(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Annie,

Ya, i do heard bleeding is normal after VE test. Not to worry

Taurus,

U are admitting into the hospital tonite??

Dun worry ya! U will make it cos i made it too! HAHA! I find that the whole process is not so bad afterall, looking back.

The administering of epidural is a bit painful at first. But if u have a high pain threshold, probably will just be ant bite to u. TMC midwives very good. The midwife held on to my hands all the time whenever need needle poke and they will chit chat with me, make me forget the pain at that instant

Come to think of it.. i didn't have pill for induction. Only on drip.

Hi twinkle,

I believe all bb have good complexion
Ya, when i touch my bb's skin, how i wish i have her skin hahaha..

Hi Ivy,

Remember to pack more disposable breast pads!!! My colostrum flow like mad on my third day there. But of course, if u staying in hospital shorter than 2 days, then maybe no need.

Bring pyjamas.. button front dress type is the best.. i change into my own pyjamas on the 2nd day after delivery.

A BIG Congrats to sponge and kk!

Wow, such interesting birth stories. Feeling very excited leh.

Went for my checkup yesterday. Baby has engaged and am waiting for actual contractions to start cos I already feel irregular contractions. Think my baby very impatient.

My baby is very avg weight, at 36wk only 2.5kg. Think ok lah.

Mt swap test results came back normal and now my appt are weekly. Next tuesday going again. Will be 37 + wk.

Yesterday night very bad back aches and thigh cramps accompanied by mild menstral like cramps in the abdomen.

Wishing all MTBs a smooth and short delivery!

qoosan,

if really going for c-section, not too sure when he will schedule it but i was hoping asap as long as bb is consider full term.

taurus,

JIAYOU!! tomorrow at this time, u will be holding ur bb loh.. must come back and tell us whether the administering of epi is painful or not hor.

pooh,

nursing item as in breast feeding stuff? me intending to get bb monitor and the breast cooling/warming pad for engorgement.

Taurus,
Wish you'll have a smooth delivery.
Didn't know we can choos the admission time. Why did you choose mid-night?

Annie,
I feel heart pain hearing your plight. Ayoh, and you still pity your hubby for having to flip you? Its a small matter compared to what you have to go thru.
My gyane asked me whether i want to have earlier delivery. He say, after 37 weeks, its ok to induce already. Dunnno la, Diff gynae have diff style.
Is your cervix open during the VE check?

Milo,
IMHO, it's not silly to get 2 1 inch mattresses lo. Btw, i also got the baby safe new born pillow, the one with indentation so that baby head won't be so flat. Hubby's family side have slightly 'flat' head. Hopes the pillow will help make her head rounder lo. Ha ha ...

annie,

mayb u can try speaking to ur gynae.. for me i think that it is good if ur gynae can advise u and give u his opinion but as long as ur decision doesnt harm the bb, i dun see why not he cannot respect ur choice. afterall the one going through all the pain and sufferings is not him, its easier said than done mah.

sook,

okie.. i go robinsons and rackey later.. if the 25% discount applies to the mattress then can buy liao..

anyone got baby monitor? i intend to put bb in his own room, scare later cannot hear his cry.

hi milo

since u are goin down to the robinson, can check for me whether mandela electric plus got 20% discount? thks

hey milo

can share wif me if u are buying a bb monitor coz am thinking of that also...if nt, will need to walk up and down at home like mad..thks

kk,
Oh! thanks. great! at least i can rest assured the clinic gal didnt lie to me. haha

teenoyl,
Yap. e whole fist... dont worry, your gynea wont be like mine.

sook,
Hmm.. yr gynea suggest? Maybe, you can discuss with yr family members and yr hubby. But, if you dont have so much pain like me, you can opt to wait for the actual day to come. Induce might not be able to open cervix till 8cm for natural delivery which might end up c-section. c-section take longer time to heal e wound.

Milo66,
i checked with my colleague. she told me that this gynea is very on on natural delivery and wait for the actual big day. Crazy rite! c-section can earn more income yet he didnt want. sigh! my gf's sis oso had to bear 19 hrs of contraction n water bag to burst just becos this gynea insisted that don't need to induce according to his experience. Yesterday, i Begged him so many times, he oso don't want to do for me. sigh

pooh,

sure.. u wanna pm me ur no?

most prob will be buying one. heard the tomy range not bad so will be going down to see. if price reasonable will get lor.

Annie
Eeeiii, hope I dun hv to go thru VE!!

Ur gynae's style sama-sama like mine.. He told me I can be on standby between May Day & Labour Day based on my 1st 38wks gestation. So I told him I chose 4.5.06 to induce (which falls on the period he predict). Wah!! He die-die also dowan.. He wanted me to wait for natural contraction to start.

hi taurus,

if u want to admit, betta do it after 12 midnight. if you admit before that, some hospitals may count as 1 day stay and charge u accordingly. betta check with the hospital...scully got to pay 1 day charge just becoz u checked it before 12 midnite.

anyone going for cordblood banking? With Cordlife? Perhaps can negotiate for betta deal. hehehehe.

Cordlife is at $1,400 inclusive of the storage fees, professional fees, etc for the first year. Subsequent year gotta pay $250. Those with TMC's FBI card can save $50 off storage fees for the subsequent 9 years

Stemcord (for TMC babies) is not cheap...it costs about $1,207 for the enrolment fee. Storage is abt $262 (just enquired with them this morning).

Anyone interested?

Hi milo,
I was thinking if u really hope to try natural delivery then schedule c-sect nearer to EDD, can wait abit n c if baby will turn head down or not. Otherwise if u already make up your mind to go for c-sect, then should be able to schedule anytime from 37wks onwards i think.

Hi Taurus,

Remember.. no matter wat.. try not to sleep. I find that whenever i tried to doze off, the bb's heartbeat will become more relaxed and dropped a bit. The midwives became paranoid and thought it was abnormal and thus gave me oxygen tank. They were worried the bb would be in distress.

Pooh,

My hubby just bought a bb monitor from kiddy palace. I realised cannot do without it. I thought could buy that later but then. haha.. my mil busy in the kitchen, me in another room... and i dun wanna run around to see the bb especially when my wound is in healing stage.

Taurus,

The epidural administration can be a bit painful. Depends on your pain threadhold. And JIA YOU!!! Can't wait to hear your birth story.

kk,

Is the baby monitor that useful? In wat ways? Maybe I should also get one myself.

Thanks for all your well wishes ... yah ... after enduring for 39 weeks..the time has finally come ... I guess just have to bear with the epidural pain lor... i think couldnt be more painful than childbirth right ...kekek

Hi sook/ino,

Actually the admission time is given by my gyane, she ask me to reach hospital ard 11.30-45 pm ...so after all the paper work...usually pass midnight and I will save on 1 day charge ...the hospital will consider checking in on 26 April ... and they will insert the pill to induce me and hopefully crevix open up by morning and gyane will check me at 8am and if open liao ...can burst water bag ....and if everything goes smoothly...i should be able to cuddle my little prince by mid afternoon and prepare for visitors to visit us by evening time ..... fully utilise the whole day...kekekke

kk & sponge,

congrats on 'popping'!

although i have stopped getting contractions, but somehow i still feel that i will give birth before edd. my mother even told me no need to celebrate mother's day on 14 may as she is quite sure baby is out before then.

tonight going for check up but hope i dun have to go through VE...sounds gross.

hi taurus,

not sure if i missed out any posts, did you ask for induced labour? or is there any reason why you are not waiting until edd?

all the best and do share your birth story when you are home.

kk
Is your bb monitor one way or 2 way??

Taurus
Good luck and may you have a safe delivery. Dont worry too much I took epidural for my no 1 it was okay! Just relax!

gabby's mum,

errrrr, hubby bought just now.. i dunno anything abt the monitor heee.. will try it out and let u all know.

Anastasia,

Looks like most went through VE test hee.. its ok actually.. dun worry. But i remembered my vagina area felt pretty sore after that, can't even sit properly. Take around 15 min or so to recover.

i will be at home celebrating my birthday this sunday Yippie!!

Taurus,

Wow, can entertain visitors in the evening? I think the recovery for natural delivery is very fast. After my caesarian, i was really in a blur state. Takes a longer time to get back to reality haha..

Hazel,

I am totally using steam steriliser now and it is great!

Just come back from regular checkup.37weeks and my bb is 3.3kg???Oh no....who else is having such a big bb?I dun wan to pop so soon...My next appt is 3rd May,,....Heard induced labour is very painful... Very worried abt the weight of bb...she is getting simply too big,,,

kk,

u got use the bottle cleaning detergent to wash bb bottles? is it a must to use huh?

i saw that alot of mummies are using the diaper to wrap bb or let bb sleep, good to use cos was thinking of buying a pack.

ydnic,

U have a huge bb!! Mine was 2.9 kg at week 37. urs a boy or girl?

Arr.. u can bear through induced labour.. dun worry
Three things i beared through - burst water bag, drip, and epidural

Milo,

No leh.. only wash bottles and then put into steam sterliser to steam. Steam twice a day. Once in morning, once in evening.

Oh, u mean cloth diaper to wrap bb to sleep? Yah, that's what mil is doing now

oops..mine is a girl...somemore my weight dropped....but her weight keep going up fast...Gynae said might be due to her long legs...she might be very tall in future....so thats explains the heavy weight...but i still worried...all ur bbs all so small...as compared to mine...tot i can endure till after the 12th May,,,looks like its simply impossible...

kk,

okie thks! cos i saw pigeon selling detergent specially to wash pump and bottle and was thinking got the need or not lor.

yup, the cloth diaper.. tonight go robinson and grab.

milo,

My colleague told me it is very necessary for her.. so it is up to individual
I do have one free bottle that comes with the steriliser.

currently only using diaper for bb to sleep. Still using pampers provided by TMC.

ydnic,

did the gynae measure her length of thigh? Mine was around 7 cm. Already predicted to be a tall bb haha.. and true enough, she is 50 cm when borned. Some bb are around 30 cm only.

If bb is assumed to be too big, normally gynae will ask for early delivery by induce labour.

ummm...is FL(Hadlock):7.41cm...is it the length of tighs?
Not sure wat is AC(Hadlock):33.4cm already haha....mine shd be a greedy girl...thats y so big....

Hihi Sponge!! Your Ariel looks soooOOOoooOOOoooo cute and cuddly!!
And yes, EPIDURAL! PAIN HUH? Yeeeee
Is it worst than contraction pains?

kk,
Your baby no name yet?

Btw big baby doesn't mean tall leh? Or judge based on his/her FL? I was a big baby before, but I'm quite petite now

Taurus! JIA YOU!
Hope to hear your good news tomorrow~

kk,
good to know yr baby is feeding so well... you sound like a really happy mother!

btw, is the hot weather bothering you? i'm feeling very hot these days, not sure if the body will 'cool down' immediately after giving birth?

actuali the price difference for stemcord and cordlife (cordlife is slightly more expensive) is nt much diff. i sign up for cordlife coz its accredited by AABB-high standard in cord blood banking.

if any1 is keen in cordlife, i can recommend the lady who i sign up three yrs ago. she is veri detailed in explainations.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+2">UpdAtE!!</font></font>

**added simplyme and gina! welcome!**

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="119911">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>26-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>26-Apr-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr VP Yong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Benson) </TD></TR><TR><TD>matsu</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>sook</TD><TD>5-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne Du</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Selina Chua</TD><TD>Girl (Natasia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear </TD><TD>Girl (Sherry) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei Feng</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y.C Goh </TD><TD>Boy (Joshua) </TD></TR><TR><TD>simplyme</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl (Natalie) </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>CP/pierogies</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raccoon</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feng</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl (Si'en) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelsy</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mae Lim</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina_seow</TD><TD>28-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fairarina</TD><TD>31-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Wong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+2">ArRivEd!!!
</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="119911">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">DOB</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Baby's Gender</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Baby's Name</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Baby's Weight</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Hospital</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandyray</TD><TD>7-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>2.88kg</TD><TD>KKH / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Elgin</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>22-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Ariel</TD><TD>2.63kg</TD><TD>Mount A / Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

ydnic,
My baby is at 3.3KG at 39 weeks. Gynae suggested induce if not out by EDD. I think your gynae might suggest the same thing by judging your height and size. Same same, my weight dropped at last check up but baby is putting on weight.

gummie,
I doubt our body will "cool down" immediately after birth due to the heaty confinement food

fates,

Since sponge took epidural, i think she would feel that epidural more painful than contraction pains as after taking epidural, basically u dun feel anything liao cos numbness at lower half of body.

Hmm, i dun think tall bb = big baby. heee.. ya, tall bb doesn't mean grow up tall. My hubby's friends have kids whose length over 50 cm, but dun seem very tall at age of 6 heee..

Gummie,

Sigh, i got to find things to be happy about everyday. Confinement can be miserable leh.. kept at home, feeling bored, cannot bath, feel so hot, cannot on air con, recovering stage, etc etc..

I am feeling hot because cannot bath and keep sweating and sweating haha.. luckily these few days rain leh, else worse.

Piglet, Yeah maybe next visit i got to induce already...bb seems to be eating well inside..getting bigger and bigger...Not sure if wanted to induce or wait till i got the contractions..etc...Now still no signs of anything...even gynae never suggest anything...somemore she ask me to wait till the next visit which is 3rd May...

ydnic,
Check with your gynae whether your height and size can deliver the birth naturally. But try not to induce lah unless really really no choice. Contractions will have higher chance of delivery naturally, cervix might not fully dilate during induction from alot of cases.

Hi KK

Congrats on ur smooth delivery. U delivered in TMC, rite? Can i check wif u on the hosp bills? How much is it? How many bedded u took and how much is ur gynae fees for the delivery. Sorrie for asking so many qns...

kk,
i really admire you... can do without air-con? wat abt fan? are u not using herbs to bathe? i guess yr precious gal must yr your source of strength, joy n happiness now... you're doing great, keep it up! very soon a month will be over ok?

i really cannot imagine myself going through confinement... with all those restrictions and the terrible weather, little wonder y pple get post-natal blues... that's why we need to find encouragement from others going through the same

kk,

i think you are really good! I do not think i am able to keep up with all the traditions. One thing for sure, i will be with the aircon on, 24/7....haha...