(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi ino,

i think among the whole pregnacy, i feel the worst now. So tired. i feel like sleeping, no appetite.
I was thinking, if this carry on, where got energy to go deliver? Couldn't sleep at night

Hi Sponge,
i only started to use a few days ago, now got to change valves liao? so fast? late i try ok and see how.

Ladies, i will call Cheng Choon later and see got discount.

Hi kk

i bought the electric pump plus, that uses electricity as well as it can be battery operated. Dual Pump. I saw the usaul price $299, and i bought it at less 15% off...

Sob Sob, tot i got a good deal, if its realli $190.... hehhehe, but nvm, bought alreadi...

Hi Ino

the gynae told me that 'unfortunately, my vagina tear during the delivery, so she had to stitch it up.' hehehe, but my husband who vidoed the whole process, said se actualli cut! well, it will recover within 7 days. U wun dare to urine, but the nurse will force you 2. She stood there in the toilet, waiting for mi to pee, keep switching on and off the tap to give me the pee feeling! It stings badly, but will get used to it... But it is important to get enema or those laxatives (check with doc) so that you can do your business. Cos, with the pain there, you will naturally not do any business, and you will fart all dae long. It happened to my ward mate too! We were saying we never farted so much in our life! And mind the potential piles, when you first attempt to 'putt putt' for the first time after delivery. I did that only 3 days after...

eheheh....

By the way, for mothers who have given birth, are you all going to shave your baby's hair? If so, how, and where? Sori, if the question sounds stupid.

Thanx!

Yvonne,

Oh, mine is the single pump, not dual pump hahaa... that's why mine cheaper :p

I think it is good to get a dual pump. When i pump one side, the other side leaking haha.. so i have to use milk bottle to catch milk droplets from the other side :p

For my caesarian case, the hospital pple will also check whether i pass urine and motion or not leh. If never pass motion, they dun let patient discharge hee.. that's what i heard.

I also heard from mum that first mth celeb must shave hair. I think mil going to get somebody to shave for my bb girl, but i dunno the details.

hi bookworm,
true true...yesterday nite i got cramp. the pain is so intense and it only last , say about 5 mins and i can't tahan. i also dunnoe how i can tahan the delivery process now...

hi yvonne,

thks for sharing! yeah. my colleague also told me to get laxatives...it's just the pain lar...my pain threshold is ultra low...

hi kk,
omigod...we are from the same hospital! they realli dun let us discharge if we dun poo? btw, what meals did u choose during the stay? western , chinese or confinement food?

twinkle,

check out the price for both single and dual pump. It does sound logical to buy dual pump as wat kk said...

kk,

i think for the shaving part, its up to individual. So will shave botak, others may just cut a little bit to signify full month. There are also ppl who make writing brush with the shaved hair.
My hubby warn me very early that cannot shave botak cos he find that it look too ugly! haha...

Ivy/ydnic,

Just called Cheong Choon. Their Medela electric mini pump is selling at $189. However if u ask her for discount she will tell you is $160. This applies to either 1 or more purchase. She not able to give further discount even if it is bulk purchase. Anyway her stuff normally u ask for discount she will give u off her selling price.

She also mentioned that now Medela is having a promotion on this pump and come with a cooler bag and cost abt $239. She claim worthwhile as the cooler bag normally cost $100+. currently she does not know is the promotion w cooler bag is on since her supply has not arrived.

If anyone interested can call her Winnie @65323855 or visit her at Blk 34 #03-132 upper Cross Street.

me very tempted to buy but hubby say try to change valves and see how, maybe mine is old or natural manufacturer fault. This morning got a little increase in MS liao and i still over the moon . Very silly me hor!

Twinkle-Starry thanks...
I am planning to get it if i got alot of milk...hehe...so will be getting after 3weeks of birth most likely.Will jote down the telephone n address...meanwhile keep in touch thru this forum hehe...

BTW...Medela Mini pump is single or dual pump?
If its the single pump...then one colleague of mine bought it at a discount...$129...
wonder when still have tat kind of discount...

Ino,

For first day, i am on confinement dishes because i need soupy ones as what my gynae told them. Then second day onwards they let me choose liao. But i still take more porridge, etc plain dishes
I remembered second day i pass motion liao heeeee... so i pass the "test" :p

And the first thing the nurse ask u in the morning will be "have u passed motion?"

Ivy,

hey, my colleague told me the bb indeed look very ugly with botak head! Haha.. I think the older generation want to shave her head botak leh

My colleague made the brush. I dun intend to. U?

twinkle,

i saw the ad for OG this morning for the pump with bag and it seems to be the same price. But i am not sure cos memory very bad these days. If you got Straits Times, can read and check.

kk,
i cannot make the brush leh, hubby will not allow shave botak, that means not enuff hair to make...haha

Ivy,

I just told the other mummies in june thread. I shall let my girl be shaolin monk for the time being. Who knows, she may look prettier with her bald head heeeee...

Oh no...i am in a dilemma...
Ur were saying...chances are slim for natural birth if i induce?Wanna go for natural. If c-sect chances are high then i wanna choose 12th May..Vesak Day.
Wat ur think?

i am back!

here my birth story:

3.00 AM - kept dreaming that i am giving birth soon. woke up from a shock and decided to go toilet. realise that undies is wet and tot i pee. saw tinge of blood with discharge when i wipe myself.

woke hubby up. we called hosp and they asked us to go down.

3.45 AM - left the house.

4.15 AM - reached Mt A carpark. On the way to the delivery suite, felt a gust of liquid flowing out.

4.30 AM - Got changed and pee. Strap to CTG. Got contraction at every 10 minutes.

5.15 AM - Nurse came, scan and confirm bb in breech and did 2 VE to check whether waterbag burst (this one can kill!!!!) and still cannot conclude!!!!

5.45 AM - Gynae came. Did another VE check (my v already sore till cannot sore liao), also cannot conclude but he decide to operate on me since i got show and to be safe.

6.00 AM - Everything happen in a flash. Was shaved, catherdal done (damn pain ah!!!!), shower cap worn and hubby ushered away to prepare him for my op later.

6.30 AM - Push to op theatre. Drip done. Epidural administered (not pain leh, surprise]ingly)

6.40 AM - Started cutting me. Hubby masked and came in. Was shivering non-stop due to epidural.

6.50 AM - Kaeden is borned!!! Heard his first cry and i was crying non stop also... very very happy

After that, they put him next to me.. took a few pics then i fell asleep liao..

Kaeden still in hosp monitoring cos he kana infection due to my waterbag burst for some time before he is out. Feel very sad leaving him but no pt staying in hosp lor. He will be back on Mon loh.. so happy!

Milo,

Congrats!!!! Yes, we survived the epidural administration

Oh, so u had caesarian?

Looking forward to seeing kaeden's photos

kk, i m not under any medication for the high blood pressure. they took a sample of my blood tat dae when i saw my gynae lor den next mon when i go bk she will advise mi again. n i oso realise tat u gave birth at TMC. after inducing is it difficult for natural coz i read alot saying induced normally end up c-sect.

u ladies keep on toking abt medela pump. is it real gd?? my colleague recommended mi to buy the Avent pump. it consist of the manual pump wif 2 storage bottles n a cooler bag @$140. do u all tink is a good buy??

btw watz the difference bt single n dual pump?? sori ah mi nv use b4. n oso normally when u all decided to buy the pump? coz i heard dun buy b4 u give birth as not necessary u got milk.

Hi Milo!

What a surprise to see that you've pop! On labour day some more... Wow, Lil Kaeden really knows how to choose his birthday, no excuse for mummy and daddy to forget and not celebrate for him. Public Holiday what!!
BTW, he looks very handsome!
Well done and take care!

hi kk,

hehe kaeden is a combi of me and hubby.. he got my nose and lower lips, daddy's eyes and upper lips..keke

does ur c-section wound still hurts. mine is the 3rd day now.. still walk like ah ma. wonder how long then can walk normally.

hi milo,

Congrats! bb very cute leh. dun worry leaving him in hospital. when i left Kevan there when i discharge i keep crying and sobbing on the way home. then my mum we not suppose to cry so much

c-sect, i also wonder when i can be normal, 7 days liao and i still walk slow and dare not exert pressure. sometime accidentially exert OUCH .

hi ss1,

haha thks! he really da pai leh.. make all the doc back on public holiday then gotta stay in NICU somemore.. now mummy really is pok kai liao..but its a joy to see him smile in his sleep..

Sorry, no time to read thru all the posts... will try later.

In the mean time, does anyone know how TMC do the breast massage prior to breast feeding? please HELP!!!

gina,

I dunno about avent pump but did heard some complaints about, especially the manual one. I personally find medela pump very good
Recently its on sale at metro, $200 for single electric pump, with free cooler bag and 4 free bottles i think.

Dual pump can use on both sides at the same time. Single pump.. need to finish pump one side then transfer to the other side to pump

Dun frighten urself about the induced labour ya? Heee.. it may not turn out that bad lah.. if really need to induce, then can't be helped also. That time i also felt very worried. Induced come with the extra pain we have to go through, like bursting of water bag which i think is the most horrid part of the whole labour process.

Zach's Mum,

Milo's boy already looks very macho heee..

Milo,

My girl looks so much like her daddy! It is like ang ku kuey.

Oh, be patient on ur wound. It takes some time. Do u need to remove stitches or those dissolve type? I walked ok on day 5 i think. But still got pain when up and down the bed. Or stand too long, also got pain on left side. Then i remove stitches on Tuesday. Now have plaster over. Not too bad liao, slowly slowly recovering. Sometimes still pricking kind of pain on left side of wound, but not often

hi starry,

thks for the assurance. i was sobbing when i left kaeden there this morn. felt like a bad mummy abandoning him but cant be help. glad to know that he will be hm on mon and now sort of prepare for his hm coming.

is kevan hm already? how is ur milk pumping coming along. i only got a miserable 15ml and seems like no matter how long i pump, breast still hard.

ydnic/Ivy,

Sorry ya just now trying to finish posting fast fast so boy boy can hv his feed. seeing him wriggling in the cot getting impatient makes me gan cheong until grammer and spelling also dun make sense liao.

the Medela Mini pump is single . They also hv dual pump @$260. however these are her discount price w/o the cooler bag. If the promotion is with cooler bag, then price will be a bit different liao.

Twinkle,

I was thinking whether i am too paranoid at times.. wound should be ok liao, but i still walk very slowly and get up and down of bed very slowly hahahaa.. maybe because of binder also. Restrict movement.

Yes, by the way, i think we should still try to walk slowly. Dun over exert ourselves.

Milo,

u wearing binder now??

Soak,

What TMC did is prepare a towel, dip in very hot water, and then do a hot massage. The massage is such that u massage from the outside to the inside of the breasts. then u find milk dripping from the nipples

Milo,

Did u do the massage prior to pumping? hard meaning engorgement still there. U feel terribly engorged even after pumping?

hi milo,

congrats! at least u din wait long to see your beloved kaeden! such a handsome fella! just lurv to watch bb sleeping!

woah liao...the way u describe the c-section machiam like nothing...tot it will be quite a scary experience coz u actually noe that the gynae is cutting u up.

Milo,

Yr MS is better than me , at least now u hv 15ml, imagine i only hv milk on the 6th day leh and tat is like 10ml or less . Very slow and low liao.

Like KK suggestion drink more red date longan water and fish soup, it helps and now i already can express 30-40ml. of course combine from both breast lah

I guess we cannot stress ourselves over BF. Now my motto is dun hang on to the total BF conception, got milk better than nothing at least bb got some good nutrients fm FM also mah. Take things easy!

U know one thing good abt being home w/o yr boy is that u can practise to get in and out of bed with that pain and trying to adjust which style is best for u to be on the go when he is back.

BTW Kevan is back on labour day and he is sleeping mostly lor. tmr got to bring him back for check up.

Hi Sook,

i can share with you what Mrs Wong did for me when i ask for help. There are two methods. You can use either one or both.

1) use hot towel and cup the whole breast and move in circular motion. Like rubbing hard

2) then after that you can massage in circular motion from the breast towards the nipple and also slightly pushing the aerola towards yr nipple. This you will hv to massage on the left, right , top and bottom of the nipple.

Twinkle,

My breasts pretty unbalanced leh.. right side can give me 60 ml and the other give me the rest. u got such problem?

Yes, u are right! Dun be too hard on ourselves when it comes to BF. Just now i let bb latch on twice. Think my nipple going numb liao haha.. shall feed her FM later. Or do expressing liao. Else tomorrow sore and cracked nipples then chiam already.

Milo,

First few days after discharge was terrible for me. I can't even bend properly down on the bed to take close look at bb. How to BF like tat?? Then i cried and cried sometimes because i feel that bb lacks motherly love. This week totally ok liao, i can BF my bb as and when i want to and also adjust myself on the bed comfortably to handle bb. So twinkle is right, adjust urself first, then will be able to handle ur bb when he is back home

kk,

yup. wearing the binder.. sometime dunno is it we too scare to exert or really is pain hor.. but i try to walk as slow as possible.

i massage as best as i could and using hot compress also. feel abit lumpy on some area after pumping though not the terrible engorge type. heard some mentioning that after pumping should be soft thus dunno why mine not like that.

ino,

i find that its not the actual preocess that is frightening. its the after math and the wound that scare me.. during the 'cutting up' part, i couldnt see and no feeling also + i abit drowsy so didnt feel much lor.

starry,

same concept as yours. i dun wan to be too stress up. as long as can pump out something, i am contented. now my boy only drinking 30ml (FM mixed with my BM) so still alright. now being hm w/o bb is like wat u mention - getting use to the hse and other stuff before bringing him back since i left hm for hosp in a rush that day.

Milo
I know how you feel having to leave your darling behind in the hospital. I had to send Zach back to hospital for 2 days because of jaundice and I really cried like nobody's biz! In the end I think I developed post-natal depression b'coz of that. Now come to think of it, very silly! Please take care and think positively, don't be like me! Hug hug! You've done a great job "taking care" of him for the past 9 months and the joy has just begun!

kk
My Zach is the ang ku kuey of daddy! :p

milo,

Ya walk slowly... no hurry lah heee.. by the way, do u need to vote this saturday?? I dunno whether i can tell myself psychologically i can walk better now and am able to walk to the nearby primary school to vote heee..

Hmmm, actually when i first started to pump, my breasts still felt pretty hard after that. And there was terrible engorgement, like every 2-3 hours. Wanna cry leh
Then, i told my hubby top pain, centre pain, bottom pain (swelling of feet), dunno what i am going to do.

This week ok liao, after pumping, the whole breasts really go soft. Then can wait for 4-5 hrs before i need to pump. At nite no need to wake up so many times.

Yes, i agree with u! It's the aftermath of caesarian. How did u cope at the hospital? I couldn't even get out of bed to go to toilet! Need my hubby's help at nite, else i dunno wat to do!

kk,

i guess normal for breast to be imbalance . i also like tat. right breast can pump 20ml and left side only 10ml. Kevan dun seem to latch on the left side he will spit out like drinking medicine like tat. sigh! must whack buttom liao.

Milo,
i also wear binder all day long, i discover sometime it is not the stitches that is painful. it is more on the flesh below and above the plaster. i think maybe the plaster is so tight and when we move the flesh trying to breakfree.

twinkle,

My girl very naughty. Just now feed her bottle of FM she dun want leh!! She keep on crying until i buey tahan so let her latch on again. Now she quietly sleep liao. Somemore BF must rock rock her also.

She can suck out more from my right. But i find her very comfortable on the left. She can doze off while sucking the left. Maybe left side not much milk so she tired sucking until she doze off haahaha..

Absolutely what i think too!! The plaster simply pulls on our skin ya? And these 2 days so mad with the binder. It keeps pulling at the wound area. Then i feel pain. When i pull the binder away, wound dun hurt. So it is not the wound problem liao.

kk,

Toking abt noti, my boy also very noti .
i just BF my boy, not his feeding time yet but he cry and cry and open mouth big big so i give in and BF him , then later give him FM when it is time. Dun know why he always hicups and normally is 30mins or more before the next feed.

also i just apply lotion around the binder and my flesh not the plaster. feel better not so tight and pulling feeling. Weather so warm and confinement can be a real torture whereby eat always must be hot, shower also hot, perspire all the time

Congrats Milo!
Its a real surprise leh, you popping earlier. Good looking boy indeed!

Enjoy your motherhood!

Gals,I am having cough and sore throat today. Aiyoh feel so sick and tired. Feel like calling my gynae to induce me but the thought of me sick and with NB is too much to cope. So keep telling myself I must recover b4 baby comes,

Cindy, saw Dr Ong on Tuesday and again he said I already experiencing labour shld be delivering soon but no signs of that leh. Very impatient lol. Think my baby is so very comfy inside. Hopefully next wk can deliver. Tomorrow will be 38 wks. Never thought that I will be able to carry baby till this long. Maybe we can deliver on Vesak day.

yasmin,
I think you're going to pop soon. I was having the pre-labour symptoms which you're going through now for 6 days and finally the day came

sponge,
Hai! I still have to sit on float. Cannot stay in one position for too long. When the wound dries up, so stiff and pain

twinkle,

i will wait till pop then decide on the pump...Today very sway...Tyre brust while on the way home after meeting...All alone on KJE in the heavy rain...
Luckily xavier din decide to come out at that time though i keep feeling his kicks! Phew!

Hi twinkle and KK

My breasts are also not balanced...

And extremely! My one side only has 30 ml max, and the other 80 ml max!

Plus they are not consistent... Can go down by up to 50%...

My gal's intake abit scary... There was once, she took 120ml... She is only 7 days old...
I have no idea how am gona handle when i get back 2 work...

How long do you take to pump each time? And how often do you pump a dae? I take 30 mins to pump both breasts, and i pump 4 times a dae...

Ladies, any methods to coax baby to sleep? Care 2 share? I read fairy tales 2 her... though i dun reali think she understands...

Twinkle,

My bb girl also hiccup, and its after feeding. Last around 10 min or so heee.. urs hiccup 30 min?? That's long! Did u burp ur bb when he hiccup? Or can try feeding him some water. It helps at times.

Today i am supposed to tear out the plaster and then paste on some adhesive gel. Aiyoh, dunno pain or not.

Yvonne,

Yah rite, my bb girl big drinker too. Can finish at least 90 ml of milk. My girl drank a lot last week in her first too. I think we should be happy that they are drinking a lot

Now i dun need much time to pump each side. Once they stop leaking, i will stop liao, as not to overstress the breasts. Took around 15 min to complete pumping on both sides.

If i let bb latch on 3 times per day like yesterday, then i dun need to pump at all. I just need to pump once at nite before i go to bed.

morn!

wah kk, u so early also?

me woke up at 6.30 this morn to express milk. think now become mummy liao, more hardworking, didnt realise i can do it w/o alarm clock.

my 'confinement hubby' still sleeping now.. so much for waking up to help me sterilise pump wor.. *faint*

heng this sat i dun have to vote. my side here walk over..keke

starry,

i also wear the binder all day long. feel insecure w/o it.

btw, any of u gals bath? wanted to start with the herbs today cos my hair starting to feel sticky liao but dunno is the herbs horrible smelling?

i really find it hard not to touch water.. didnt manage to keep to all the rules.

yasmin/piglet:

thks!

milo,

Heee, actually i can sleep longer, but my mil going to do marketing, so she wakes me up. BB still sleeping.

Haha! nowadays i wake up at 3am in the morning to pump. Then next session will be after i wake up. Either pump or latch on.

Ur hubby on leave for many days to help u out?

Aiyoh so good. How i wish here also walkover. I dun wanna vote leh.. Still must walk and then queue up to vote. Sian..

I find the herbs not bad heeee... not smelly. It smells like some chinese herb drink to me :p I didn't wash my hair until 12 days up. This week i start bathing and washing hair liao
Feel more comfortable