(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Yes there is. Check this out:
http://www.desitin.com/en/?dsp=20&psp=22

Hmmm Guardian or most pharmacies should have the Desitin original

Hi fates,
they did. I had this problem, thats y the first trimster i got to have injection every week, and NOW again. It hurts man.
I have been on iron pills since 2nd trimster. My hubby keeps telling me that i am weak. So sickening,

I got th desitin creams before kena bitten by the BW bug ma.

Desitin ointment is very sticky and difficult to aply and wash off. Its applied for curing nappy rash. The creamy one is easir to apply and wash off. Its for prevention.

Other than Strep-B, what was the other routine test to be done around 35-37 weeks ha? I remember 1 of the of the mom mentioned, about some infection that can cause brain damage to baby.
My gynae like very chi-chye leh. Must remember to ask him this friday.

hey girls,
i saw the carters rompers BP. Not going for it...cos bumwear means should 'show it off'...so, bought a few more tops yesterday! haha...

I bought two tubes of drapolene nappy rash cream fr NTUC when they have disc alrdy. not going to buy the desitin one then...quite ex!! btw, on nappy rash...should we still be putting nappy rash cream on baby's bum even if we cloth diaper them??? 2nd time mummies???

and yes, i will be trying bumwear only fr 2nd month on....

i am very tempted to join the Signing Times BP...friend intro me to it...says v good...even better than Baby Einstein (which Mrs Wong fr TMC doesn't hv such favourable things to say..., in fact, she says all tv no good for kids..hahah..)..but i also scared liao...no money alrdy...

yes, fairysnowberry...i did my 3D scan at clinic itself...her new machine jus arrived...and yes, baby's perpetually in legs and hands fold over face position so can't get v clear pics but quite interesting lah, really.

chris,

i am thinking gathering this Sat. Maybe some mummies will be early, so end of the month may be too late.

How? On?

bookworm,

Just hang on there, you already reach late stage.. u have our support..
dun worry too much. My gynea is those v chi-chye person, so he oso didnt check on me..

Can anyone share with me what FM you intend to give your babies?

I really have no slightest idea whats good but of course I will try BF my baby for as long and as much as I can.. Just to be on stand-by..

came back from my gynae checkup. did CTG, swab test, check for anemic, check for growth and took another tube of blood again
bb at 33w3d is est to be 2.1 kg. doc say everything is ok now waiting for blood test and swab test result.

tot all this are happening at a later date. anyone did all these as well?

ss1,

keke okie.. think i get 1 more tube will do.. thks for helping me save $$. already contacted the seller. will do the exchange this friday with her lor..

fates,

heng got u to remind me.. ya hor, if wear BM how to wear romper huh??? ok think can forget abt the romper for the time being since i gotten quite a no liao.

hi chris,

your ikea cot is already assembled? is the height adjustable? does it come with mattress and bedsheet? what colour is it? how much are you willing to sell it for?

pardon me for the many questions.

teenyl,

i bought a small tin of similac excellence for 'jus in case'. this brand and enfalac a+ seems like the best ard but think still need to depend on wat is suitable for our bb.

hi teenoyl,

i also intend to BF my baby for as long as i can. for the brand of FM, i will see what TMC provides for baby during hospital stay. my friend mentioned to me TMC gives out samples of FM.

not sure if the hospital you are delivering in hands out samples.

Ivy,

This Sunday lunch can or not?? I don't mind meeting up since the last time we met is a few months back!

RE: FM
Hmmmm don't intend to buy so early. Think hospital will give samples? If no BF then will just ask hubby for buy Enfa milk.

bookworm,
did you ask yr gynea abt it? I mean if you dun go for the jab for e infection?

teenoyl,
I brought 1 can of Dumex for Nb bb just in case. Cos, hosp will give bb 2 drink FM since we dun have milk 1st few days. All i know, MT A will give 1 can of FM foc when discharge, hence, i will get the hospital to let my boy drink Similac first.
Heard from my colleagues who used Similac stated that baby has a lot of stool.. hehe.. anyway, first few days, the nurse will do e job.

hei anastasia,
>your ikea cot is already assembled?
yes
>is the height adjustable?
no. there are 3 ways tho. baby cot mid way, all-the-way-low and junior bed *haha...hope u can understand*

>does it come with mattress and bedsheet?
Yes...I paid for mattress. No bedsheet.

>what colour is it?
walnut colour.

>how much are you willing to sell it for?
I paid 221.25 for everything - cot 125, mattress 50, delivery 40 n assembly 6.25. can give u receipt to prove. i cannot say how much i want to let it go for cos transportation of the cot is a problem. if u can provide own tpt, maybe can be lower. i am happy to negotiate with geuninely interested frens. sigh-mil so fussy -sian.

haven't taken photo of it but will do so should anyone be interested.

Maybe we can meet at United Square and in the mean time collect Bumwear there? Just a suggestion lah... :p

Anyone interested in this talk?
2pm: 8 April & 22 April: Gentle Birth
Two sessions - 2 hours per session
Cost: $150 per couple

Refreshments included during the break
Notes included

Places are limited on a first-come-first-served basis as the class size is deliberately kept small to facilitate learning.

To register, please call Pat Chong at 97778100 or email her at [email protected]

About the Course - Learn about:

What is a gentle birth?
Benefits of a gentle birth
The pelvis
Stages of labour
Hormones in labour
Pain in labour
Drugs in labour pros and cons
Pethidine
Nitrous oxide

Non-drug methods for pain management
Relaxation exercises
Positions for 1st stage labour
Positions for 2nd stage labour
Episiotomies
Delayed cord clamping vs immediate cord clamping
3rd stage labour
Cascade of intervention
The baby at birth
Pat Chong is an independent childbirth educator. She is the mother of five. She has attended several workshops on active birth in Australia and is now taking the Graduate Diploma in Childbirth Education from Birth International, Australia, the first fully accredited course in the world on childbirth education.

http://www.ebizmoms.net/index.html

hi chris,

thanks for reply.

i can arrange for own tpt. i suppose it can fit into a van, right? a photo will be good but perhaps you want to let me know how much you want to sell it first. you can email me at [email protected]

FM on standby

I bf no 1 for some time and did not have any fm on standby as I intended to bf him as long as I could. If you have fm on standby its easier to give up on bf. I am just sharing my thoughts. After about 2 weeks, i did introduce fm to my no 1 ... this was after stablising the bm ss and of course by then i was tired out and wanted to rest longer for the night.

chris,

next sat is our neighbours' gathering! You forgot? Alamak! Must remember to prepare food, where got time to go hi-tea?

Fates,
Next Sunday, 16th is okie for me.
Girls, add your names to the list:

Gathering, 16th Apr Sun
1) Fates
2) Ivy
5)

Hi milo,

Did your gyane say wat is the blood test for?? And wat does CTG test check for ?? Issit something like wat we did during the 20 wks scan?? My gyane only did a detail scan for me at wk 32 and the swab test at wk 35 ...but did not do any blood test ley...

teenoyl,

talking abt FM, i did a small survey at cold storage last night. I always tot that Dumex is much cheaper than Similac. But turn out that the price diff for a 900g tin is less than 3 bucks. I think i will get a tin of similac at home for standby, in case i am sick or no bf ss.

taurus,

CTG is to check the BB's heartbeat and movements. Its not the same as the 20 week detailed scan. They will strap your belly and monitor for an hour.

hi taurus,

the blood test to actually to check how well i control my glucose level though i have been self monitoring it at hm once a week.

the CTG check is like wat ivy has mentioned. to check bb heartbeat and movement. will have to do it every 2 weeks since i am sort of 'diabetic'

did ur gynae tell u anything abt ur week 32 detailed scan? mine still in breech position leh. buttocks down but gynae say normal at this stage, will check again 2 weeks later

Can call up Friso. I think they give 1 big tin of formula from NB onwards. Most other brands only give free sample for stage 2 suitable for 6 months onwards.

My Zach drinks any brand, so it's quite easy for us.

Scott
I find the Mamil nite not really effective leh... My boy still wakes up in the nite when he's on Mamil nite.

hi Milo,

My gynae told me tt my BB already in head down position during 28 wk.... but during 32 wk he moves up again ... then my recently 35 wks scan showed tt BB head down again but not engaged ... so hopefully he dun turn up again ...8) ... going for my wk 37 checkup next week ... cannot believe tt the big day is just a few weeks away ... excited and also gan cheong ...dunnoe wat to expect ...8)

My 1st, no standby milk cos I very confident can bf. Came back from hospital, kalang kabut cos no milk to feed.. So I dowan to repeat same mistake

Formula Milk on Stand-by:
1) Milo66 - Similac Excellence / Enfalac A+
2) Fates - Enfa
3) Annie - Similac / Dumex (NB)
4) Ivy - Similac
5) Gabby's Mum - Total BF

scott,

was trying to cater to majority who can make it mah...Try to make it on 16th, you can ask your hubby to take care of son?
This month's weekend is the last of few that we can go out! Must make use of it, confinement month will be everyday family day liao...haha...

teenoyl,
u did a great job.. yap..

think the best is that depend yr baby body system, whether got constipation or not, some milk powder is quite heaty.
For similac is best for constipation baby, help to smooth the stool.

Oppss...it's me lah scott! I can't make it on either Saturdays because of antenatal classes

Somemore 14th April is Good Friday mah, so thought Sunday is good enough? hee..

Gathering, 16th Apr Sun
1) Fates
2) Ivy
3) Scott
5)

Annie
Actually many ppl I knew suggest Nan or Mamil Gold. They said it suits Asian babies better but after reading the reply, guess that Similac is more popular here..

ss1, the name Pat Chong sounds very familiar. I heard of that name before when I read someone's birth story but I can't think of where I read it. Aiyoh...really bad my memory these days !

Milo and fates, my sister -in-law's twins wear rompers with their Bumwears with no problem.

Formula -- I will have no standby. I MUST be successful in breastfeeding! If my sister-in-law can breastfeed her twins exclusively for 6 months, I should be able to feed my one single baby!

scott,

let's see who else is on for the gathering. Then we will decide on location based on majority. Throw up some makan place ideas now! Yummy! Food food....

Desitin-
Chris,really ha? I stay in Tampines, work in AMK, how?

FM-
I didn't get any FM standby cos my ante-natal instructor says that NB can go without milk/food
for 2-3 days. Its ok, if we don't produse milk for the first few days.

Breast Pump to hospital-
also, its not necessary to pack breast pump to haspital. Try to latch on baby and introduse bottle onlt after 1st month. If not, baby have nipple confusion.

Carters romper-
i bought a few packs of rompers from mother care already, thats why can resist the BP. Moreover, try to get tops / rompers with front opening/buttons. If not, its difficult to wear.

Mae,
You poor girl. You must be in a lot of peer pressure. Your SIL sound like a super Mom. Its not healthy to compare leh (but difficult to tell your MIL, right?).

fates

Wow.. another gathering.. kekeke remember to bring camera hor.. Last round none of us brot..
Too bad I can't join leh... hmmm.. so sianz.

Fates

Most likely can join unless something comes up...

Gathering, 16th Apr Sun
1) Fates
2) Ivy
3) Scott
4) SS1
5)

Sook
Maybe we meet at your place lah... settle the meeting place plus u get to join us!

Little Nana,

When you're back next time, we have a gathering again. This time, with our little ones!!

zach's mum...

Ya manz... must hve gathering with our little ones.. kekeke... Imagine us feeding our bbs.. kekeke must be reali interesting!! Remember hor take pix and share with me ya..

teenoyl,
of cos similac is more popular in singapore. They alway change the packaging n then increase the price. Everything with new "thing" added in.. stated to be good for baby..
Moreover, similac milk helps 2 ease constipation and smooth soft stool, hence, easier for baby to struggle out there.
You can go to the website to join as member, so that if you buy similac on line, at least, can earn some points, such points can redeem sample.
Personally, i had condense milk instead of normal formula milk when i was a baby. I will judge whether my boy can drink milk or have to be soya form or bean form (if baby is allergy to milk form).

Like to check whether can we still eat "Bu" tonic at the last mth pregancy? I was told by medicial hall that all "BU tonic" has to stop and only can intake bird nest during the last mth pregancy.. is it true?

Another query, i have been drinking the "A" brand milk meant for pregant woman, however, i only left 1/2 can 2 go. I wonder can I drink cont. after delivery if i buy another new can and have remain? Cos, i saw this A brand got 2 ranges, 1 for pregant woman and the other one is for breastfeeding.

Ya sook,
Like what SS1 had suggested, maybe we can go to your place!! Hahaa... on second thoughts maybe not as you need rest

By the way what happened to you huh? I forgot....

Little Nana,
We will do another gathering when you're back? That is, if MTBs here are free :p

Annie,
Hmm you referring to ANMUM? Finish the half can now? If not ask your hubby to help you finish it

hey all,

i think next time when our little ones are out, we can arrange a small pot luck at one of our hse. that would be so fun with all the bb ard.. machiam playgroup cum mummies gathering session