(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

me on MC today. went to A&E this morning with a gastric attack. the pain was so sharp that i also cannot breathe. only came back at 6am.

Hi Annie, ur sis labour pretty short. For my son, I had a nearly 14hr labour.

Ur niece quite a good size. If baby too big, diff in pushing out, also might have longer stitches. But of course nicer to carry, more full. But no matter if baby big or small, taking care of NB is the same. They cry for milk every 2hrs. Cry everytime they poo and pee. My friend's NB cried for no reason and refused to sleep too. Then my friend's mum bathed the baby and also washed the hair then the baby stopped crying and slept well. Interesting hor! How baby's cry for bath and hair wash!

Ino,,
agreed that jb got lots of robbery.. well, up to you, how do you want to attract the robbery..
dun wear expensive clothing, wear simple shoes or slipper.. dun carry your handbag on one side.. best those two side.like haver bag..
dun wear expensive watch, carry handphone like nobody around.. they will recognise u as "sporean"

matched gal/milo

doctor say could be the food i ate last night cannot digest well. anyway i also hv gastric and my gastric acid juices quite alot one lor. but this time my tummy also hurt so i scared i went to see doctor

now i m feeling better liao. actually feel hungry. for the past few days i am not hungry all the time and i ate for the sake of eating. partially the gastric juice already in action.

twinkle,

well, the gd ting is dat u got ur appetite back(!)
Better eat something (not acidic, and not cold) if u're feeling hungry... hot soup works as an appetizer for me when i've no appetite

ivy,

the custom-made bean sprout pillow seems reasonably priced. have u placed the order yet?

i also think maybe a cot can use longer... but the ones i saw range between 200-300 and over leh, so yrs must be a good bargain!

milo,

did u say the medela pump is $700 plus? hmmm but my sil says the electric pump is about 180-190 without discount. are there many different models?

really envy those of u who have started buying bb stuff. i won't be able to know my bb gender until jan next year, so i have to bear with it a little longer before i 'da kai sha jie' kekeke...

yest i was shopping around for some christmas presents for children. i realised there are so many types of interesting, fun and educational toys in the market :D and i ended up buying the very first TOY for my baby, kekeke... getting very excited oredi...

hi matched-gal,

yeap i just ate porridge. i drink soups daily normal soups not tonic lah . hee... bcos my appetite very small, few mouth of food full liao.

gummie,

yup the medela got quite a no of range. they have the:

1. manual one
2. single electric
3. dual electric
4. pump in style

heard the single / dual electric rather noisy and not very lasting. pump in style range is the best but cost $700+. the ameda one is comparable to the PIS but priced at $300. some mums say more suitable for asian.

was thinking shld i invest in such an ex pump since i am not sure how long i can persevere in bf. tot of either getting a manual avent pump and try first / rent 1 set and see if its is really that good.

hope this helps.

milo,

thanks for the info... i agree, i will think hard about investing in such an expensive pump. i hear the feedback from a few pple seems like the medela one is not bad. besides, unlikely tt we will be using the pump for very long, maybe 6 months?

u want to try the manual pump? i think our hands n arms will get v tired after a while, esp given the frequency we need to pump... but if it helps me to tone up my flabby arms, i seriously dun mind, kekeke...

btw, such pumps can rent one meh?

twinkle,

u same as me leh, small appetite, hehe. Yah, i dun really drink tonic soups often too... ;) I tot i was doing the rite thing eating small meals every 3 hrs, but gynae said i over-ate cos i gained 3 kg(! dun believe it...) during the past 1 month, tho my baby is not very big... haiz....

gummie,

u are welcome..

i am still hesistating how long i wanna bf leh. my friend baby is now coming to 2 and she is still bf, can see that her little girl is very smart and immune system wise is very strong. this sort of motivate me but i worry if i do not have the supply also no use.

tot manual pump cheaper so if everything goes well, i change to a better pump, at least wont waste that much lor. if gurantee can tone my flabby arm, i also wan..keke

the pump can rent but normally wont use the milk to feed baby more like to see if suitable for the pump or not before buying.

I realised when I wore half cup bra, the wire makes me feel uncomfortable when sitting down. Do u all feel the same? like something 'stuck', in the morning when i wore it it is ok, cos standing up.

twinkle star, u have to rest well ok.

Hi, I think buying a cheaper pump to try out is best. I did not have supply for long and my HB bought for me a battery operated pump that cost ard $100. I found that very ex, cant imgaine investing few hundreds on a pump. My friend who recently gave birth used to use a manual pump for her 1st kid. She wanted to borrow mine but I did not lend her as I did not feel too comfortable in lending such things. I have got sensitive skin, scared that if I lend her and she develops some rashes and cant feed her baby, I will be super guilty. Wld u gals use pumps that have been used by others?

eve,

i've switched to wireless bras 1 month ago (2nd trimester) liaoz... tink they're more comfy & allow circulation better.

cudn't stand the wired ones, cos i felt really "suffocated" wearing them all day in the office...

gals,

About the cot, i forget is what brand liao. Bought it in Nov at the 20% JL sales. I already saw the design before and send my hubby to go buy during the sales. Heard that it is so packed!

The cot can be coverted into a rocker bed as well but not into a regular bed. But it can fit BB up to 3 years old.

I paid for it but told them to deliver after CNY. Although new house got space now but i scare CNY, ppl come to visit will be very cramp. Cos current BB room is being used by mil as a mahjong room also...hee...

So if you wanna get from JL, just let them know when you want to deliver the cot.
By the way, i also apy extra $25 for a mozzie net cos i may not on air con every night.

Annie,

how come you are so well knowledgeable about the husband fight for wife case? How come you know that the cause is becos water gets into the veins?

You know the husband and wife or your gynae is the same one who delivered the baby.

Pls try be more sensitive and no scare the 1st time mummies here....

(sorry if i offend you in this post but i know the couple personally)

hey milo,

i wished i cld bf for longer too. btw is yr friend working? since i have to go back to work, i think it will be difficult to continue breastfeeding for long. besides, i was told that once we start pumping to substitute for direct breastfeeding the milk supply will be reduced ya?

i see... only for testing. actually also a good idea...

gummie,

my colleague pump a total of 8 years!!!
Yes, she say that once you stop or pump less often, the supply will stop.

I suppose, we can wait and see how is our supply later before decide if want to invest in an expensive pump. In any case, we will stay in hospital for 2 days. If we want to buy the pump, can either get from there or ask hubby to go out to buy.

hey gals,

really pumping out will reduce milk supply? i had thoughts to pump it out in case at night , my mum can help to feed while i m resting. she will be doing confinement for me.

matched gal,

i saw your posting that you also get the blocked ears. My gynae say its common cos our body is working harder. As long as it goes off after a while, then its fine.

I got it this morning and now its okie liao.
i think best is to take a rest. I nap for 10 mins in my car and feel much better after that.

For the bra, i think maybe it is getting too tight for you. Your cup may have increase. Today i using double extension and feel more comfy. I think my circumference increased liao...

twinkle,

my colleague say if you continue to pump at least twice a day, the supply is still there. Maybe try to direct bf as often as possible, then go back to work and pump twice a day?
Guess it will be hard for me as i am always out of office...

gummie,

my friend is a working mum, think she pump in the office. for my side here, there is history of ppl pumping and we have a fridge so i guess shld be quite alright. hope to last till bb is abt 1 year old.

ivy,

really peifu ur colleague can pump for so many years. me now trying to apply nipple cream every night also lazy ah, wonder next time how

ivy,

oh i c... the blocked ears feel somewat like travelling in an airplane (taking off / landing), hehehe...

erm, it's not me whoz using wired bras, it's eve
Actually i'm ok once i switched to wireless... also my circumference increased (as u said), but my cup remained same... (sianz ;pp )

gals,
i intend to bf for 3 months then c how. not sure do i hv enough supply. Also i will bring back my baby every nite , can keep the milk so long in the fridge meh?

just share my tots...

some mum pump more and feel more comfortable using the manual pump than the electric pump...so if can borrow from some1 to test , then its ok to 'invest' in a good pump..

for my first pregnancy, i'm using the medela electric single pump...find it ok when i use it initially but after sometime, feel so tired and slow...while pumping one side, the other side, leak....waste milk!! hehe

those who bought the pump, pls do pack and bring along in ur bag which u bringing to hospital when u deliver...tough first few days no supply, but its gd that u bring along and pump to stimulate and let ur supply come in fast...tats wat the lactation consultant taught me...but pls sterilised or wash before u packed in ur bag...and bring along a plastic box so that u can use hot water to clean the parts after using in the hospital...i din know and the hospital charge me abt $10 for a normal plastic box

ivy,

yr colleague's supply lasted for 8 yrs? dis she have a few babies in between? WOW! imagine the savings on milk powder

if i can even bf for a year i wld be very happy oredi... :D

my bras are also gettin really uncomfortable. even with the extensions it's not getting any better, think it's really time to switch to non-wired ones... but i really am not used to having my breasts spilling over to the sides without support...

gummie,

yah, she have total of 3 kids. The eldest is now 8yrs old. She will disappear 2 times a day to pump and then keep in the fridge before bringing home.

gummie,
tks for the info. if i hv so much supply like Pooh good leh. then i can pump more and reserve them in fridge even i stop bf baby still hv another few weeks to 1 mth supply.

i scared later ple laugh at me so big boobs no milk. hahaha

twinkle,

drink more green papaya soup. Sure will have supply.

Wat i scare is have bigger boobs after bf...i dun want any increase liao!!!

gummie,

try pierre cardin's wireless bra - i bot two fr robinsons some wks bk and found them quite comfy - instead of wire, got a soft stretchable "bottom" support. ;)

i'd trouble luking for wireless bras actually... din find the lacy ones very appealing cos scared if i wear material too thin, it may "show" ;p

twinkle,

u're welcome

actually some pple say can try to eat papaya, drink more milk for eg. to increase milk supply. i always think mothers who continue to breastfeed after they start working are very 'wei da'... it's really not easy.

but first, let's all hope for abundant milk... SUPPLY!

gummie/ivy ,

i heard abt the papaya stuff . my mum did drink those soups but she also dun hv supply so end up 4 kids also drink formula milk. i hope not hereditary

matched girl,

hmmmm... maybe i shd give them a try huh? i hesitate to buy partly also bcos our breasts will still 'grow' right? just 2 weeks ago i bought new ones now oredi find them v tight. then again, those are wired bras, so i shd try non-wired next...

ivy,

hehe, i guess u're rite - i asked for C, but was told B is the biggest they hv ;p If my cupsize expand later, jialat, i've to invest more $ ;pp

Just wish to found out if any of you knows besides Robinson, any other shops or departmental stores carries Preg Peraggo brands of strollers/prams? Thanks in advance.

ivy,
I knew it well cos i noe a lot of doctors (western and Chinese) and in-side pp.
Of cos, I dun want to scare anyone. That's not my intention.. I am oso 1st timer.. In fact, I told my hubby b4, if such thing happend to me, don't operate on me.. cos no hope.. at least, have some insurance cover which will let my baby have secure life..
Of cos, gals, such cases are v v minor and v rare in the sense, the risk is v v low.. We all take chances rite?
Like some of the gals here, gynea advised to go for amino test, also didn't go for, cos they believe that no illness would leave them to choose another way to ease the problem.. Of cos, they oso praying that nothing happen..
Including me, everyone doesn't noe for sure, until the day we deliver.. We hold our own baby in our own hand and check every part of the body..
I pity the woman case, however, i pity more for her son. One day, when he grows up, one day, he realises that his dad only cares about the money... maybe, one day, he doesnt have any idea whose is his mother...

ivy,
wah! Such big cup.. heheh.. must be uncomfortable..

gals,
by the way, the black line straight down our tummy, according one of the book, indicates as our plactera has move away from pelvis area.. that darken the line.. I d mention it is due to the changes in the gastric acid cause it.. two books stated the difference.

gummies & KK,
I start to feel the "butterfly feeling", baby moment.. the problem, this baby seems to love night life.. he starts to move around 10pm onward.. will fall asleep after my meals..

ivy,
doctors wont admit mistake..trust me.. i too felt upset and angry when i learnt the true.. Operation is a bit "late". ( i hope i wont get sue for telling the true).
life has to go on. bless that she still has her parents beside her..
well, to self help, the best to inform the nurse, required to see the gynea or doc if shiver occurs, systoms like foot is the most obvious.. normally, if got ep injection, hand and body will shake during those 6 hours.. shouldnt feel so after the drug injected for more than 6hrs.. unless hungry or too cold.
by the way, should be able to noe whether can noe bf on the 1st day, let the baby suck and see how.. the holes in the nipple need to be "open" n stimulate.. chances go down as days goes by..
My colleague can bf 1st day for her 1st baby.. then 2nd one cannot, she tried for a week and gave up.
Same case for my sis, she tried to bf 1st few days, up till now, still cannot..
baby feel more hungier compare to feed them powder milk that can last for 4 hours..

gals,
any advise whether to buy, i duno what it is call. i noe i had it when i was young.. its hang on the ceiling and can manual shake. baby is put inside the cloth..
anyone noes what i m trying to say? paiseh! forget the name..
most stated that the baby will rely on it.. while others stated that the baby will cry if you dun put it in especially day time.. baby want to shake..
Anyone used that before?

yasmin,
your friend's baby might be crying, yelling for hugging.. my colleague, her 2 babies v v smart, cry everytime when they put back to the small cubiec.. only 1st day, they noe how to differenitate human hand and the cubic..
At the end, my colleague and her hubby has to keep carry the babies..
while, for tradition way, i duno when yr friend want to try or not.. take some pormelo leave and put in water, use the water spray a bit on baby's forehead.. cos, hospital is a "dirty place".
Up to individual to believe... i start to believe when i personally encounter. However, i did see what pp did so when i went to hosp to visit my gfs when they deliver..

hi twinkle starry,
u are so humourous...hehehe..no milk from big boobs? hehehe...i heard tat having big boobs doesn't necessarily mean more milk...yeah..papaya and fish do help in the supply. that's why a lot of my colleagues were eating fish everyday after giving birth. ;-)

hi matched gal,
wanna find bigger size bra (including bigger cup)...gotta try those european brands or wacoal...btw, if your cup is a C and looking for wireless bra, can also go Triumph. They have this particular model which is very comfy. tink it cost $18.90. ;-) it's not on the rack but together with sales items. hope this helps!

hi sponge and nana,
congrats on knowing the gender of the bb! must be realli excited? now when i see bb gal's clothes, i simply go ga-ga over them!

hi ivy,
i think our boobs will get back to our previous size once we stop breastfeeding...hmmm..i wonder whether zoe tay still bf-ing anot...hers realli got bigger. ;-P