(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

oh yes... just to check if anyone else is like me. i tend to feel very warm these days, perspire like nobody's business, esp when i'm out there in the open, eating at hawker centres or even at home without air-con. i also have sweaty palms these days... sometimes i feel so hot and uncomfortable that i can't eat.

i understand pregnant women tend to feel 'hot', but am i one of the more extreme cases?

haha see my colleague preg like so easy.. who knows got so many hidden stuff and test to do.. no wonder they say woman who gone through child birth will not be scare of anything loh.. anyway, too late to u-turn le, another few more weeks to go.. JIA YOU!

this few weekends, i very hardworking, keep cleaning up bb room and thinking wat else lacking.. guess its nesting instinct..so comical to see a untidy me suddenly becoming so organise.. MOTHERHOOD...

gummie,

i feel this way also leh. esp eating in hawker centre. must tie up my hair or i look like "siao cha bo" on the loose. last night aircon was at 24oC with fan blowing direct at me full blast, i am still sweating like anything. went to turn down to 19oC, this morn wake up to find a heavily wrapped up headless hubby beside me

piglet,
Yaloh....better to endure the pain than to go under the knife. The recovery will take longer too..
My gynae knows I'm a scarety cat too! She asked me to tell her by next visit, whether I want epidural or not

milo,
Talk to kaeden every night now! Quickly ask him to cooperate and turn down

Sigh....but on 2nd thoughts....better don't stress the baby lah....poor baby is going through stress too.....not easy for him to squeeze pass the birth canal eh!

gummie,
you are not alone! I perspire alot too! I prefer to stay in air-conditioned places and of course to sleep with air-con on. My poor hubby caught a cold already tho'

Milo,

gummie,
you are not alone gal, i have to on my fan n aircon when i sleep. My crazy hubby alway cover blanket for me thinking that i might caught cold. In e way, i sweat like hell and will kick away the blanket..
I also eat lots of cold dessert when i am outing, ice cream and cold canberry juice or Ribena to ease the heat.

fates,
i lagi more scaredy-cat than you, ahahaha... i oredi told my gynae a long time back that i want epidural, or rather happydural... i jus cannot afford to take the risk man.

milo,
yr hubby very understanding n tolerant hor... my husband cannot understand why i keep complainin hot hot hot when he doesn't feel anything. when he's around, i cannot on the air-con in my living room cos he will sneeze and complain abt the air being dry, his throat dry etc. etc. until i feel so guilty no choice but to turn it off

but strange leh, my sil also pregnant, 2 mths after me... but she nvr complain abt being hot n uncomfy??? but i really perspire a lot...

fates,
My gynae also asked me to take epidural. He said like that I can sleep and won't disturb my husband during labour. But epidural also needle leh... I also scare of attaching that tube into my spine
. Oh NO, What I want!!!!

milo
I think Kaeden head is down already, except he's not engaged right? Kaeden might understand that you want to spank him leh! My girl will move vigrously to one side when her daddy tell her that he wants to spank her "pi pi"

fates,

aiyo.. think kaeden another stubborn one.. been talking to him since week 30 but still like that. my mum suan me say wat to do, mummy also like breech position so my boy sama sama as me

gummie,

keke.. hubby not tolerant.. jus that he is asleep and too lazy to adjust the aircon since i left the remote in the toilet.. normally he will eye big big at me if i turn the air con in his car at full blast, followed by sneezing lor. dunno real or not.. big hot sun leh

Last time I always wonder why my husband don't feel cold with fan and aircon on. Now, I'm the same as him. So we're both enjoying the aircon and fan together without blanket.. hahahaha

piglet..

no leh.. gynae say kaeden is leg down
and unlikely to turn lor.. think i will spank him when he is out.. make mummy spend so much on him.. so i decided to confiscate his bb bonus.. hiak hiak

piglet,

u r in the same situation as me , only that i hv medical problems.

Big bb will tend to ask for induction if u want ND ,otherwise longer labour and more stressful.
Which wks are u in now? I m in 38 and going 39 wks soon and bb is 3.4kg as of 38wk.

milo,
His innocent look will makes you adore him more only. haha.. My mum told me she took 4 hours to give birth to me (I'm her first baby). Why my girl cannot be like me guai guai engaged.

piglet,

most prob hor. seriously i cant wait to see how he look like. been dreaming of him quite often.

my mum was in 18hrs labour then doc realised i was in breech position, push her for emergency c-section. before she is completely knock out, doc cut her so she will always remember me :p wat to do, i like that liao cant expect my boy to guao guai

twinkle-starry,
I'll be in 39 weeks tomorrow, baby is 3.3KG at 38 weeks. I don't have medical problem so far. Wow, your baby is bigger than mine leh.

I really envy those MTB who's baby is 2.6 or 2.7, at least still can wait abit longer.

milo,
Your mother keeps reminding you abt her old days when she suffered to give birth to you ah? So did your gynae asked you to opt for c-sect since you said he's unlikely to turn down?

Milo
Headless hubby??!!!

This next last few weeks we have to wake up with all the surprises!!

Told gynae I like the date 04.05.06.. He said
nono.gif
to induce (37 weeks). So now talking to baby all the time to cooperate and come out on that day so that he has a very nice birthdate everyone can easily remember!

Eve
Mayb I shld ask my gynae too if poke-poke necessary cos I hv normal discharge and nothing serious. Dun think I hv to go through VE cos he said my bb will out in 38 or less week (based on first boy 38 weeks gestation).

Gummie
I lunch in.. Thick skin a bit and ask colleague to help tapau for me.

Fates
Hmm.. My gynae is not pro-epi-epi (epidural & episiotomy - he's al natural) ok lah suits me too.
Since my first son labour was 3 hrs only, he said no point going for epi cos definitely 2nd one faster than lightning. So if I really buay tahan, den I go for penidine. Temporary relief for 4-5 hours..

piglet,

nowaday she seldom mention only reminded me again when i told her my boy in breech position.

gynae been telling me my boy is in breech position since week 30 but he kept on saying we shall see how. last week, he finally say unlikely will turn, guess he will talk to me abt c-section this week. wonder how long gotta to wait if confirm.

no worries, big bb has its advantage also.. easier to take care though the labour might be xinku. u confirm inducing?

milo,
My girl had turned head down since week 27 but she has a liking for this position till now she still refushes to engage. I told my hubby that if by the next checkup, gynae still said alot of fluid, unlikely to deliver so early, I'll go for induction, thinking of May Day. hahaha..

piglet,

we are in the same wk leh. hahaha

ya lor big bb got more to consider. i also dun know why he grow so big when i never eat much . Gynae say it could be genes.

Piglet
Sama-sama.. My bb already on standby position since 28 weeks..

Last wk check-up, gynae said he's NOW slightly bigger than his brother. His brother was 3.42 when born but he won't say roughly wats the weight for this one so as not to scare me..

Can't stand the suspence, mayb will force him to tell me the weight when I next see him this thurs.
kao_dizzy.gif

twinkle-starry,
Yes, in the same week. For me, I think whatever I ate all goes to her. I didn't put on any weight except for the 1st trimester when I need to eat breakfast or else I'll suffer MS. In fact, my last checkup, my weight dropped 1.5KG but baby still continues to put on weight.

teenoyl,
WHAT? Bigger than twinke-starry and my baby. You went thru natural delivery for your first baby? How long your labour took?

Ino, Fates,
How many 150ml, 300ml bottles did you get? I got 3 of each. Enough? All Latex teats.

Do we need to get glass bottles? Cannot use plastic to store EBM meh? I also have 6 medela plastic store bottles.

Milo,
I bought baby safe latex mattress for night cot (at home) and day play pen (at my MIL's place). Supposed to help reduse SIDS and more cooling. The thickest is only 3 inches.

piglet,
Your gynae said you have too much amnio fluid and baby not engaged? If so, be more careful, when your water bag leak. Dun go shop-shop around. There is a risk of cord prolapse. The cord may get flushed down the vagina before the baby.
Sorry, dun mean to uneccessarily scare you.
My gynae also very pro happy-dural. Told me to get the jab once i get admitted. DUn try to be a hero, try to tahan for a few hours first.

Piglet
WHAT? U mean my bb is the biggest so far? OMG!!!

My first bb, natural + vacuum at 38 weeks. The time 3-10cm dilate took only 3 hours! So this time round, gynae very confident, will be lightning speed!

sook,
This sure looks disgusting! No no, it's a very good advise, else I won't know that and will happily go shopping. My guess is I'll most probably have long labour because baby is big and not engaged, so I'll opt for happy-dural. Don't want to take the risk to be hero and suffer.

teenoyl,
Unfortunately, I guess so far, YES! Followed by twinkle-starry, then mine. Wow, your baby is that big and your labour is that short. *Envy*

gummie,
Hmmmm maybe I will tell my gynae to ask the anaethetist to be on standby.....because till now I don't know how contraction pain feel like..simply no idea oh!

teenoyl,
My gynae knows me too well lah

Wow! Your 1st son labour only 3 hours! That's superfast man! What's your secret? Exercise?

Hey sook,
In total I have 6 NUK bottles too! Mixture of 150ml and 300ml, both in normal and premium types. Latex teats too! But i have two spare sillicon teats, just in case

As for glass bottles, maybe you can try to ask your hospital's nursery to give you afew? Me too, have four Medela plastic store bottles. Enough? Not enough then ask my hubby go and buy somemore

fates,
that's right, i also have no idea how contractions feel like, that's why i have no sense how painful it will get... so decided better to opt for happydural first to play safe... anyway we can always decide later if we dun need it ya.

What is the recommended hair length to feel comfortable during confinement. I've a few friends said longer than shoulder length where you can tie up or bun up. I haven't cut my hair, now waist length
. So going for hair cut in a while

Piglet
Short labour but LOOONG pushing... Took me 2hrs just to push the baby out and beg gynae to cut me up. Cannot tahan but finally gynae said "Forcep"..

One thought eh....
If the baby engaged already, or he/she is in a heads-down position, won't it feel giddy????

Gummie,
Ya! Better to be safe than sorry...will ask for epidural if I cannot take it.

By the way who wanna volunteer to update the chart while i not around huh? I can send you the file ..

haha...happydural, wat a term, i will definitely ask for happydural.

Do u gals get like 'contractions' around your bottom buttocks area? i have such feeling sometimes when i have menses. Now i also have such feeling sometimes.

gummie

my hubby also cover the blanket every night and i only see his small head in the morning. :p slightly better than a headless hubby....haha

fates,
My husband ever ask my gynae on this question. He said won't, because baby is depending on the umbilical cord for breathing not like us, using lung

Fates
Mayb last time I stayed walk-up flat on 4th flr.. So going up and down the staircase helps.. Some more I very pampered by parents so Saturday go out with own parents. Sunday go out with MIL. A lot of walkings..

Now, shifted to new flat 2nd flr but still takes lift up. Lazy.. But my weekend still same..

Piglet
My dear, ur down there numb of all the pain already you dun even know when gynae snip den put in forcep to pull baby head out..

piglet,
Oh ya hor! They don't use their lungs yet. That's why even when during waterbirth, and their head come out first, they won't drown :p:p

teenoyl,
Heheeee.....
Ok I will try to climb more stairs and walk more! 3 hrs labour is sooo short! Envy envy!

Actually contractions felt like u having very bad constipation.. With lower back throbbing pain thrown in..
My fren lagi cute. She describe contractions like pulling your lower lips and cover it across ur face and over your head.

sook,

currently i am using the playpen for my boy to sleep in. they only have 1-inch to fit the size. is it too thin. was thinking of getting 2 pieces of i-inch but like abit silly leh.

gals,

aiyo, i only got 2 125ml avent bottle and 3 260ml avent + 2 250ml pigeon. intending to use the VIA cup and milk bags to store the ebm. enough or not huh?

Fates
Dun envy leh!! Gynae so worried I can't make it to hospital on time cos I stayed Yishun and giving birth at NUH.. He always remind me, slightest feel of contraction, call him, pack up and go. No need to wait for contractions to be 5 mins apart.

teenoyl,
U mean the whole tummy and lower back will feel pain? Constipation pain still not so bad, the menstrual cramp pain is worse.

Piglet
Forcep is a tool like "BBQ thong" for gynae to grip the baby head and pull it out lor..
No after effect.. only need to do episiotomy. When bb already crowning but too big to come out, den no choice lor.. Have to vacuum out. After 2 hrs of pushing, no energy left to even sit up!

teenoyl,

for playpen, cannot convert to toddler bed. however, the height can be adjusted. serve as a sleeping area when bb is small and a play area when bb is older.. but think if bb learn to stand by holding onto things, then cannot be use and definitely not as sturdy as a cot.