(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi milo, yasmin & ss1,
Thanks for adding on to the "Ariel" votes! hee~

Hi ino,
Thanks for helping me check the meaning of Ariel.. so it means Lion of God eh.. wow.. a very 'grand' name hor..

milo,
i didnt feel any discomfort on the plane, but bb keeps moving in my tummy when we are either taking off/landing.. hahah.. think bb must be feeling very excited.. oh yah, remember to bring plenty of drinking water to BKK..cos dunno y, the water there taste saltish to me?!.. maybe our taste buds now ultra sensitive, hence abit of weird taste can feel very 'urgh'.. Enjoy ur trip orh!

Just want to share with u ladies this cute ticker. Can help to track how many weeks are we at, and how many days to go! kewl~

349145.png

I have made an appointment for details scan with NUH on the Week 21+6days, will it be too early?
Usually on which week ur do the details scan?

Hi Qoosan,

I think the detail scan should be done ard wk 20 ..... I did mine on wk 20 + 3 days .... initially the nurse at the clinic booked me on wk 21 + 1 day but gynae feel abit too late.... so push forward to wk 20 ......

Hi Taurus,
So you don't have to come back for re-scan? The NUH nurse told me usually DA is done on wk 22 to wk24, not later than wk24. The nurse also mentioned if do early, some parts might not be seen clearly, i might have to rescan. As I will be travelling on Wk22, so my gynae ask me to do early.

So u know ur BB gender during the DA?

QooSan,
shouldnt b a prob.. cos bb is formed well at week 20.. u have the triple blood test already? then combine the result, shouldnt b big prob

Hi Qoosan,

Basically the bb cooperated and it was a pretty comprehensive scan. i am going for another detailed scan again in week 23

I get to know that i am having a bb girl during the detailed scan
Supposed to know in week 15 but bb did not cooperate.

sponge,

k k thk!. feeling so excited now! realise that my taste buds become more sensitive also thus more picky with food..keke

i heard that preggy whose family has history of diabetic has to go through the glucose tolerance test. anyone with experience on that?

shld we summarise our baby gender so that when fates back from overseas, easier for her to update into our table?

sponge - girl (Ariel Lim)
taurus - boy
kk - girl

for those that i left out, pls help to add on. thks!

milo,
Having sensitive taste buds indicate that your bb inside already can sense difference taste. He or she drinks the amino fluid from the water bag, thats made up of thousand of thousand of difference taste which came from the food that you take.. I learnt this from the documentary programme.. congulation.. sooner or later, u might fall crazy in love in certain particular food..

no! but i was asked to go back for another urine test... i think your gynea just want to play safe.. from the urine (morning before food) and after meal can cause the result to be v v vary.. i had that experience.. cos individual body required difference timing to digest food. Some can have normal gulcose level even after a meal..which indicate the body has v v good immue system..

sponge,
Thanks for your sticker indication.. v cute, where d u get it? so many days left..hopefully, migraine leave me ... else i still have to suffer..

i too vote for Ariel.. v nice and sweet name..
i love to address my boy as matthew.. cos i simply love this name, i think i oso fell in crush with someone by the name matthew.. but i doubt i can use it... too old fashion for next generation :p

Hi Qoosan,

Like wat the others ladies mentioned, at wk 20 .... BB is more or less develop ... so should be able to scan most of the organs ...
I already knew the gender of BB during my wk 17 scanning and the detail scan just confirmed it .... coz we managed to see clearly from the detailed scan and was also given the film which captured the gender ... veri cute ...

Thanks for the reply. No I have no worry to go for DA on the wk 21 since most of you are doing as early as from wk19.

How's the BB movement in ur tummy? Since when can ur feel it? How frequent is that? Can feel it everyday? I m wondering whether Boy boy will be more active and gal gal will be less active.

kk,

i think i only feel mine move once in a while not very often. currently in my week 18 and 2 days. how many weeks are u in now? kind of worry whether baby is ok

HI Qoosan,

When is yr detailed scan? Yr EDD is on 19th May right? Dr F's nurse fixed an appt for me at NUH on 22Wk 4D.

You will be on another business trip on wk 22? My, your job requires alot of travelling.

You didnt do the triple test also rite?

Hi Qoosan,

Dun worry. Things will be fine
Just go ahead with the date that u are comfortable with

i started to feel bb movement from week 19 onwards. I am in my 21st week today. For me, it is something moving across my tummy. My hubby can feel it yesterday!

Initially, i feel it around 3 times consecutively, and only once per day. Then these 2 days i feel it on and off very regularly throughout the day. When i feel hungry, i will feel the movement. When i eat full, i will feel the movement. I can also feel the movement while resting on the sofa watching tv and also before bedtime

Mine is bb girl but seems to be very active

Yah my BB is getting very acive nowsaday .... I start to experience movments even before wk 16 .... but usually fluttering movements .... but from wk 18 onwards .... I experience kicks and punches usyallyin the morning and evening time ... but these few days...I can feel movements throughout the whole day ... this morning on the way to work ... I think BB is doing somersaut inside...the sudden movement gave me a shock and I think BB also shocked... coz he stop for a few minutes before starting to moe again ...kekek

I dun think there is any diff bet gal and boy...coz my frined also expecting a boy but she says her boy doesnt move very much .. she is already in her wk 24 ...

Hi Milo,

Dun worry!! At first also no movement for me. At least u start to feel urs in ur week 18! I didn't feel any in week 18 before my detailed scan. So having a paranoid nature, i tend to worry. The day after my detailed scan, i felt my first movement after midnight
It was amazing ya?

It was then week 19 for me. Movements more intense in week 20 onwards

Hi Taurus,

Haha, it is really interesting, ya?

My bb girl has been moving non stop in the morning for 2 hours or so. My hubby can feel it last nite and even ask me whether i create the movement myself hahahaa...

Now think the bb sleeping... pretty quiet

kk / taurus,

at least i feel better now.. been so worried thinking whether bb is ok since i only get to see bb once in 4 weeks. next week will be my detailed scan. looking forward to it

Can tell the gender of the baby from wk 16 already? I asked my gynae at my last visit on my 17th wk but he didnt try to see if my BB is a boy or girl. He just said to wait for the detailed scan which i will be doing in Jan.

QooSan, did Dr F try to see whether yr BB is a boy or gal at yr last visit to his clinic?

Hi Milo,

No worries ya?

u must be excited over ur detailed scan next week
I will be going for my second one two weeks later

I read somewhere that bb movements are most felt earlier by preggies who are not first time mums or when they are very thin.

Hi Fairysnowberry,

Yup, can know the gender pretty early. My gynae say able to see when i was there in my week 15. But then he didn't spend much efforts to "disturb" the bb when the bb not in the correct position to let us see. After that he say wait for detailed scan.

Hi KK,

Ohh...i was actually eager to see if my BB is a boy or girl and was asking him on my 17th wk checkup. But he kept saying, cant tell yet. Have to wait for detailed scan. I had hoped that he spent more time trying to see if can tell if BB is boy or girl :p

But no choice, now have to wait for detailed scan in mid-Jan.

recently i feel my bb move again after so 1 mth. just over the weekend, i experience 1st kick when i am doing ironing. he kicks real hard and pain that i hv to sit down . I think bb dun like me do ironing leh. Currently in wk 19 and 4 days, still not feeling movement often.

Hi fairysnowberry,

Yah rite! If we know the gender earlier, it helps us make better decisions when we go out shopping for bb stuff, rite?

Oh, maybe on ur last visit, the bb didn't cooperate so he can't see anything?

Hi KK,

Yah... its really interesting to experience different kind of movement each day...I think BB also experimenting inside ...even during my detail scan the lady also commented my BB veri active .... hubby also first experience the kicks last week and he get so excited and keep aking BB to kick .... ended up BB kick the whole nite through and poor me ... couldnt get a decent sleep ..... by the way, how come ur next detail scan is 2 weeks later har?? I will only be doing the next detail scan during 8th month ...

Hi Fairysnowberry,

My EDD is 19 May. My Detail scan is 12 Jan which is on Wk21+6days.
Ya, my job need me to travelling a lot. I hope this will be the last one till my delivery.

I didn't do the triple test, as Dr.foong didn't suggest to me.

same thing as u, Dr. Foong tend to be those want to provide us with an accurate answer, i ask him abt the gender on my week17 also (last visit), he said can see something but not very clear. He also added since u hav already waited for so long why not just wait for another few more weeks.

Hi KK,
I m currently on my wk18+4 days, I start feeling BB kicking on wk18+2days, the feeling is like someone knocking on a big ballon :p, BB kicks for a few time, I ask my hubby to touch, and he can feel that too...so amazing. But hor, after that till now, I din't feel anything again

i can feel my bb move over the last weekend after 1 mth. I experience bb 1st kick when i was doing ironing. the kick was real bad until i need to sit down. Once i finished all my ironing, bb stop kicking liao. i think he dun like me doing housechores leh.

Currently 19wk and 4 days , the movement not very frequent maybe he is not that active.

me too dont feel it that often as I used to. Dont know why. But everyday got movement, not strong ones but very mild. If I dont pay attention can miss it. Also, movements at diff timing everyday, not consistent. Like till now no movement. At times I get worried and feel like bringing forward my checkup so that I can see baby during d scan.
My detailed scan is yet to be booked. Think most probably next month.

Hi taurus,

I dunno leh.. I think subsequently all are detailed scans. And perhaps my 1st scan on week 19, so they want another one in week 20s.

Aiyah, initially they thought that week for detailed scan was week 20. I dunno u still remember my long long story or not. But after the scan, confirmed it's week 19 liao because every measurement of the bb fits into week 19.

For the movements, mine not kicks yet. They are still very soft touches

gals,

Great to learn everyone experience and thanks sharing with your expressive words to describle how the movements..
Taurus,
Think your bb is playing with the "qi tai" the only play toy for him or her.. maybe he or she punch too hard n sense that the thing is link to his or her body..heheh..
i happend to watch the documentary programme on this.. duno m i lucky or not, i alway so luckily to switch to the channel and the programmes so happend to be on baby inside the womb.. how they form? how they react? Research on their memory, taste, smell..
my sis told me, watched too much such programmes can only scare myself.. but i alway so luckily to watch it.. but on the hand, at least, whats on the earth this creature is doing inside...hehhe..
now, this creature wake up already, moving..

Yasmin,
D your gynea tell you your baby move a lot or not? Mine d... he stated that my bb moving a lot..
Well, pros and corn.. however, my creature love to be day sleeper, wake up at 10pm.. start moving and kicking, punching or even boxing.. i guess.. cos sometime, quite painfully.. disturb my sleep..

wonderful to feel the movements. once, i ate vegeterian mee, he started to kick vigourously, i told him that he can have fish at night.. the kick stopped, think he wants to tell me that he hates veterian food like his father.. sigh... :p

Annie,
Hahahaha ur baby so cute.
Dont like vege food. Think everyday also I eat that.

During my 13 wk scan, gynae did mention that baby is active. Baby kept wriggling abt.

Whenever I sneeze, which is quite often these days. I have a tight pull on my tummy. Did anyone experience this?

I weighed myself this morning, realised that I lost 3kg that I put on 2 wks back. Dont know why? Hope everything is ok. Shld be lah.

I'm feeling extremely tired today. Slept in the office quite abit. Dont think I can sleep like that everyday. But it'll be wonderful.

Annie,

Any chance to 'wake' BB up during the day so that you can hv more peaceful sleep at night? Boxing at night can be real painful for u.

Hi Annie,

Maybe try toking to ur BB every nite before sleep .... I will tell my BB that its nite time n time for bed .... and also ask hubby to tell BB nite nite ... and morning will tell BB that its morning and mummy is going to work ....

Hi KK,

My doc was quite busy at my last visit so I was quite sure he didnt try to check cos i jsut came back from overseas and i think his main concern is to see if baby is doing fine. The scan was done quite quickly. He saw that everything was fine and he told me to wait for detailed scan to see baby's gender.

Hihi QooSan, yup yup prob you are right. Dr Foong is an "accurate and precise" person.

When was yr visit on wk 17 to Dr Foong's? I was there last Sat (10th Dec). Saw a couple of mommies there but dunno who are they.

Wow i really pray that i can feel my baby kicking soon

My detailed scan will be on 18th Jan.

Hi fairysnowberry,

My gynae too! Busy man.. and most of my appt are scheduled on saturdays because i can't make it on weekdays. And it is always saturdays that u see lots of preggies in his clinic. So basically he just scan to see well being of bb that's all. Sometimes, waiting time is even longer than consultation time haha..

Yasmin,
Oh! yes, definitely, especially if you cough or sneeze.. thats y books alway stated that pregant woman cannot have serve cough or heavy flu.. affect your bb as your muscles tighten when you cough or sneeze, the action creates the effect.. Take care, weather is cooling nowsaday.

No worry about your weight lost, my weight oso rise up and low.. so long, gynea told u that bb is fine and ok.. then no worry..
Some pp gain weight only at the last trimmester.

Taurus & twinkle,
I hope so, he is v v naughty.. he only scares of his father.. When my tummy get pain, ie he kicks hard or boxing.. the pain sure wake me up, grumbling sound awake my hubby.. he will try smooth my tummy and i wont feel pain after few strokes, else, if i myself smooth my tummy, this boy seems to love it and kick even harder.. :~(

Oh! ya, this creatures love meat like my hubby.. especially fish.. according to my mil, she said thats exactly the same when she was expecting my hubby..

Anyone experiences leg cramp? i had it and worst middle of the night... so painfully.. how to prevent? My hubby tried to straighten my leg n lift up, the pain can only ease temp.. the tense stretch still there.. sometime till morning.. :~( Anyone can help me?

Hi fairysnowberry,

I was there on 9 Dec, we were just missed by 1 day. The nurse also book for me 18 Jan initially for the detailed scan. Now hav rescheduled to 12 Jan.

Annie,
I hate the leg cramps. I experience them mostly if I turn on the aircon or if fan is directly blowing at my feet. Make sure you cover up well. Like what twinkle said, raise your leg on pillows. It can help. Take care.