(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

ivy,
Maybe you try to walk more often. climb stairs and do squatting. its help for easier labour and walking more often does make baby come out earlier than EDD. (my friend's gynea and my gynea stated so).
for me, my gynea advised me not to go swimming but i still do. Hopefully, that this will make my boy to come out earlier.. cos he "sit on my right tummy nerves" causing so much pain.haha

gummie,

u staying somewhere else for ur confinement?? heeeee...

Annie,

Haha, i walk and walk and walk in school and climb so many stairs.. hopefully it helps me in my labour this friday!

kk,

my blood pressure seem to be ok for 1 week and not the next . but CTG seem ok leh. My gynae also advise to take bb out earlier. me 38 wks this wk liao and bb is fat so he suggest taking out early cos no harm.

twinkle,

yah rite, seems like gynae nowadays love to take bb out before EDD haha.. there are lots of induced cases around.

When my SIL was carrying my niece (under same gynae), the gynae asked her want to induce early or not because he is going on tour hahahaa.. then my brother say since the first 2 children are delivered by him, might as well induce and go under him for the third bb. But my SIL so lucky. At that morning before induce, she was having breakfast at the coffeeshop and the water bag burst itself! haha.. so end up never induce.

CTG ok, gynae sure want induce already. Because bb fit and healthy to come out liao

kk,
so envy you! my boy is killing me.. hahah. he sit on my nerve, causing me in pain and walking limping around.
Worst, my male colleague stated that i doing a bad example. He will scare to have baby in future.

Now, i understand why god don't make guys bear the responsible to be a pregnant dad instead of mum. hahah..

My gynea don't encourage induce. So, even i asked for it, he won't do so, he said that baby will come out 1s its ready. 3 wks to go. pray hard, he will come out earlier.. thats why i still go swimming even my gynea don't allow.

Gummie,
During confinement mth, you have to drink more red date drink daily. its help to "bu qi", improve blood circulation, ease water retention. You also have to eat well balanced meal so that you regulate your daily motion to get rid of the dirt inside yr body. I think if you can tahan, dont wash hair. You can use herbal to bath. (i brought 20 paxs).

kk,

i m trying to talk to bb after this friday scan to come early so hope can escape induce or c -sect. Hope it works .

annie,
ya, i was told during confinement shd drink red date tea, but it can be very heaty and may cause constipation. i also wonder how women in confinement cope with that, but i guess at that stage our bodies tend to be 'cold' and can take better to heaty foods. i will try my best not to wash my hair for a week or so... also bought herbal bath mix for bathing, but must bath with water that has been boiled right?

ivy,
i dunno leh, but i've always known that women in confinement should not drink water as it is, have to be in the form of milo, horlicks, or red date tea. i think water is too 'cold'? and perhaps may cause our tummies to become even more bloated?

ivy,

i heard during confinement, we can only drink boiled longan with red dates water leh.. gummie, u know the reason?

Annie,

My mum got me 25 packets of herbs for bathing

yah lor, best if bb auto come out. But some bb too big, or bb's head too big, or mums' glucose level too high. Under such circumstances, gynae will suggest to induce.

For red dates drink during confinement, got to add dangsheng rite?

Now my whole fridge full of red dates, wolfberries, dang shen, etc etc. No space for other food liao haha...

Hey, my legs seem to reduce swelling liao. Think i drink less water these few days, that's why.

Gummie,

I think drinking red date tea is kind of a must during confinement leh. Remove the seeds and it won't be so heaty liao
i heard that cannot drink plain water.

My mum say boil the herbs with water. Then prepare two big pails of hot water. Mix the herb water with the pails of water. Then boil the herbs second time. Then pour into pails again. Bath with the pails of water after that
She say never never bath with tap water. Must use hot water.

can share list of things to prepare for confinement?

all i know is:

1. longan
2. red dates
3. herbs for bathing
4. DOM

gummie/kk,

no leh, never hear that cannot drink plain water. just tot that cannot drink cold water.
Siao man, if cannot drink plain water, sure will be sick.

kk,
gynae say must drink more water to reduce water retention. Maybe your body works opp way?

kk,

me no like plain water also.. if we can drink soft drinks, lagi best :p

u intending to bath in hosp? if no, does that means we can dun need to pack toiletries like shampoo and soap?

milo,
i think the reason for drinking red date longan tea is as what annie has stated, help to "bu qi", improve blood circulation, ease water retention. may help to cook it less sweet, else we will still feel thirsty after drinking leh...

kk,
is your mum helping you with the confinement or are you gettin a CL to help? oh the red date tea must add dangshen and wolfberries? i'm planning to leave all dat to the CL when she arrives, not sure whether she will know or not...

looks like i have to get more pails for bathing liao... i only have one at the moment???

milo,

Haha!! Yah, if can drink cold, i will gulp so many glasses in one day, especially when we can't bathe as usual during confinement!! i tell my hubby skully i secretly eat ice cream when mil not around haha!

Oh, i did pack toiletries. I guess even if i dun need them, my hubby would need them
i won't let him escape from my clutches hahahaa.. he has to be around to accompany me at all hours of the day :p

Gummie,

My mil is helping out during confinement
At least there is someone to help out, although can be quite uncomfortable with mil around since never stay with her before.

I dunno red date tea got wolfberries or not. But i somehow remember got dangshen. I think i need to call my mum pretty often to ask her how to cook that, how to cook this haha... i can't remmeber everything. She told me new things every weekend when i go back home :p

No harm getting more pails. U need them for ur laundry too?

KK & gummie,

Red date drink is already heaty and you want to add Dang Sheng? Have to drink more fluid so that your body can get rid of water retention.

KK,
Yappee.. yr baby is abt to come out! Reduce in swollen leg is a v good indicator sign for the actual day is coming.. Gong Xi Gong Xi

Gummie,cos our body is v "xu' after labour thats why we cannot drink or intake 'liang' food. Seasme oil is good to ease constipation and wind inside our body. You will have those "ma yu chicken".

According to those old folks, during confinement mth, many types of veggies and fruits.

Milo66,
I have exactly what you have in the list. only 1 small teaspoon of DOM add into the soup before drinking it to avoid overdose of alcohol (if you have breastfeeding). Dang Sheng (bu xue), american ginseng ("bu qi") is oso gd for confinement.

gummie,

ic.. most prob will miss plain water loh

think i need to get more pails also.. my hse currently also got only 1 pail and that is for mopping purposes. my mum ask me to get a slow cooker to boil those longan and red dates stuff as well.

eh... so milo and horlicks also cannot drink? only can drink red date tea? like dat means i have to tell my husband to go home and cook a pot whilst i'm in labour :p otherwise i will have nothing to drink? (cos i think hospital dun serve red date tea, or do they?)

ivy,
yes... i think water is a No-No... cold water even more so (i also dunno whether i can tahan going without cold drinks for one mth, esp in such hot weather... i may give up)

milo,
most pple advise agst taking showers using water directly from tap...

kk,

keke.. imagine fridge cold longan red date tea on a hot afternoon.. wah shiok ah!!

my mum has been telling me different new stuff every week when she see me.. so many things how to remember but she jus like to rattle off her findings to me. seems like she is more excited than i am loh.

Gummie,
Sorry, i didnt complete the line. During confinement mth, many types of veggies and fruits are not allow to take.

My colleagues told me to eat whatever i wish to eat now before the actual day comes.

Think some gals in our forum love to eat crab, do eat now! Else, 4 mths after your labour if you want your wound to recover beautifully and avoid itchness cause by the crab, prawn (poisonous food).

KK & gummie,
Cannot drink cold drink, dear.Best is warm fluid. I will drink those ginger drink to ease the wind.

oh ya... talking about hospital bag. i have transferred my stuff from a backpack to a duffle bag and now i realise i may need a small luggage to hold my my stuff, how ah?
seems like every day there is somethin to add... now i think maybe i shd pack my husband's toiletries and some clothes too

gals,

i tink it is really very illogical to avoid drinking plain water for 1 full month. It prob will do more harm to our body. I think we shld follow traditional beliefs as long as its within limits...
At most drink hot plain water rather than no drink water at all? Those milo or red dates will not be able to clear our body system.

anyway, its just my 2 cents worth...

Annie,

i heard after drinking DOM, 3 hrs later then can BF? Actually i didn't intend to drink DOM. But FIL bought 2 bots for me recently. Dunno i will eventually take them or not.

Swollen legs good sign for delivery???? really?? How come leh?

Hmmm, regarding fruits.. won't affect me because i am not fruit lover haha!

Veggies.. hokkien call them "heng cai".. it is very good. And my favourite too!

ma yu chicken.. yummy! Zhu jiao cu.. also my favourite

Crabs and prawns and other seafood not my cravings.. so ok

Yup, no cold drinks. Warm fluids help to generate BM too.

gummie

i think if u need a small lugguage then better bring along. have more things better than less mah.. my bag already 3/4 full though i haven finish packing yet.

i really wonder how long i can abide to not drinking cold water during my confinement. if the weather is really too hot or i damn pek chek, scare might jus go ahead with wat makes me happy

ivy,
ya it sounds a bit incredible, not drinking water at all for one month... but i think in actual fact we are still consuming water, jus that we consume in the form of red date tea and other forms? maybe it's just meant to 'dilute' the cooling effect of water on its own?

or maybe, like wat annie suggested, drink hot water with some ginger added?

milo,
ya, i'm plannin to transfer my stuff to the small luggage soon.. hehe anyway i will not be the one carrying it ahahaha...
i also doubt i can tahan not drinkin cold drinks, now i'm drinking a lot of it although my husband keeps giving me the disapproving look whenever he caught me 'red-handed'... but i also worry about the long term side effects leh... kia see loh

kk,
u planted the 'wicked' idea into my head... hehehe tonight i gonna pack my husband's clothes n toiletries so he can stay with me at the hospital throughout ahahaha...

Gummie,

Errr but what ward are u staying? Can hubby stay overnight?

Me also drinking cold drinks now, especially soya bean milk.

kk,
heheheehe... no wonder they say "zui du fu ren xin"...

i'm delivering at SGH, the room and boarding is cheaper there, so i'm opting for single bed. then again that is subject to room availability, so hopefully i will get allocated to a single ward.

i've been drinkin anything cold from ice kachang to ice lemon tea to iced cold water... the weather so hot and my body is 'on fire' all the time, cannot tahan leh...

gummie & ivy,
I think i will die without plain water. Cos i drink abt 2.5litres a day to make myself not constipate every since young and oso for beauty purposes.

For me, i will cut 1 or 2 thin slice of ginger add into the hot water for a while n take out, drink the water itself. This will avoid the ginger taste and able to ease wind at the same thing. Since, i nvb boil e water with ginger, i wont be afraid of baby kena jandiuce if i do breastfeeding.

KK,
It's ok! 1 small teaspoon n added to the soup will be v diluated. Wont be harmful to the baby. of cos, best to express yr milk out before your meal.

Not swollen leg, its if you have already have swollen leg and your leg tend to be less swollen than before, its a sign indicate that your big day - labour, is coming soon within the week. Gong Xi lar..

gummie,

Subject to availability somemore?? Mine is confirmed one bedder. Because that is the only option in TMC for hubby to stay over. i think i feel scared having to sleep alone heeee...

Haha sama sama.. at first i only stick to cold soya bean milk. Recently very naughty. ice kachang also eat, but only 1-2 times so far lah. Lemon tea.. my favourite.. but i dun drink ever since pregnant heeee... once in a while, i will take coke :p

Annie,

I do have swollen legs... i feel my legs yesterday and seem to subside a bit.. A bit only lah, but not that significant yet. Anyway getting induce on friday leh.. will my labour comes before that??? Still got today, tomorrow and thurs to "pok" haha! Dun have any sign for today leh.. maybe not lah hor.

Yah, regarding those alcoholic tonics.. was told to feed bb first, then eat.. wanna feed again got to wait 2 hrs after meal.

kk,
ya loh... public hospitals dun practice customer service wan, they told me if there are no rooms available when i'm admitted they will put me in teh 4-bedder or 5-bedder... sianz...

if i have a second baby, i will not go SGH again.

No wonder very few pple opt for SGH for delivery? And especially when pple go to SGH for all kinds of treatment, they run out of beds easily.

yes, the O&G services are really not up to standard i must say. even my regular checkups there are not exactly pleasant. it's always very hush-hush... like they can't wait to get your detailed scan over n done so the next patient can come in... and makes it difficult for you to ask questions and even spend more time looking at your baby when they do the scan. and the photos they took.... ooooh.... terrible.

oki i better stop complaining... just take it as learning from bad experience loh.

yes... and she doesn't deliver in other hospitals

actually i pay 55 for each consultation, which is not exactly cheap. the only difference is room n boarding compared to other hospitals...

Oh doesn't go by package ah?? My whole package with gynae around 2200. But not including extra payment like $180 for detailed scan, $84 for another detailed scan in week 36, $55 for CTG, and others like blood tests.

over there in SGH they actually dun recommend u take the package, cos the package only covers consultation, detailed scans and blood tests still have to bill separately. stupid right?
in the end, i may end up paying more then 2200...

kk,
oh i think i interpret it wrongly... that means yr package might be more expensive than mine. i think i paid around 110 for detailed scan which lasted abt 15 mins. i was actually quite surprised cos most MTBs told me the detailed scan takes longer.

Gummie,
oh! yes, i have been eating lots of ice -cream & cold drink n of cos cold dessert.
i sleep at air con room with fan on the whole nite for about a mth already.. tends to sweat a lot these days, even my hands oso sweat..

Over the weekend, my parents visit me and warn me not to eat or drink cold stuffs cos baby "bi" will not be good. (bi is e intestine below gastric). I dont know is it true or not. anyway, i already finished 2 boxes of ice cream and just brought 2 cans new favour ...

Are you sure your hosp dont provide red date drink? If i m not wrong, TMC even provide herbal soup if u choose chinese meal oso with red date drink. As for MT A, red date drink is provided.

annie,
i not sure leh... yesterday i went for the labour and ward tour. they only allowed me to look into the room without stepping in. i want to ask and look see around to know what is provided and what is not... also no chance. much less ask them what kind of food and drinks will be provided. i simply assume they will not provide...

Gummie,

My detailed scan took 45 min leh!

Annie,

Haha, me sleep in air con room dunno since when. Before pregnancy, i can bear with fan blowing only. After that cannot liao. Must on air con and kick off the blanket somemore.

Cold food no good for bb. But we just cannot resist temptation lor. I have been eating ice cream too! Finished tubs of that.

Annie
Me very crazy about Magnum ice-cream. Every evening must buy 1 stick liao!!

KK
Me too. Must slept with air-con on full-blast with no blanket. Sometimes pity my HB and son, who had to cover themselves with 2 comforters!!
kao_dizzy.gif

teenoly,

Wow, ur air con must be super strong hahha.. my hubby covers himself with one comforter. Lucky he survives hahaa...

KK, teenoyl,
Wah! same here.. i dont need to cover blanket at all. hahah.. pity my hubby.
Thinking of ice cream. i oso crazy abt pizza from pizzahut. Can you imagine, i can finish 3 slices and the drumsticks. i cant do in the past. hahah

KK
Its super duper strong...

My dad had it replaced 4 months back when I kept complaining the old air-cond not cold enough. When we went air-cond shopping, the first thing he asked the salesman, recommend me the latest model with max. BTU!!!

My HB always sneek up at night to open the window a bit, but when I woke up for toilet visit, I will shut it close again! Cannot tahan. Room very hot and stuffy!