(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Congrats Juzmaine!

You must be feeling so excited!

congrats juzmaine!!
rest well and prepare for tomorrow loh!

me also cant wait to see how kaeden looks like.. everytime during the scan when gynae pause, i always get worried and wonder is there anything wrong or not.. guess i too paranoid liao..keke

Guess all MTBs are paranoid!

Hey girls, usually for Malay massage, need how many sessions huh? How come this spa massage lady told me 15??? wah piang..

I cldn't agree more re getting paranoid

Thnx gals, me now trying to kill time, hoping tomolo will come soon....oso doing last min check on the stuffs I need to bring loh.
405435.gif

Hello girls,
Finally received my bb cot tdy. But was disappointed that BB Kingdom went back on their words. they didnt deliver what they have promised and simply refused to let the management ppl tok to me. Anyway, wat can we do since we have already paid full price for it. Was only glad that we dun need to go around scotting for bb cots.
Next time please be careful who we buy it from.

anyway 15times of massage? wow thats quite alot. I found one who says depends on my body.Usually is in a series of 7times.

Hi Ivy,

Try eating durians? haha.. mummies from the june thread have been eating durians to make their bb bigger :p

Hi taurus and Juzmaine,

Wow, so ur bb coming out too?? We are all feeling nervous now ya? heeee..

Hi Sponge,

me also having those contractions nowadays. And getting more and more serious. But it is not those 5 min apart. I think this is unavoidable now since we are all going towards our EDD.

Hihi kk,
Think will see more NB in this thread soon :D
Durian does make BB big, which is Y gynae forbids me to eat ;p

ydnic,
Ya boy....i was thinking to myself when she said 15 times massage - "You must be crazy!" Think I don't know you wanna make my $$$$.
Anyway she's from Bali....her massage real good!

Ermm but too much durian will be toooo sweet for baby or not? Is it cos' of the sweetness that's making the baby BIG? What other nutritional values are there?

Hi Juzmaine,

No love for durians, so have not touched any ever since pregnant :p

Fates,

I think durians also rather high in carbo?

Fates

Usually for malay massage, it will take 5-7 days, depends on your 'condition'. I suppose if you don't have alot of wind inside your body, it can be settle within 5 daily sessions. I did mine for abt 7 days the last time. Its not really for slimming purposes, but rather for the womb to be back in shape faster and the wind to expel out.

hi MTBs,
did the gathering last weekend take place? too bad i wasn't able to join you all...

jus went for my checkup this mornin and gynae said my baby's head has turned down (yippeee!) although not engaged yet
i'm beginnin to feel excited eve though my due date is still one mth away.

btw i recalled there was some discussion earlier about cord blood banking? may i know if anyone of you opted for private banking?

hi there,
does anyone here have membership card for The First Years? i am thinking of getting a pram i saw but was told that members get 10% discount. i'm tryin to see if i can borrow the card from anyone? thanks! btw the points can be credited to the card holder for yearly membership renewal...

hi sponge,

Sorry sorry ... I have not been checking my mails for too long and the account was being de-activated without my knowledge ...8( ...

By the way , do you use MSN??

gummie,

you are back! Wat have you bought? Yes, the gathering took place, it was me, chris, scott's mum and eve. Had a very yummy lunch and sinful dessert.

kk,
me also no love for durians since i am young. So no matter how, i still dun take at all.

Fates, more info for updates hospital TMC, baby girl. thx.

Ino, I dunno what exactly caused the pain. I was admited to hospital at week 25 when water bag ruptured. Dunno what the doctor did, i just opened my leg lo. Later, I know he checked whether cervix opened or not and had 2 swab test (1 for GBS, the other for amniotic fluid). It was painful leh.

kk, the latex are the yellow ones ( and smelly too). They are supposed to be softer.

Can Braxton Hicks be painful.
Is it similar to gastric pain?
Last nite, the pain is more intense (than my usual gasric attack) and spread through the whole tummy. Another thing is that bb seems to respond/ move more whenever the pain comes.
The pain comes in intervals of few minutes for a few hours. Could it be Braxton Hicks? THe whole nite, it was nerve wrecking, i was wondering whether its labour or just gastric. Sigh...
This morning, i kena heart burn. What can we do to eleviate heart burn?

sook..

Hey I do xperienced tt!!(exactly on my 37wks).... Heatburn and BH came knocking at my door on last Sat nite. Couldn't sleep thruout as bb's movements seem to be restricted in the womb. I tried drinking warm milk, water, walking up and down, Hb helped massaging, did breathing etc... Still doesn't work leh | gave a clockwise rub on my chest and stack up pillows to lie down ( to prevent backflow of acid juice) and finally felt slightly better la. But hor had BH and mild contractions for HOURS!!!
Reali wanna cry out!!! Reali bad xperience. Guess more BH will come visiting me!!!

Gotta Ren lor... cos womb tightening is a good sign for preparing the BIG DAY! REn!!! REN!! REN!!!

little nana,

my BH became more intense last weekend too...and of cos the stupid heartburn...

Last night wake up every 2 hrs to go toilet, went back to bed and felt instense camps. It came on and off for 1 hr before i finally drifted to slp...

Was telling hubby to tell BB that if he is ready, then come out next week lah. I dunno how long i can tahan liao..haha...

ivy/little nana,

same here! recently BH is killing me liao. every night sleeping become a chore cos waking up every few hrs to pee then after that cannot sleep. keep feeling funny in the tummy like wanna 'let go' but sit there yet nothing out. no matter which position i sit, can never find a comfy one and worse, leg so swollen, hurts with every step..

i think i wont mind if gynae tell me morrow that bb can be out by week 37 which is next week.. dunno how long more i can tahan

Wah!,
Seems like most of you have BH contraction and feel the pain. Hmm.. for me, i have it for few weeks so kind of use to it.hahah.. I think swimming help me a lot to ease the pain a bit.

Anyway, bad news, my gynea told me that my boy's head slang toward right hand side. "sit on my nerve" thats y i am walking limping all the way.. So painful especially when standing n try to walk..

I too pray hard that my boy will come out faster.

Nana,
be prepared for disturbing nites since BH contaction will come back more and more frequent.

Fates,
Wat Eve stated is true. No point to go for 15 massages. According to my sis, the massage is painful cos the malay lady will try to push your womb back into shape since its expand when you labour.

Gummie,
Welcome back! long time nvb hear from you. Hows are you now?

milo,

same here too! next appt is tomorrow and next week is 37th. So maybe i will try to bargain with BB tonite to get himself ready for the world next week? haha...

Wow! Everyone is discussing abt BH and preparing for labour ... Make me feel so excited and very NERVOUS

Finally last Sunday I got to sleep lying down (instead of half reclining)as my bb had lightened. Even took UL yesterday so that I can sleep my day through!! Tummy looks funny cos its fuller on the bottom. But with more frequent visits to the toilet.. burrr!!!

Fates,

Normally traditional malay massage is between 3-5 days, everyday or alternate days. I prefer 5 days straight. Believe marketprice is $50/session now for 1hr ??

ivy,

my appt is also tomorrow..will be at 35w6d liao.. think i become abt desparate, as long as gynae deem that bb is fully develop and ready to face the world, i will wish for him to pop :p

Annie

What? Painful? No lah!!
talker.gif

When u r delivering, ur push everything down rite so the lady will help push up our womb back to actual place. And it only happen once at the end of every massage session when u r ready to get up.

Hmm!! ya lah, 1st time quite painful cos everything inside is hanging loose mah! But after that, you will feel more comfortable especially after binding.

BTW that's the reason why you go for traditional massage. To get everything back into place and release all the winds..

Hi Ladies!

YES!! I was about to complain about my stupid heartburn!!!! Yesterday morning after taking two pills from gynae, also USELESS leh!! i dunno what works for me! Sometimes it is there, sometimes it is not. Like this morning, dun have heartburn. I dunno whether it is due to stress. Yesterday was busy at work, telling relief teacher what to do in my absence. And got to settle little little things before i go on MC, followed by maternity leave this friday.

This morning, i just woke up, and feel refreshed, less stressful so no heartburn.

I so worried, friday i go induced labour, i still having heartburn then more miserable!

I am having bad contractions on sunday middle of the nite. And can't sleep well whole nite. Yes, something like gastric pain, stomachache.. dunno how else to describe. SIGH! And go toilet every one hour! Then lots of wind too. But morning i go toilet, still got thing come out.

Last nite, i got a good nite sleep, so still not so bad Phew!

hi hi everyone,
So it seems that most of us are having BH contraction. Me too. It is a bit uncomfortable and a little bit painful for me last nite too.
And like most of you, i also hope baby will pop up soon. But on the other hand i want her to pop up later cos i haven take my pregnancy photo
yet. :>

Fates, i think 15 sessions of massage is really alot. um my sis in law had seven sessions. It cost 7 sessions for $300 but becos the massage lady live in commenwealth and my sis in law in sengkang so she charges her $45 per one and a half hr. At first she said her belly looks very scary like loose flesh hanging :~ and she is so scared after a few massage back to normal liao. But i guess its up to individual too ya.

As for me i will also be having massage but my mum say its better to get chinese physician her friend who know JING RUO.So i let my mum decide and arrange the massage thing for me.

hi kk,
u going for induced labour? wow... it's only a few more days to go before u get to see your little girl! i really admire you still working at this stage, must be really tough huh.

looks like all of you are talking abt BH contractions, which i have yet to experience i think. i guess contractions are a sign dat the bb may 'pop' anytime? my next checkup is 2 weeks from now, gynae says unlikely my boy will pop soon. i also can't wait to see my boy, and been hoping for him to arrive earlier (as long as after 37 weeks)...

hello ivy/ annie,
yeah, i had a good time shopping and eating for the past 2 weeks
bought some baby toys, clothes, cloth diapers & stocked up on wet tissue (which cost half the price here) hehehe...

becoming parents is really a very costly affair, tsk tsk...

gummie,

I am on MC today liao rite up to thursday heeee... fri going induced labour liao. yesterday was on MC too, but i stayed in school till 2pm to settle work.

It is pretty sudden for me. My gynae visit was on saturday, and my gynae told me induced. He suggested to be induced today actually!! But i told him no lah, because mon got to go back school settle work, then no time to rest at home. Might as well catch a few days rest, then fri induce.

I didn't get my BH earlier on too. It is only until last week that i experience slightly serious BH. And felt heavier. Can't walk well too hahaa..

Teenoyl,
is it? Massage not painful? Cos my sis had her natural labour n nvb had e jab for her labour. She comment that labour isnt painful at all.
However, when she had her massage, she complaint it was painful as the malay lady pressed v hard on tummy. However, after 7 sessions, my sis got back her flat tummy again..
Think for the flat tummy sake, i will go for the massage but sure scream like hell if it is painful..

hi kk,
how did yr gynae decide for you to go for induced labour? i thought that is only for babies who are overdue? cos i see your EDD is actually still 2 weeks away huh...

anyway, u must be feeling v excited now... good to catch some rest before u go into labour and make sure u eat well too!

so u only experienced BH a week ago? ok, at least i know i'm not 'alone' now
i was actually kind of worried that this may mean my baby will arrive late, but i guess not

Gummie,

Oh, because my blood pressure high, although not in risk, but gynae say since bb is healthy (after CTG) might as well take her out. Anyway can come out liao because it is 38th week this week

Actually me very worried leh.. worried + excited + dunno what feelings...

I suffered from BH on and off before last week, but not so significant lor.. comes and goes.. and not intense. It is only until last week that i find that the contractions become more intense. And funny thing is, contractions can be bad whenever i take my baths dunno why leh heee...

Some mummies experience BH very early but that doesn't mean bb coming out soon.. so i dun think BH is a good gauge of when bb is coming out lor

Oh, i have one colleague whose sister's bb is overdue, but gynae did not suggest induce for her. She is still waiting...

Ya ladies,
I think this massage lady from the spa is crazy....15 times? Siao...

Hey matsu/teenoyl,
This commonwealth massage lady good huh? Price seems reasonable....can recommend?

Ivy,milo
Your EDD still some time away....really so fast can induce huh? Hmmmm tahan abit more?

Yo gummie,
Welcome back! Guess we are in the same boat...have yet to experience any BH contractions..or I don't know what it is? Just knew I must wake up at least once in the nite to go pee...

Annie
Massage not supposed to be painful mah!!

But my advise to all is, dun paiseh to ask them how long they had been practicing traditional post-massage.

I knew someone, who had been trained at a well-known traditional massage boutique and after 3 month of training, she received her certificate and off she goes finding MTBs.. SCARRY!

Chris
Where you staying?

kk,
i see, so its got to do with your blood pressure...
i think it's very normal to feel 'worried', after all, we're first-time mummies, no experience... and not exactly sure what to expect until it happens. we can read one hundred and one things from books and magazines, even get advice from other pple, but nothing beats going through the experience ourselves ya.

just tell yourself when u go into labour to relax and keep that smile on yr face to welcome the arrival of your precious baby
... it will be all over before u know it! at least with induced, u are prepared, unlike the normal natural delivery which can happen any time... wait 'karang kabok' dunno how... hehe... not only we kan cheong, i can imagine our husbands will be even more panicky...

Hey Fates

BH? I dunno either.. For me pain is pain lor.. Just tahan onli..

When I had mc last yr, I engaged an aunty at Cwealth cos I stayed over at my parents during that period for short confinement. As it was a walking distance, she charged me $25!!

Wondering if its a same lady Matsu's sis had engaged.

Just recommend my HB's aunt JWest area to my boss. Same area but charged $50.. My boss haven't feedback me yet..

yo fates!
you're right... seems like we're a bit 'slow' in experiencing the true signs of late pregnancy. until now, i only need to go toilet at most once at night (sometimes not even once) and still sleep flat on my back. i guess the real signs will come soon huh. at least we are mentally prepared after hearing from the other MTBs.

but even now i'm getting a little impatient, can't wait to 'get out' of this pregnant body, kekeke... i'm definitely less agile these days, and can't do much housework (esp anything dat requires me to bend down or climb) even though i'm at home most times, feel like so useless...

btw i also haven't booked for the malay massage, i saw a package offered by an indonesian spa which costs $550 for 7 sessions, it's a bit too expensive huh?

i was told 7 sessions on consecutive days is recommended, subsequent sessions can be ad-hoc (like once a week or so) and as required...

Gummie,

Hmmm, actually i was thinking whether my bb will come out automatically by herself before friday heeee.. my hubby gan jeong already. He tell me if got show, must call him immediately.

My contractions can be quite bad recently. So it will not be a surprise if it comes natural.

teenoyl,
Hmm.. maybe everyone torelate different level of pain. Cos, my colleague n my gfs told me that massage is painful becos of the wound. My sis had her massage on 3rd day after she laboured same goes to my gfs.
I think thats the reason, cos the womb havent really recover.
I will check with the malay lady one more time.

Chris,
I have forward you a list of malay massage ladys, all priced differently. Hopefully, can help you.

kk,

ooooh..... sounds very exciting leh. actually hor i think husbands will be under more stress. i already gave my husband a list of 'to-dos' when i go into labour, kekeke... he is worried he cannot cope liao...

Wow so many postings to catch up.

I experience contaction early this morning abit painful thought going into labour but end up gastric and drink milo. hee...

Look like many mummies are delivery in wk 38 liao. for me after this friday detail scan will decide whether to induce or c-sec. I m trying to wait till next weekend to do it if my doctor allows. so that labour day my hubby dun need to take leave and full mth can celebrate on weekends rather than got to move forward.

I am also getting more nervous everyday leh.

hei teenoyl,
i am in sengkang. yourself?

thks annie, i have d list alrdy...more interested in direct recommendation fr people who have had good experience...

hi fate and teenoyl,
um i dont know which block does the malay massage lady stay but i do have her contact. But i dont really know if she is good cos my sis in law only put on total of 8 kg so maybe her tummy can go back to original size faster. :> i guess.

anyway you can try calling her at 94529344.her name is cikemaa. i tried calling her but failed i guess she is massaging then cos i called in the morning so maybe you can try calling her at nite.oh say ang mo kio tailor recommend if not she might charge you more. That is what happen to my sis in law until my mum called to say that is our relative.

fates,

i not gog for induced unless the doc deem it necessary. Am trying to talk/bargain with bb for him to come out naturally asap cos mummy is tired liao...haha...
Will tell him to make mummy more comfy then will go buy more toys for him..haha...

twinkle starry,

it is true.. sometimes cannot differentiate between contractions, stomacache and gastric haha...

gummie,

SOund exciting? hahahaa.. not exactly lah..

Wow, what are the things u have put in ur to-do list?

kk,
this may sound stupid... but i gave him a list of things to remind me of... e.g. remind me not to drink water (cos i heard women should not drink water during confinement and i worry i may accidentally sip some), remind him to bring me bottles of water (boiled) for me to brush my teeth and clean my body (if i can tahan not to shower), make sure i dun eat foods i'm not supposed to eat... blah blah...