(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Ivy,

I only bought 2 pkt - total 10 pcs .... was contemplating whether to buy more pkts to standby ... but I dun think will have heavy flow for 1 whole month lah .... where to find so much blood ... kekek ... I think most likely will have heavy flow for 1 week then subside to lighter flow .... i think also depends on individual also ...

Hi Ray,

Dun worry too much, Nicholas should be on the road to recovery by now.
Good to know u r sticking to your breastfeeding routine. I believe BM is still the best for babies. Take care yah.

Hey fates,
I very KS, bought 2 types. One is the "super soft disposable underwear" then the other is the 100% cotton one. For the super soft one..i cant even pull up the panty lor!
The hip size is stated as 37"-39" lor.. thot i can fit..but noooo~ Agree with Taurus, the 100% cotton one is more comfy!

Just an update on my gynae visit today. My bb is still quite light but thank God she's healthy!
Was strapped to the CTG machine today, and from there, can monitor her heartbeats and my contractions. Her heartbeat is normal and I've only some mild contractions (thou i've been feeling ALOT of tightening these days??) Anyway..all's well.. gynae even predicted that i may give birth earliest by next week?!??..geez..

hi taurus/twinklestarry,
i'm experiencing the same symptoms as the both you...sharp pain, tummy tightening, plus cannot sleep on the sides (bb will kick) or lie flat (will feel breathless). Quite frustrated until i started to prop myself up by using 2 pillows. After that, i cld have a good nite sleep. Seeing my gynae this sat...will check with the bb is engaged. hehhee.

hi fates,
i din buy the maternity type coz it looks like paper...not very comfy. I bought the pure cotton type fr watson (they say it can be washed) and is free size. Watsons is having promo on these panties now...

CP

I've got my Hb to do perineal massage too. In UK they do not do episiotomy unless labour intervention is needed n they will do episiotomy. To prevent bad tear, i was advised to the massage and also pelvic flr exercises. I've started perineal massage when I was 32wks, 3 times a wk and 4 mins per session.
Btw When I first started out, there was a tingling sensation, would say that that my muscles was tight and tense. After getting use to the massage, I'm be more relax and less tense. Hoping that it will stretch the muscles and help me to hve a smooth delivery.

Hey ladies

Btw perineal massage is not like that disgusting la. kekeke...

I read that when the baby is engaged, the bump will be lower and protrude out more. Is it obvious? I can't wait for baby to get engaged cos, beh tahan with ribs and lungs being poked. My bump is so high, it looks like going to be joint with my breasts.

OMG sponge! You'll give birth next week!!!

Everything packed and all ready for you? Good luck ya!!

I bought a pack of M size disposable panties earlier...will give it a try later

If can't wear I will give the rest away lo..heee..

Hmmm, so maybe my bb also on the way to engagement heee.. cos i walk and walk and can feel sharp pain at pte area. So need to rest for a while, especially if walking fast. Anyway can't really walk fast now. Feel so clumsy and heavy.

As for sleeping, will feel breathless at the start. Then slowly slowly get into sleep. Sleep on back worst, feel totally breathless. Have to sleep on the left side, because if i sleep on my right, my bb will protest by kicking.

Annie,

My gynae shifted my EDD from 1 may to 11 may leh. But i dunno whether can last that long or not, because i feel so much differences lately.

So i am only in my 36th week now. last week bb's weight was 2.9 kg.

Hi Little Nana,
Hubby did the massage for me again last nite. It hurt more than the first time. It was more than stinging sensation, there was actually pain. Was yours like that? I wondered if he was too hard, but he said he only applied gentle pressure. Before trying out the massage, I thought it would be like foreplay, shiok shiok feeling, but boy was I wrong! Tried to relax during those moments and put those breathing techniques to use. Hopefully like you, it will get better with time.

About washing of hair...

I bought the Batiste dry shampoo, tried a little of it. The scalp doesn't feel clean after that. I found another brand "NO RINSE" that allows you to apply until your hair is wet. after that you can massage to a lather. After which you can towel dry your hair. Should feel more like shampooing hair. It can be found at a shop in KKH near to the Prima Deli.

Hi Liau, re the shampoo, can use? cos mil won't allow to let scalp get wet leh, she might tot I go wash my hair... if yes, any other branch?
403824.gif

hi, anyone feeling tummy cramp recently. since last nite, tummy got the wanna go toilet feeling but nothing come out leh. dunno wat is wrong also..

fates ar..
my gynae only predict EARLIEST by next week la.. hehee.. my instincts tell me maybe another week more..see who's right lor ;)

hey sook,
Agree that the bump will become lower and protrude more when ur bb is more or less engaged. I can see an obvious 'drop' in my tummy lor. Feels more comfy when bb is engaged..can breathe easier.. phew~

milo,
tats a sign of labour leh.. like want to PS that feeling right?? Got urge to push..but nothing comes out. Better start monitoring to see if u have other symptoms!

Milo,

I do have tummy cramp lately too.. but got thing come out heee...

Yah, i do agree with sponge. My gynae did mention before.. if want to PS but no PS is a sign.

But then is it because of "wind"? I realise sometimes my tummy a lot of wind and i feel the discomfort.

seems that more mummies having the engaged feeling. I think my boy not ready yet..He is still actively moving around...Can see lots of wave and kicks, no matter which side i slp....

kk/sponge,

aiyo, really ah. me still not ready to pop yet
now only at week 35, still early. called gynae, he ask me to monitor. if the next few days still like that, then need to see him liao

Ivy,

If bb is engaged, no more waves and kicks?? I can still feel waves and kicks everyday too.

I was down with diarrhoea two days ago and visited the family doctor. She mentioned anything at and after 37th week is considered full term liao. I am more worried than u. Because based on estimated date, i am supposed to be in week 37 this week liao. Next week is 38th week. But my gynae shifted my EDD, that means this week 36th week and next week 37th week. Let's see what the gynae say tomorrow when i go for my appt in the morning.

Aren't u seeing ur gynae once per week now??

Ivy,

If bb is engaged, no more waves and kicks?? I can still feel waves and kicks everyday too.

Milo,

I was down with diarrhoea two days ago and visited the family doctor. She mentioned anything at and after 37th week is considered full term liao. I am more worried than u. Because based on estimated date, i am supposed to be in week 37 this week liao. Next week is 38th week. But my gynae shifted my EDD, that means this week 36th week and next week 37th week. Let's see what the gynae say tomorrow when i go for my appt in the morning.

Aren't u seeing ur gynae once per week now??

kk,

i was hoping kaeden can tong till at least week 37 before coming out. now still too early. are u having any sign of popping? bb engage?

now still seeing him fortnightly. think from next visit onwards will be weekly liao

milo,

gynae never tell me engaged or not leh.. but for the past 2 occasions, bb head is down. But sometimes i have a feeling the bb head is up, because i feel some kind of leg kick below abdomen hahahaa.. naughty she.

Urs engaged??

Ladies here mention if feel that bb pretty low in abdomen, it is sign of engaging. I dun feel that actually. BB is still pretty high for me. Like just below chest area.

Yup, fortnight for me previously. But now once weekly. i went last sat. Tomorrow going again.

kk,

no leh, last visit, mine still in breech position, so if by wed, bb still remain the same, gynae might cut me open liao.

i starting to feel some pressure at the v area, hopefully is sign that bb has turn. so excited, in another few more weeks, and we will see our darling loh

Milo,

Which wed? This coming wed?? When is ur EDD?

Is the pressure always there?? Or at times only?

Heee, u having bb boy or girl?

kk,

yup this coming wed..!! my edd is 21st may but gynae changed it to 18th may.

the pressure only started recently. how abt u? feeling anything diff?

me having a boy boy.. u girl girl right? tot of name liao?

Hi CP
I think you shld not feel the pain. You might wanna consult midwife or OBS on doing the massage if you are feeling uncomfortable. Perineal massage gave pple a wrong idea. Many pple think that it is foreplay or the feeling is shiok like having ECA.. kekekeke...The fact abt the massage is jus stretching perineum muscles and recognising the part where bb will be coming out.

Try it out a few times more and I'm sure you'll get use to the massage. You might wanna distract yourself whlist ur Hb is doing the massage. Eg.. read a mag, book, etc and you'll feel less painful. That's wat i'm doing to distract myself... kekeke:p

Milo,

Why ur gynae decide on c sec so soon leh? Still got some way to go leh.

I feel very different liao.. tummy cramps, tightening of tummy, sharp pain at V area, breathlessness, etc etc. Dunno how to survive at work liao. I intend to go on maternity leave starting 28 april. I hope bb won't pop out earlier than this.

Mine is girl girl.. thinking of naming her "Shu Ning" but not confirmed yet heee... urs? I dun intend to get english name.

kk,

for me, think its because i have high glucose prob so if next week bb still in breech, think he might suggest that i op for c-section. the bigger i get, the more diff for me to digest the sugar so cant wait too long.

think i am feeling the same as u. these few nights very diff to slp cos whichever position i turn also dun feel comfy. working also getting tougher, somemore my office @ 6th floor and got no lift. by the time i reach, i leg soft loh

my ML will start on 8th may. hopefully can let me rest a few days at hm then pop. dun fri last day at work then sat pop, like that never rest at all.

shu ning is a nice name, give the impression of very gentle and sweet. can consider.

will name my boy kaeden, kai yi. i very ks, already printed out the chinese character so at the hosp can register his bc liao :p

Milo,

Ohhh, so most likely u won't wait till ur EDD liao lor? Then urs will be an april bb then?

I will feel breathless at times when i lie down on my bed lor, especially on my back. So have to sleep on my sides, left side especially. Because my girl will complain if i sleep on my left heeee.. think she is there most of the time :p

Wow, how do u decide on the name so fast?? My hubby looked through the whole dictionary on characters for mix and match. I think i am too lazy to help him, so it takes a long time to decide hahaa...

Yah, me too.. hope can rest for a few days before pop. I have school matters not settled, so hopefully bb won't come out in april.

kk,

haha if he comes out before may, my colleagues will kill me ah.. keke i got plenty of school stuff unsettled too.. me working in nus handling examination stuff, now its consider our peak period.

we tot of many names but it cannot match well with my hubby surname - zhong. so finally decided on it after looking through the dict for a long time.. kai - means happiness and yi - means significance. we want our boy to have a happy and significant life.

ask u hor, will u be using powder for ur girl? initially wanted to use bb lotion instead but mum commented that will be sticky leh

Milo,

Sigh, i dunno what happen to my tummy now.. just feel uncomfortable.. like bloated like tat
Sometimes bb kick until i feel tired there too

Oh, u working in nus?? U teaching or part of admin personnel there?

Yah, for me, i haven't got my practical test papers and physics test papers printed for the sec 1 classes yet. And not forgetting, mid year exam papers for sec 1 and 3!! All not printed yet
So i have to get all these done by next week.

My mum told me not to use powder on girl. And i read reports that say powder is no good for girls, especially when we apply at pte area. It is even true for adults. Can affect the sexual organs. So i didn;t get any powder. My mum got me lotion though - J&J BB lotion. But dunno will use it or not, because i myself find it sticky when i apply it on myself hahaha..

kk,

realised that my boy seldom kick recently, feel more than sqirming inside. dunno is it inside no space already.

yup, working there.. me is part of the admin personnal handling the exam stuff.. been busy printing the exam papers for the past few weeks now only left the setting up for the venue and thesis marks to be sumitted back to me.

u have to print ur own test papers? no admin staff to help out?

think if like that better dun apply anything. jus put the nappy cream + ruyi oil can liao

milo,

now my bb still kicks. But at times she kick, it will be painful!! Yah, i agree, space is limited in our tummy liao.

Good hor, u all have dedicated staff there to print exam papers. We have to give to the office pple to print, then collect our own, check, bundle up, write cover page, then send for safekeeping. I wonder how i am going to carry the huge piles of papers from 1st level to 2nd level for safekeeping
Got to get colleagues to help liao. Students definitely cannot help.

Yup, also bought the nappy cream and ruyi you liao
Hope the nappy cream works. My colleague called me recently regarding her bb girl's rashes. She said red and bleeding. Polyclinic medicine also no use. Dunno how is it now.

Juzmaine,

The shampoo dun need any water. If ur mil dun like scalp to get wet, just wet the hair ends to make her happy. But somehow, it's the oily scalp that makes us feels uncomfortable.

The shop name is Mom Essentials. There's another branch at Suntec City #03-K03. Try calling 6262 6060 'cos the product's not on the catalog.

hi guys

just want to find out if you all bought a latex or foam mattress for the baby cot? Latex is very expensive - $169 (i saw at Taka), whilst foam is only $49.50.

kk,
yup, have been on weekly visit for the last 3 weeks liao cos my gynae wants to monitor me more closely due to the scare in Feb plus he felt that BB is on the small size with little action. In fact, have done quite a number of CTG liao, next seesion got to do again...

Been talking to BB to tell him to be turn down, stay there and be engaged. Very demanding mummy hor? keke...

Girls,

See you tomorrow!

Gathering, 15th Apr Sat, 11am Menotti
1) Fates
2) Ivy
3) Scott
4) Ceepeetee
5) Zach's mum
6) ino (might drop by to say 'HI!')
7) Taurus (tbc)
8) milo (tbc)
9) Eve Lim (tbc)

Any more?

hi yvonne

i have been using the babysafe latext mattress, pillow and bolster set.

when i had my 1st child, i bought a new cot wif comes wif a mattress but however,its veri veri hard and my gal dont want to sleep on it. so i bought the babysafe latext..and she loves it. now my gal is coming 3 yrs old and she use the kids pillow and kids bolster. thou its abit expensive, but i find it worth it cos its veri durable, and its anti-dustmite.i;m using the kids pillow and bolster myself also..hehe

latex mattress.
I was very concerned with SIDS so, I bought baby safe latex mattress too. Can anyone advise whether it is ok if the base of the cot is solid, i.e. without any holes for ventilation. Would it be as effective if the mattress has vetilation holes, but the base of cot doesn't.
Also, is it advisable to place the latex mattress above the foam mattress (that comes with the cot)?
One more thing, latex stinks. Will the smell go off? I took the plasteic cover out last week, it still smells now.

BB engaging.
Maybe due to my big backside. When i lie down, pelvis is higher than chest. Everytime, when i wake up from sleep, baby will be so high up my chest. HHmmm.... maybe should try sleeping sitting-up intead of lying-down. So that gravity will help baby to engage...

KEGEL.
anyone actually does the KEGEL exercise? I dun leh. Feel so guilty.

Hi sOOK

Ya. the latext mattress have the latext smell.however, i remember after 1 week, the smell goes off liao.

i think it shld be ok to place the latext mattress above the foam mattress coz i do that.

hope that helps

Went for my gynae visit today and was asked to go for induced labour this coming friday!

Was really shocked because didn't expect bb to come so early. Got to settle all my school work with colleagues on Monday and then will be on MC after that, all the way till Friday.

Gynae say my blood pressure is on the high side, though not in danger. He say since bb is active and healthy, might as well deliver early. Was put on CTG scan today. Very very uncomfortable because lying down position actually worsens my heartburn
So i even threw up this morning while having CTG scan on the bed.

Oh, anybody has any idea, does epidural comes before induction or after induction? I heard induction can be pretty painful.

hi kk,

wah.. that is super fast! u will see ur girl this friday loh..

yup, heard that induction can be quite painful but well, which part of childbirth isnt..keke how heavy is ur girl now?

hei kk...didn't know u are a teacher. wow...this friday is v fast indeed....

well, hei hei to Ivy, Eve and Scott...we four ladies just met at Menotti a while ago...and yes, 4 of us...whatever happened to the rest??? Fates, I hope your headache's better now tho.

Anyway, just wanna say - I am glad we are sharing and supporting each other in this journey of motherhood....
cheers.

Hi KK,
Actually me same situation as u -> hypertension. My bp also shoot up to above 140/100 and gynae also mentioned abt to induce but now have to wait till i reach 36wks. Do u on medication? how high's ur bp now?

Oh I nvr know CTG scan can be so uncomforatable.
Think epidural is come aft gynae insert the tablets for induced ler...maybe u cfm wth ur gynae. Heard it could be quite painful too...me also worry

Hi sook,
Re: babe safe mattress smell
i hav checked wth the sales person bfore, she told me the smell is safe to bb. if u dun like, can let wind blow on it for few days before used to get rid of the smell.

For placing the babe safe mattress on top of the foam mattress, think it's not advisable ler. coz it will forfeit the purpose of babe safe mattress then.

Hey mummies! Sorry can't turn up tdy.....was having a headache because not enough sleep. My mum woke me up by coming to my house at 7:30am! Passed me some documents so that I can do e-filing for her

Thanks for your concern Chris! You mummies had fun chit chatting? Ermm how come 4 person onli ...

Yo kk,
Congrats leh! Can see your girl this coming Friday!
Me too....heard that induction is painful.....especially the drip! Yeekkkss....
Sorry sorry I have needle phobia

Hi Milo,

My girl is around 3 kg today

She is very healthy now, that's why the gynae tell me to go for induced labour, rather than wait till EDD when it might be risky especially if my BP still remain on the high side, although he has prescribed HBP medicine for me.

Hi Qoosan,

My BP is around 140/92 today. Actually it has always remained on the high side like 130 something/80 something. Dunno why leh.. wonder whether it is due to stress at work

i am in my 37th week this coming week so can induce liao. Ya, for ur case, probably got to wait for another week to make the decision?

Oh actually CTG is not uncomfortable. Just happen that i am down with serious heartburn this morning and lying down for 1 hour is a torture for me
U haven't been on CTG scan yet ya? Dun worry, CTG is nothing
u can just lie down and perhaps fall into a sleep :p

Sigh, i told my hubby dunno i can sleep well these few nites or not.. worried about the pain i will face this friday

yikes KK. My sil went for induced labor. She said VERY PAIN and she keep stressing to me, do not let your gynae induce! Go natural! less pain!

Sorry to barge in like that, ladies. Dunno where and how to start. I'm due end may
now 33-34 weeks.