(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi KK,

Yup gynaes are busy pple. I also dun go on weekdays. By the time i finish work, the clinic closed already.

Hi QooSan,
Oh okay. You can see the gender of your baby earlier then
Have you thought of where you are going to deliver? Mount A or Gleneagles? Dr Foong's nurse advised me to choose Gleneagles so that its easier for Dr F to check on the status of my labour.

Hi fairysnowberry,

Hope my BB will be cooperate during the detailed scan.

I prob will choose Mt.A 4 bedder. Just want to save more money for my BB
how abt u?

hi zach's mum..

kekeke... I'll b back on 14 Jan and returning on 10th Feb. I've got no problem meeting up twice..
It's gng to be fun!! Imagine all big bumps walking and sitting together.. hahahaha

Adding on list

sponge - girl (Ariel Lim)
taurus - boy
kk - girl
annie - boy
Little_nana - Girl (Kaelyn)

i also felt my gal kick me as well and it's usu after 5pm everyday...hehehe...she's a day sleeper as well. The feeling is really wondrous...but it's a pity my hubby cannot feel it coz mabbe my stomach got too much fat liao (managed to cushion the impact) ;-P.

Hi QooSan,

I haven't decided. The nurse said i can make a decision later. I will see if i get the chance to speak to Dr Foong one day and see if he recommends Gleneagles or Mount A.

guess we are all v excited abt our babies' movements! Currently at week 20, i can feel my baby moving more vigorously. And more frequent. Last time when i'm at week 18, she only moves when i'm lying on the bed watching tv, but now, she moves in every 20 mins interval.

Not sure if you gals have experienced any heartburns lately? For me, ystd night was horrible. Dunno how come suddenly i experience severe heartburn, hence whenever i tried to sleep, the 'suffocated' feeling will take over, and it makes me wanna puke. Really very jialat.. Worse thing is even after puking my dinner out, the heartburn still didnt go away.. Machiam stayed awake the whole night like that.. now i'm looking like a pregnant panda..
kao_dizzy.gif

For those of you who has yet to decide on which hospital to deliver, I would suggest you arrange to go for hospital tour ... coz initially I have kinda set my mind on Mt A .... but now having 2nd tots after the hospital visit last Sat .... dunnoe how to explain the feeling but will make arrangement to visit TMC before we decide ....

Hi Sponge,

Oh yes! I was having a very heartburn one nite and i felt better after every sip of water. That's what i could do throughout the whole nite. I couldn't sleep well too. I think that was in my week 19. ANd i have to curb my burping else it was really bad

hi Taurus,

I recommend u to join TMC hospital tour. It is good to hv 2nd opinion. Initially i was all set for Mt A. but after the hospital tour i change my mind. It is always good to view a few and your decision still the same.

Hello ladies! I am back from my hols! Hubby brought me to disneyland cos' he knows we won't be going anywhere far in the near future when baby comes out.....it's a really good break for the both of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our hols

Thanks milo! You're such a sweetie for compiling for me! *muaks*

While I was there, I received a missed call from my gynae clinic and imagine the shock I went through! When I finally got hold of a nurse the next day, they told me the triple blood test shows I got low haemoglobin (red-blood cells)
.... sad sad..hopefully baby will be ok....really looking forward to me next appointment on the 30th.

hi kk,

so u had heartburn too.. feels terrible right?? i will try to sip water tonight.. hopefully i can sleep thru'out..

Hi taurus & starry,
what makes u change ur minds abt Mt A? Am curious to know as i intend to give birth there..

Hi fates,
welcome back to sg! poor u..must have been a real shock to receive the news..did ur gynae say anything else? like how to increase ur red-blood cells in the meantime?? if u're worried, maybe can ask to bring forward your appt.. then dun have to wait til the 30th..

Hi sponge,

ya mannn....so shocked 'cos before I left, I went for my triple blood test you see :p
Hmmm i did abit of readup....i guess the gynae will do another blood test? or monitor me more closely by giving me iron tablets? Currently i'm on fish oil, multi-vits and calcium tablets only. I think this is due to the fact I don't really like to eat leafy veg? ..

I envy you so much 'cos you can feel your baby already.....me still can't tho'....i mean i can feel the flutterings once in a blue moon but not the kicks and punches you girls had described :p

Here's an update! Btw is pooh, poohie & poohy the same person or? Let me know if I missed out anybody ya? cheerios!

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff0000">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>25-Apr-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Chan K H</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi ladies! Morning!

A clip of something that I read during 1st preggie, hope it's useful:

"You may have heard that it's best to lie on your left side during your last two trimesters. Here's why: When you lie on your back, your uterus can compress your pelvic veins in particular, the inferior vena cava, the vein that returns blood from the lower half of your body back to your heart. Lying on your left side helps remove this pressure. Try placing a pillow behind you, or under your hip or leg for comfort."

Little Nana:
Wow, you're back for about a month huh? Great, let's all meet up then we can compare notes, tummy size, tummy hair (??), etc, etc! It'll be fun!

Fates:
Welcome back! How was the trip? Thanks for updating the chart! Don't worry too much about low haemoglobin. I had that problem during 1st preggie. Doc gave me iron tablet and I was ok after taking it. BTW, our EDD the same now??

hello fates,

Sorry was busy in a meeting y'day so didn't post. Wow, so many updates!

Kindly add my details to the update:

EDD: 29May2006
Hosp: Mt A (tho i'm now undecided due to Taurus/sponge's comments)
Gynae: Dr Dolly Wee

Thank you!!

Hi Fates,

As what Zach mum has said, dun worry too much on the low haemoglobin. I once had low haemoglobin before i was pregnant. That was around 5 yrs back. I was pretty sad over my blood test resuits. And i self medicate with iron pills heee... but i stopped after a while because lazy to take the pills regularly.

I was worried over my blood test results too as i had history of low haemoglobin before. Luckily it turns out good

Ur gynae will prescribe u with iron pills. Everything should be alright
Try to eat food rich in iron. No choice already. Got to force urself to eat them. U can find iron in lean red meat, dark green vegetables (especially spinach!) and wholemeal bread. Try to eat lots of lean meat if u dun really like vegetables. Previously i was a veg lover so veg no problem for me. I dun like to eat meat. But ever since i pregnant, i force myself to eat more meat.

Hi SPonge,

u still having heartburn now? I had heartburn that time mainly because i felt hungry. How about u? So now i try not to let myself go hungry. It is the gastric juices that are secreted that makes me feel the heartburn

Oh yah for info, TMC is holding hospital tour every monday to saturday at 11 am and 2 pm. Ladies who opt for TMC has already received a letter from TMC on the reservation of room rite? Have u all gone on the visit?

Hi Fates,

Pls add me in too.

EDD: 20th May
Hospital: Still deciding
GYnae: Dr LC Foong

Sorry to hear abt yr low haemoglobin levels. Yeah you shd eat more lean red meat, poultry, liver, fish, eggs, beans, peas, spinach, nuts, bread and breakfast cereals. YOu should also start to take iron supplements now if you havent. The iron from vegetables is not as well absorbed into the body as iron from animal pdts (meat). Beef, lamb, vension etc are high in iron. Vitamin C helps in iron absorption too so eat more citrus fruits!

Sponge,
i just had heartburn on last friday. I called up my gynea, he stated panadol will ease the pain or alternate way is to drink a hot milk or milo.. i had milo made it v v hot.. slip by slip.. i found i got better..
Think my gynea will kill me for waking him at 2 am in the morning.

Fate,
Oh! don't worry.. D your gynea give you any suggestion? Try on those bu xue foods.. might help..

GALS,
I attached the following information for your reading pleasure... its wednesday... yappee.. xmas is on the way...ho ho ho...

Hello from BabyCenter!

Think you're big now? You'll start growing even more rapidly in the weeks to come. This added weight may make it hard for you to keep up your regular pace without taking a catnap during the day. You may also be wondering about that darkened line running from the top of your belly button to the top of your pubic bone. It's called the linea nigra, or "dark line," and is caused by a temporary increase in melanin, the substance that colors your hair, skin, and eyes. This is an important time for your baby's sensory development, too. Her brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. Some research suggests that she can even hear you talk, so read out loud, talk to her, or sing a happy tune.

Fate,
try the pork liver v v helpful.. work on me.. but of cos, too take too many. $2 only a v small portion just enough for a meal.

if you dare to eat beef oso v v helpful, vit a helps in creating blood cells but many will cos baby blindness.. milk power for pregancy woman has vit A incl. same for prune juice..carrot.. dun eat carrot juice.. too strong.

Sponge &amp; GALS,
i found this regarding heartburn.. hope its help

Question: Now that I'm pregnant, I have terrible heartburn. Which over-the-counter medicines are safe and effective?

Answer: Many moms-to-be have heartburn (also called acid indigestion or acid reflux). It's harmless but can be very uncomfortable. Luckily, most cases can be safely treated with over-the-counter medications. Here are some guidelines to help you understand your choices in coping with this unpleasant side effect of pregnancy. (As with any medication, get the okay from your healthcare provider first.)

Your first line of defense should probably be chewable antacids made from calcium carbonate (sometimes just called "calcium" on the label). Fast, portable, and effective, they may be all you need. They even taste pretty good. Antacids containing magnesium hydroxide or magnesium oxide are also a good choice and come in tablet or liquid form. But bear in mind that swallowing any liquid, even the liquid you drink to swallow a tablet, will cause your stomach to do what it does naturally produce digestive juices, including acid, the very thing you're trying to get rid of. So it's best to swallow tablets with as little liquid as possible.

All of these are true antacids. That is, they neutralize the acid that's already in your stomach causing you pain. Chewable and liquid ones act much faster than tablets you swallow because you don't have to wait for them to dissolve. You can experiment and see which type works most effectively for you.

Avoid antacids that list "aluminum" (such as aluminum hydroxide or aluminum carbonate) as an ingredient. Aluminum can be constipating and, in large doses, toxic. So even though it's probably safe used occasionally at the recommended dosage, it's not your best choice. Also avoid sodium bicarbonate commonly found in the form of baking soda, but also sold as an antacid in tablet form and sodium citrate. These are high in sodium, which causes you to retain water. And if you're far enough along in your pregnancy to have gone into a panic trying to remove rings from your swollen fingers or looked down in horror at your puffy ankles, you'll understand why that's the last thing you want right now.

Remember that even the chewable antacids that come in yummy fruit flavors are medicines. If you find yourself popping more of them than recommended, you may want to ask your provider about using something more effective and longer lasting, usually called an "acid reducer" on the packaging. Instead of neutralizing your stomach acid like the antacids, these actually stop your stomach from producing most of the acid it normally would. If you take a pure acid reducer, it works best when taken before you eat because it won't help with the acid already in your stomach. Some of these medications are a combination of an acid reducer (such as famotidine) and an antacid (such as calcium carbonate or magnesium hydroxide), to give you immediate relief from the acid that's already distressing you and to reduce further production for up to 12 hours.

good morning mums-to-be!

i've got a question here regarding heartburns... is that supposed to be a feeling of burning sensation at the chest? i've the experience of burping v frequently (and before the burp comes my chest will feel 'tight') and the air i burp out will either smell like gastric juice or smell of the food i've eaten. but i did not experience any 'burning' sensation. is that still considered heartburn?

hey fates,

thanks for updating! and welcome back!
here's my information to add on:
Hospital: SGH
Gynae: Dr. Yu Su Ling

i still dunno my bb gender and i haven't felt any bb movements yet... even though i'm now in my 19th week...
i think must be too fat oredi, cos thinner mummies supposed to feel their bb movements earlier...

gummie,
dun worry, i also have not really feel BB movement. Maybe sometime got but i dismissed it as air movement...hee..

Fates,
really, try to eat some pork liver. When i was in my 1st tri, my mum made me eat it every week. Its very yummy if you mixed it when mee sua.

hey fates/ ivy,

is pork liver advisable? i was told tt it contains a lot of vitamin A... i also had quite a bit initially (when doc told me i'm slightly anaemic)... simply love it with mee sua **slurp**

now i try to avoid... so maybe check with gynae better?

Hi Gummie!

My gynae never stop me from eating anything, except soft cheeses and alcohol. And he emphasize strictly no alcohol during christmas season although rum and raisin ice cream is ok haha..

i do eat pork liver too. My mum cooks that for me. In mee sua and porridge. But i only eat that roughly once or twice per month.

My intake of iron mainly comes from lean meat and green leafy veg. I love veg and can finish whole plate by myself every nite

gummie,
pork liver didnt consist of vit a.. i had once a week .. my gynea said ok.. but u have to make sure you cook well..
its good for bu xue and good for baby.. maybe, other foods that you take stir up..
Well, i experienced exactly the same like you.. should be this way, not that have to heartburn.. i feel my chest tight s if i have heart attrack.. the smell that you experience is oso same as for my case.. hhehe.. try to drink hot milk or milo, thats help..
my gynea stated too take too acidic food like pineapple, sour food.. else, your gastric will stir more acidic back flow to the "path" and experience heartburn.. try to eat small potions more meals..

Hi sponge,

it is hard to descibe the mixed feeling. I do like the big lobby at Mt A etc... but the feeling is not right leh for me , feel funny . In TMC, i feel better although hubby dun like the parking area but i feel TMC like more airy.

not everyone feel the same . You may feel different. If you are concern, maybe try the hospital tour and see whether u like the place.

Gummie,

Heeee, my gynae say only 5% of preggies will be so lucky to deliver on EDD. He say can be 2 weeks earlier or two weeks later. So i may not be the first lah :p

I agree with Annie. Somehow when i eat suan mei or other sour preserved tidbits, i feel like vomiting and then after that, burping comes with heartburn. That's the reason why i dun take such tidbits so far.

hi gummie,

Vit A is fine lah..I am still eating lotsa mangoes, papaya ( yellow flesh fruits tat supposed to have lots of Vit A)

Ivy,

We can eat mangoes???

Aiyoh, i have been avoiding yogurt with mango, mango pudding, etc etc. If can eat, i miss out all the enjoyment liao.

kk,

why not? I been eating the yummy aust mango...Big and sweet ( but expensive..hee...)
Checked with my gynae and mum, mangoes are fine!
Mum just say try to avoid oranges....

Hi Little_Nana, hehee...I didn't go HK oh...I went to Europe :p
It was a good trip but I can't walk very long.....walked from morning till evening, my back was already aching so badly! And oh ya i had very bad rashes too..

Hi SS1, really no problem after taking iron tablet? I don't mind anything wrong with me, but nothing must happen to my babyy....ya my EDD dates seems to fluctuate! It's the same as you now! Yay

Hi kk, ya now my hubby forcing me to eat the greens! No choice alredy....let's see what my gynae says on the 30th :p

Thanks fairysnowberry for the list of foods to eat...I'll eat more of it for the sake of baby

Yo annie, yeeks vit A will cause baby blindness? *fainted*

hihi ivy! hmmmm pork liver very blloooooddyy oh! Will try some.....

I loves mangoes too! Been drinking orange juice for breakfast.....heard drink alredy baby will have phlegm? Hmmmmm........

With regards to alcohol, my gynae said one glass of wine per week is ok. I had that when I'm overseas *oooppss* I'd been drinking coke and tea too! Gosh I'll stop drinking all these nonsense from now.

KK &amp; ivy,
manago is "wet heat" depend on whether your body can take it.. of cos, fruits are good for us now..
Eat lots of fruit with fibre does help to ease constipation.. (i have such prob).. papaya v good.. n oso pineapple. but i heard a lot of pp said cannot eat pineapple.. So far, no problem for me.

Annie,

One Chinese Orchestra instructor whom my school engages shared with me on what his wife ate when she was pregnant. He advises to eat all tropical fruits and that includes payaya, mango, pineapple etc etc. He say basically oranges and apples dun really help much. He say we live in tropical country so taking tropical fruits is good because our body system are adapted to such fruits. Apples and oranges are more meant for ang mos.

They always say pineapple cause miscarriage. I also dunno got truth or not. My gynae tell me not to believe such old wives tales. But to play safe, i dun eat pineapples, anyway no love for it and rarely eats it before pregnancy too.

Hmmm, so guess i can eat mangoes in moderation in yogurts, etc

Payaya causes jaundice in bb, true or not?? Or just old wives tales again?

fates,

Yah, me also heard oranges cause phlegm in bb. I dun take oranges because no love for it, but i love orange juice! haha.. so i drink that now every nite. But limit to one mug only, to play safe

I start to drink coke in my 2nd trimester. Not much though. Only drank 2-3 times so far.

My gynae say tea and coffee is ok. But must have limitation. Luckily i dun have love for both and i never touch coffee since young.

For constipation, i find that the only food that works for me is vegetables! No matter how much fruits i take, constipation can still happen. One plate of veg for dinner always works wonders for me the next day

Yes, i am taking lots of beans and peas too
Both my favourites

fates,
dun eat the bloody liver, must cook it to at least 90% cooked. But not overcook cos it will be very hard to chew..hee..
You got bad rash too? I tot i am the most poor preg woman liao. Last week my rash worsen and spread all over the body. Itchy till i cannot slp at night even. My gynae could not do anything for me cos he say its due to the hormones changes.
Lucky for me, after 2 slpless night and broken skin, my colleague gave me a contact. The doc is both a gynae and skin doctor. So he is able to give me a safe jab to stop the itch and a wonderful cream to apply. At least i am not itchy now and the rashes are starting to clear up. But he did mentioned that it may come back and get worse in 3rd tri.
Let me know if you want his contact, his clinic is at Upper Changi Rd.

Fates,

Yah i hate to cut up pork liver because it is really bloody! Hahaha...

Last time before pregnancy, it is great to take pork liver because i eat it when it is almost cooked, but not totally cooked. Especially for steamboats.

Now have to eat it totally cooked. I find it not as nice as before already, but can't be helped, got to eat that once in a while to supplement iron.

fates,
yes, i agreed! one glass of wine for our stage still ok.. just that have to avoid last trimmester..
Wine helps for blood circulation, however, don't forget we pregant woman has two difference pulse, our babies have faster pulse. So some woman might feel breathless if they take wine, thats becos their heartbeat increase..

kk,

yup yup, veg and fruits really help. Last time, i only take a bit of veg, now i tell myself to finish at least half plate of veg. Go ahead with the mangoes! Its yummy....haha