(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Anyone using Avent manual pump? i dun know what wrong w mine, the valves keep accumulating milk and i thought i install selah, call the hotline and also redo many times still the name.

kk, u mention u got yr pump fm TMC pharmacy, which model huh? thinking going there to see this friday since my boy got checkup.

or is there a tactics to expressing?

kk,

i close my door when i BF but my mum likes to come in and see how the little one doing. Since i dun hv enough breast milk and he does seem frustrated and my mum will nag and nag. Maybe lock door is better and i dun see any offensive mah.

We dun wan ple to see our tits , shy mah.

kk,

i hope i dun end up having c-section. in fact, i am hoping that gynae will tell me on friday that i can still wait for labour signs. that way, i have more time to rest and have more stamina to push.

my initial leave starts after 11 may so this piece of news leaves me with no choice but to work until tomorrow. that means only 1 day to rest before labour induction.

Hi Babe99

Dun worry too much about inducing... I was supposed to deliver on 08/05, but due to my high blood pressure, was induced on 28/04... and sucessfully give birth naturally.... though a bit of help of the vacuum :p

Hi Ivy,

I think YC Goh is quite good.. so far, blood test is quite fast and painless. As for VE, I have not done yet but according to my friend who has 3 kids delivered by YC, the VE is also quite gentle...

Hi gals, long time never write in. Has been busy at work and had a hard time catching up with the thread moving so fast! This week finally try to hand over existing projects to contract staff covering for me. I think I won't pop so soon as my bb not engaged yet. Congrats to all mummies who have popped! Xin ku le!

Twinkle,

If can, get the medela pump from somewhere else. TMC pharmacy sell it at $190 leh!! So far it works fine
I still like it

Haha, lucky my mil dun pop in see heee... my bb very quiet during BF.. unless i purposely pull her away when she want to continue to suckle hahaha.. then she make grumpy faces at me.

tactic to expressing?? i dun think lah.. it is just on the switch and there it goes.. hee... hmm, but did u try hot massage everytime before u express or BF?

Anastasia,

Dun worry too much ya? Let nature takes its course
Just imagine that u are going to see ur bb soon, u will be happy

Heee.. i know sometimes easier said than done.. that time i also worried for many days.. i am glad everything's over

kk,

ya i did warm massage and also drink hot soup or longan drink before that. i think my pump something wrong leh, the valves got residue trapped inside and also if i express the 2nd breast, the valves will leak and waste my milk. Maybe i call Avent again tmr . worst i call Cheng Choon to deliver the medela pump, i think they sell at $150 and free delivery with every $100 order.

twinkle,

I also heard from some that avent pump doesn't really work well, plus it is complicated to use??!

Try medela pump. U won't regret

i've been feelin my tummy 'tightening' more often these few days. is wat i'm experiencing so-called contractions? it doesn'e feel painful, not not exactly like menstrual cramps like some of u described, just that my whole tummy turns hard, sometimes part of it, sometimes the whole tummy.

little_nana,
really? u think so? but pple tell me i shd feel some pain if it's contractions, in this case i don't? n it happens for a short time, say less than 15 secs each time?

twinkle,

is that the isi pump that you are using? My fren lend that to me...She only pump for 2 weeks with miserable results, then give up liao.
If really no good to use, then maybe i want to get the medela one as well. Update me on your progress as well.

Margaret,

thanks for sharing. At least i know he is the gentle kind. Is he old too?

Ivy,
ya it is the avent isis pump lor the one my friend lend one. me now thinking hard to switch since i just hv milk and dun want this factor to make MS worst
like kk and sponge say precious leh.

Gummie,
ya that is BH and no pain right? if contractions u will feel on and off w pain and not only hardening and also cramps.

hi kk, u mean after the gynae appt, u muz get induced within the same week due to high blood pressure?? if induced, we can c bb within the same dae??

margaret,

thanks once again. Feel more assured liao. Got this stupid feeling that my naughty boy may choose to come out when my gynae is out of town.

twinkle,
yes, BM is so precious. Eat expensive fish soup and yet maybe only managed to express out little only. Better save every single drop!

gina,

Oh, i think not necessary to induce in the same week lah.. haha.. just that my gynae is those "chop chop" type. He wants it meaning he is confident of doing it. So he will go ahead with it heee..

And he told me no point dragging on liao, else we never know how high our blood pressure will shoot and no good for bb lor.

If induced, two cases.. either like me, admit to hospital @ 7am and then deliver by evening. Or admit into hospital around midnight (like some mummies did), then bb out by daytime. So ya, u are right.. see bb on the same date

kk,
At least you still managed to pump out. I can't! Not a drop. Even now also can't feel engorgement. BB getting very use to bottle feed already. I think I'll have difficulty latching her on again

gummie,
My pain threshold very low. My hand was shivering when I sign the form for epidural. Haha.. Feel like cutting off lower body during the intense contraction.

gummie,
By the way, my BB was not engaged till labour. The contraction push the baby to engage at point of labour. Can feel baby struggling to push herself out the birth canal also. I think you'll pop near your EDD like me since BB is not engaged.

Little Nana
We same-same hor.. Very envy everytime I heard that POPPING sound ..
Wondering when my is turn. Cannot tahan already.
Last Thurs, already 2cm, gynae said another one/two weeks time as he can already feel the bb's head. See if there's any progress tomorrow, when I next see my gynae..

Gummie
When ur WHOLE tummy tightened, dats BH..

thanks mummies,
so i suppose i must be feeling BH contractions then
no pain one ah.

piglet,
that's why loh... i was disappointed when gynae said i will not pop soon. jus like most here, i'm gettin impatient for obvious reasons (now tummy soooo big, v xin ku)
so fast hor, the other day we were chattin n now u've popped and outta hospital oredi

gummie...

BH hor will oso hve contraction leh..actually is good thing la.. cos our womb is preparing for labour.

Teenoyl

Ya lor... wanna see bb soon. Sitting and waiting for contractions is no fun manz

Yoz Annie...

kekeke... congrats annie!!.. surprised to hear tt you are so fast....Jus MSN with u ytd and u said u gng for gynae visit last evening and beg him to induce and So fast pop liao within hrs... issiz emergency C-section or u've succesfully Begged ur gynae...

Enjoy your parenthood ya...
Wow... your bb weight hit at 3kg... So ZHUN!!!... can buy lottery liao 3000....

teenoyl,
Natural but with Epidural.. haha.. now must sit on float. I've got a tear, don't know kena how many stitches.

gummie,
Yah, was still envying the pop sound from others few days ago. Now envying those who can sit upright. Haha

hey twinkle,

I'm using the Avent ISIS IQ Uno. Have been using more of the manual pump then the electric one. My valve is ok leh..it will accumulate milk but it will still drip into the bottle. Think u may have to change ur valve liao..if not pump so long no milk drip?! AI WAN AR..(read: wasted)

kk,

envy u leh! 110mil.. dunno WHEN then i can reach tat amt.. i also drink papaya fish soup and longan tea everyday..but still so little. Max i hit was 70mil only.. *pulls hair*

Annie,

Congrats on the birth of Keane. Cool name.

my poor Ariel has been crying non-stop this whole afternoon..then vomitted milk out... i see her like that i also heartpain

Congrats to u too piglet! Dun worry, the tear will heal by itself after a week. I had to sit on a float too! Think its very common to buy floats after delivery

Tat's baby Natasia! Sori, have not been online for the past few daes... Natasia's jaundice level shot up, and we had to admit her into the hospital 3 days ago, so was running in and out of hospital.

By the way, kk, you are using the medala pump, the manual one or the electric one? I am using the Mini Electric Pump plus, bought it at Robinson sale, tot i had a good deal, but you were saying TMC selling at $190!!!

hi all mummies already,

Congrats! v happy to hear one by one "popping". dunno how issit like when it's another one of our turns..heee

hazel, anastasia,
dr adrian gave me the letter of admission last week (36wks) maybe becos i asked a lot of qns. u can request on ur coming appointment too.

chris,
ur edd date is a day after mine, so early wanna take leave liao? r u using mc or al or ml? curious cos i oso feel like resting liao.

kk, tks for ur info. hope tat everything wil go smoothly when i see my gynae on mon. btw after u deliver did the blood pressure goes back to normal?? do we oso need medication to bring dwn the blood pressure??

wow seeing so many mummies pop out mi oso beri xcited. duno when's my turn...

btw u all prefer to pump out or latch on?? i heard latch on is difficult n painful, true?? after deliver did u ladies got the malay massage?? market rate roughly hw much?? does it reali helps??

Hi Twinkle,

If you all are buying the medela pump at $150 i dun mind joining in the bulk purchase with ur...

Yesterday went for check up...n my gynae said her head is engaged...but i m oni half cm dilated.very slight oni...but because of the weight of bb...worried might have difficult n long labour so suggest i go for inducing...so i choosing 6th May...hopefully got time to go voting....then go clinic n induce haha...

yvonne,
your baby so so cute...
jaundice v common...any mummy not having the usual jaundice issues??? share share...

indeed, racoon, i am hoping for mc....but i dunno...maybe just wishful thinking on my end...indeed, getting more and more tired....
i am ok lah...not impatient abt baby's arrival...despite 'xin ku'...i think good for baby to be inside still...i totally feel like a time-bomb...dunno when things will go into full swing...haha...

Congrats to Annie!

Yasmin,
my bb is 2.7kg on 37 wks + 6 days. Not increasing a lot too... worst thing is Dr Ong say my water level is a bit high (indication of high glucose) and that has caused bb's head to pop up a bit instead of being engaged

I'm feeling some minor contractions on n off too, but bearable kind. Dun think bb coming out yet leh.

sponge or piglet, can share ur hospital bill?

gals,

OG have baby fair from today. Saw the straits times and find that there are a number of good deals, esp if you have not bought a lot of stuff!

gina,

are u on medication for ur high blood pressure? I went for gynae visit on a sat, then was given medicine to take, once every morning. I took till thursday. Fri went induce. Actually fri morning must take before induce, but i thought no medicine allowed so i never took. Until fri pressure still high. Then the midwife asked me to take. After taking, pressure drops. But during the labour period, pressure went high and somemore i kena fever (suddenly felt warm, like no air con in the delivery ward), and then bleeding.. aiyoh, then end up caesarian

For me, i dun do latch on often.. perhaps only 1-2 times per day, depend on bb's sleeping pattern. So latching on is ok for me
Pumping is more comfortable, but then need to setup the pump and everything else u need, so more troublesome maybe :p

Yvonne,

Mine is medela electric pump. How much u bought at robinson?? Yah, i am sure i bought it at $190 at TMC! Already very expensive!! I remember kiddy palace sell at $178? Somemore got 10% discount for members.

Sponge,

i pumped out another 105 ml in the middle of the nite haha.. Yesterday i let bb latched on in the day, so maybe it acts as a "booster" to more milk supply heee.. just now i let bb latch on again.. see how...

Dun worry, it is normal for bb to vomit milk and cry. My naughty one getting naughtier everyday. Cry until got pple pick her up and rock her.. else must change her to new environment to sleep. And when we ignore her, she SCREAM! Hahaha! I won't say she is crying anymore :p

piglet,

Dun worry.. u will slim down soon. I am left with my xiao du nan heeee.. i already have this xiao du nan before pregnancy :p

Piglet,

It is ok.. if ur bb get used to bottle feeding.. take it this way, might be easier for u to handle her in the future when u go back to work
Then u have to depend on expressing liao

My girl was on bottle feeding last week, because i have yet to recover from my wound so i can't really BF her. This week i BF her around 1-2 times a day and she still enjoys it

Last nite my hubby carried her and she bite my hubby's arm. She thought that was nipple hahahahaaa..

hi Hazel & Raccoon,

Dr. Adrian has given me the admission letter during my 36th week check up too. Hazel, do remember to get it from him at your next visit.

yesterday night, my boy was very active. asked him to decide for himself if he wants to be induced on this saturday. if so, must give clear indication to Dr. Adrian amniotic fluid has dropped further. i think he must be 'thinking hard', that's why not resting and disturbing me.

hi chris,

my anti-itch cream is called betnovate. It's not really expensive. Perhaps $10 or less.

I'm starting my ML from 15 May 06 onwards (if i dun pop by then). Dared not tell gynae that i'm xin ku...scared she ask me to induce.
kao_scared.gif

i'm also feeling very very tired. I'm not used to taking naps but have been taking it very regularly...i tink i really behaved like a zombie when it comes to 3 pm.

Annie: Congrats on the arrival of little keane!

all of u are realli brave to cope with the aftermath of the delivery. How do you deal with the pain at the wound (for those who had the episotomy?) Can't imagine washing there after the delivery.

hi bookworm,
me too! i also hope my daughter comes out during the vesak day weekend! have been coaxing her every nite! dunnoe whether she can hear and kuai kuai listen to mummy anot.