(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi milo,
did your fren apply stretch marks cream? i saw one pix of stretch marks on a pregnant mama and i totally freaked out. tat prompted me to religiously apply stretch mark cream every day...hopefully it works.

hi gummie,
the marks appears during pregnancy. it can appear in all sorta of places e.g. tummy, thighs, breasts, etc. my fren used mustella before. i'm currently using Avent and Elancyl. And yes, Marche serves pizza! So enjoy your pizza cravings. Too bad can't join u gals.

juzmaine,
oh yes, she is.. i meant her 1st bb is a gal, tats y 6kg.. heheh

no worry abt the weight, most important, everyone should worry is the water retention in your body..understand that too high water retention burden kidney and liver function, epecially your body organs already work extra for the forteus

GALS,

Hope this following information helps:
You may notice some mild swelling sometime during your pregnancy, especially in your ankles and feet. It's called edema, and it happens because changes in your blood chemistry cause fluid to shift into your tissue and because your enlarging uterus puts pressure on the veins returning blood from the lower half of your body, slowing circulation in your legs. Edema is often worse at the end of the day and in the summer. Your body will eliminate the extra fluid after you have your baby (which is why you may urinate often and sweat a lot for a few days after delivery). In the meantime, put your feet up when you can, stretch out your legs when you sit, avoid sitting still for long periods, exercise regularly to increase circulation, and wear support stockings (put them on first thing in the morning). You may be tempted to skimp on liquids, but you need to drink plenty of water, because keeping hydrated actually helps prevent swelling. If you notice severe or sudden swelling in your hands and face, be sure to call your midwife or doctor because it may be a sign of a serious condition called preeclampsia.

hello yasmin,

i also have the same 'problem' - always got craving, but after eating halfway / maybe finishing the whole portion, dun want to eat liaoz... hehe... Some cravings of mine (like minestrone soup, lagsania, fish+chips) last longer than others tho, hehe ;p

Also get tired of eating the same thing over & over ... eg cereal for breakfast - nowadayz hardly eat, though i tot i craved for it during first trimester & stored up some boxes, now end up my hubby hv to finish for me, haha

gummie,
i'm chasing rite behind u... now already put on 7+kg. I've been gaining weight since 2nd tri n gynae neber commented on my weight gain leh.
not true leh, my gal also like fast food. Burgers n potatoes are her fav.

Haven't logged in for quite a while. Hope everyone's fine.

I'm in my 23rd week now and am expecting a boy
Fates, please help to update. Thanks.

I've been having lots of cravings too and my cravings are mostly fried stuff which I don't touch at all before preggy. Maybe boys prefer fried stuff...hehe

Has everyone finished shopping for baby stuff?

hello little nana,

maybe u can try mothercare? I bot a pair of maternity jeans fr there during my first trimester - still can wear now. Not the rubber type, but rather expensive tho... ard $100++ [can't remember exact price] ... colleagues who saw me in the pair of jeans didn't noe it was a pair of maternity jeans... ;)

ino,

accordingly to her, she applied twice a day somemore leh.. then jus suddenly towards popping time, all the stretchmark appear, she almost fainted but she say at least she tried her best..

Morning all~

Welcome home Little_Nana!! Do check out Thyme Maternity at United Square or Suntec. I bought a funky jeans there ~

Congrats paradox!! Most baby boys liked fried stuff meh? Maybe I'm weird but so far, no cravings for food yet......just eat whatever when I feels hungry:p

milo, I haven't measure my tummy leh but it sure looks big!

Ydnic and taurus

I was recommended the TOPICREM during my 1st pregnancy, but seems like not alot of places carry it. Tried 1 bot and find it good. Can i know where is your gynae located? Dunno if my gynae carry that.

Stretch mark suddenly appear before i pop last time. Thk intitally when the skin is stretched we cant really see, somemore, we cannot really bend and check out our lower abdominal, thighs, etc. after birth, it will be seen clearer.

Congrats paradox! Another boy to the list... looks liike we're having almost an equal number of boys n girls by now

hey cindy,

your EDD is 2 days b4 me ah? hehe... looks like we can keep a check on each other's progress every now n then :p
then after we deliver, can encourage each other to lose weight and slim down, share tips!

ino,

i tried Elancyl before Mustella. i like the fact it doesnt have a sticky feel like the latter. can put on yr clothes immediately after applying. but i ran out of it and Mustella was selling at the discount then so i bought. btw i cant seem to find Avent at departmental stores, can tell me where u got it? i heard its cheaper too. thanks!

Hi ydnic,

I've check mine.... also 200 ml ... 8( ...dunne how come my gynae clinic charge me so expensive .... will ask them during the next visit ...

Hi milo... me same same also 37" ....8) ...

gals,
yummpie, i thought i m the weird one eating those fried food, burgers and fast food, pizza.. luckily,got gummie and others to accompany me.. my boy loves meat v much like his father..
my mil told me she oso felt the same when she expected my hubby..hahah..
my boy even kick me painful whenever i eat vegeterian food. sigh! so painfully..
can anyone feels that bb swallowing those amino fluid? i can, sound like hungry monster... make big swallowing.. especially his fav food..

aiyo, my bb doesn't have craving lei. but i know what she doesn't like...she hates spicy food and will kick me after i eat it...so no mee siam, no curry, no tom yam...sob sob..

strange, i now start to have a bit of nauseous feeling again....dunnoe whether normal anot...

hi gummie,
i bought the Avent type at Isetan. It cost about $23.90 per bottle. Isetan was having a 20% discount on that. seems like it's highly recommended but personally, i still prefer Elancyl. Avent is a bit too watery for my liking...Now Guardian having sale on Elancyl too...also 20% discount...can go and buy. ;-)

Wanted to buy Clarins Treatment oil for the stretch marks coz i heard it's quite good too...but i didn't like the fact on slathering oil on my body again after a bath...

hi milo,
sounds so scary...oh dear, i'm keeping my fingers crossed on the stretch marks thingy...it realli looks awful...

INO,
i think there is a gal trying to sell off her Clarin Treament cream or what for stretch marks at a cheaper price.. think 69 per bottle..
think u have to stroll the earlier msgs to check

Nana,
u can try City plaza near @paya lebar mrt, few shops at level 3 n 4 sells those trendy maternity clothes.. too bad got bare back and low cut in front for me, my hubby forbidden.. sigh...

Annie
I sent u email liao!

U took a lot of notes during the seminar is it? amazing! I didn't take note, especially Dr Tan's talk, so fast! Hmm...maybe u sat next to me, coz the girl next to me took a lot of notes!!

Zach's mum,

i dun think so, cos the one sat beside me is a guy. His wife oso 1st pregancy.. she oso took down a lot of notes..neater than me. :p
For me, he is ok.. maybe i used to lecture speed..

hahaha, hi Cutie, me MIA indeed, BZ with work but still read the thread at nite to relax

Me carrying a boy, naming him Elgin. How abt u? Me on MC todae. had diarrhoea cum vomit last nite loh, hope BB is fine.
My tummy is bigger than should be cum it's lying low..but gyna said placenta is normal but me still worry cos I've 3-4 mths to go leh...
Very dpress whn go shopping esp when saw clothes I can't wear now..sigh..think I'm prone to suffering pre natal blues...
I'm currently applying elancyl cram, so far so gd
361213.gif

ino,

actually u are not alone. My nausea also came back like one week ago. Now I am burping alot and feel queasy after food. Even vomit several times this past week. I suspect it is the Obimin tablet that I take every morning after breakfast. will ask my gynae this Sat.

ino,

u are not the only one, recently on and off i will feel nauseous also..seems like 1st trimester MS is coming nack to haunt me liao. heng now, its not everyday like that else i sure die

hey gals,
be careful of what u drink/eat! last sat, i sipped about one mouthful of coconut juice (bought by my FIL, and my MIL said it is ok to drink a bit). Then, in the middle of the nite, I had horrendous tummy pain coupled with really bad backache, and it was so bad that I cried! My husband was really concerned and almost wanted to wake my MIL up.

Luckily, all went ok, though I suffered for about half an hour for that! No diarrhoea or vomiting, so not food poisoning.

I was reading a thread, think in MTB Jan / Feb, a MTB in wk 38 also took a coconut, and ended with severe backache! Quite scary!

Lorraine,
Ah yo! CANNOT drink coconut drink or avoid all coconut things.. u r only week 23 or 24 at most..
Coconut is v "han" and lots of wind! drink ONLY when you are about to delivery, like for c-section, drink 1 day b4 operation, to clear the blood..so bb come out wont be so bloody...

if you are natural, sure got time to drink before your actual labour cos normally takes 10 hours and above for 1st bb..

Next time, if such thing happend, faster drink one hot boil water boil with ginger..this help to ease the wind in yr tummy that stir your pain..

take care

lorraine,
oh dear, take care...(!). U're rite - we really muz be careful wat we eat... Me now scared to take fruits like pineapple - duno whether can resist pineapple tarts dis CNY. Plus lohei can't take raw fish... Steamboat muz make sure all the meat thoroughly cooked also...

gals,
btw, mandarin oranges shd b ok to take rite?

matched gal,
mandarin orange(heaty, wind), green banana (wind), coconuts (han) ps avoid..

Papaya, orange, apple, starfruit, pear, li,pineapple all can eat...but take note of the sugar content, dun eat too many at one go...
pineapple is alright, pp has misled the concept that will cause miscarriage.. old folks love to use pineapple + 1 chinese herbal medicine to abort baby.. So no worry abt eating pineapple along.. i tried many times and ok for me.. (the above information extact from zaobao health column).

As for cny is round the corner, just avoid eating too much heaty stuff else sore throat.. enjoy..

milo & ino,
Wah! thats scary to have the morning sickness back.. i remembered that i puked out all the food so many times a day.. even lost weight.even dun dare to drink water.. got lots of wind..only get rid after 4th mth.. sure cry if come back cos lots of food cannot eat... n cant even tahan the smell

matched gal,
best to avoid eating it. cos create wind and heaty.. not good for u.. since you might eat steamboat and other cookies, all heaty.. so dun eat..else tummy might not be able to take it.Since, our gastric slow down than usual..

Speaking of CNY goodies and food. My colleague just sponsored us a bottle of homemade pineapple cookies, its so yummilious.
361349.gif

Toking abt feeling nauseous ...me too experience it recently ... initially tot because I have finish the vitamin B something which gynae presecribe for me during my bad MS days but gynae says its probably due to my lack of sleep plus constipation ... which contribute to the nauseous .... so she just ask me to continue with the fibre drink as well as to try my best to sleep ... 8(

Oh...toking abt eating ... i have craving for laksa recently and eat at least once a week ...also nasi lemak ...yummy .... all contain coconut .... but i think should be ok rite ....only heard cannot drink those young cocunut which is quite "liang" .... me also got sudden craving for pipneapple tarts ...just bought a btl during lunch time and savouring it right now....whahhaha .... also been eating quite abit of mandarin oranges recently but will try to restrict myself to half or one a day .....

Yasmin you're making me drools~!!! I can't resist mandarin oranges too!

*yawn* raining again....so GOOD to sleep?!

i am feeling so sad. just got a bad scolding from a client, for no good reason. she scolded me for not informing her tt my boss's father had passed away??? how am i supposed to know, and since when has it become my duty to inform others that someone's dad has passed away?

besides, she claimed my boss had spoken to her this morning and made no mention of it. well, if my boss chose not to tell her, then what can i do? she said the fact they had spoken this morning does not mean she is aware (or that my boss has told her?), and tt it was my fault for not calling her to inform????

i am feeling so miserable i just want to cry...

even the skies are raining...

sorry to sound so gloomy again... but i'm really feeling v miserable...

taurus,

same here leh... i also had craving for laksa since i tried the one in bishan (can't remember wat street leh) one wk back(!). I didn't drink the soup tho, juz ate the noodles got alot of taste liaoz... But that stall really very good - noodles v smooth & very generous wif the taupok (full of taupok floating on top of the bowl of laksa, and i ate it piping hot on a rainy cold day(!!)) - they even have small ($2 or $3). Hehehe... i dun take cockles though... ;)

**SAYANG** gummie, don't be sad......some clients are just a******* so don't be affected by them ok? Why don't you go take a tea break, and forget about this client of yours? It's not your fault lar......don't let this affect your baby

Hi gummie (( big hugs))

So sorry to hear abt ur unreasonable client ...get scolded for nothing ... stupid "b**ch" ... just ignore her lah...not worth getting upset over this kind of ppl ... now its important to remain cheery n happy ...pregnancy already give us so much stress n worry ...

You noe my friend who is 28 wks preggie just told be that she got a shock last week when she she cannot feel her BB's movement in her tummy n she had to rush to hospital to do checkup and was told that her BB heart is very weak and the doc say maybe due to stress .... and come to think of it .... issit worth risking the health of our BB for work or unrelated things ... so watever stress i faced from work ... I learn to take it easily and not to give myself any stress ...just do my best within my limits ....

Hi matched gal... hahah..u more discipline then me ... cockles have been my favourite before pregnancy and I have been trying to avoid now but sometimes will still eat one or two to quench the craving when eating fried kway teow or laksa but I make sure I only eat those more cooked and small ones ....

Hi gummie,
ur client so unreasonable. Its so sensitive wat, how can tell pple anyhow. Aiyah, dont bother abt her. Are you close to your boss? if yes, go and see your boss and say that you heard of the demise frm ur client and feel sorry abt it. And see what the response is like then slowly tell your boss of the client's attitude towards you on this matter. You sure to feel ok aft talking abt it. Recently my boss's dad too passed away. I was tasked to coordinate on $ collection. 1 of my customers heard abt it and called me up. I immediately told my boss's 'right hand' abt it. And she helped to handle it. Sometime outsiders dont know internal politics and matters, its not worth crying on it, ok. Cheer up!

Talking abt laksa, I think its been more than 6 mths since I last had it. hmmm......I wonder where I can get good laksa. I think the food court at Lot 1 sells good laksa.

hi gummie,

yah, muz take care not to stress urself... Such people don't know what they're saying... muz ignore them and learn to one-ear-in-one-ear-out ah... nowadayz i also 'kan kai' at work... bb more important...

Hi yasmin,

I actually ask my hubby to bring to Katong for the "famous" katong laksa but dun find it that fanastic as before ...recently had it at this killiney kopitam ...yummy ...find their laksa much nicer than katong laksa ....

by the way ...these few days can visually see the movement of BB inside tummy ... very cute ...last time hubby have to place hand on tummy to feel the movement but last night both of us was staring at my tummy seeing the movement of BB inside .... hubby was so excited ... can see a wave movement ...

tt day ...so funny ... stomach was bloated with wind but I had a full day training seminar ... so been trying to control myself from farting ... but BB keep kicking n turning inside tummy and I so worried that he will kick my gas out ....hahahh...cannot imagine a whole room of ppl staring at me if they hear a loud fart....hahahah

Woohh I love Katong laksa! Taurus which stall did you go to? Must go to the 'correct' one~ kekekke

Wave movement? Can describe? :p It sounds amazing!

i saw my baby's movements too on my tummy.

fates, you have to lie down, concentrate and look at your tummy to 'catch' the movements. the movements will be more obvious as baby grows.

i thought i was the only one who felt the nausea again! luckily, like what milo mentioned, it is not everyday.

Hi fates,

Yah ... too many stall abit confusing ... but so far I have tried a few ... all not tt nice ... used to go to one stall sold by a plump lady which is quite nice but dun see her around anymore... not sure issit change owner ...tts why not nice anymore

Yah...like wat anastasia say...u have to lie down n concentrate to look at ur tummy to catch the movements ... sometime me n hubby take turns to play with BB ... when I feel him moving actively ..i will lie on my back and I will tap or knock lightly on my tummy ... and BB will respond back ... hubby tried a few times.... BB also responded ... very amazing ..

gals,

yes, i think lack of slp will realy cause morning sickness to come back.
This week, i have a off site meeting and is real busy. Wake up at 6am and slp at 12plus...puked this morning cos i think my body is really tired.

gummie,
sure, we can all check n compare our n baby weight gain.

taurus,
me still eating mee siam, laksa, nasi lemak, chicken curry, kaya bread.. all got coconut one.

btw, can we take yu sheng after removing out the fish slices? Dun know if after mixing wif the rest, will it be "contaminated"....