(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Piglet
My first, I kept asking ard how to know if its THE ONE. My MIL told me then real labour contraction is when u feel intense pain on your lower back. Just above ur buttock area.. So when I experience that kind of pain, I know its time...

teenoyl,
Oh, no wonder those false alarms are without the intense pain on the lower back and it'll eventually stopped.

Milo
When we shifted last year, we already had a room ready for both my boys. So I guess playpen is my choice. But need to buy additional mattress or not? Seems like the mattress very thin leh.. And stupid question: bumper cot no need also right?

teenoyl,

i bought one 3-inch mattress for the playpen. think the piece of thing very hard, not comfy for sleeping. no need bumper cot also..

wah listing down the pros and cons makes me consider if i shld get a cot as well *thinking*

Piglet
Hope my description abt contraction pain, more or less helps u and other new mummies to differentiate true and false labour! But me myself also scared of going through it later!! Wish everyone of us have a VERY VERY EASY LABOUR!

Milo
Actually I tot of doing away wif my bed.. Mayb during confinement, I will sleep with bb and hubby share another bed with elder one. Once confinement over, dismantle the bed and lay all the mattress on the floor then all can sleep together..

Hi Ladies!

Me back at home today already!! heeee... my bb girl.. borned on 21 april 6.17 pm... 3.19 kg.. 50 cm long...

my girl still sleeping since we brought her home at noon. Just settled my engorgement problem too! Yooo. luckily i bought medela pump from TMC.. else i am engorged until very chiam liao. Just now managed to pump out 30 ml of milk. But forgot to pump before i eat lunch.. then got to throw away the milk cos i scared the rice wine used in cooking will have alcoholic effect on the bb if she drink the milk.

Ok.. this is my story...

Fri -
645 am Reach TMC
Followed by...
Led to delivery ward straightaway and get changed.

Next strapped to CTG and then being inserted with a fluid via anus. This is to clear bowels. Hmmm, no discomfort, just that it gives u the diarrhoea feeling, want to run to toilet straight away. Cleared bowels.

Next, returned to CTG. Gynae came burst waterbag *ouch but short process and bearable actually*

Next, waiting for epidural. Anaesthetist came and put me on drip *ouch but bearable cos short process but slight needle pain will linger on as long as on drip*

Next, anaesthetist administered epidural. *ouch but not so bad afterall*

Next, waiting and waiting... till afternoon... bleeding... midwives panic.. keep calling the gynae.. blood pressure high side.. fever too... given oxygen mask to improve oxygen intake to bb. But bb is still healthy.

Evening.. gynae came.. scolded the midwives for panicking and calling him 5 times when he was already driving recklessly hahaha.. he said midwives dunno how to read CTG graphs properly haha...

Next, being pushed into operation theatre for caesarian *YES!! C Sec!!* because dilation only 5cm (need 8 cm) and bleeding.. so both parties agree on casesarian. Hubby panicked haha..

617pm bb cried for the first time!!

Next, woke up from GA effect. Blur whole nite, saw bb for first time for very short while. Slept till 2 am. Watched tv cos cannot sleep. Still on drip and also the catherer still inserted with urine bag hanging by the side.

Bored.. bedridden for 2 days till sat nite. Everything removed.. get down from bed to walk.. cannot walk properly due to cramps (contration of uterus) and wound pain.

Sun.. can walk slightly better but still got pain. Can't walk straight.

Mon.. today.. no more cramps.. but wound pain sometimes.. can walk, but not for long.. cannot bend.. or scared to move too much...

If u ask me, i would say recovery process is worse than the delivery process itself. Pains in delivery of bb are bearable and short and after epidural, no feeling at all. i dun have any side effects of epidural, maybe just backache these 2 days. No shivering, nothing.

Anything else u wanna know? i am still tired.. haha.. come back never rest much.. pumping milk already make me so tired.

Hi KK

Good to hear from you. Glad to know that u and bb are back home now.

Just wana know, why bleeding? The C-Sec because of not dilating or more cos of bleeding?

teenoyl,

i dunno why bleeding.. i think gynae got explain when he came over on sat but i blur blur forgot liao haha..

c sec because of both reasons. Afraid bleeding leads to complication. ANd gynae say 10 hours still no sign of natural labour may lead to complications like we dun really know where is the bb facing then, etc.. so we rather not take the risk. And true enough, bb was resting at the side, which is not ideal for natural delivery.

kk,
Congratulations on your delivery of your baby girl. Luckily never waste money buying dresses. BB resting at the side? Don't scare me, my BB is curled up like a prawn on my left. Gynae never mentioned that is not ideal for natural delivery. I think I must check with him this coming checkup

welcome back kk!!!

congrats! wah u must be very happy to see ur girl.. sound like c-section very scary hor.. me now pa pa liao. rest well and dun be so tired out k.

btw u brought ur breast pump to hosp? some of my friends commented that after c-section, quite painful to latch bb on so they express out the milk.

Is it high chance will end up c-sect if go for induction? My friend also went for induction, end up c-sect because blood pressure keep rising.

piglet,

haha, first thing i asked my hubby when i wake up from operation was "girl girl hor?" hahaha.. even the nurse laughed.

i think the bb always on my right side. Even after induced birth, i can feel contractions on one side of tummy only. I dunno whether this is a good gauge. But throughout the process, i just dun feel that the contractions are the right ones for natural labour. the contractions never go down right to the bottom of tummy. They are still frequently felt above belly button.

Milo,

Oh, i bought from TMC pharmacy. $179 i think. i decided to buy after attending the workshop yesterday. Afraid of engorgement so decided to buy haha.. and true enough.. i am engorged so often today, and bb still sleeping.. definitely need to pump out, if not my breasts explode liao haha..

Past two days i tried BF for bb already. Two methods who are called cradle and football. For c sec cases, we use football better because it won't put strain on our wound. I tried cradle today, wah peng, cannot tahan.. seems like sitting on my wound. No good.

BB latching on is no joke.. got to have persistence.. this morning i spent 1 hour plus just to BF her. Babies suck a little, sleep, suck a little, sleep.. got to give in to them. And the whole breasts so sore after BF. Plus my wound pain, so really feel like giving up. So tiring. I think i will pump out my milk and store instead. Won't try latching on.

piglet,

dun worry.. some induced can natural delivery leh. Just that the process is long. So far both my colleagues tried natural (one induced one not) but end up c sec. And both is around 10 or 12 hours then end up c sec.

So my opinion is, if gynae can foresee that u need c sec, just go ahead. No point trying for natural liao. Cos it hurts more, in terms of waiting and waiting and put bb in distress. More worries.

kk,
Yah, must asked my gynae for opinion, don't wish to suffer double pain. Why your gynae advise you to go for induction? Is it baby to big?

Congrats kk!!

So you went for GA c-sect which hubby is not allowed in the OT? When you say bleeding, bleeding of the where huh?? Is the baby engaged when you were induced? or just head down?

Sorry so many questions..

Oh and yes...what's your girl girl's name?

kk,

ok think i better bring along my breast pump if really c-section. i have got low tolerant of pain so better dun risk it later my breast explode ah :p u got good supply of bm.. hope i have enough to fit bb also

Congrats kk
Welcome. Now must relax so that you can enjoy bf... I was a bit stressed at first with my no 1 but in the end I bf him for 6 months!!! So happy for you.

Last night dreamt that my girl became a boy!!! What a nightmare! I hope that it is not true! I want my little princess! Told my hubby and he said, .... hmmmm... now have to think of a boy's name just in case! I wanted to arbish him!!!

bookworm,

i think hosp have also but if u dun mind the hassle then bring along our own lor.

dun think is a must but since i more or less confirm going for c-section, better bring jus in case the wound hurts too much that i cant carry my bb to latch on.

piglet,

My blood pressure has never been low.. has always been 140++/80++ so he say might as well induce since bb is considered full term liao.

bookworm,

no need to bring breast pump. If have milk, let bb latch on. If only colostrum, why pump rite? hahaha..

Fates,

bleeding.. i just simply bleed on every contraction.. dunno why also.. and whenever they do cervix check, will bleed too cos they put their fingers in.

Yup, I chose GA so hubby is kept outside of theatre.. he say he very gan jiong haha.. if epidural, then he can stay in the theatre. But then, gynae say GA safer. In case any complications, it can be handled immediately.

milo,

actually i can still latch on my bb despite c sec. Use football method, rather than cradle. Cradle method puts strain on ur wound, which i tried today but dun like it.

kk,

the diff methods are taught by the nurses? if this wed, i confirm going for c-section, will need to seek advise from u liao. now i so kan cheong and scare ah

kk,

ur girl is so cute!!! feel like pinching her cheek.. she looks so big on the plastic tray but when ur hubby carried her, look so small..keke

hi kk,
u're back! sounds very drama...were u scared thru' out the entire process? i tink i will freak out. Tink opting for GA is good...but your bleeding sounds really scary.

errr...i still haven bought my milk pump!!!! it seems necessary to start scouting ard for one liao.

kk,
Oh, mine is still under the normal pressure. But just worried because I might choose to induce because baby too big. Your bb chubby chubby, so cute got chubby cheeks

kk,

your pump is manual or electric? I am also thinking to buy from TMC, but i tot parentcraft room sells? How come you buy from pham?

kk,
Guess you bought the Medela mini electric right? Your girl soooo cute and chubby! Love her pink lips!

Me also havent buy the milk pump...hehe...which brand is good...?My gynae not recommending pigeon...which i think is more economical...:<
But dun reali wish to spend too much on pumps...

awww...aren't babies the sweetest angels on earth? makes me wanna to see mine too!

hi ivy,
tinks parentcraft may sell more expensive than the pharm. i recalled during mrs wong's lesson that she was promoting avent pumps ($700++). if u buy from her, her gals will teach you how to use the pumps. shld u decided to sell within 6 mths, she will buy back at $350 and sell for u. she won't buy back from u if u bought from the pharm. (the last check was the TMC pharm was selling the pumps at $600++)

I'm back! Milo, Anna and fates, thanks for the updates.

Here's the birth story of our little gal.

22nd Apr 2006-
~0400 hrs: felt regular contractions @ 5 mins apart. Decided to wait till the morning since we have an appointment with our

gynae @ 10.30am.

0930 hrs: reach gynae's clinic. Straped onto the CTG machine. Contractions were still at 5 mins apart. Did a VE, 1-2cm

dilated. Gynae told us to go to the hospital immediately.

~1100 hrs: reach Mt A and went directly to the delivery ward, got changed and bowel cleared. Straped onto the CTG machine

for monitoring while hubby went to do the admission paperwork.

~1530 hrs: Gynae finally arrived after a long wait. Performed another VE check and it's 3cm dilated! Broke waterbag and

suggest it's a good timing for epidural..

~1625 hrs: anesthetist came and administered epidural. "Ouch"!

~1640 hrs: midwife did another VE. 6cm dilated!

1725 hrs: 8cm dilated!

1740 hrs: Fully dilated! Midwife asked me to start pushing. *Hubby helped in the pushing too hehe*

1840 hrs: Gynae finally reached the labour ward. Push, push, push..can see "crowning" already!

1845 hrs: Arrival of our little princess @ 2630g. Hubby says she started crying once she's out. Her eyes were wide-opened

too (guess she want to see more of this world).

BTW, juz wanna point out <font color="ff0000">after-effects</font> of epidural.. you'll vomit &amp; shiver. Doc says its normal.. but its not a nice

feeling..

K la, photos of Ariel will be updated shortly. CL asking me to go drink my papaya fish soup liao...yum!

milo,

aiyoh for c sec, u dun feel anything under GA hahahaa.. just go to sleep and 15 min (the most) u see ur bb!! i think i am more "cooled" compared to hubby when pushed into OT :p

Me bought the electric one. Didn't get the $700++ one.. so expensive! My hubby say should have bought 2 electric small pumps when he saw both my breasts leaking milk at the same time when one side being pumped.. hahaa.. he say so much cheaper, why buy a dual pump.

TMC parentcraft and pharmacy different?? I dunno leh haha.. anyway dun have energy to walk around when i stayed there. My hubby just ask the nurse about the pump and the nurse brought the pump to us

Sponge,

Envy!! U delivered ur bb naturally!!

My experience same as urs, except very dramatic, end up c sec

By the way, i dun experience any after effects of epidural. I heard it is up to individual.

i wonder what's my mil cooking tonite.. hungry

Hey..was too careless...knocked myself against some reelings,.,.ouch...was so painful...will affect my bb? Knocked at my lower adominal....oh no...worried...but going to c gynae tml morning....please advice....panick already...i am as clumsy as a humty dumty...

hi kk,
so nice to see you back... wow... yr baby gal is very 'pink' and rosy, so cute!
btw, why do u still need epidural when u have opted for GA?
seems like it's sometimes not within our control when it comes to choosin between natural n c-sec huh?

ydnic,
i guess as long as you're not (still) in pain as a result of the 'accident' things should be fine? anyway u're seeing yr gynae tomoro, shd be ok, dun worry...

thanks gummie. But just like those blue black pain lor...n can see my tummy(knocked area) abit red...n when touched feels like blue black...

oh then i suppose yr skin has already 'absorbed' the impact n shielded it from your baby, kekeke... that's why it's bruised.
and suppose u still feel baby actively moving about and kicking... shd be a good sign everything's ok

welcome back sponge!

ur delivery sounded so easy.. now u make me cant wait to pop also.. rest well and hope to see ariel pic soon.

yoz sponge

welcome back leh... U labour is reali short and sweet... envy envy.. hoping tt mine will be like urs

KK

Ur bb looks alert ya.. it seems tt she so excited to see the world!Wanna give her a pinch on her cheeks :p

hello all.. i'm new to this thread..! been hooked at the marketplace.. heheh..

congrats Sponge on your arrival of bundle of joy!

am due on 10th May 06 too..! giving birth at Mount A..

been feeling alot of Braxton Hicks this days.. hopefully baby is gettin himself ready to 'pop'!

Congrats KK and Sponge. So envious, can carry and see your little angels already.
. Now have to jia yiou on the next stage: being a cow. hee.. hee

Ino, i thought mdm wong was pro Medela pump.

Teenoyl, normally playpen is more mobile, like a travel cot. Made of metal frame and plastic/netting sides (no need bumper cos sides are soft already). Can dismantle easily. Thus it is more light weight, but less stable. Cot is normally made of wood frame and sides loh.

I purposely got a cot for home (night use) and play pen (day use at MIL) to let baby differentiate day nap and night sleep. Try not to mix play and sleep area. Baby might get confused and won't sleep deeply at night.

Milo, You couldn't get a 3inch baby safe mattress? IMOH ,1 inch i a bit too thin / hard. Dunno leh, i am still a bit xing-yang-yang, to place the foam mattress below the 3 inch baby safe one.