(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Merry Christmas to all MTBs!! May we all have a fruitful year ahead!

Today super no mood to work..

Same here sponge!! But the thread here pretty quiet too le?! Maybe all taking naps! Heheheh

This weather so gooooood to sleep. ZzzZZzzzz..

sponge,

no mood to work? Then maybe let's brainstorm the dates and venue for our meeting?

I suggest the following dates (all sats and Nana is only back on 14th Jan to 10 Feb):

1) 21st Jan
2) 4 Feb

Votes pls.

Hi all mtb,
have a blissful Christmas and wonderful year ahead!

Fates, welcome back.
Pls help to update my baby gender as well.. i have a gal gal as well.

fates,
Merry X'mas to you...
mind to update the chart for me oso.. cos the ob said that EDD is wrong. according to detail scanning yesterday, the measurement show that i m at week 19 + 5 days so EDD should be 13 May 2006 instead of 8 May 2006..
confirmed a boy boy.. i m so happy

not much difference..cos 2 weeks b4 and after gasp...

Hi fates..

Wow not easy leh... Can imagine gng up and downs. Poor thing!!! It is reali tedious for him.. My HB actually sprain his back and end up i gotta help him carry the luggage( luckily is a light one) hehehe i'm taking biz class so not worried abt seating kekeke... I'll be back on 14th jan.

hi Ivy..
i'm fine with either 21st or 4th.. kekeke.. but hor preferably 21st cos HB gng HK for retreat.. hahhaa....

Hi ivy,

I dun mind either dates too. Venue.. somewhere central? Say.. Raffles City..Suntec.. Bugis etc?

hi fates,

i also agree many baby gals in our list! keke.. perhaps its a trend? Maybe those that give birth in May may have higher chances of conceiving a gal then boy??

Wow it seems everybody is still busy with X'Mas celebrations eh! Everywhere is so crowded, so we stayed at home today recuperating from the late nights past two days.

Hi Little_Nana, hmm biz class eh! Good good! You'll get more attention from the crew ya! Are you taking SQ or?

Hi sponge, ya alot hor! But I just went to the gynae on Sat and I'm expecting a boy!!

Can start my shopping alredy

Hi Fates...

Congrats Fates.. You can start shopping now
kekeke.. sure you'll be excited to get little tiny shirts for ur bb boy!!

I also stayed hm as there's no public transport and shopping in Ldo... haizz Stayed home and make Chilli Paste. But will do my boxing day shopping today ;)

Ya I'm taking SQ, biz class ...hehehe..
Will get more attention from the crew. kekekkee...

Let's decide where and when to meet when most girls are back from holidays
The posting has beeen sooooo quiet over the long wkends.

I went to the gynae on sat. Can't see the gender of the bb as bb refused to open the legs. Anyone has the same experience? Should i go for a detailed scan?

Hi Margaret,

How many weeks are u in now?

My bb also never opened legs when she was in week 15. So i waited till my detailed scan in week 19 then know her gender

Hi margaret,
I thought you should go for detail scanning.. its a must.. to check whether the organs are fully well developed..
Maybe your bb is a gal.. cos the BO said the guy is easier to identify and easy to show out compare to gals..
Detailed scanning should b done at week 20. - the prefect week. i had it last week. (19 weeks + 5 days according to bb size. :p

hi annie,

were you able to tell from the detailed scan how big is yr bb? as in, how much it weighs?

i'm going for mine in 2 weeks' (will be 21 weeks' plus by then), i was told that this will be the 'final' detailed scan unless there is a need for another one down the road... is that true?

Hi Gummie,

For my case, i will be having another detailed scan next saturday. That will be in my week 23. Perhaps detailed scan in week 20s is considered final and done?

We are able to know the weight of bb via detailed scan
For mine, it was 295g

hey kk,

so u had yr detailed scan oredi? when was that? if so, why do u need to go for another one soon?

hmmm, so far i only had 1 detailed scan (that was in week 12 i think)... other times when i visit my gynae she only gave me a very routine scan, which was also v quick. is that the common practice?

oh yes, i read somewhere tt we shd prepare a list of questions to ask for the detailed scan at this stage (~20 weeks), any idea what specific questions we should be asking?

Hello Gummie,

Oh yes, i have gone for my detailed scan liao. That's when i knew i am going to have a bb girl
kao_love.gif

I had my scan in week 19. Around Annie's period - Week 19 Day 3. So i will be having another one next Sat, which is one mth later. That will be week 23 lor
Not "soon" lah :p

Detailed scan in week 12???? Is that an NT scan instead of detailed scan?? Because at week 12, bb very small only and not all organs developed yet. So detailed scan may not be that meaningful yet.

kk,

so.. y detailed scan at 19th week was to check for boy or girl? and the coming one is supposedly the detailed scan to make sure baby is healthy and developing well? hmmm... i'm confused by all these scans at different stages and what they are supposed to tell...

and, if i go for my detailed scan on my 21st week, does it mean i still have to go for another one later (say, 25th week?)

keke, i cant remember what scan that was tt i had, maybe i had it around 16 weeks, it was supposedly to check for down's syndrome i believe... so is that the NT scan u're referring to?

u know... my memory wasn't tt fantastic before pregnancy, now it's not getting any better :p

Gummie,

No No, my detailed scan involved everything liao. We saw all the organs developing well. That includes spinal cord, brain, legs, hands, heart, blood flow, nose, lips, neck, etc etc. The gender was just a small part of it as we did not get to know the gender in week 15.

I dunno how many detailed scans there are. I only know there will be another one in week 30s.

Oh, the one u had previously was NT scan. That one only to check for thickness of the neck rite? A detailed scan takes a very long time to complete. Mine took around 45 mins.

Gummie,

Yap.. You can ask the OB to tell you the gram. or read at the report if you are able to collect yourself.. I even ask for one copy of the detail scan.
I agreed with KK, the detail scanning is to see whether the neck thickness, spine thickness and legs' length. Cos major DS show Big systoms like short leg, thick neck or thick spine.. however according to the OB, some ds dont show.. n when you found out, the bb already come out..
i was told that if the heart holes too small, oso hard to detect or seen by human eye...

thanks annie,

so i should ask for a copy of the DS report to make sure ya? cos if i dun ask and they dun provide, i might have to pay for one later...

Seems like almost everyone is back into action? hee..

Actually the normal ultrasound scan done at every gynae visit can tell the gender of our baby. It just have to depend whether your baby is in what position..The ultrasound can also tell the weight of our baby. Mine is already at 240grams.

hi kk,

omigod...the scan takes sooo long? i've gotta expose my stomach for such a long time ah...aiyo...my detailed scan is on next tues...not sure whether it's normal to worry anot...i think i'm one of the most paranoid MTB in the world...

hi gummie,
NT scan is usually done on Wk 11 to Wk 13. Not sure wat's the name of the scan that you did on Wk 16 coz i did not do any. My gynae just gave me the normal scan.

Hi fates/sponge,
thks for your concern shown last week. I'm feeling much betta now and am even working! Celebrated x'mas with family and frens and feast on so much goodies...doubt that my bb gal have any complaints about that....hehehhe.

I did my detailed scan at wk 20 3 days and BB weighs 350 grams .. was given the film taken during the detail scan which scan the brain, eyes, nose, lips, all major organs as well as the arms and legs and spine .... will be doing another detial scan at 8 mths ....

Hi kk, Annie,

I am at week 17 now, my next appt is week 21. My gynae says if want detailed scan will arrange then. If that's the case, that means I got to wait till around wk 23 to do scan. I have not planned on doing the detailed scan at first as it's not compulsory. However, really difficult to buy bb stuff without a gender in mind. Most of the things are either blue or pinkish...

grummie,
u cant get a ds report from the detailed scan. Ob stated that they can only detect ds if only the systoms are big and obvious for human eye to detect.

You can expect much especially from a black and white ultrasound screen. Ob stated if the bb got small holes in the heart and unable to detect by human eye, might oso cos ds.

You can get 100% accuracy if you go for amino test, cost abt $600 - $700. Extract amino fluid from your water bag and do a very detail test on it. But there is a risk of 0.5% to 1% depend which weeks you are now. The best is have the test on week 16. However, if your detail scan report show or indicate something suspicous.. your gynea might get you to go for such test.

All my colleagues opt for such test. They prefer to have a 100% accuracy answer whether their babies are normal or not. I havent make my decision yet. I think my gynea will give me good advise on when i see him tonite.

margaret,
u can choose to have the detail scan on yr week 20 -22. the best range. How come so late? Get your gynea to write the letter and make a call to book apptment. TMC is the best. cost $99.97. i just done mine on 22 Dec.

i wonder anyone experience this sharp pain at your lower bone after the spine. (should be after waist). i did.
I found that i hardly can turn from right to left or the other way especially when i sleep at nite. The pain will raise.
I understand from my massage therapist, such pain is due to the bone along pelvis and buttock are loosen and force open to give way to accumulate the weight and length of the water bag as times to go.

I felt so painful especially when i laid on the bed flat for the detail scanning for about 30mins.. i couldnt stand up.

I wonder am i too early to experience such pain? (week 20) Any suggestion on this? to ease the pain? My gynea will state this is just part of the pregancy if i tell him so. heheh

Hi Annie

hmmm.... sounds as if you had a spinal injury before and the pregnancy is causing a strain on your back? I had a bad injury and the pain came back to haunt me. If you are not sure do call on the professionals for help. Try using a hot water bag on your back. It might ease the pain.

Hi Annie

hmmm.... sounds as if you had a spinal injury before and the pregnancy is causing a strain on your back? I had a bad injury and the pain came back to haunt me. If you are not sure do call on the professionals for help. Try using a hot water bag on your back. It might ease the pain.

gabby's mum,
is it? But i dun have spinal injury before. This pain only stir up more n more obvious as my tummy pop up. through, i still wear normal clothing.
ob stated the bb water bag is lower than other gals.

I've been experiencing slight throbbing (can hear heart-beating) in the head these two dayz. No pain / headache for the time being, though. Duno if it's bcos i slept oni 7 hrs per nite? Anyone have similar experience??

seems like most of u have gone for the detailed scan liao, me still waiting for my turn this fri.. so nervous and excited at the same time. praying hard that my bb will turn out alright..

Hi Milo,

Don't worry, I am sure your bb will be fine. I also haven't got for the detailed scan yet as my EDD is late May 06.

Annie,

Thanks for advice. Will probably call gynae later.

Ladies, those of you booking antenatal classes with mt A got to hurry up as I just booked and the earliest available date for Sat classes is Mar.

Matched gal,
Do u have migraine before? seems like going to attrack.. dun worry too much.. relax..

margaret,
Do you have the contact no for mt A? so late? Mar? hmm..

milo,
No worry, you will see your bb in full detail.. get the ob to tell what is it.. like me, thick face, keep questioning the ob.. she is friendly.. heheh..
Else, you wont know what you are looking at... everything zoom in.. my hubby looked so blurred at that time.. i voiced out to ask her.. she explained the parts.. heheh..
Even tell me that how they judge if the bb got kidney problem. the bb will get bloat up and swollen..

hi Annie,

i was referring to asking for a copy of the detailed scan ("DS") report... don't mean 'down syndrome'

u're right, i guess only the amino test provides 100% accuracy, even the NT scan that i did only gave percentage probability of down's syndrome...

i also experience some back/spinal ache if i lie flat to sleep at night. i usually feel better if i sleep on my sides, and tend to flip a few times throughout the night. i also find that a good mattress helps to ease the pain.

ino,

sorry looks like i've lost track of time here, i believe i had my NT scan around the 13th week...

gummie,

ops! so sorry.. :p.. paiseh..

ya, i alway sleep on left side and few flip, but feel the pain if i try to turn from left to right or right to left. I find myself have a difficulty in turning.

My colleagues said that i will find more difficulty when times to come (when tummy get bigger)..

mY boy weight only 296g.. seemed so tiny

margaret / annie,

thks.. hehe cant help but be anxious mummy.

recently the sale that is going on seems very attractive leh. wanted to get the pram and breast pump but seems abit early. anyone sourcing out already?

my antenatal class also starting in mar, abit late but better then not attending. though i be delivering in mt a but have decided to sign up for classes in tmc.

gals,

I wonder anyone has this problem.. seems like part of family genes, my sis just delivered. She has dark black eye ring ever since she pregant through she has no problem in sleeping and no complaints like me.

I found i look so ugly n my dark ring seem to get darker.. anyway to avoid it? or anything to apply? i try to sleep at 10pm sharp ever since i m pregant but dun help..

hi milo,

i'm currently sourcing for breast pumps now too. too many choices leh..spoilt for choice la.. kekek

huh..Mt A antenatal classes so packed already ar.. i havent even go to the hosp tours yet! oops..seems like running out of time..

oh yah, my hub and i just visited the baby hyperstore at khaki bukit.. to me, its really nothing much there..considering its a 'hyperstore'. But if you are looking for european brands prams, eg: Peg perego, maclaren or quinny, you can buy at the hyperstore cos they have 20% discounts. If you are looking for asian brands, eg: Combi, Lucky Baby, can go to Baby Kingdom.. also located at khaki bukit.

If you wanna get milkbottles, pumps or other baby accessories, Robinsons, John Little or Kiddy palace offer more variety.

Hi sponge,
Does the store carry playpen, baby cots and bassinets? What is the price like? Can also give me address. If prices are reasonable then wld want to go down to have a look. Thanks.

hi yasmin,

The store does carry playpen, cots and bassinets. I didnt really see the price for the cots and playpens.. so cant advise on that.
However, just note that they've got limited variety lor..

Baby Hyperstore is located in Khaki Bukit Industrial Park, Shun Lee Bldg (near bedok reservoir). Baby Kingdom is just a few stores away from the hyperstore.

Hi all *wave*

Yo milo, so do you know your baby's gender already? Ya now everywhere got sales but I'm just browsing around only.....don't know what to buy yet and can't decide what pumps I need.

But I bought a ~c u t e~ little t-shirt for my boyboy already tho'! HAhaha it's so cute

I'd been to both Baby HyperStore and Baby Kingdom. Most probably will buy the Quinny Zapp or Peg Perrego.

Update
kao_kiss.gif

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>1-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Chan K H</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>13-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi fairysnowberry,

I have made an appoinment wth Mt.A for hospital tour, will only decide which hospital to choose for delivery then.

How are u so far? Hav u start detecting BB movement? excited?

Fates,

maybe you want to add a total tally of girls and boys at the end of the table. Then we will be able to see more girls or more boys!