(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi chris,
hehehe...anyway, it's just something commented by my colleague. I bought all the nappies already...so i dun tink i will be splurging on bumwear...(at least not for now) ;-P

btw, for maternity pads, did u buy the adhesive kind or the loop kind? Am still figuring how on earth do we wear the loop type of pad.

did u buy any nursing bra from mothercare? They are having a sale on selected size. Got mine at $39 (original px is $49).

just went for my gynae check-up. apparantly, i'm in my 33 wks and my baby weighs 2.2kg. BB has turned downwards...Gynae commented that it's actually quite ok for us to pop after 34 weeks...omg...it's like reality check for me now...

hi ydnic,
i also ordered a cot from BB Kingdom! Think i betta check with them on Monday.

hi raccoon,
not sure whether u faced the same problem as me. i got quite annoyed when i din received those sales mailers too so i went to call robinsons/john little up. Apparantly, they will look at your spendings for the past 6 months and u must be the main cardholder. for me, i was a sup card member...so even if i spend, they won't record it under the main sub card member...that's why i din receive the mailers. such a joke rite? crazy policy.

I bought one pack of those loop maternity pads jus to be safe....dun noe how to wear them too but my sis advised me that they are necessary *disregarding how to wear them* cos of their thickness and that we will need them at least for 1st few days/1st week. so, have stocked up on 2 packs of those adhesive ones and then the rest of those normal ones...

Advertising for myself - have a brand new IKEA cot for sale. Sigh...THose who remembers...I bought one during the recent sale and...*wah lau - slap forehead*...my MIL dun like it! After all that trouble, delivery and assembly! Really frustrated but what to do so if anyone of you May MTBs still looking for a cheap cot...let me know...we can negotiate k? My mother has a cot, I have a hand-me-down and now, MIL wants to go choose and buy her own cot. *boiling!*

Dun worry about it, ino..no lah...we are just discussing about Bumwear....since it has never been quite an option for me to cloth diaper baby...but now, after reading so much...I am more and more interested...thinking of increasing my purchase quantity...

milo and fates...you think there might be more rounds of bulk purchase...thinking of trying out 1st then buy despite huge temptation to buy more now...how??? advice?

oh...and on the JL and RObinson's sale...girls...u ain't missing much at all...no worries...only the Robinson's one is more 'worth it' cos it's 20% storewide *except the usual exclusions* but the JL one, at least what I received...is 20% off men, ladies and children's apparel...really no deal.

I agree with my sis...that after we set up, into 1st month or so *by then will be GSS*...we will be in better idea as to what we need and then, will have sale then go buy lor. hee.

wah chris,

so your cot is being a white elephant in St George's? =P
Maybe i chk with my hubby and see how? We bought a playpen for st george but my mum hate the dark blue color...*faint*

hi ino,

I'm not the card holder. It's my sis, she is a main card holder and she always update me and we go shopping together. in fact, we have been buying baby stuffs together, she just gave birth 4mths back. heee..i'm not sure if it's random, cos she received Robinson 21st mar mailer but not 7th mar mailer. anyway, i also spend and bought a lot liao over the last 2 wks:p if i see more discount, will be very "dui".

hi chris,
the loop maternity pads need to be worn with a belt. r u intending to breastfeed? my sis just gave birth and used less than 5 pcs of normal pads as she attempted to bf since day 1 and menses came light for the 1st few days and none since then. hence, i din bother to stock up at all.

haha...ivy..indeed...if ur mum might be interested in the cot...it will be fantastically win win...of cos if your mum may be vaguely interested, will arrange for her to go see look without my mil around to add in her negative 5 cents worth....nyuknyuknyuk.....thanks, dear.

hei raccoon....i know it's to be belted...but as all first-time-mothers might ask...u mean...normal belt ah??? *hahahha*...yes, i def hope to breastfeed...i guess your sister got it lucky...indeed, difficult to predict how blood flow will be like after birth...keeping fingers crossed. sigh.

Chris, your MIL so fussy huh? *faint*
Tell her bought already so just close one eye loh......tsk tsk tsk~

Same like you, I ever thought of increasing my order for Bumwear, but after checking out whoopeekiddies.com, decided to 'spread my investment'! Hahaa..Mommy's Touch one-size pocket diaper seems good and there's soooo many selection of cute colours!!

Ayoh, i kena bitten by the Bum Wear bug. Ordered 2 diapers (1 for me 1 for my SIL) in the previous BP. Now so tempted to get more. Based on the BW experts, it seems should get at least 10 diapers! Huge unvestment leh. But so tempted due the 20% disc. How? Should we approach Lynnette and ask her to organise another BP later, after we test drive the BW?

hei fates,
indeed....i cannot believe my mil...what to do...hubby n i quite mad...but if she refused...what can we do...*wah lau*...

hey...about whoopeekiddies...they are the distributor for fuzzi buns ah? aiyoh...i jus went to see look the website...quite exp hor...if not for bumwear bulk purchase, i really sim tia.
yes, Sook...I also bitten by the bug! Haha...yes, let's do another BP later lah...so, really...are there die-hard bumwear users such that they think bumwear best...fuzzi buns leh??

another question for 2nd time mummies...how many sets of 0-3mths clothes do u mummies think is sufficient for newborn??? I jus did reality check...going to wash them and realise...i did not buy many...cos i think will move on to 3-6mths v soon....please advise. thanks.

sook,
Oh you bought from the earlier BP huh? hee hee....honestly, one diaper like not enough rite? I guess Lynnette will organise another BP since it's so popular

Chris,

Yup! They are the distributor for FB! It's abit more ex than BW but I heard it's better too leh...downside is FB comes in different sizes..that's why I will try out the BW first, then if good will buy FB M size

My other option is Mommy's Touch! Same as BW, it's one-size-fits-all. I will buy it most probably next week. They have 10% discount so not so bad lah

chris,

i was told to have abt a dozen fo the 0-3 mths clothes cos they will need to change 3-4 times a day. But you have a dryer at home, so if not enough, its okie cos you can wash and dry pretty quick.
I also too KS, bought a lot of after 3 mths kind, but i think shld have some pass me downs for the NB clothes...

I just went to collect from lynette. Very nice lady. After her explanation, hubby is a BW convert too. He said one each for me and SIL won't be enough. I was so shocked when he suggested getting 10!!!.
I asked Lynette whether she'll be organising anothr BW BP next month. She haven't given me a clear answer leh. Maybe, it depends on Rita. My guess is too many moms gate-crash and 'harrass' Rita. I appreciate that its not easy to organise BP too. Kowtow to Lynette. I have ever tried to organise an itsy-bitsy group buy before and i lose my patience (and nearly my sanity)liao.
One of Lynette's advise is try to start with total BW as soon as possible. Cos, once MIL or maid got used to disaposal diapers, difficult to barin wash them on the goodness of BW.

Hi, everyone I'm back ! Wow, so many messages after me not logging in for so many days.

Fates, my edd is 26 May and my gynae is Paul Tseng. Nice chap and very relaks one!

Chris, I hardly buy any nb and 3-6 mths clothes. All hand-me-downs. Lots of it !!!!

My baby's head has also turned downwards. Yippee !

Loop maternity pads...no lah I dowan those. The hospital will provide some, rite ? The most I will just buy those extra long and extra wide nite pads.

Bumwear -- wah...so many orders already !! Didn't know got so many Bumwear fans. I showed my sister in law the whoopee kiddies website to get her opinion on the Mommy's Touch diapers and you know what she said "why so many buttons ? when the baby poo poo, you want to get the diaper off fast. You don't want to fiddle with so many buttons". I never thought of that

She too has FBs but she said she prefer her BWs. Said something about the BWs laminated fabric also done in the USA so what's the big deal about FBs being made in the USA ? Wah...I think got another BW fan here, heh heh :)

But I think the main reason is that BWs is the cheapest of all the modern cloth diapers we can get here. With the bulk discount price of $20, it's $7 cheaper than Mommy's Touch (even at 10% cheaper now). I was sooooo tempted to get MT but after my sister-in-law's remarks about so many buttons, I'm rethinking that one.

Am I the only one with no cot ? I'm breastfeeding the baby so I thought of letting the baby sleep with me. No, the baby won't sleep between me and my heavy-snoring hubby. She'll be between me and the wall (our bed is next to the wall)

Coconut juice - should buy the real thing, not can ones I think.

Sorry for the long post! I'm glad to be back !

Wow sook! Now then you collected your BW huh! Hee hee...your hubby so cute...wanna buy 10. When you putting up those 10 diapers orders? Yup I do agree some mummies really spoil the market

Welcome back Mae! Your sis another BW fan eh! Hahaha. With regards to the MT, it's not necessary to button all the snaps together you know, it's a one-size-fits-all concept so there are different ways you can button the snaps to suit a NB's small bum bum to a toddler

hi chris,
woah...why your MIL dun like the cot? she finds it small or issit the colour? mabbe can repaint? i mean...it's such a waste coz it's a brand new cot!

hmm...i tink i will buy the adhesive type of maternity pads...

hi mae,
u under Paul Tseng? did u apply for the TBI card? coz i tink he has some discounts. ;-)

For those TMC mummies, have you all decided on the PD for bb?

Did anyone go for the cordblood banking talk last Sat? How was it?

Mae lim,
Hmm.. i think so.. cos some gals stated they drink can type..
forget whose is it? hahh..
Well, NTUC oso selling the fresh one, thailand young coconut at $1 each.. got fresh inside oso.. but the problem, kind of hard to chop open..

Kind of troublesome, my in law just instructed that since i am going for c-section (if my boy still dun turn). have to find a master and select the date n time for the operation..
Wah! really cant tahan my stupid hubby oso listen to his parent.. stated for baby good life..
Kind of rethink, i was smart to choose my customary marriage date and paid e hotel table reservation fees 1st. Else, sure want us to follow such thing...
Will have to pay extra money to find a master to caculate and oso to the gynea for such special arrangement..

Hi Ino,
BB kingdom supposed to deliver the cot to me on Sat but they call me on friday evening to inform that their shippment has been delayed.N when i bought n paid full that time they say they will reserve one set in the warehouse.Din mention i have to wait for new shipment.haiz...so angry...tot i can decorate my bb room one month+ before my EDD.Now have to wait for another 2 weeks for the delivery.

Annie,

you can use the money meant to buy the milk maker to pay for the master loh. I think the milk machine will be a even bigger waste of $$.

chris and fates,

me also kana the BW bug
added 1 more diaper to my order liao. any idea when is lynette closing the spree? very surprise to see so many ppl ordering

I tried BW on my boy already, not bad!
May buy 1 more diaper, still thinking coz really dunno how many we should invest.

Milo, Chris, etc who are interested in BW:
Maybe you all don't buy too many BW for now till you try on your baby and see if you like it. I'm sure by then, all of us here will be able to gather enough mommies to organise another bulk purchase if Lynette is not starting one then.

Fates,
Thanks for your information. Wah! indeed .. v expensive..already highlight to my hubby. Either he paid for it or he learn... Hahah..

I got a 2.2L flask for my baby from Robinson sales.. quite worth after the 20% discount (letter).. mainly for making formula milk.

ivy,
yap.. indeed.. my parents in law stated that they want to pay for the master fees.. but kind of shame to take their money since only my father in law is still working n mother in law has to pay mthly $400 over for her medicial fees..

Just wonder, why they are so particular on this issue... worst to come, my gynea charges extra for such special arrangement..

I still believe in everyone has its own fate.. how can change such timing, just to ensure to have good life in future.. Everyone has to work hard for their own life..

Hihi Chris,

Ya, any particular reason why yr MIL dun like the cot? Btw, how come u need so many cots? Cos u mentioned u have 1 in yr mum's place, 1 at your own home and 1 at yr MIL's??!!?? I only bought 1 playpen cum cot to be placed at my mom's house since she will be taking care of my BB most of the time when i go back to work and 1 also bought a cot from Robinsons for my own home. But I didnt buy any for my MIL since she wont be taking care of my BB.

Ino, i also just heard all these gushing abt bumwear diapers fr Chris and the rest of the mommies here. Before that, none of my friends mentioned it to me before. I also bought some nappies and some diapers already. Am quite interested in Bumwear from the info gathered here but i find the price quite ex. Dont you think so Chris? Bought Pampers Premium at Carrefour yesterday at $15+ expensive or not huh?

I also bought 1 pkt of adhesive maternity pads from Carrefour yesterday. I dont think the loop type will be v convenient to use (how are we gonna use that? sorrie maybe i sua ku, but dunno why hospitals always state that we shd use loop types). In fact, i was thinking, is there a need to buy maternity pads? Cant we use the pads we usually use? Those for heavy flow days dont suffice?

Hi fairysnowberry,
Re : maternity pads
I used the loop kind when I gave birth to my son. Must say that I expected a heavy flow but to my surprise it was very little more like discharge. I had the discharge till 30 days. A friend of mine had hers for only a week, similar to her mthly period. The loop kind were useful cos it is much softer than the normal pads. This is good since I had stitches...also I cant imagine if I didnt place the adhesive pad properly and end up the wing part stuck to my stitches.......ouch! I'm just exaggerating, dont mind me.

I'm having BK chicken sandwich for lunch, yummy!

mae,

we are seeing the same gynae! yup, paul is the relac kind, like everything also can, no problem.....my friend who is under him also didnt induce her baby though she is 2 days overdue.

Eve, ya, Paul very easy going. Lots of his customers have doulas or birth assistants. I know of someone who goes 1 week+ overdue. Very laid back and hands-off approach. If you gals ever go to the Asia Parents forum where there are a lot of bf-ing, sling-ing and cloth diaper-ing moms (moms who like doing things the "natural" way) you can see that he's by far the most popular gynae there.

fairysnowberry - I also will use pads for super heavy days. in case you're wondering why so many postings about Bumwear, this lady Lynette has organised a previous BP for the Bumwear diapers. Moms who tried it came back with excellent reviews and ordered more - the whole thing spread by word of mouth. Btw, my sister in law also Bumwear fan :)

SS1, Milo, Chris -- check out the Bumwear BP thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/394200.html?1144054457

This is the last time they'll be offering 20% discount :-(

Ino, even though my gynae is Paul, I will deliver at MAH. Like that, TBI got use ?

fates, mae,
It seems this is the last time BP for BW will get 20% off. It's ironical, due to the overwhelming response, BW might even raise their retail price.
So, i'll be getting the additional diapers and inserts now lo. Actualy hubby's idea is to share the 10 diapers with SIL's baby (due 2 months after mine). Both baby will be taken care by my MIL during weekdays.
I was shocked to find out that SIL used the traditional white cloth diapers less than 1 month for her 1st child!! MIL and SIL likes the convenience of disposals. Was glad to get approval/accpetance from MIL yesterday to have to wash the BW.

sook, from her email, I don't think she'll raise her retail price ..... she's basically saying that with her costs rising over the years, if she wants to keep her price at $25, that's why she cannot continue with the 20% discount.

It's good you got your MIL to agree to your baby using Bumwear! Otherwise jialat, if we buy and then they don't use.

Yaloh...and god knows when the BP will close.....maybe Lynette is too busy. I had increased my order by 2 diapers too

Well, even if Rita have no intention to raise the price, the recent postings from pro-BW moms would definitely give her the idea.
I suspect/ think Rita is being discreet. Wouldn't want to be accused of touting for sales by 'threatening' to increase price, right. Anyway, i plunged in already la (before hubby change his mind, haha)

Actually, MIL has been very accomodating. I think she's scared i'll send baby to nanny instead ma.

hi Mae,

The discount is on his consultation fees...if i'm not wrong...u may wish to check it out...not sure whether it's too late...

hi fairysnowberry,
yeah...i also tot it's quite ex...that's why i'm holding off for the moment...will let my bb wear disposables for the 1st month, then progress to nappies...then perhaps to bumwear...

hi there,
has everyone packed their hospital bags already? also, i understand we need to stay in the hospital for at least 2-3 days... (more for c-sec) for those who intend to shower in the hospital, can we simply shower with warm water from the tap? my confinement lady says need to prepare herbs for my showers and the water needs to be boiled, so does it matter if i dun 'follow the rules' for the first few days in hosp?

gummie,
how are u? so u on leave already? so hows yr trip to malaysia shopping?
for c-section (4 days 3 nights).. for natural delivery (3 days 2 nights).
I have brought 20 paxs of herbs for shower purpose..
i think best that you take hot shower in e hosp if u r able to move around.. or used hot towel to clean yr body..
Moreover, air con is on 24 hrs in e hosp.. i dun see tat any difference.. hheeh..

hehe... yes annie, i'm on leave already, waiting to 'pop' only...
i'll be going to KL on thursday, hopefully will be a fruitful trip

i definitely have to shower, just not sure if it's ok to shower without the herbs for the first few days, and whether it defeats the whole purpose of boiling water n using herbs later for subsequent days of confinement out of hosp.

Yo sook, I see you'd reduced your BW order?

gummie,
I haven't pack yet!! Hehe still taking it easy....maybe next week then pack

Hi gummie,

I started to pack my bag last week ..then realised that so many things to pack ...8( ... now looks like I got more than 1 bag ..... kekek...super KS mummy ...

gummie,

me halfway through with packing loh
how many pj u bringing? i bought 2 of those front opening type and bringing some of my normal ones along.

u so early started on your ML liao.. wah envious envious
me cant wait to start too but must finish with my work on hand first before i can run

u all got pack sock as well? heard the delivery suite very cold leh. my friend asked me to bring a bottle of medicated oil as well cos she was feeling faint during her labour and when bb out, she felt like puking upon smelling her bb wor...keke

Thanks Scott for the info! I guess I will go for StemCord too....will need to discuss it over with my hubby again

Taurus,
How come more than 1 bag huh? I keep thinking what to put in the bag leh....

Milo,
HOhohohoho the baby so stink meh??

Your friend so cute..

hi fates,

not sure u need this but tot can share:

Hospital Bag
Gynae's Letter and Blood Test result
Admission Letter
Receipts to claim $450
Chinese Character of Baby
Husband and Wife IC
Marriage Certificate

Camera

Clothes for Discharge
Pyjamas with Front Opening x 4
Maternity Bra / Diposable Undies
Sock x 1

Toiletries - Shampoo / Soap / Toothbrush / Toothpaste / Facial Stuff / Medicated Oil
Maternity Pad
Breast Pump
Breast Pads (Pigeon)
Nipple Cream

Baby's Clothing x 1
Mittens & Booties x 2
Cap x 1
Receiving Blanket x 1
Hanky x 2

fates,

haha i was laughing when i heard this also.. all mummies like very happy to carry the bb in their arms after popping but my friend ask the nurse to take the bb away instead cos she cant stand the smell wor.. keke.. so funnie

Hi fates,

My list almost similar to Milo's .... I put in the maternity pad only already half the bag full... put in the breast pad .... not much space left liao ...

And also hubby will be stayign with me..so also need to pack his clothes ... plus BB's clothes .... really quite alot of things

I brought 4 pairs of socks ....kekek.... KS ...

Hi Milo...

Do we need to bring breast pump there also?? never think of tt ... tot bring our 2 breast can liao..... kekekek ...

Thanks for the list milo!! Hmm so fast must bring the breast pump huh? Won't the hospital has one whereby we can use and try? :p

milo,

wat is the blood test result that we need to bring?

I also packed halfway only cos some of the things are still being used daily now. So i put a post it note outside the bag so that we can just pick and run.