(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Wah! so expensive. heard of the mega store.. but my friends told me got one cheap one at Eunos. Call Soon Lee Industrial. Open weekends and public holiday. Very big warehouse direct sales. Much cheaper.. All ranges..

My friend just went there to buy car seat for his 2nd baby.. : )

sponge,

i have more or less settle for the ameda pump liao. the mummies here are organising a bulk purchase and got news that they will increase the price next year but seems like too early to buy now so still hesitating lor.

fates,

hee still dunno yet. this fri will be my BIG day loh. think i will get either a maclaren techno xt or techno classic, still considering now..
the quinny zapp is cool. now kidmall seliing for 299, seems like the cheapest i have seen so far.

Milo,
Think i miss out something... got ameda pump .. is it good brand? for pumping breast milk rite? how much? i m oso keen to buy, if can buy cheaper.. i love to join..

Is it battery operated?

hey gals,

btw i have heard some mummies telling me that if we are buying prams or stroller from baby hyperstore, we can ask them to start the warranty from our bb due date thus will not lose out if we buy earlier. not sure how true, this weekend will go take a look and update again

annie,

ameda pump is comparable to the medela pump in style but heard is more suitable for asian mum. think it can run on bother batteries and power. this one gotta check. priced at $310 now, bulk purchase can get @ $270. not a lot of discount but i cant imagine if they up the price again.

this pump is definitely not cheap thus i still considering worth investing so much or not

Is an automatic or manual pump better? From your description, this ameda pump seems to be an automatic one right milo?

Ya Kidsmall is selling the Zapp quite cheaply....don't know is it display unit or is warranty inclusive? We haven't ask that though..

milo,
Wah! thats v expensive.. hmm.. hard to say.. cos my colleague dun have milk for her 2nd baby. As for the 1st one only last a week...
Now my sis oso got problem with pumping milk.. oso stated little amount.. no matter how much eat the fish soup n green papaya.. think individual..
worth to invest if u intend to have few kids... i only have this one n no more..

Hi QooSan,

I feel light flutterings or something touching my inner tummy gently sometimes. Its a very gentle touch so sometimes i'm wondering if its baby moving. But i guess it is baby moving right?

Hi Fairysnowberry,

How many wks r u now?? I experience tt when I am in wk 16 .... fluttering feeling .... but now at wk 22 .... the movements varies from knocking, kicking, turning .... all very drastic movements ...

Fairysnowberry,
How many weeks are you in? should be like a wave or something tinggy inside yr tummy.. wonderful feeling..
my hubby said he can only hear the water in water bag movement as if something cause a wave inside.. heheh.. i m only in week 20

Really Taurus? Wow that's incredible! How big is your tummy now? I coming wk 20 but can only felt light flutterings once awhile....

Actually $270 pretty ok for an automatic pump. If got chance to go Baby Kingdom, can check out the price of the pumps too. I saw some there some months ago :p

taurus,
huh?! you shouldnt feeling bb turning.. u r oni at week 22..bb oni start to turn when u r at late 3rd trimmester. that feeling should be bb playing with the unilibal cord that link to his tummy. He is capable to play with it, as the only play toy inside. He kicks, twisting, turning the cord as he wishes.. he will stop if he does it too violent that he feels pain and oso same for u.. hehhe..

at week 22, bb starts to hear outside world, so starts to get your hubby to talk to him..

i learnt the above informations from cable vision discovery channel.. amazing to know a lot of full details especially the whole documentary shows the "inside" with full detail..

i think there are few documentary programmes all focus on baby, the whole progress, the face expression, the dream bb make, the memory and hearing.. seems repeat few times.. u can try to watch.. its v amazing..

too bad, my hubby didnt like to watch n alway play his computer games.. when i told him whats bb is doing.. he seems like i m talking to alien

Hi fairysnowberry,

Maybe that's the one! Hav u use those OSIM slimming/massage machine before that u hav pad to stick onto ur body? the Tapping feeling is the same as wat I can feel, but not so frequent. Please do not try out the machine now :p
or like the heart bit like that dup...dup... but not lup dup...lup dup. I dun know how to describe, I can feel it more offen when I m stationery and lying down.

Hi fates,

No need to envy... u will feel it real soon ... I start feeling drastic movments after wk 20 ... BB been very active everyday ... can feel that he is trying different patterns everyday ..the feeling is simply great .... 8)

Hi Annie,

Yah ... maybe not turning ... coz I just guess based on the different kinds of movement I experience everyday ... and these few days .... I can feel very big movement like a big wave from one side to the other side ..... so I presume that its BB turning ....8) ... and hubby can feel the movement too .... we have been toking to BB since his is few weeks old and BB responded better to daddy then me...."jealous" ... the most funniest is one mornign when hubby ask me if BB is awake and I say no ... within minutes ... I can feel BB knocking inside trying to tell us he wake up liao.....hahahah ... I think ur hubby will be more interested after he feel the first movement from BB .... my hubby actually jump up n down the bed ....kekekke

Hi Annie, what is the title of this baby show and what time is it? Actually the baby does turn la......just what we can't feel it yet. Eg Sometimes the baby face up or down while inside our tummy. Maybe Taurus is very small size, that's why can feel it earlier? :p

Seems that everybody is busy shopping for BB stuff ... I wont be shopping much as got alot of hands me down from friends ... so far already got car seat...BB cot ...breast pump ... and 3 bagful of BB clothings .... so still waiting for more items to be pass over from friends before we see what we lack of then will buy ...kekek ... my poor BB dun have much new stuff ... ekek

Hi fates,

Alot of ppl say my tummy abit too big for 22 wks ...my aunite commented that my tummy looks like when she is ard due time ... hahaha ... but so far I hv gained ard 5 kgs but coz I quite petite ...so look like a round walking potato now ....

fate,
i will find out the show title for you. i alway so lucky.. just switch to the channel and the show just start..heheh

taurus,
i agreed with u, my hubby v crazy, try to call him to sleep or wake him up.. when i am going to bed and when i wake up in the morning..
he oso seem jealous as i talk to bb often.. tell him not to kick my tummy too hard...
dun bother abt what pp said.. how can compare.. my colleague tummy oso v big when she just expected at weeks 8.. everyone is difference mah..
dun worry abt your weight. your weight is normal.. yap, shd be at least 5kg weight gain at week 20 then 1 kg by each week goes by..

Hi annie,

I think 1 kg per wk is abit too much ... according to my gyane should be 1/2 kg per week ... coz I gained 1 kg per wk from wk 17 to wk 20 and gyane say should try to control on the food i eat ...coz I suddenly craved for chocolates and have been eating quite a fair bit which cozs the sudden increase ...kekek ...

And also tt I am quite petite ...so my BB cannot be too big size ... otherwise will not be able to delivery naturally .... so need to watch my sugar intake ...

dear mummies

how's ur christmas ???

me down wif flu and sore throat....me ate too much durian and chocolate....haiz

my gal also sick...feel so sian..btw, any1 keen to buy malcaren stroller? my friend recommed me a shop at upper cross street and i just called up and they provide delivery

Hey Mummies,

Anyone tried pre or post natal massages before?

Saw from another thread that there is this Lady call Mdm Rohaya HP: 945.... is very good.

Anyone here tried her postnatal massage before?

annie,
have occasional headache, but not migraine... hmmm, hope nothing wrong... tink i sleep too little these two days cos watching tv ;pp

margaret,
hey, we have the same EDD!
I also signed up with Mt A antenatal class... ;)

fates,
thanks for updating!

pooh,

i also almost fell sick last week. There was a flu bug going ard my office & alot of sneezing & coughing heard juz prior to Christmas. I took some Vit C tablets when i felt like going to fall sick, so now still ok. Muz take care...

Any of you went to the Isetan preview sale y'day? I tot i cud go and hv a luk @ the baby stuff, but when reach there, end up so crowded. One luk at the cashier's queue was enough to put me off, though the baby items were on sale...
Bot a few over-sized dresses fr m)phosis though... for an upcoming wedding.. hehe...

oh yah, btw, the medala breast pump (manual - tink it's called harmonic or something like dat) was on sale y'day at $49.90. Pity i cudn't buy, cos so many people & long long queue(!!). Anyway, duno if this brand is suitable... but was told by my galfren not to invest to much $ in a breast pump yet...

matched gal,

i was thinking to wait till delivery till decide on the pump. Cos we have to stay in the hospital for a couple of days, can use that time to see if we have a good supply, then ask hubby to go and buy. This way, we will not end up saving a couple of dollars during sale but end up wasting more when realise that we dun have supply to use the pump! That's my thinking, anyone think the same way?

Taurus,
Think every gynea set difference range. The normal weight for full term is 12-14kg.. My sis's gynea even get my sis to on diet when she was only 9kg full term.. i think so long bb healthy is ok..

snowy,
yap, she is v famous recommended.. My colleague had her for her 2nd baby. She comment good, in fact, i already book her for my post natal massage. As for pre-natal massage, i m currently enagaged with one guy whose stays at tampines. He is oso v.gd n cheap.

matched gal,
Wah! you better sleep and rest more.. sleeping is the best to help bb grow.. and oso yr body rest as the organs have to work double work now.

gals,

Saw my gynea last nite, stated that my placteria is too low, if the thing don't move up a bit, i have to end up c-secion.. :~(
becos of it, my legs alway cramp as the nerves being press.

ivy,

that actually wat i tot so re the breast pump also. initially wanted to get a cheap manual pump and try first, if got milk supply then invest in the auto one but dunno like that will consider as incurred more cost or not.

pooh,

i am interested in the maclaren stroller, u got the contact?

snowy/annie,

i bk mdm rohaya for my post natal also. her charges seem to be on the high side but if she is really that good, dun mind to try it lor

Gd dae ladies,
It's been a long time since I last came in, tight with DEADlines, rushing work e'ryday so dat I dun have to work OT ;p

Wow, the topic has moved on to breast pumps..me used manual pump from ADVENT during last preg but tot of switching to electrical one, any recommendation? Manual one makes me break sweat esp in the day time..kekeke..

miko,
yes, she charges higher.. but she got the cert of ITEC England. My colleague had another therapist for 1st one. After that, her right shoulder alway in pain. When she delivered the 2nd one, her sis recommended Rohaya to her.. She found that the previous therapist didnt massage "close" her back bone (where open when deliver).. now her shoulder pain gone. That's why i decide to book her.

Wow so many postings already. I hv been on leave before Xmas till now. hee.... just clearing leave.

I hv done my detail scan yday and it is a boy boy. Normally the detail scan report will be sent to your gynae , unless u state otherwise.

Fates, pls update my bb gender. tks

Hi Sponge, Thanks for the info.

Annie, do take care. Try not to walk too much. Dont worry yourself unnecessarily abt c-section. There are women out there who purposely opt for c-section just bcos they do not want to go thru normal labour pain. Its pretty common. I have a colleague for her 1st kid, was normal birth and 2nd was c-section. She said that c-section is so much easier to cope and she wld have opted for c-section for her 1st kid as well if she had a choice.

Hi Annie,

You can call Ms Vasantha at 63476332 from Mt A. I think she is in charge of the bookings. The weekday classes are still available from Jan but they start at 6:30pm, kind of early...

Hi matched gal!

I just noticed that we are on the same day too! So can you tell the gender already?

Ladies, saw that most of you are busy looking for breat pump. Do you think it's too late if i wait till I have given birth to settle on a brand? I think the hospital might let us try the pump and I am thinking of sticking to the brand from hospital as i am worried that I might not get used to different type of pump. What do you all think?

hi margaret,
same here. dun want to get the breast pump so early too. there are a few brands like medela, avent and ameda? tink there are some places which let us try out the brands (albeit at some costs). Nonetheless, my colleagues seem to recommend Avent manual breast pumps...now tinking whether to get dual or single. I heard TMC offers buy-back for medela pumps (tho i'm not sure which model that is). Anyway, it also depends whether we've got milk anot. There are some mothers who produces veri little milk...so hence i'm still deciding...

hi annie,

how did you manage to book mdm rohaya coz our EDD might not be accurate? ie we might give birth a few wks before our EDD...

hi margaret/ino,

i intend to buy the pumps after deliver. also not sure got milk or not leh, if hv at least bb can latch on first while i ask hb to go and buy lor.

i also worried i got no milk

ino,

i bk mdm rohaya also so tot i help annie with the reply.

i jus called and tell her my edd. she somehow jus put me on booking. suppose to call her from the hospital once i pop and she will come by 3-5 days later whichever i am comfortable with.

ino,
i told Mdm rohaya my EDD and she wants me to call to once i admit to hosp. she also stated that due to 2 weeks gap before and after.. she expected u to sms her yr home address. so that she can record on her diary..

hi milo/annie,

since can only confirm after pop, will there be a chance that she is overbooked and not able to make it?

Congrats twinkle-starry! Another boyboy!

Wow so fast you gals booking the post-natal massage already?

twinkle,
no worry. she will arrange, since i booked her now.. she gives me priority. My colleague said 1/2 year advance booking else dun have time for you. She will calculate once u admit to hosp. by natural or c-section, cos natural, 3 days after, c-section -at least 4weeks else the wound will open

what exactly are the benefits of post-natal massage (esp the traditional malay type)? i have heard tt it helps the mummy to regain figure faster, but apart from that...?
also, how long (as in, for how long a period) and how often do u need these massages? and oh yes, what are the charges (per session)?

HI Ladies,

I'm nearing my 20th wk already (now is 19w5d) but all I feel are these gentle light knockings once in a while which sometimes i thought maybe I'm hallucinating. I think what i'm feeling is sort of similar to Fates.

I dont feel any big movements or waves like what you gals mentioned. My hubby and myself also cannot feel baby's movements when we put our palms on my tummy.

Another thing is, my tummy is still not so obvious. Some colleagues tot i simply put on weight. Pple cant really tell that im pregnant. Is this normal for i'm nearing 20wk already??

hi fairysnowberry,

you are not hallucinating, just over a week ago i was experiencing the same... very light fluttery movements in my tummy, which i used to think was just excess air or maybe, just my hallucination, as everyone else was already talking about feeling baby movements and i thought perhaps it was jus my own imagination... but u know, it might just be for real...

cos this week, my baby's movements are gettin very obvious... now it's not just light fluttery movements i can attribute to hallucination, i can actually see the bb 'kicking' thru' my skin (haha!)... it's really quite an amazing sight, even though it's not really obvious to others. i like to lie down in bed these days, flip up my t-shirt n watch the baby do its kicks at night... kekeke... i bet very soon u will see tt happening, cos wat u're experiencing now is just a 'prelude'

kekeke... even now i can feel it moving in my tummy...

oh yes fairysnowberry,

my tummy although obvious is not considered big too, according to my colleagues... but someone pointed out to me that it's probably good to be 'small', cos it could mean u won't have tt much to shed around your waist after childbirth

u know... getting rid of tummy fat can be quite problematic later on...

Hi fairysnowberry,

I start to feel strong movments after wk 20 .... so u should be experiencing it real soon ... for me ... my tummy super obvious since 4 mths ... I have lotsa ppl asking me when due and when I tell them my EDD date ... all got a shock as they tot I not too far from delivery ...kekek ...

Actually, i think the size of tummy is veri individual .... so long as our BB is growing well ... i guess we should not be too bother with wat others say ... just maintain a healthy diet ...

fairysnowberry,
congulation! u have a feel of your bb movement already.. i had it around week 17..

s for yr tummy, dont need to worry too much, if your bb is growing in term of length and healthy..tats good enough..

Hi Ivy,

If u r deciding whether to buy the breast pump based on your supply during the first few days, i think it will put you off. Usually the breast milk supply during the first week is not much, the supply will only increase based on the demand, u hav to let ur BB latch on, it's only come in during the 2nd weeks. Why not borrow from fren first for the first few week, if there is increase in the flow, then buy a new one. I m sure it will definitely value for money in that case.

I also heard some hospital they do have breast pump on loan, maybe can check it out during the hospital tour or antenatal class.

QooSan,

thanks for the note. i think i try to check if TMC have for loan as i am delivering there.

Fates,
Update for me! Its gonna be a boy for me as well. It will be baby Xavier!