickly take shower and packed t
hings
0915 Gynea came and bursted water bag, 2cm dilated only. Put on NaCl solution-to make contraction faster

1100 checked- 3cm

1210 Inject epidural

1345 Cervix opened 5cm

1616 With vacuum assisted, my little boy born, weight 2.9kg, 50cm.

I stayed for 2 days and discharged on 12/May

My daughter's birth story on 30th APRIL 2006:

830: Got a show when wipe myself after big business. Called DR A, he say Bb will be out tonite or tmr mornning.

0930: Start to have strong PS feeling. Ayoh... very funny feeling cos the pain start from anus spread to the front leh. Thought having constipation.

1130: More frequent, pain 20 minutes apart.

1330: 5 minutes apart.

1500: Blew my top when silly hubby asked why i kept looking at watch. Called DR A, told him i have PS feeling, he said it is labour contraction. Asked me to go to hospital immediately. He predicted, the pain will be more intense in less than 4 hours. No point rushing to hospital when i can barely walk.

1550: Reached TMC. Had late lunch at delifrance.

1620: Got admitted to TMC. Went up to 2nd storey prep room with nurse. Finally the reality struck me i am going into labour and meet my Bb.

1430: Dr A arrived. VE on me (not painful at all) and swiftly broke water bag (not painful too). Cervix dilated 3cm, estimated Bb will be out before midnite. Dr A activated the anesthetician to come immediately.

1515: Anesthetician came and administered epidural (not painful and no cold rush down the spine). It took effect immediately. He mentioned that epidural is only effective 90% of the time. THe 10% will still feel pain at the end!!!

1900: Start to feel pain at the abdomen. Got worried that i am the unlucky 10%. Nurse increased dosage to 10ml/h.

1930: Bb heart beat start to drop.

1945: Start to feel pain again. Nurse pretend to up the epidural dosage, but in reality she redused the oxytoxin. VE check, cervix 8cm dilated.

2100: Dr A arrive. Nurse speak in codes about Bb in distress, Bb body-head alignment not correct...have to c-sect. DR A said let me try pushing 4-5 times first.
Nurse proposed redusing epidural dosage. Dr A said no point letting me feel the pain, nurse should help in detecting the contraction for me.

2123: After 5 rounds of pushes, Bb was borne with vacuum assistance.

kk/Yvonne,
i also dun know shld i order a cake for the celebration. Hubby think shld lah and i still thinking. What u ladies think huh a cake just to cut during the buffet? i wonder got ple eat or not and i also preparing red eggs for ple to eat if they want.

Twinkle,

Need ur advise on how to release engorsement...

I hope to BF my boy but after 2 days trying,1-2 drops, now even worse, both breasts engorsed..very painful, tried message and plumped mik out, but unsuccessful, pls help and advise...

Hihi Qoosan,

Dr F said 1cm dilated. After he did VE, i had some bleeding and for the past 2 days i have been having brownish discharge plus cramps. Called him today and he said its normal. He said maybe i will see my BB in a wk's time.

Hey Ino, so the float no gd? The anticipation is really building up for me and my hubby. Wondering when the day will come when my bb decides to come out. I think i will work till the day i deliver. I bot the Medela single pump liao if not i may seriously consider yr ameda one since its so gd!

Chris, u intending to take ML fr 17th onwards? Me too but my gynae said no need. He said can work till the day i deliver. If i were u, i will take ML earlier cos as a teacher, u have to walk and stand a lot. U can still tahan? Peifu :=) Oh ya, my gynae said raspberry tea helps bring on labour too. So u are on the right track.

race,

hope i can be of some help

for the 1st few days, i also pump out only a few drops but i kept on trying. will feel very engorge and lumpy even though u finally manage to get some milk out. nurse told me that could be the formation of milk or something. no matter how much i massgae still like that.

after a while better liao. when i massage, i use my knuckle to push the lump towards the nipple. very painful but its help to remove the lump eventually

hi fairysnowberry,
The discharged aft VE is normal, dun worry! Must take gd rest now, coz life really different when bb arived

HI Twinkle

hmmmmm.... we will just invest in catering, not giving out goodies... but i think can give out goodies to those who cannot turn up for the baby shower...

Think u can either have cakes given out to your guests (they can be mini tarts), or have just one cake to cut at the buffet...

left 6 more days to my edd liao ... can see my bb soon..

today my CL called n said wah still haven't come out ar .. she thought i would give birth 2 weeks earlier ..

sponge,

sori ah,me from june mtb..need to ask u a few qns on mdm rohaya.did she do 7days straight?wat kind of oil she using?smelly?how long is the massage?how u find her? paiseh..coz i still haven decide on who to book for the massage leh..got so many recommendations..

hi chris,

hee hee...i also drank lotsa of raspberry leaf tea (make sure u buy the correct one hor...it's not raspberry tea but raspberry LEAF tea) and a bit of coconut juice b4 i gave birth.

u can see this link http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html for the ameda brand. highly popular in the US. i got it from the distributor in singapore. let me know if you intend to buy , then i sms u the no. it cost $300. Buying dual pump really saves a lot of time!

aiyo...i got piles!!!! so now i noe the stinging pain is becoz of piles...urghhh...gynae say it will take 6 wks to shrink...so in the meantime, i must avoid sitting for long periods of time.

hi sponge,
mdm rohaya is going to massage me tmr. can't wait! did u see a doctor for your fever? as for the breast pump, the suction very strong lei. so it's very good. ;-)

hi fairysnowberry,
now i dunnoe whether the float works coz i've got piles...if i've piles, i shouldn't be using the float coz it will impede the healing process. it's such a torture!!! as for my wound, gynae said it had healed beautifully *sob sob* meanwhile, jia you! your bb is coming soon!

hi kk,
woah...save $$ dun need to give cakes. i'm also not in favour of giving cakes coz i've already decided to throw a high-tea for bb's shower...but it seems a tradition with my husband's side.

my bb still got jaundice. it breaks my heart to see her looking yellowish. yesterday, brought her to gynae and had to take her blood. wow liao...seeing her cry makes me want to cry also. heart pain pain.
kao_sad2.gif

Twinkle,

Yesterday my fil and mil were arguing out what we should have, red eggs or ang gu kuey or glutinous rice.. then the conclusion is to have ang gu kuey only.

Wonder where to order nice ang gu kuey?

Me and hubby decided not to have a cake. See how it goes..

Hi Ino,

Ya, i think normally the hubby's side is more traditional heee.. but i am glad my in laws also not in favour in giving out cakes. I am not sure though whether they are giving cakes to relatives in malaysia. If yes, then cakes will be ordered over there, not here.. so no trouble for me and hubby too heee..

Ya! That time we brought bb back for checkup, also went through blood test for jaundice. She cry when the needle poke then i almost cried too

Her next jab is coming leh.. she sure cry mah.. then i must control myself not to cry again

Qoosan,

Ya rite, last nite since i was very free, i took out my working clothes to try again. Yooo, my top cannot fit in, tummy cannot fit in and buttocks also cannot fit in. I have expanded in all three statistics hahaha!

Next mth is GSS, so i tell my hubby bobian liao, got to buy clothes. Confinement being "confined" at home, how to slim down? I think i can only slim down when i am full time into my work in July. But meanwhile, i still need to buy some clothes to wear when go out during weekends.

Now i wear maternity clothes very funny liao.. because looks big on me once again haha..

Hi Hazel,

Hope you had found your dog. I'm a dog owner too & I can understand the agony. Get the shop to help in the search actively by pasting posters around that area?

Hi Milo,

Thks for ur infos..
BTW,my tummy still big(still look like 4 mthms pregnant), how long does it take to back to normal?any good ways?

Besides, the stitches (normal delivery) also very painful, normally need how long to recover?

I feel tht aft pregnant is more hard/difficult(mentally/physically) than before pregnant...

Hi Angeline,

Mdm Rohaya massaged me 7 days in a row with this grapeseed oil. Smells like rose, not smelly at all. The massage lasts for an hour. Personlly i really like her becos she's very professional. She can feel exactly where are your strains and aches and she will give advises on how to reduce those aches. She's very knowledgable on the human's anatomy. She's also quite jovial.. She will joke and talk to her during the massage. And MOST IMPTLY.. (heh heh) my tummy went down after her massage. Like 2 mths preg.

Angeline, i will say, hire her. 2 thumbs up for Mdm Rohaya. She charges $490 for 7 sessions.

Hi ino,

My fever has subsided thanks
Hope u enjoy your massage session with her tmr. Can understand the hurt when u see ur bb wailing away... heart really goes 'pling pliang' hor..

Wrt your piles, did ur gynae give u any cream to apply? I had piles too after i delivered and i used this ointment "Proctosedyl" religiously. The piles shrank fast and within 5 days, no more already. Dun think will take 6 weeks to recover la..dun worry k

Hi KK

Re: Ang Ku Guay
I stay at Jalan Bukit Merah opposite SGH, near the Thai Temple... I noe that there is this confectionery at the hdb flats opposite my block facing the main road, directly facing SGH, that makes very good ang ku kueh. never bought them before, but i always see lots of people buying the ang ku kueh, and there are a lot of workers inside making the pastries, perhaps you can try...

hehe, i have broken all rules of confinement, or rather, take it as i did not do confinement at all, though i tried. Order confinement food catering for only 2 weeks dinner, yesterday was the last day, bathed on the 4th dae (cos had to go to the hospital), went out shopping 3 times, wearing sleeveless, drank coke and ice water.... hmmmm, cos i cannot tahan... especially when i breastfeed baby, sometimes so hot i will sweat, find it so hot and unhygienic... my aunts will nag, but my parents noe my pattern and are very chin chai so never say anithing... plus i think my husband drinks more brands chicken essence than mi... hhahahaha....

Re: Dog...

My place is quite near Mohammed Sultan/River Valley... hazel.. am a super dog lover (have 2 dogs). I will keep a lookout if i can, but i must sae the pet shop is super irresponsible...

Milo

I think breast feeding realli helps to slim down a lot... i put on a total of 11 kg since Week 6 pregnancy, and all in all, i lost 7 kg after delivery on the thrid dae... now after 2+ weeks, i lost another 3 kg... so one more kg to go... and the thing is i have been eating as usual the 3 meals, so i think all went to breast milk, and the energy spent looking after baby... but of course my husband is not happy, cos he thinks i am losing it too fast... and (kk you will again find this familiar) he thinks my breast milk is not nutrituos enuff!!!!!! i dunno...

Yvonne,

Just bought some ang ku kuey from the bakery nearby to try. Not bad, so will be getting from them. We need only 50 lor, so as long as not too bad, will order liao

WAHHH, envy u!! Go out shopping!! I will start shopping next week after full mth celebration.

Oh, me wearing sleeveless all this while at home. My pyjamas all sleeveless. I can't stand pyjamas with sleeves. That time i bought those "karmy" brand from metro, all with sleeves. Find them pretty thick though, very hot! So gave up, wear back my old pyjamas, so much comfy

Will iced water affect lochia flow? My lochia flow is dying down liao.

Sometimes i find my whole body smell, even though i bathe twice a day now. Smell of BM, then smell of sweat, then dunno what else.. terrible! Do u still bathe with herbal water? Or not at all? Haha..

I take chicken essence every morning
My favourite.. heeee.. ever since young.. so this one i dun mind taking everyday :p

Yesterday tea break i also ate some KFC spicy chicken :p

I lost 13 kg in all... still got 4 kg to go. But i really gave up liao. If cannot slim down, so be it hahahaa.. i am going to shop for new clothes :p

Race,

Like Milo mention massage fm outside of the breast towards the nipple. it is better with warm towel. When I hv lumps i use knuckle also.
At times after i express still feel pain at the lump or uncomfortable , then do the same routine for the next express and slowly u will feel the pain had reduce.

bb suckle is still the best, i force my son to suckle and it reduce much further.

kk,
we decide to hv red eggs will do lor. bcos the buffet come w dessert that is choco eliars and mango pudding. Who will eat cakes hor. Ang Ku kueh is a good idea . Now i m ordering tarts fm Choz for those to give away which i did not make it to the party and relative only. friends and colleagues i will give vouchers from royals cakes.

Weight lost, so far i lost abt 13kg and it is more than my pregnancy weight. but i still look like 3-4mth preggie leh and dun feel slim at all
Now i may hv to go back to work earlier than expected. look like i got to go shopping liao.

Sponge,
you finished yr massage sessions liao? if not can help to ask for c-sect, can only hv massage 1 mth later and by then effective or not, tummy will slim further?

hey ladies,

did u bb refused to sleep after feed at nite abt 1am onwards till 5am. During that time , my son choose to 'gei sai'and not able to sleep/ but after 5am feed he will sleep like a log. Tried to wake him up during the daytime and no matter what i did he will still be in deep sleep.

Wow so much to catch up till i lost thread

I also pop liao on the 9th may.with Epildural.The VE is too painful for me to endure.

Baby got jandice too had to stay in hospital for 2 days.Was very down cos of that as I am BF.

Need someinfo.
1. s i am BF, how long does it take for ur gals each time. In the hospital , was told to BF one breasr each feeding 30mon. But now back home, i seem to BF like 1 hour, half an hour each side for each feed? sometimes 45mins, one breast 30min, the other 15 min? am i doing ot correctly.

2. Mt baby having jandice, think she still yellow. shld we give her water? in hospital they say not to give her, but my mum says, we shld. sigh

3. Can someone enlighten abt pumping of milk.If we pump, means, half an hour on each breast? or 15 minutes on eah breast is sufficicnt?

Twinkle,

Now my mil want eggs too. So will be 50 ang gu kuey and 50 eggs. I suspect no pple eat hahaha.. sure got leftovers...

Btw, which caterer have u decided for ur buffet?

i worry pple dun eat cake, that's why decided to do without the cake. Initially wanted cake too. But u know nowadays pple very funny, even buffet they dun eat much. So for buffet, i am also cutting down the number too. I just dun want leftovers. Waste money also.

Wow, which means if u start on massage etc, u may look slimmer than before pregnancy!!

Go back to work earlier than expected? Why? hey, actually i suspected i may have to go back to work earlier than before too. Previously it was 24 July. But if the MOE is really so strict on the MC, then i think i got to report back to work on the 14 July liao. Bobian

Ur son's biological clock not turned around yet? Heee.. dun worry, give him some time and i am sure he will be able to sleep more in the nite
My colleague told me her bb refused to sleep till 3 am in the morning. For mine, can wake up 2-3 times in the nite, then drink one more time at 530am, and fall to sleep till earliest 8am in the morning.

Bookworm,

For my case, my bb only manage to suck for 15 min on each breast. She will let go automatically. Sometimes she just suck on the right, and forget about the left and doze off. I think that is already sufficient for her, because my right can produce around 60 ml of milk but left is highly unpredictable Haha! Sometimes only 10 ml.

Ya, I heard the elders say must give water and i personally do believe can give water. If the bb is fed water, at least the system will be flushed and the liver may work better as it slowly develops till full functioning at the end of week 2.

For pumping, i just pump until i see the breast goes dry. I.e. i dun suffer from any engorgement at all.

Hi bookworm,

I did give bb water when he has jaudice. I believe giving water bcos i supplement w FM and FM can be heaty. Also i believe he shld flush out as much as the toxic in his body.

Another thing u can try is go to Chinese medical hall and ask the person to get u some seeds for bathing when bb had jandice. he will crash some seed which i dun know what into yellow powder. I let bb bath using the water boiled w that powder.

As for BF, aiyo my boy will never latch on more than 20 mins, he will push and cry for milk. now he suckle for comfort more i think. if u hv sufficient MS, 30mins shld be good enough .

Hi Twinkle,

Sob! Me so sad now.. every weekend when my hubby's sister come, it seems like she and my mil will hog on to my bb for the WHOLE day! I really hate it! How i hope the week will fly then after confinement, i will bring my bb out every weekend, then no one will hog on to her liao.

kk,

i am using Sakura catering. Yup the one with the Sakura restuarant that serve buffet. Bcos i m having it in safra tampines so i can only use them as my caterer. The menu is something different as it has sushi for appetizers, std main course like fried rice, noodles, thai fish, tempura oysters etc.. A taste of Jap and int'l .

Hope massage can slim down further, tat's y i m asking mah. I know ND sure can but c-sect after so long not sure can or not leh.

hey u can pump until go dry? towards the end,there is always a little when i pump and i cannot keep doing tat mah, so abt 15mins i give up and consider finished liao.

kk, u so poor thing . i can understand that bcos my mum hog bb the whole afternoon everyday and weekend my dad came over, he will also do tat. Sometimes i use the excuse to BF when feeding time and my mum just dun care and give FM.

twinkle starry,
u mean ur feeding for BF only 30 min each time?

how come mine is like 45-1hr? but i only BF, no supplement nor express milk?

wow kk

u so lucky, 15 minutes only, mine take so long and my nipples are so sore. quite worried that there is no enough milk.

Twinkle,

Heee, yah, towards the end still got little little droplets, then i stop pumping lor :p

Hey, good idea hor.. all guests go safra tampines, no need to mess up the whole house :p but then got to bring bb out lor.. this can be the only troublesome part. How much per pax?

Oh, ur mum doing confinement for u? yah lor, everyday mil hog on to bb. Partly contributes to my post natal blues

bookworm,
since i supplement w FM and not enough milk, he can empty in 30mins on both side, he does not take long to finished 30ml.
at times it will be longer bcos he tend to sleep while drinking.

if u worry that he is not drinking enough express out and check the amt. so next time u will know in estimate how breast can produce.

kk,

the idea is not to mess up my house. with bb around no time to really clean house and after all the party where got energy to pack and cleanup. Bring bb out is ok lah bcos only a 4 hr event mah. and since not at home, i dun hv guest to stay all day and refused to leave mah.

the menu i chosen is $12 per pax. consider the venue and food, it is quite reasonable liao. i know other caterer can get $8 per pax but never mind lah dun wan bb to get hog and passing around too much.

I agree w u i also ot mild PN blues bcos of my mum. she is doing confinement for me and she is always w bb in the day and night i look after myself. My boy chose to bully me at night he will gek sai dun wan to sleep.

twinkle,

you all very cute leh,...fighting with your mum,dad,mil, fil over the bb...hee...so fun...i am still waiting...