(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Ivy,

What about sugar content in mangoes? Kind of paranoid nowadays on sugar level.

My hubby is actually more of a carnivore than herbivore haha.. so basically nobody will steal the veg from me during dinner

Fates,

It's one day after my birthday heeee..
But i dun think will be so 'zun' lor. Guess got to celebrate my birthday next year in a different way liao :p

Hi Ivy, my rash is so bad now till I can't sleep well too! Went to see a GP earlier and she told me preggies have very sensitive skin and 1 out of 3 preggies will have it. The cold climate overseas made my rash worse! What cream did the doc gave you? I'll try this cream and lotion this GP gave and see if it gets better? If not will contact ya :p

Yo annie, last time I love wine! *but I'm not alcoholic lar* hee hee.....had stopped drinking completely until last weeks while I'm overseas :p

fates,

Talking about skin problem. Few weeks ago i was washing this huai shan. I think the soil is too dirty. While washing that, my hands suddenly got itchy and guess wat, pimples like things multiplied and covered my hands. Luckily they only stay below wrist level. So itchy for days. I applied whatever medicine i have and also applied powder. It took around 4-5 days to ease the itch and 1 week or so for the "pimples" to disappear.

fates,

welcome back! *catch your kiss* me also going for my detail scan on the 30th. we can update each other on the gender then...

wah before this i really tot that pork liver and all organs contain high amt of vit a thus dun dare to eat.

today went to see a doc on my headache and flu. sigh.. put on another 2 kg from week 16 to week 20. feel so fat. is my wt gain reasonable?

milo,
you are consider v v normal for your weight gain, in fact, less than expect perfect weight.

no, pork liver and all organs are high in chorolestorl.. but v good for baby especially pig organs and liver.. i eat once a week for the organ soup with rice for my lunch. Then buy $2 pork liver cook well with ginger and water with bit of soya sause.. bu xue and good for baby.

My colleague, she just delivered this may. told me to eat once a week so that baby can be strong n oso beef. of cos, i go for hawker centre.. not resturant.. else v expensive..

Baby consist need more n more blood cos new built of blood cells especially our stage now, builting cells and nerves, veins especially inside the brain..

Beside that, eat more fish and veggies are good.. remember eat balance diet..

if you wants baby chin to rosy pink, then have to eat red bean paste, once a week, soya bean drink (hot) once a week. cold will make your tummy bloated.. as soya bean is one type of bean (food) that cause tummy bloated for weak gastric people..
Cheers...

twinkle, pooh,

guess wat... i went to c the mothercare nitedress juz now during lunchtime... at last i bot 1 dress ;pp tot got 20% off for dbs card, but alas, the 20% only applies to fashion wear (found out at the counter) :""( so disappointing...

anyway, tink it's really comfy... and the nitedress got front-buttons, can open if breastfeed... ;)

KK & Fates,
hehe... of cos no encouragement to drink wine.. cos our baby will get addict to it" heheh..
like what my gf d, she had ginger wine during confinement n bf.. baby is so easy to sleep the whole day.. hehe

milo,

actually 2kg is ok. i gained 3 kg during the last 4 wks & gynae said too much - she said 1-2kg ok leh...

but she advised me to eat healthily... and not to take too much fried foods ;p

Hi fates!

I also just came back from a long trip. I went to the middle east for 3 weeks but was sick for one week after so I sort of MIA from this thread awhile.

Going to go gynae this week for blood test and hopefully able to see the gender of bb.

matched gal & milo,
u can only gain weight 10-12kg, if boy, 14kg..in total.. so you try to control if you are worry.. else overshot, gynea will restrict your diet.. heheh

Hi fate,

Thanks for the update.

Hi kk,

Still having very bad heartburn last night.

Hi Annie,

Thanks a lot for the info

hi kk,
yah i'm still experiencing heartburn.. i tried to sip water.. but end up throwing it up..also threw up gastric acid tho i ate my 3 meals..mine should be considered heartburn right? cos not only does my heart feels tight, but also coupled with those vomit feeling.. very very jialat :'(

hi annie,
thanks for the info on heartburn..thats very useful. I got some medicine from GP to curb the wind too..some chewable antacids. But i have yet to take them.. dun like the smell la.. so now i'm taking those nausea pills to tong awhile.

ask u all hor,
I've been taking oranges to boost my vitamin C intake, however read that they may cause phlegm in baby, hence i'm thinking of replacing my oranges with Redoxon, supposedly 1 tablet is enough for 1 day's Vit C intake.. is it advisable?

Hi Sponge,

Ya Ya, when my heartburn comes, i also feel like coughing very hard because the throat got burning effect AARRGGHH!

U have to try annie's method liao

Hi Gummie,

Liver is v high in Vitamin A and yes pregnant women are not rec to take a lot of it. But if you eat a moderate amt once in a while i.e. once a week, its okay. Kidney is not as high in Vitamin A as liver so its okay to take kidney more often.

Hi Ivy, yup yellow-orange coloured fruits are high in vitamin A but not as high as liver.

Gals, yeah have to be careful of high calorie and sweet stuff. Mangoes are sweet yes. And durians too. So dont eat them everyday. As long as we make sure we eat a variety of fruits and we eat 2 different servings of fruits daily, we shd have enough vit and minerals to boost our immunity.

I think we dont have to worry abt the sweetness of fruits but rather the other types of sweet food/beverages that we tend to consume daily. We dont want too much of those too. Will cause us to gain weight fast.

sponge,

re the redoxon medication for Vit C intake, it's best to chk wif ur gynae / nurse. Call them up & c wat they say before you take

Actually other natural sources of Vit C recommended for pregnant ladies include (got dis fr a website):

Vitamin C* 85 mg Broccoli, cabbage, cantaloupe, citrus , green pepper, kiwi, mango, potatoes

Yap, we have many tropical fruits.. its all depend individual body, durian, rambutan, mango, jackfruit...all v sweet and tasty.. of cos, i love.. however, i nvb touch them even b4 pregant.. cos too heaty.. some wet heaty, v hard to get rid of.. like long gan, jackfruit & mango, rambutan..
hmm.. apple, orange, pears and yellow colour Li is good for us but have to eat balance. cos pregant woman tend to get diabetic easier.. so high sugar content has to be aware..
I can only take orange recently, 1st phase due to serve sickness, puke out day n night.. really cant take orange.
However, those with heartburn, no heavy meal and eat half orange if you intend to sleep early.. Cos by the time, your gastic react will be 3 hours later.. those acidic will flow backward to the chest vein..that stir the heartburn..

Kk,
i heard those old folks tales.. i just ate pineapple.. thats all individual body. pineapple can only be taken if you have a proper meal. Pineapple oso with high suger content, cannot eat too much.
Starfruit is one good fruit but can only one or two slices. Rich in vit. C and "cooling"

I prefer yellow colour "LI" especially cold storage selling $2.80 for 4 pcs or $3.20 for NTUC. Li can help to ease "heaty wind", ie you get painful,stiff. its help.. ease the heatiness and taking one whole pc by yourself cause no harm.. i learnt from chinese physican..

Gals, for your information on Vit A...

Depend on individual, some gynea would advise not to take vit A, while others advise to take as normal but not higher than normal daily intake..

You cant eat liver all days round, once a week, cause no harm.. if you have weak or low blood cells, its a good bu xue.. but eat well cooked.

Undoubtedly the most important of all vitamins, vitamin A is needed by both humans and animals. It is produced solely via animal metabolism. Plants do not contain vitamin A, but they have an equivalent substance called carotene or provitamin A. Our body is able to convert carotene into vitamin A.

Vitamin A helps us see better in dim light and prevent night blindness. It is essential for bone and teeth growth. It also prevents infection of the epithelial skin, throat, nasal and digestive system tissues.

Besides night blindness, vitamin A deficiency can cause tooth decay, dry skin, sinus problems, ear/mouth abscesses, diarrhoea, liver and bladder stones, and inhibited growth during childhood.

Excessive vitamin A can cause the liver to swell and to secrete excessive bile. The external symptoms are appetite loss, headaches, nausea and abdominal pain. Hair loss, vision problems may also arise.

The best sources of vitamin A are liver and carrots. Dark-green vegetables, sweet potatoes, persimmons, red peppers (capsicum), beets, eels, tuna, crab, oysters, raw or dried apricots, mango, pumpkin, egg yolks, cheese and butter are other good sources.

close window

fates,

i think we have the same problem. Cold weather, my skin will be super dry, no matter how much lotion i apply. The dryness will turn into rashes when i am back in SG, but it will clear up soon.
For this preg related rash, it never seems to be well...You try the cream and lotion for a couple of days, if not well, then ask me for the contact. Dun be like me, try so many doct still not well, and suffer for 4 mths liao. Really happy to find this doc who is able to relieve me of my suffering. Not sure the cream name cos it is in the clinic container.

hi ivy,
i also have rashes on my body. Went to see a GP but she sees it as highly unusual. Went to see Gynae, gynae says it's probably due to hormonal changes. If it doesn't spread or isn't itchy, then she won't be giving me anything. But if i'm real scared, she gave me a contact for skin specialist. Until now, i still have not seen. The rash did not get worse (keeping my fingers crossed) and it's not itchy...sigh...my gynae also said it might last thru' my pregnancy tho...i felt the rash looks really awful so i try not to look at myself thru' the mirror. ;-(

Hi Zach's mum

Ok.. when the time gets nearer, we'll arrange the date

Fates

So u must hve gone to Paris rite.. kekeke.. do u like paris??? I just went there in Nov, don like the place. Urine smell everywhere, Pple are rude and unfriendly, dun like the metro... Gotta climb up and down... Hard to find escalators Haiz... Anyhow.. Paris has changed so much it wasn't tt bad when i was there 5 five yrs ago..... pple no longer stand at the right side while gng up the escalator, undergrds are smelly They jus block the way.. haiz...

Rashes... I've been applying Avent Indulgent Body cream.. I'm so scared tt when i'm back in SG, will hve rash all over. Anyway weather is too dry in UK so gotta apply them lor.So far dry skin has inproved after applying.. so i'm jus prayng hard tt will not suffer tt much when i'm back in SG.

Hi milo, 30th is my gynae visit and detailed scan is on the 4th Jan at ESH. Ya hopefully will know baby's gender. How exciting!!

Hi Margaret, welcome back too! You went to the middle east for work? Hope you are feeling better

Hi Little_Nana, you're right! I was in Paris for a few days and other than the historical sites, the cold weather & Eiffel Tower, I find Paris so-so only. People were rude and snobbish, service-level not up to standard, metros very dirty and ya it isn't what I'd imagined it to be. I preferred Venice tho'! It's so unique

Hi Fates..

Did you go with tour or free n easy? Yes. I remembered queuing to go up the top of eiffel tower.. reali windy and chilly!! And worse is that I had MS when I was there. Haiz... So where else did u go other than venice and Paris. Venice is a beautiful place. Did you take the gondola?? i've never been there well hoping tt i'll hve chance to visit.
Do you feel comfortable whlist travelling on air? I'll b abt 23wks when travelling back SG. Hope tt the long haul flight is comfortable. Jus afraid tt might b running to toilet very frequently hahahaha....

ino,

i think we can compare our rashes when we meet. It is very very ugly. No one dare to see my legs now and i have been wearing long pants since then. During my 1st tri, i also went to a skin specialist at Mt E but he is not able to give me any strong cream/medication as he afraid of harming my BB.
The other doc that i just went to is really effective cos he is both a gynae and skin specialist as i think he have the knowledge to prescribe a useful and safe cream.

Gals, just want to share my experience with you. I engaged VANI 90211447 as my massage lady and I regreted it. If you engaged massage lady please ensure shes reliablity and she cm on the day she promised. After I make payment she used 2 months to finish the course instead of 7 days. Oil and medicine which is included in the package are not delivered. I feel so CHEATED. I just know she stay at Blk 435, Yishun Avenue 6. If you have friends looking for massage lady, please ask them becareful. I just read the thread and noticed someone also kena like me.

i really want to cry out.. so sharp pain on my inner left thight vein.its wont go off even how hard i massage...
Anyone can give me advise.. its part of the pregancy.. some woman had it while others dun.. really affect me walking...

hello fairysnowberry,

thanks for clarifying. i've been trying to abstain from pork kidney (which happens to be one of my fav)... it's good to know now tt i can still have it occasionally with my mee sua

are yr rashes in the form of red, random spots? i have begun to spot some of those on my chest and back, but they are not painful, more like pimples... i went to chinese doc and she told me to ignore, as they are most prob due to hormonal changes and will clear after childbirth. but now i can't wear halter tops qnd i'm also worried they will not get better even after i deliver, and wat if the spots don't clear?

Hi Annie,

I got that problem when I was abt 8wks after a flu. It only ease off after 1 month!! I tried to swim & rub oil but no use, some times so bad that I couldn't step on my left side but it heal on it's own after awhile... No sure why also...

Hi fate,

I went there for a holiday. Very interesting place but weather very dry too and got severe flu when I am back, mc for on whole week!

Check with you gals whether can we eat abalone & sharkfin??

Morning all!

Hi Little_Nana, me and hubby went free and easy
Besides Paris & Venice, we went to a few other places within France and Italy as well. Actually Paris quite beautiful and romantic lar, just the French people I can't really stand. Hehee..Yes I took the gondola too! R o m a n t i c
kao_love.gif

Actually travelling on the plane is quite alright for me, but I keep going to the toilet on my way there and this really inconveniences the poor chap sitting with us in the 3-sitter :p
When we came back, we asked for a 2-sitter instead! Maybe you can request the same ya!

hi ivy,
most prob difficult to compare coz it's on my tummy area. ;-P so a bit diff to see mine...hehehhe. oh yeah, looking forward to meet u gals!

am on MC today. got a scare this morning coz i had some spotting. Rushed to see the gynae and was told to rest at home today... took some medication and a swab test just to ensure that everything is ok...

u noe...the first thing that comes to my mind is the safety of my bb. I was sooo scared that my tears keep falling. ;-(

hi gummie,
yes. lotsa red random patches on the front of my body, with some originating as pimples. Yes. they are not painful or itchy. anyway, i just left it alone, praying that it wld not worsen...

Hi Annie, hmmm why don't you try not to walk too much or wear flats instead of heels? Tonight ask your hubby to massage for you?

Yo Ivy, maybe when we meet, can compare scars with you ladies too! Really regrets scratching so much but now it's not so bad already...I hate scars.

Hi ino! Oh no it must had been a scare for you! Everything ok now? Did your gynae tell you why this happens? Have a good rest and don't think so much ok? Take care!

hi ino,
hope u're feeling better now.. rest well.

heh heh speaking of comparing tummy hairs, i think i will emerge as champion ar.. my tummy is like a big hairy nest now..

so when is a good time for all of us to meet? Mid Jan? Early Feb?

hi all mum-to-be..
I'm currently looking for pregnant lady to pose in a pregnancy magazine..
Makeup & hairstyling will be provided. (FREE MAKEOVER!)
If you are interested, please send in your pictures & particular to [email protected]'ll tell you more details from there.

Hi Fates,

Pls update my list since I'll be having a princess after coming back frm the detailed scan yday. thks

I've went to TMC to register for the classes and discovered that the sat classes starting on 21 Jan 06 had already been fully booked except for the evening session of 7-9pm. Therefore, had no choice except to book for the Sun morning class

Hi Fates..

It must be a tiring trip for u. Not easy to go up and down. During tt paris trip i was almost half dead after climbing 284 steps at La Defense.. kekeke.. Would wanna take gondola when i'm in Venice. Can imagine the scene and HB hugging when travelling along...

Haha.. I'm sure i'll b running to toilet every one hr.. especially when i drink a lot of water on plane.. hmm.. So gotta sit nearer to the lavatory and moving abt is not a problem. Hmm.. Upper deck has onli 2 toilets so better ask for the lower deck seating.. more toilets hahaha.. Thanks for ur infos fates..

Hi Angelzwynd

Congrats!! U can start shopping for bb's clothings!!

yO yO,
Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year...

I just went for a detailed scanning yesterday.The gal stated that the scanning sometime can't detect any small holes in the heart or v v min.. down synchromes systoms.. cos everything on the screen is black and white.. sometime, she can't see the figure so clearly..

sigh! ... duno whether the baby really ok, normal and healthy or not..

wonder, is it too late to do the amino test at this time.. i am already week 19 + 5 days

A very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all!

I have gotten my early Christmas present as my no 2 is a girl! More importantly she looks good. May all your wishes come true!

morn all!! super festive mood liao.. looking forward to the coming long weekend.

recently started having insomia, dunno is it feeling hot or wat, dun cannot get to sleep..

hi annie,

i thought a detailed untrascan at this stage should be quite 'conclusive'? i think no test or scan can guarantee 100% accuracy, so if the scan shows everything is generally ok, then i think u dun have to worry

as for the amino test, the gynae should be able to advise you if you even need to go for it?

to all mums-to-be,

have a JOLLY MERRY CHRISTMAS and GOOD TIDINGS for the NEW YEAR!!!

Hi Milo,

It is normal for preggies to suffer from insomnia. My colleague always wakes up at 230am and then fall asleep again around 5am.

Try drinking something hot? Maybe milk? Perhaps it might help

Gummie,

Merry Christmas to u too!!

mILO,
i Think you eat too heaty.. try to drink jasmine tea,can ease the insomina problem and not too cooling for pregancy woman..

grummie,
i oso think so but still worry...

gals,
Merry X'mass....ho ho ho

Congrats to angelzwynd and gabby for knowing your baby's gender!! Will update our chart accordingly
kao_babydust2.gif

Like to take this chance to wish every MTBs a Merry X'Mas and a Happy New Year!! Eat more eat more!

Hi Little_Nana,

Ya it's pretty tiring for me as you know the steps there when you change from one station to another *roll eyes* Especially so in the evening time when I'd walked and stand the whole day! My hubby very poor thing though, he carried a backpack and two luggages when we shift from one hotel to another! Gee...

For the flight, ask for sits at the back. 64 the best!

Btw when will you be in Singapore? Let's arrange a May MTBs gathering!