(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi little nana,
congrats on having a gal too!

hi ino,
i also went gaga over seeing baby gals' clothes! Simply too many choices and they all look sooooo adorable! Was abt to go on a mad shopping spree but luckily my hub's there to control me..heh~

hi annie,
think that thing u r referring to is call a 'yao lan'? sarong type one right? then got a spring or something attached to the ceiling one. I saw this thing selling in Suntec, i cant remember which stall exactly, but its inside this section call Family Link. However just a word of advise, its better not to put ur baby inside this yao lan, as it doesnt support the baby's back, and baby's backbone still havent 'harden' entirely hence may have side effects on baby's spine in future.. I myself have spine problems, so i wun be taking any chances with my babe's spine..
kao_scared.gif

Hello girls! Wow so many of you know babys' gender already eh! Sorry not been updating cos' I am not in Singapore now. Do update whatever details on this page cos' there's simply too many posts for me to read! kekekke

I'll be back on Wednesday for the usual updates...take care all and chat again ya. Cheerios~

hi girls...

Jus wondering if there's any feedback on The AVENT ISIS iQ UNO Electronic handheld Breastfeed pump. Thinking of getting this.. Please share some infos ;)Thxs!!!!!
http://www.avent.com/uk/en/breastfeeding_avent_isis_iq_uno.php

Sponge and Ino
I'm so tempted to buy bb's stuff and I'm waiting for post xmas sales in Ldo... reali cheap sales gng on at mothercare..
So gotta tahan till den... Meanwhile i've got shorties, sleeping suits and travel cot for bb.. haha.. reali KS mummy and Daddy.. reali tempted to get nice dress for bb.. Lots of variety and can't wait to dress her up ;) Rite now cracking brains, looking for bb's names kekeke... Any SG Sales?? I'll be back in mid Jan, thinking of getting some stuff from SG too

Fates
R U on biz trip? will wait for ur update... take ur time to do it, no rush

Hi sponge,
Thanks for your good advise.. ok! i wont buy it... cos the provision shop uncle keep saying that hows good it is..

Wah! xmas is round the corner.. any good celebration around?

good morning gals,

seems that there are more BB girls in this thread as for now. Envy envy...the girl clothes are so cute!

Little Nana,
mid Jan shld have the CNY sales. Maybe you can also go Chinatown to grab some stuff, they are quite cheap there.
SG mothercare also having sales now. Maybe you can get your siblings to get some for you first, prob will be cheaper than UK mothercare (cos of the strong pound).

morn gals..

wah so envy many of u got girls.. cant wait for my turn next friday. hope bb will cooperate!

been walking ard these few days. everywhere is so crowded and having sale!!

anyone knows whether a bouncer is useful? was thinking of getting the fisher price one where they can convert to a toddler chair at a later stage.

ivy,

at least u can attribute a significant part of yr weight gain to yr boobs, kekeke...
besides, i think every one has their own 'issues', some women wished they had bigger cup sizes... so i guess yrs is a happy problem

ooooooh.... i cannot imagine i have to wait until jan to know whether mine's a boy or girl. and if the bb doesn't 'co-operate', i have to wait another month! i can't wait to catch up with the rest of you.....

Morning gals,

so many baby gals... i went shopping over the weekend and the girls clothings are much interesting than boys. so sweet and lovely. While boys type are more or less similar patterns.

Check w u all, some clothings are size as new born and there is also 0 - 3 mths. Does that mean new born are only for a few weeks old?

hey twinkle,

yes i believe the 'newborn' ones are only meant for baby's first few weeks, they will outgrow the size v quickly... usually pple will advice u not to buy too many pieces, not forgetting that yr friends may give u baby gift sets as presents, those will be for newborn...

hi milo & gummie,
good luck on knowing your baby's gender! The feeling is simply marvellous! its like, our babies finally have identities.

hi fates,
thanks for taking the trouble to update all the info for us! Appreciate it!

hi starry,
even for NBs, i will buy the 0-3mths size, cos some of the cutting are really quite small, so shd be able to fit NBs too. Agree with gummie not to stock up too much on that as babies grow very fast, and not forgetting all the presents we will be receiving.

hi sponge,
ya lor i saw some NB clothes, so so small and i m giving it second thoughts.

I guess i hv to buy clothes for bb bcos the presents i going to receive is bulk items. My colleagues had request a list from me so that they can share to purchase etc...

hi starry,
same here! my colleagues have been asking me what i need..since we have already bought most of the things.. aiyo headache ar.. think i will ask them to get vouchers for me..then can make use of that to buy pampers. We will need loads of them..

MILO,
is it true? i mean thats the indication? oh! no, i brought one yellow set for my niece. just born last thursday.. thought 0-3 mean 0-3 mths.. oh! dear..

twinkle,

i suspect my BB will be quite big size cos me and hubby are big boners so i din get any NB clothes, all get from 0-3mths. hee...

annie,

i think generally that shld be the indication. 0 - 3 mths is only an est. some bb grow very fast and may be bigger than their peers though they are ard the same age.

ivy,

how many piece did u get? i got only the following

5 pcs of 0-3 mths top,
1 pc 3 - 6 mth top(buy wrongly)
2 long pants with booties.
4 whole suit type

enough?

milo,

i got

3 pcs of 0-3 tops
4 pcs of 3-6mth tops
1 baby set (including all the booties and mittens and cap for 0-3mths)
7 whole suit type.
2 set of booties
2 bag of nappies

These are all the nice looking kind (disney babies collection).

i think i will go to pasar malam to buy so more for the 0-3 mths, at least another 10 more. That is quite cheap and can use for normal wear.

matched gal,

there are so many sales going on and since i more or less confirmed BB gender, i start to buy more and more liao.. My BB cupboard will be full in no time! hee...

we've buy some ourselves too when we were on holiday.

3 sets of 0-6 mths (includes top and bottom with matching mittens and booties);
1 set of 0-6 mths (disney series);
2 sets of 6-12 mths (disney series);
1 set of 12-18 mths (disneys series);
plus a few tops and trousers of various sizes

we had yet to confirm the gender of our baby when we bought these clothings and hence they are more of a general color and style. think about it, we may have bought than wat's listed above

hi ivy,

Where do u buy the nappies. i saw the nappie in Mothercare and they look more like a towel fabric as compared to other stores.

I wanted to buy half a dozen first.

look like our gals here are so kiasu.. heheh
i only brought 4 packs of dryper..
dun dare to buy so early.. v v pandang..

hehehe, i c... actually i tink i'm too lazy to go to the sales - my galfren warned me said not to buy too late, wait last trimester may be very inconvenient to move ard (cos tummy big-big) ;)

Actually for me, i'm busy short-listing names rite now... can't seem to see eye-to-eye wif my husband leh... anybody got the same problem?

oh, as for diapers, i saw another thread - this experienced mummy say dun buy too many diapers to stock up too early cos duno wat's baby's size... ;p

ivy / sponge:

hehe i also crazy with the disney series but only for the pooh bear collection. got quite a no from fox bb cause find it quite cute.

u got a cupboard for bb already? intending to let bb sleep in the next room. now still deciding shld i get my contractor to fix up a wardrobe or buy one to tong first

matched gal,

i tot of a couple of names liao.. me more ks keke

if boy will be call - kaeden
if girl will be call - joyous (hubby like but i feel funny)

any suggestion?

twinkle,
i bought from John Little, i think its the pigeon brand. Its 100% cotton, so quite comfy.

milo,
cos i got married this year, done up my house last dec. Already taken into account the needs of BB. So the furniture are all in place (i built in all my furniture).
BB will slp in the study cum bedroom with the CL for the 1st month so that i get more rest..hee..

For names,

we already decided on them liao..(after many fights and disagreements. hee...

Boy-Xavier
Girl-Keiko

woah...all of u gals bought so many clothes already? me only bought 1 and i dun think i will be using it...waiting for those post x'mas sales to buy some. I dun tink i even have space for bb's clothes unless i start packing my cupboards... ;-P

yeah...i like the pooh bear collection. saw one pink flower romper which is soooo cute...fox bb has nice bb's clothes too but they weren't having a sale so din buy.

somehow, hubby is not as excited as me in splurging $$ on bb's clothes coz he said will outgrow fast. i mean...what he says is true..but still can't control myself. ;-P

hi milo,
me and hubby also discussed about names too. we just settled on a chinese name for my daughter yesterday...now it's the english name...looks like we will go as per his suggestion. most importantly, both must be comfortable with the name...coz it's for a lifetime. My mum advised me not to go for funny names which can get teased in future...she even asked me for chinese translations of those names which me and hubby are shortlisting...hehehhe...she said it's betta to be safe than sorry...aiya...realli headache!

ivy,

me didnt make plan for the 3rd room cause at that time worried later my mil pop by my place to stay.. keke

ur boy name is nice
how do u pronounce ur girl name?

ino,

yah, even the "initials" of the name very important - next time if boy, will be printed on his army uniform leh ;pp

i hvn't decided the chinese name; Christian name oreadi giving me headache ah... haha...

hi ino,

can share wat are the chinese names u tot of? me still cracking my head for mine if he is a boy..

matched gal,

agree that we must check the initial for our boy names properly..imagine ong C C sure let ppl laugh

wow u gals so fast abt names liao.

we intend to shortlist some English names later , but chinese name definately will be after birth cos need to see the ' pa zhi' and clashes with parent etc.... that is our family tradition

Matched gal,
i agreed. thats y i oni brought 4 paxs each oni have 64 pcs, with those experienced mums advise, 8 to 9 pcs each day. the 4 paxs can only last a mth..

Wah! everyone so kiasu abt the name.. think better get a fortune teller to give names to your son or daughter when they arrive.. got a list to choose from.. the date n time is most important to name a baby.. name actually got "soul"

actually one difficulty i found about choosing names was that when my husband / me picks a name & the other party knows someone already having that name, we tend to associate certain 'characteristics' wif the name... hehe... so now we luk at names which our frens dun carry... but very difficult lah.... ;p

annie,
i dun really believe in fortune-tellers, so too bad, i've to pick the name myself ;)

annie,

i think even before visiting the fortune teller, we hv to hv some names in our mind as well or the character u would like to bring out of the child. otherwise only depend on fortune teller also not very good.

milo,
your hubby also Ong? Me like Xavier cos initials is X.O. haha...quite fun.

we tot of the chinese names as well already. Girl will be Kai(1) En (1) and Boy will be Kai (1) Wei (1).
We dun believe in fortune tellers and as parents we should name our own child rather than some strangers. hee...

milo,

my girl name is japanese , meaning bless.
Husband really like that cos its very sweet. Dunno how to tell you how to pronounce, maybe next time see you then tell you. hee...

ivy,

u so well planned. i always wanted a girl so already had a name , now got to think for boy liao. Just told hubby over the weekend now i think i cannot use the name Yu(4) Ting(1) liao

ivy,

my hubby surname is cheng, in mandarin is zhong. my friends keep asking me to name my kids, zhong to to and zhong ma piao..

i also tot of the chinese name already. girl will be xin(1) yan(2) and boy will be something with xi(1).

i like the name wen(2) xi(1) but hubby chinese name has a wen inside and my ils say cannot wor. heard of that?

ivy,

ic.. tot the name sounded jap. good to have bless as its meaning as babies are indeed a blessing from god

milo,

is it bcos the word wen is the family 'pai' something like that. i only heard that if that generation has a 'pai' means every kid in that generation must use that , the next generation is something else.

for my time, the 'pai' sound awful so my parents decide to opp out for girls but the boys all follows.

twinkle,

dun think so. hubby's family dun have this practice. more like daddy and bb name cannot share the same character. dunno wat believe.. but think if i cannot have another word that i like to accompany the xi word, i jus heck care and use wenxi