(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Annie

Dun say too soon!!! Once you lay eyes on your baby, u dun even wan to let him out of your sight!
kao_love.gif

My last term of pregnancy, I love everything with milk & creamy..

teenoyl,

that wat alot of my friends said too! hubby and i were planning to go bkk in oct but was advised against cos they say wont bear to leave bb behind so till now dun dare to book.

annie,

being a SAHM doesnt mean will become yellow face woman wat.. it depends on how u maintain ur image

for yr information. extract from website

How much sleep does your child need?

As a new parent, that's probably one of your biggest questions. Below are some general guidelines as to how many hours of sleep the average child requires at various ages. Of course, every child is different X some need more or less sleep than others.

Age Nite X Sleep Day X Sleep * Total
1 month 8 1/2 7 (3) 15 1/2

3 months 10 5 (3) 15

6 months 11 3 1/4 (2) 14 1/4

9 months 11 3 (2) 14

12 months 11 1/4 2 1/2 (2) 13 3/4

18 months 11 1/4 2 1/4 (1) 13 1/2

2 years 11 2 (1) 13

3 years 10 1/2 1 1/2 (1) 12

* number of naps in parentheses for ( )

Keep in mind that most children need lots of sleep. Often, if a child has poor sleep habits or refuses to go to bed before 11 o'clock at night, his parents will think that he just doesn't need a lot of sleep. That's probably not true X in fact, it's likely that such a child is actually sleep-deprived. To see whether your child falls into that camp, ask yourself these questions:

Does your child fall asleep almost every time he's in a car?
Do you have to wake your child almost every morning?
Does your child seem cranky, irritable, or overtired during the day?
On some nights, does your child seem to "crash" much earlier than his usual bedtime?
If you answered "yes" to any of these, your child may be getting less sleep than he needs. To change this pattern, you'll need to help him develop good sleep habits and set an appropriate bedtime. That way, you can make sure he gets all the sleep he needs.

As he gets older, your child will probably stop napping and start doing all of his sleeping at night. Children in nursery and infant school still need up to 10 or 11 hours of sleep a night, but that amount will gradually decrease. By the time he's a teenager, your child will need only about nine or 10 hours of sleep per night.

milo 66,

thats true, but without earning own income, have to look at hubby's face.. i don't feel secure with this.

Oh! you are going to BKK, i had booked to go on National day. Surprise! all my colleagues said that they can't believe i dare to go alone with my hubby and leave my baby with my in law.

Hmm.. i feel that i would be more unbearable if my boy grow up older a bit. At least, 3 mths plus still can bear to leave away for few days.. worst make calls back every day.. Pray hard, i wont be crying. My hubby is happy with the booking.. dont know how he will feel as the days come. haha

teenoyl,
Haha.. my gfs told me so, they don't bear to leave their babies.. but, i dont like baby so maybe i m the weird one.hahah..

just got back fm weekly routine checkup this evening.
Did swap test today and dun feel painful leh, feel more like pap smear

Also did CTG and gynae unhappy with bb heartbeat, he is very excited and active today not sure why. Now got to redo again tis Sat.

Gynae also schedule detail scan for me next week to check on bb actual weight. he put on 300g again tis week. Hugh chance of going c-sect liao. Sigh!

Has anyone tried perineal massage yet? I got my hubby to do it last nite, cos my OB/GYN in the US here do not do episiotomy routinely, except in rare circumstances (not that I want her to do it anyway). So I am trying all I can to prevent a tear.

Anyway, I don't know whether hubby did it correctly. There was a stinging and burning sensation, which was what was supposed to happen. And I felt a lot of pressure. I'm not sure whether the massage would really help in the delivery, but I thought it was good that it helped me get familiarised with the sensation of the baby pushing on the cervix. Maybe some of you might want to try it out. I'll probably ask hubby to do it everynite till I pop.

morn!

wanted to share a piece of my good news..keke.. jus called the clinic this morn, was told that both my GBS and glucose test results came back alright! so happy! haven had a good news for a long time liao, everything i very sway. hopefully next visit, kaeden has turn *cross my fingers*

anyone notice that their discharge is getting more? seems like mine is alot. have to keep changing liner every few hrs

Milo
I was browsing thru the marketplace and saw this lady asking u to sell the BW + inserts at rediculously low price!! I almost buey tahan wanna bash her there... but scared people say me kaypoh lah... :p But anyway, dun sell to her! >(

Sorry ah...I really kaypoh...

hi CP,

i dun intend to do perineal massage. just let nature take its course cos regular massage does not guarantee no need for episiotomy.

milo,

good to hear your test results came out fine. i also have heavier discharge since start of 3rd trimester.

annie,

hope you are feeling better today?

ss1,

ya i saw also.. dunno wat to say so never reply. tot i selling 1 bumwear + 2 inserts @ $30 already consider quite a good price since its brand new still got ppl wanna slash down somemore..sigh..

annie/anastasia,

okie..glad to hear that its normal..can finally anxin abit

Hi Annie,

I dun mind being a SAHM heee.. i tell my hubby buy more toto.. if strike then i stay home liao.. face yellow also never mind.. can enjoy life haha...

Hi Milo,

Congrats on ur good news!!

Hi twinkle starry,

BB active no good?? Or by now the bb should have engaged and not create too much movements?? Which week are u in now?

i find my bb still very very active kicking away every day.

I dun have much discharge. When u all say heavier, i not sure how heavy is heavy heeee.. but to me, seems normal compared to before.

Hi Taurus,

Would like to check do u feel any difference before and after baby engaged? today i feel my groin and pte area painful and very sore , not sure why , this is definitely worse than last week, wonder does it mean baby trying to engaged.

Twinkle starry,

I feel heavier and heavier everday.. it is like bb crushing down. The sharp pain at pte area getting more frequent, but it comes and goes. Sometimes the tightening of tummy become so intense i ta bolek tahan.

anastasia,
Thanks for yr concern. I choose to go back to work cos time pass easily when you have things to do... n foc air con

kk,
Really depend on individual person, maybe for your case, will have it or not, since yr EDD is on 1st May.

KK,

bb active good but heartbeat cannot be too fast leh. heart beat fast can easily contribute to high blood pressure and hypertension. so hope yday he is just excited.

I am now in 37 wks and he is big big at 3.3kg liao and not engaged yet. Partly also scared he no space liao and heartbeat fast like does not match leh

Hi twinkle-starry,

I think the major difference is the sharpe pain at the Pte area ... especially when walking halfway ... will suddenly feel the sharp pain and have to slow down my pace or rest for a while .... only experience this recently and gynae commetned tt becoz BB engaged liao ...so pressing down there ...

I also find tt I can eat more recently ... gyane also say becoz BB engaged ... he moves downwards ...so I got more space and hence better appetite ...

Another difference is I can sleep better ... before BB wont never allow me to sleep on my sides ... I can only sleep face up which is causing much pain to my lower back ... but whenever I try to sleep on my sides... BB will kick real hard till I change my position ... but recently dun feel much resistance from BB and can sleep throgh the night on my side without much protest from BB except a few light punches .... kinda pity my poor BB ...kekek... but I can sleep better ...

tks Taurus,

sound like i am in the process of all these. he still not engaged yet and u r right i can never sleep on my sides.

ss1,

it is really none of your problem...
it just a gave and take thing.. if milo do not intend to sell it to me then it is ok with me.i just trying my luck only. other mummies can still buy it from her.

taurus,
Oh! yes, my boy still not engaged. That's explain why i alway feel breathless and can't eat especially during lunch time..

Hopefully, 17 appointment, he will be engaged.. haha

1 curious question:
I used to cross my leg when sitting. Even now at 3rd tri.. Habit already.. But this morning, in the MRT, got 1 ahpek pointed at me sitting and show a "no-no" sign..
nono.gif
- like this lor..

Eh.. Cannot sit cross legged hah?

hi teenoyl,

my mum also told me not to cross leg or sit on the floor. I also never ask her the reason. Very cute leh got ahpek tell u this in MRT

teenoyl,
wah! your baby dont kick you meh? For me, i don't do that after i knew myself pregnant. Occassionally, i tried to do so, but my son will kick me.
Shouldn't sit leg crossed since you are already in e late stage.

Aiyah! Like I said habit already lah! When baby kick I uncrossed, a while later forgot den crossed again (eh sounds like Basic Instinct!!).

But anyone knows y or not? But hor.. that ahpek look serious leh.. I dun even dare to show that "mind ur own biz" face to him!!

hmm...sharp pain means baby is engaged? i do feel twinges of pain at pelvic area these few days. my appetite is good on certain days but i eat less on other days.

my baby also kick real hard when i sleep on my sides, especially when i am on my left. but i still avoid lying on my back since that is the worst position.

hi teenoyl,

i think it is because crossing your legs reduce blood circulation to your legs and feet. and that is a no especially for pregnant women who are more prone to leg cramps.

Abt engage:

I read somewhere saying dat to know whether baby already engaged or not :

Stand up straight. Peer down your leg (don't bend hor), if u can see ur feet, meaning the baby has already engaged!

Taurus can u experiment and let me know if theory is rite?

Updating..

Nicholas has to go to KKH due to high level of jaundice...
Might need to hospitalise for today for treatment..

My hub is calling every parent he knows!!
kao_frustrated.gif
Asking whether my confinement is causing the high level of jaundice. Now I have to make choices.
1) Don't eat ginger, continue breastfeed.
2) Do my confinemnt, eat ginger, dun breastfeed.
Well..I chose (1). I will rather breastfeed my son, stupid traditions.

(Grumbling) If I have a choice, I will breastfeed and DONT DO CONFINEMENT at all. Its Singapore, weather is damn hot, I'm sweating buckets at home. Can't do this, can't do that, can't carry baby too long cos strain back, can't bath (damn smelly).

My MIL is already doing the confinement for me, taking care of baby and doing all the housework. If I dun breastfeed my baby, I will not even have the excuse of carrying Nicholas.

Yet I felt guilty for letting MIL do so many things, so I keep quiet about the confinement issues.

I'm going a bit crazy.. Feel like crying every night..

Shouldn't all new mothers concentrate in taking the babies?? Why let traditions have so many don'ts? Didn't all the non-chinese mothers have healthy life BY NOT DOING CONFINEMENT??

I'm not upset about the confinment.. I'm upset about not breastfeeding my son. My hub wants me to stop these few days...

Yet I dun want to argue with him, cos he is already so stressed up

Anastasia, Twinkle

Oh yes! Now I rmbr.. My mom always remind me when sitting, plant both legs on the floor, never hang loose.. Must have got something to do with circulation, I guess. (Or baby inside feel place too cramp, like kena squash).

Hi teenoyl,

Hmm... interesting theory ... i tried but I think tummy too huge ...cannot see any other thing except my big tummy ....kekekek ... but I think its mummy's instinct ... you will feel some differences once BB engage ... tts why I keep telling hubby tt I think BB engaged liao ..then he say no need to guess lah ... go gyane there to scan can liao ...then when I was at gynae's place.... she tells me yes ...BB engaged liao ... so happy tt I guessed correctly...kekek

Hi Ray,

There's another alternative ... tt is to breastfeed your BB before you take your dinner ... if not you can express out your breast milk first before taking your meal ....

ray,

any idea how long nicholas has to stay in hosp?

dun feel too sad, think its rather common for bb to suffer from high level of jaundice
u must take care of yourself as well cos during confinement is the only time to 'bu' back. perhaps u can try to pump out first before having ur meal.

u got buy the herb for bathing? must bath else recently weather so hot + so many discomfort will be very peh chek.

every one is stress up cos still getting use to life with a newborn. must jia you! soon it will be us entering this phase of motherhood, that time u must give us encouragement also

Hi Ray,

Like Taurus and Milo mentioned if u r concern w ginger in your meal, express it out or feed baby before yr meal.

i remember in Mrs Wong's class , she mentioned ginger dun affect jaundice. You may want to call TMC Parentcraft -Mrs Wong to check on your concern.

dun get too upset. seek more opinion and u may feel better. Jia Yu

Hi milo,

Nicholas have to be hospitalised for 3 days..

I'm not bathing.. only using very hot water and towel to clean myself 2 times a day. Cos I'm a bit confused by nurse instructions. She said I have to keep my C-section wound dry and clean, yet to remove bandage only at the 4th week.

Sorry to all, if I sound stressed up and affect you.. I'm just so frustrated.

C-section also have medications to take to encourage healing. Why medications will not affect the breastfeeding and ginger will?

Despite all, its always a blessing to see your baby smile back at you after each session of breastfeeding.

I dun care about myself.. I will just stop taking ginger, throw away all the supply. Wait for Nicholas to be back home and continue my breastfeeding. A stubborn mom.

Hi twinke-starry,

I know ginger will not affect. But try telling to all the doctors in Singapore... they must have the same understanding and practise. Some docs said will, some said won't. The docs in Polyclinic said will not affect, after hub asked 2 different docs. Hub asked his friend, his friend said his baby doc said ginger wil affect the jaudice.

Elderly ppl will say dun breastfeed.

Milo,

Wat i mean is about the bathing.. how to keep the wound clean and dry if I used herb water to bath?? Cos I can only remove the bandage after 4 weeks. I can't be possibly opening and closing the bandage each time.. the hospital did not give me any thing to clean wound.

Ray,
No worry. Nicholas will recover after the light shine on her for few hours.
U eat ginger? should not! tell yr mil not to add so much, just 1 or 2 slice into the food, cos ginger is v high content for that.
hmm.. yr hubby n yr in law might want you to rest to regain yr health. Cos, it's really important to do a well confinement then you wont suffer when you reach old age.
No cry, dear..

Ray,

yup some doctors hv different opinion and old folks dun encourage breastfeeding.

Just do what u think is right is more impt. Even new mummy must be happy too

Hi Ray

Do take a break as you are near just suffering from the fact that the baby is not with you. Bathing is a personal choice. I bathed everyday and washed my hair too when I was doing confinement for my no 1... dont be too stressed by all this. Do talk to people.It helps.

Engaged baby
Yicks my little Si'en is engaged. Opps she is only at 34 weeks plus!!! horrors of horrors. She better come at 37 weeks plus as I am too worried for her to come early. Last check she is 2.5 kg at 34 weeks still seem a little small to be born.

ray,

its ok. we are all here to encourage each other

i think in the pharmacy they do sell waterproof plaster.

Ya Ray,

Don't get so worked up ok? Relax......relax......Be careful not to develope post-natal blues.....
I am sure baby Nicholas will feel better after his hospital stay alright?

Just eat the ginger in moderation? Not too much and not too little..

One question for those MTBs who bought the Watson disposable panties...

Which type did you buy? I saw two types:

-maternity
-normal paper panties with sizes. And what size do we need to buy?

fates,

i bought the maternity type. But i think have to go home and try it on after hearing what you all say abt the size....

When i went for my checkup last wk, i ask my obs if my baby has engaged. he said not yet. He said normally for 1st child, they will engaged earlier, but baby may not be out so soon. But for 2nd one, once engaged, may deliver quite soon. Dunno how true.

Anyway ladies, can i have the conatct no. of the mommy who is organising this sat's lunch? I cannot confirm now, if last min i can make it, can i sms u?

Ray

Dont be upset, its very common that babies have jaundice. Normally after 1-2 days, Nicholas will be able to discharge.

Its important you have to be happy not to get post natal blues. I can imagine if u dont bath and wash your hair, its so uncomfortable cos i haev been thru that. I remembered telling my hubby last tm that this 1 mth of confinement is worse than the 9 mths i am carrying my child. I felt so fat, ugly and smelly! And i count down every day to my 'shower' day. Thk this time round, I may break the rule abit :p Its the hair i can't stand, for not washing for 10 days.....faint.

Hi Eve, mayb u would like to but the spray for hair since we can't wash. Was told it's a new kind from the old power ones. It'll help keep your hair not oily & clean
Batise hair shampoo

Taurus
Ha!ha!ha! Thxs for experimenting. So the theory is not accurate lah!

Ray
I totally agreed with wat Fates & Eve wrote. So try to relax ok. When u r calm, u tink better and then definitely will make better decision.

Fates
BTW y do we need disposal panties?

HI fates,

I bought the normal but cotton type. NOT Paper type. Its stated as free size and after milo's warning ... I actually tried putting it on yestersday and I must say tt its quite comfy .... and tuck nicely under my tummy ... I am used to wearing low waist panty ... so didnt buy the maternity type

Hi teenoyl,

The purpose for the disposal panties is to prepare for heavy flow right after delivery ... most of the time our panties will get stained .... so just buy disposal type ... wear liao can throw away ... especially during confinement .... we are not suppose to do any washing ... so who can we ask to wash our stained panties??? kekek