(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gd days gal,
i still on mc today, migraine still attracking me.. my sis is already in the hosp, having her drip.. then induce... think my niece will come out in the evening time.. hehe.. just a pity, cant visit her.. cos my mil already instruct me..

yesterday, i got a chinese physican whose noe accuptance to accup.. on me.. he brought his son n insist to tattoo my eyebrow.. sickening.. already reject the offer yet insist.. paid $$

ivy,
i oso dun have anyone to pass me the old infant clothes.. trying to get from my friends and colleagues..

havent buy any yet, many friends told me that there will a lot as most people will buy as a gift ... :p

gummies,
oh! yes, hopefully my tummy wont become so big.. my sis only wear her maternity clothes on her 8th mth..

I am lucky I got quite a bit of maternity wear pass down from friends, but i still cannot resist buying if i see nice and cheap ones. I try to control by keeping a list of how much I spent, so far, I spent nearly $400 on maternity wear, but seems like never enough. Anyway, we need get nice and new ones for Xmas and CNY, so I see nice ones will still buy :p

btw, topshop also have a maternity range, can check out the wisma outlet for more designs, suntec branch also carry a small range.

Lucky for those who have small tummy, my tummy is really huge, 36" now, I am 17 wks. Thk its becos this is my 2nd pregnancy so it gets bigger faster. My colleague who is 13 wks, expecting 1st child, is so much smaller than mine.

kk,

BB sets got the whole works. Maybe its cheaper to get a set, with mittens and booties?

annie,
if you wait till the gifts from colleagues, then BB will have no clothes to wear! They change about 3 times a day. So you shld at least get a dozen on your own while waiting.

ivy,
dun worry.. cos nb baby cannot wear the baby clothes that we buy outside.. i duno how to call it in english name.. i saw it on the show..
nb baby has to wear something .. for a week before can wear normal baby clothes..
will have to buy that thing b4 delivery.. my colleagues will only give ntuc vouches for sure..
i think for the 1st mth, baby can wear those cheap clothes sell at those market.. quite cheap.. then get a few expensive one to dress him or her up on the 1st mth celebration..cos bb will shit and urine a lot.. no point dress him or her nicely for short while and have to change again...
i will check the correct name n let u noe.. the main reason, nb baby skin is v v easily get allegy to what normal baby clothes.. have to buy something difference from cloth..

ivy,
dun worry.. cos nb baby cannot wear the baby clothes that we buy outside.. i duno how to call it in english name.. i saw it on the show..
nb baby has to wear something .. for a week before can wear normal baby clothes..
will have to buy that thing b4 delivery.. my colleagues will only give ntuc vouches for sure..
i think for the 1st mth, baby can wear those cheap clothes sell at those market.. quite cheap.. then get a few expensive one to dress him or her up on the 1st mth celebration..cos bb will shit and urine a lot.. no point dress him or her nicely for short while and have to change again...
i will check the correct name n let u noe.. the main reason, nb baby skin is v v easily get allegy to what normal baby clothes.. have to buy something difference from cloth..

hehe so good that some of u already know the gender thus can start buying pink or blue. for me, i bought mostly white. the last robinson sale, i drag my hubby there to grab the steriliser, musical mobile and some other misc items, cost me close to 250! now i scrimp more on myself and try to give bb the best.

kk,

agree with u. my colleague pass me some maternity clothes from her friends. alamak the design hor, if i wear out, think my hubby wouldnt want to walk beside me leh. i am suppose to return back to her after my preg so ended up jus keep in the cupboard.

taurus,

the pre-xmas sales for spring need any specific credit card or open to public?

gummie,

our edd is almost the same. But i think for 1st kid, sure will be a bit early. Let's see who pop first. Haha...

milo,
i regretted getting the steriliser after i went to the Parent's craft room at TMC. The nurse there told me that "aiyo, why get so early? The warranty starts when you buy, not when you used". Only then i realise, yah hor. In our excitement, we forgot abt this point. haha...
But dun care liao lah, too happy to have a little "us".

Hi Milo,

Haha.. luckily my SIL only passed me 4 maternity dresses. I have to leave them aside now. And they looked gigantic huge!!! I hope i won't grow to that size heeee...

Hi Ivy,

Thanks for the info! We were thinking of getting a steriliser yesterday. Now will get it next year liao
Ya, anything electronic comes with warranty. Electric breast pump too. Have u all thought what to buy for breast pump?? i am still pretty confused.

hello ladies,

i heard from my sil the Medela brand electric breast pump is good, esp effective for mummies who have very little milk to begin with... but it may be slightly more expensive than other brands.

gummie,

TMC parents' craft sells the Medela brand. The best thing is that they will try to sell away for you if you dun bf after a short while. Not too sure abt the prices yet. Will check with them when i start my class next year.

ivy,

after getting the steriliser then i realise abt the warranty.. too excited abt the sales that i jus grab whatever i can reach.. haha we all so ks hor. i even bought the playpen mattress but seems like got prob with the size. let me know when u get yours k?

kk,

heng i got only 2 but my colleagues here keep saying very sweet wor the dresses then ask me why i dun wear. so pai say dunno wat to say also.

i think medela and ameda is the 2 brands that are quite popular with mummies. was thinking of getting the ameda one. heard its comparable with the medela pump in style but its much cheaper. think will only get this towards the last trimester.

Hi milo,

the sales is open to public.... so u can go n check it out ....

hahah...I also got 2 bagful of maternity clothing from friends which up till now I havent attempt to wear any ... coz I tried to put on a few which my friends say they start wearing in their 4th month ...but look really huge and loose on me ... I either look like I am wearing a pyjamas or a gunny sack ... so far I have already spent ard S$800 plus on maternity clothings ....

hey,
jus wondering if any of you have come up with a list of things we need to buy to prepare for bb arrival? can share?
btw, i am thinking of gettin EITHER a baby cot or playpen (which also acts as baby bed)... which is more practical u think?

ivy,
so excited leh, we both EDD so near :D kekeke, yeah, let's see whose one pop out first...!

By the way, do you gals tends to look at other pregnant women when u r otherside ....hahah....receently I have a tendency to look at any pregnant women I come across and I also notice others looking at me ... the feeling just so funny ...

gummie,

attached the list for you, not the most comprehensive but shld cover the basic

mime_msexcel.gif
Baby
Baby.xls (18.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

i got a playpen first cause not sure if bb would sleep alone or prefer to sleep on the bed with me. at least the playpen is cheaper compare to the cot.

anyone planning to go anywhere during the upcoming holidays? i am so tempted to make a trip to bkk to shop for bb stuff and some bra but not sure whether is it a good idea or not

looks like some of you have spent quite a bit of mat wear and bb stuff. the clothings that some of my friends pass to me are quite big and yucky too :p So i am only wearing some of them.

I am planning to go bintan this wkend with my hubby and my daughter. Should be a relax and zo bo holiday.

thanks milo,

the list will be v helpful

btw i noticed u have an item "beansprout shell pillow" item in the list, where can we get it? or is it something that we have to hand-make?

i think they have warehouse-type shops in BKK that speializes in baby items. my mil bought lots of bb stuff from one of her trips for her grand-daughter... the things are cheap no doubt, but the quality also not so good esp the bb clothes... i think for baby u really have to get soft cotton material and not those rougher type.

i'd think it's worthwhile for the mummy to do some shopping there. YES - bras are so much cheaper there!

gummie,

the beansprout shell pillow can get from tom &amp; stephenie, i am not too sure which branch. some old folk would prefer to handmade themself but dun think we will do so ourself lor

agree that bkk bb clothes are very rough and quality wise not so good. one thing for sure their bra and undies very cheap. dried longans and bird nest are also a good buy there but now bird flu so dun think very safe to buy

eve,

wah.. envy liao.. wish can go for a short trip also but seems like now preg will be more wise in spending my money. use to jus go bkk as and when i like now spending few hundreds jus for 3d2n seems abit steep for me..sigh

hi gummie,

mendala breast pumps is not only slightly expensive...it's much much more expensive!! hehehe...so far, avent seems to be highly recommended.

btw, went to TMC just now to pay for my antenatel class and the lady told me not to buy sterilizer and pump so early. She said i shld buy the sterilizer nearing my delivery and the pump after my delivery...If i buy too early, warranty may also expire early...ehehhe.

hi annie,
pregnant women cannot visit those who has given birth? i only heard cannot carry the newborn lei...

Hi Taurus,

Yaya, my SIL's maternity dresses so baggy and look like gunny sack hahaha...so i gave up on those. Can't bother to wash also. Luckily never wash, else waste efforts :p

So far i have spent $850 on maternity clothes liao. Dropped by kiddy palace just now and got 3 more dresses for work. Also popped by spring maternity and bought one pants and 1 spag top.

Hey, i dun like the feeling of others staring at me. Singaporeans dun just look leh, they actually STARE at tummy. Aidoi, so paiseh. I thought something wrong with my dressing.

Milo,

Where can we find ameda pump? I only see mendela pimp at mothercare and it cost $100++. Expensive! I have one tollyjoy breastpump passed down from SIL. Dunno want to use that or not. Wait o biang and inconvenient again, like passed down maternity clothes.

Ya, me looking at playpens too. But saw this very cute cot at kiddy palace... temptation again :p

gummie,

i am getting the bean sprout pillow from a contact from the Apr thread. The cover even will stich BB's name, $10 only.

I already got a cot cos i feel that it is more stable than a playpen. Not too exp too, after the discount at John Little, its about $170.

ino,

When is your class starting? The lady who talked to you is Nelly? She told me the same thing too! Too bad, i already buy liao. haha.

Hi KK,

hahahah...i noe wat u mean ..... i experience that kind of staring incident on a few occassions..... for me ...I more discreet .... only "bio" ... kekek .... but hubby quite defensive when ppl stare at my tummy .... kekek ...

Wow ...all of you all start buying BB stuff .... up till now I have yet to buy a single pce of BB items .... abit lost .... but coz alot of my friends just give birth to their 2nd BB ...so all ask me not to buy and they will pass to me .... so still waiting what I can get from them before I start my shopping spree ....

Hi ivy,

Can pass me the contact for the bean sprout pillow?? I told me mum but my mum say no need .... she will sew cotton pillow for my BB ... but i still prefer bean sprout pilliow ley ....

hi ivy,

my class starting 21 Jan...quite near CNY...but i'm quite excited! not sure what's the gal's name coz neber ask...but it sure sound like good advice...think becoz she noes that first time mummies are usu very kan cheong. ;-P

my mum told me to buy after 6 months...dunnoe what's the rationale...but try to follow lor. i was tinking of buying those anti-colic bottles by Dr Brown...dunnoe whether need anot. it's very expensive ...about $20 per bottle. may want to check out Pigeon. was also tinking of going JB to buy but the robbery situation is quite jia lat in JB. Just heard from my colleague today that one S;porean Malay man was slashed with a parang at JB. ;-(

hi ivy,
what is the brand of the the cot you bought at John Little? is it the wooden type that can be adjusted to fit as baby grows into toddler?

taurus,

I started on my shopping spree for bb when i know her gender
cos i know what colour i gotta get liao.

Some basic items like milk bottles, we still have to buy. I confirm dun have any hands-me-down for big items like stroller and playpen. So have to get them someday.

ino,

i starting the same time, but mine is the 7pm class.

i am not buying the bottles so fast cos BBs tend to have to try and test the teats. Plus, i hope that i am able to bf, given the increase in size. haha...

kk,

u can get the ameda pump from mom in minds and another one is from their supplier Euramedia... their no. is 68447717. think this one cost abt $300, not sure whether worth investing but heard this is comparable to medela pump in style which cost $700+. the normal medela ones seem not very good. now still surveying ard

Hi Celeste,

I'm currently in my 20th week 1 day. Exactly the same as Taurus! hahah ^5.

Guess wat, I went for my detailed scan today and found out that i'm expecting a gal! so so happy!! hehee.. also very glad to know that everything is fine. *huge smile*

hi milo.. i just came back from BKK myself! hahah~ Doc says i can still travel now, considering that all is well and i'm still 'light'. If u really wanna go for a short trip, perhaps can check with ur gynae 1st?
oh oh! and i bought plenty of stuff from BKK! got bb stuff la..mummy stuff la..and many more la! really shop like crazy.. *though my gynae did warn me not to walk too much :p*

aiyo speaking of maternity clothes..i really spent a BOMB on them ar.. so far i have a collection of 3 pants, 2 3/4s, 1 jeans and er... many tops. ;p I get them from Spring..Kiddy Palace, Marton Belle (in Novena Sq), Cloud 9 (in Suntec).

1 place to shop for maternity and bb stuff..United Sq. Theres really alot of variety there! see until blur.. Its nearing Christmas now, so hopefully there are many items on sale now! ;p

hi sponge,

hehe i miss shopping at bkk liao... mind sharing how much u spend on the air tix and accomodation? even flying by budget airlines will cost abt $450 for 2 pax.

hi milo,

i spent $328 on my airfare and accomodation. Tats pretty cheap hor?? Booked this package at Newly Tours at Chinatown. Good deal if u ask me.

Oh, pls dont stay at Prathunam Park Hotel if u intend to go BKK. That hotel is literally dirty! the carpet machiam like 10 yrs never vaccum, and the place looks run-down..though it states itself as a 'new hotel'.. yikes. We had no choice but to stay there cos we book pretty late and thats the only hotel available..

seems quiet today....

Anyone have the blocked ears problem? After preg, i seems to always have air blocking my ears. Very uncomfortable although it will go away after a couple of hrs.
Just to see if anyone share my problem?

For those who wanna travel, if everything is ok and you are healthy, i thk u should go ahead. After birth, you really have no time to do so, must wait at least a couple of yrs.

sponge,

$328 is per pax right? that time i manage to get the $9.9 tiger tic but was still in my first trimester thus hubby dun allow me to go.. wasted the tix!

agree! when bb is out, very diff to go for long trip. bring bb along, troublesome. leave bb with mum, bu fang xin.

Ivy,
think some of your water from water bag ran into the veins...its common and only way you can get the accup.. to help you..

That's why, 24 hours after labour is the critial time.. if the doc didnt notice that your body shiver; which indicates the water run into the veins.. sometime, serious case and rare will be causing the patient paralyse for life if the doc didnt react at the first place.. (spore got such case, the hubby went to fight the case with his in-law for his wife...).

She got paralysed after labour.. doc didnt notice her shiver and when they tried to give operation on her, its too late..

helllo ivy

yah, i osso had more frequent blocked ears, sometimes can even hear high-pitched sound, but normally doesn't last very long - say around 5-10mins...

i'm wondering y too... hmmm...

yo, gals,
my sis had deliver her baby yesterday. feel really like to visit her.. but my mil and my hubby dont allow..
What do u gals think? is it v bad luck to visit?

Hi Annie,
Congrats to your sis! Did she have a normal delivery? How heavy is the baby? Gal or boy? wow so exciting!

Personally for me, I sure visit. I not so pantang. I love babies, I got even carry NB when I was preggie with my 1st child. I think its really individual. If you chose to go visit your sis then have to answer to hubby and mil, how?

ivy,

not sure if you miss my post yesterday -

what is the brand of the the cot you bought at John Little? is it the wooden type that can be adjusted to fit as baby grows into toddler?

yasmin,
same here, yesterday, i suffered migraine thats y i bear myself not to go.. thinking to visit her but duno how to answer my hubby..
he nagged at me that i m the one who havent give birth yet..
baby look difference especially the first few day n the 1st mth..

hi ivy, pity we are not at the same slot for the antenatel class. tot the 7-9pm slot is a bit too late for me. ;-)

woah...u bought your cot so early? your place must be pretty spacious to store the stuff. my place is overcrowded with things. tink i need to do some serious spring cleaning soon....

yasmin,
its a gal.. my sis had her drip at 8.45am and my niece came out around 1.47pm..weight only 2.96kg.. my colleagues said if all the baby gals have the same weight.. hehe..

hi ino,

i also book for 7-9pm like Ivy. it could be a bit late but no choice leh, afraid hubby cannot make it. he has reservist during that period and that is the only time can guarantee he can book out.

Pity we not in the same class.

i went to ntuc rivervale mall to buy dryper wee wee suitable for newborn baby.. cos its cheap.. selling at $23.45 for 2 paxs with 64pcs inside each pax.. i brought 4.. think good enough to last for the 1st confinement mth..
oh! colt bed at jl sells at $199 with 20% discount if on sale and additional 5% for member.. i almost brought that time, but my friend stop me, state got used colt bed for me.. up till now, havent give me a call..