(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi ivy

ya lor. during our time, our parents dont change our bottles so frequently.

read that the reason for changing due to the plastic bottles coz in long run, it can produce some chemical reaction. dont know how true. anyway, i changed my gal's bottle when it start to turn yellowish or max use one yr only. my gal is also using NUK but the laxtet teats is veri exp coz need to change every 3 weeks

Pooh,

Oh yah, i realise the teats come in latex and silicone. What's the difference? I bought mine in silicone teats. In fact silicon teats more expensive than latex ones.

went for my check up yesterday and gynae said my baby 90% confirmed boy. baby was doing a head stand. gynae could point out the 'bird'.

kk,

Its okay to use NUK bottles in pigeon steriliser. But perhaps you can only put in less bottles at a go. Pigeon also has the wider mouth version that goes into the steriliser.

Latex is natural while silicon is man made. Latex ones change colour after some time. Its usually softer. My boy prefers latex till he started teething. Then he prefered the harder silicon as he can massage his gums. hope this helps.

hi kk

i said latext teats more expensive coz it need to change every 2 to 3 weeks ....silicon teats dont have to change so frequently. latext teats are more softer than the silicon ones... when robinson have sale, i alwys stock up the latext teats...i buy abt 12 packets at one go...coz my gal have 6 bottles ...

kk,

u very 'lucky'... i started wearing maternity clothes more than a month back

i actually thought pple wld give up their seats for me seeing i'm in maternity clothes... but apparently not loh... but i cannot complain cos other preggies with bigger tummies also dun get it.

Gummie,

oh ya, because ur tummy growing faster than mine heee... for me, i wait until neck long long then dress in maternity clothes.

Also nobody let go their seats to me. Somemore snatch with me leh! They run in faster than i do in the trains!!

kk,

now i'm sick of wearing my maternity clothes... after not even 2 months! the other day i was shopping at Orchard i saw so many nice clothes (normal ones), somehow they look so much more enticing now that i cannot wear them... grhhhhhh.... so i decided from now on i shall avoid the ladies' fashion area, lest i get more depressed, ahahaha...

my maternity clothes only enuf for 2 weeks, always headache can't think of what to wear. and i also burst my budget oredi, cannot get any more until the stage when i grow bigger and outgrow my existing ones...

tell u... one evening i was with my colleague and we board the train tog. i spotted a seat and was moving quickly towards it but a young lady ran faster and she sat down right before me. my colleague looked at me (pitifully) and then to her and said, "aiyo... why like dat???" guess wat? we made her so embarrassed that she had to give up her seat to me... actually i was kind of paiseh too... but it was kinda funnie, kekeke

Gummie,

Me too!! Especially when it is the christmas season now, and CNY soon. So lots of new stock out in the market. Tempting to buy to wear after delivery hahahaa... just joking :p Dunno i can still fit into my old clothes after delivery or not. So will never dream of buying any more new clothes for the time being.

How many pieces of maternity clothes do u have? Currently i have around 5 dresses and 4 tops. I haven't got myself any pants. Now i am on school holiday. Once school reopen, sure not enough to wear to work!! But i have spent a bomb already. Dunno what to do
Sigh!

Haha, ur colleague so good, she chu qi for u

The lady must be very paiseh! I guess there is a huge crowd that time?

kk,

got back from gynae place liao. Put on another 2kg. Siao liao. Total put on 8 kg liao, dunno is water or fats. I better watch my diet before i become an elephant.

Gynae spend some time to look ard for BB gentials. And finally tell me that its more than 50%, a boy! Phew! So relieved cos Hubby is the only child. Although IL never say anything but i hope for a boy so i will be less stressed. hee...

Gog to start my shopping spree soon!

can check whether we can add salt to our food during confinement. Think I cant eat food w/o salt so blend.

Yesterday I was at the bugis busstop waiting for my bus, the stop was so crowded as usual and no one stood up to give me any seat. I was standing at the stop for almost 15 mins. Then the bus came and was pretty empty, luckily.
Then when I was going to board the bus, I was pushed from the back and side and nearly lost my balance and was so fuming mad. Its mostly older folks, they are very inconsiderate.
347004.gif

Ivy,

i gained 4 kg and my gynae give me that suspicious look liao hahahaa... but he say can still continue to eat :p

WOW, ur in laws must be really happy!! I also think my in laws prefer boy because my hubby also only son. He only has one elder sister, not married yet. Although the parents and grandparents never say, but i supposed they like boys. Too bad, they have to be satisfied with a bb girl for the time being heeee...

u haven't started any shopping for bb yet?

Yasmin,

Haha.. yaya, the old folks enjoy pushing. So now i dislike going to places with lots of old folks, like chinatown and bugis.

kk,

lemme see ah... i have 2 skirts, 2 pants, 1 pair of jeans, about 10 tops (some i have not worn yet) and 3 dresses (2 for CNY)...
sounds like a lot hor? but i still find myself wearing the same few pieces leh. my hubby learnt to ignore me now when i say i have nothing to wear, hehe... and he hinted more than once tt i should STOP....!!!!
wah so nice, u on school holiday now... envy man!
i am still slowly counting down to x'mas holidays... and CNY!!!

oh u bet there was a crowd, it was peak hour tt time...

hey ivy,

congrats!!! must be so happy and relieved now huh? i can totally understand yr concern about the weight gain... never mind, we have to look on the bright side... just try to control the food we eat and try not to have late dinners. i'm also struggling hard to keep my weight gain under control.

Hi Gummie,

How much have u spent on maternity clothes so far?? For me, i have spent around $600 liao
Where do u normally buy them? I got my first batch of clothes from kiddy palace. Then i dropped by spring maternity and cloud9 recently and get the other dresses. i also bought for CNY
But if i dun get enough clothes for work, i will wear them and end up no clothes for CNY!! Sob!!

My hubby never stop me buying lah, because my own money mah hahahaha... and i also spent around $450 on bb clothes and other stuff recently. Still got big items haven't bought yet heeee...

Envy me?? I dunno how i am going to survive when school reopens! I feel tired easily now in front of the computer
Just now almost puke out. Think i overwork today liao. The neck gets tired and painful easily

kk,

i have bought about 2 sets of clothings. But all in white, now i am gog all out to get the BLUEs! haha. My doc din say anything abt my weight gain, i think its becos i am still puking. So maybe he dun want to stress me even more.

Gummie,
i only got 5 tops and 4 pants and 1 jeans for maternity clothes. I tailor made them so its much cheaper than buying from the boutiques. Prob spent less than $300 for them.
Just visited my tailor last week to ask her do 3 more sets for CNY. Dun intend have too many cos i wan to slim down asap into my normal clothes!
I have a colleague, she is still wearing her maternity clothes now that BB is more than 8 mths liao!

kk,

i spent about $1500 oredi...
i spent a lot on one of my shopping trips cos hubby was away and i was feeling v down n depressed...
i normally buy from Thyme Maternity, Marton Bell and a few of the smaller shops at Raffles Place. i'm planning to check out Kiddy Palace next..

i havent bought any baby stuff yet though, think will yet till next month when i get to know boy or girl...

hmmm when school reopens u have to move around quite a bit huh? shuffle between classes and climb stairs? ya i imagine tt wld be v tiring... now even deskbound i find myself havin difficulty concentrating...
u better go have a good rest... anyway i noticed this thread is usually 'inactive' after 7pm... and weekends... we all mummies-to-be need to 'switch off' and catch up on our rest

wat type of dresses u buy har??? i saw so many nice selveeless dress so nice but i dont dare to wear coz my arms veri big lah....also realised that spring maternity cuttings are smaller coz its locally made whereas thyme maternity are more ang moh sizing...envy those small size mummies ...

ivy,

normally gynae will not highlight weight gain as a concern unless we really severely overweight... at the end of the day, i think we worry over it much more than we should be for obvious reasons.

huh? u tailor-made yr clothes? tt wld be very nice! i dun have a 'familiar' tailor, and i'm afraid it will not turn out to my liking so i never tried, and also i have the impression it will be more expensive... hmmmmmm

Hi Gummie,

Ya ya, i only started on shopping for bb stuff on sunday when i knew the gender last friday heee.. so i got almost everything in PINK for my bb girl
Else white.

Luckily we have homeroom system. If we have lessons one after another, we stay put in our own classrooms. BUT that is provided i didn't forget to bring anything down from the staffroom HAHA.. my homeroom on first level and staffroom 3rd level. So u can imagine....

I find deskbound more tiring at times leh. Moving around might be good for me. BUT my tummy will grow and grow... will tell u next time tiring or not heeee...

Pooh,

Are u big sized?? Ya, for spring maternity, i fit well in a medium size, despite being petite. A small size seems small for me at current stage. U tried L size before?

Can wear a cardigan to go with the sleeveless dress? Spring maternity has a lot of sleeveless dresses i notice. I have to wear my cardigans with them. Hopefully my arm won't explode into king kong arms so that i can still fit into my old cardigans. i dun wanna spend money on big cardigans!!

i spent about $330 on maternity wear (3 dresses, 1 capri pants and 1 long pants)...Noticed that i've not bought any blouse...hehehe...planning to borrow some from my SIL for casual wear...then most prob will buy 1 or 2 more for CNY. Managed to bio one pink lace dress from spring maternity...tot it looked quite sweet.

woah...buy from thyme maternity ah...very expensive wor...dunnoe whether want to splurge.

Still have not started buying any bb's clothes. Colleagues told me to buy from JB while my mom told me not to buy first. Managed to secure some hand-me-downs from my cousin...Rest of the big items like strollers will most prob buy during sale (or perhaps wait till my one-mth baby shower).

Hi ivy, how many weeks are u already? Put on 8 kg? so far, i only put on 1 kg...still not much appetite. ;-(

Hi gals!

I'm measuring at 32" at week 19th. Seems abit small huh? uh oh getting worried here.. Hopefully its becos i'm petite thats y i have a relatively small tummy? hmm~ I'll be doing my detailed scan tmr..so excited!! hope everything is fine with my little one.. Hopefully will be able to tell the gender as well.

With regards to the bra extensions, i bought mine at Spring maternity..cost $3+.. tat is a Godsent man! hahahah.. my bras are getting tighter.. not the cups but the width.. so having the extnsions really really helps! Seems like the ladies here are pretty 'full-cupped' eh? hee.. i'm only a miserable cup A.. -_-"

Ah.. sterilisers.. we bought the Pigeon Steam Steriliser..this is recommended from a fren who has just given birth last year. Its cheaper then Avent's but it works fine too. One thing abt Avent milkbottles, they can only accomodate avent accessories, for eg: teats. So if u decide to buy an Avent, it has to be Avent bottles and its accessories all the way..NUK & Pigeon bottles are more universal in the sense that they can use other brands' teats as well. Hope this helps.

Hi Yasmin & kk,
I totally agree that old folks love to push!! It seems like the older they are the more 'power' they have?? I really dun like their kinda attitude. There was once when i was waiting for the MRT, and then this old aunty came and practically push me out of her way! i was so pissed! I just glared at her and pushed her back. Thats no way to treat a pregnant lady man!

I also agree that nowadays Singaporeans are very selfish.. for example, whenever a pregger boards a crowded train/bus, NOBODY gives up their seats to them. Its really pathetic.. And its worse when they immediately pretends to fall asleep or look away when they spot a pregnant lady...tsk tsk...

ino,

i am in week 17+5 days only! Sian man...

Gummie,

if tailor normal clothes, then it will be more exp. But for maternity clothes, end up cheaper. I bought my first pant from Spring, cost 60+. I made the same pants, only paid $28 for the workmanship and the stretchable fabric only cost $12! So i save quite a lot and plus, i get to wear the design i want.
What i do is to window shop then remember the design and ask the tailor to make the same one for me. Hee...

hmm.. seems the topic moving v fast.. my migraine still killing me..

Yasmin,
You can add salt to those soups that brew for you during your confinement.. no worry.. everyone does the same.. so long, not too much..

ivy,
i have already booked the massage lady.. think you have to make decision now... tell her your EDD.. she will write down your detail..
i choose to use 1 of my gfs recommend.. said v good.. i think all rely on individual body.. how fast you can get rid of the water retention.. the best, eat a lot of ginger during that particular mth..

gals,
really envy you all, spent so much money to buy on maternity clothes.. up till now, i only spetnt $40 to buy a top.. quite ex..
borrowed few from my friend's wife.. think thats enough.. save the money to buy on baby clothes..
up till now, havent wear it.. hopefully, my tummy wont pop up so fast that my current clothes cant wear.. else easily to feel "out of clothes to wear" end up will spend even more..

gals,

forget to add, Mothercare have 15% discount for BB clothes with HSBC card! I bought a pack of 7 pc Disney baby suits for $39. So happy cos its so cute...hee...
Will go buy more soon...

Hi Annie,

I understand the pain u're going thru everytime theres a migraine attack. I also suffer from migraines myself. In fact this morning i just went to see a doc wrt my migraine. He told me to have plenty of rests and drink plenty of fluids.. He prescribed me with painkillers too, but i dun dare to take in case it affects my baby.. I just try to sleep it off lor.. no choice..

i forget whose the one who worry that her baby will listen to those "bad words" she used when she is not happy with her boss..

i watched last nite documentary programme on forteus on discovery channel.. the scientist found out the following points:

1. our unborn babies wont be able to listen to all the words or conversation when we speak to other people.. cos according to the research, baby will response to mother's laugher or cry.. which the volume tend to exceed 90mph..(measurement according to voice volume). sound like a truck passing by...

2. forteus will only have little memory on the songs that we play to them when they are sleeping.. repeat one song for few mths before labour..

3. forteus will choose the taste that they favour in.. even they only drink the "water" inside the water bag.. that consist all kind of taste and smell of the food that we eat..

so some woman tends to fall in love in certain particular food like my colleague, she loves v much of the cheese during pregancy.. her infant tends to response to the food that consist of cheese..

sponge,
Thanks for your console.. hmm.. i oso wish i can sleep off.. but the attrack alway heartless, wake me up from my deep sleep.. thats why, driving me crazy..
Currently, i m alone at home..so i choose to come here.. else i think i will bang my head on the wall.. cant tahan.. seen doc this morning. give me a stronger medicine.. havent take yet.. just take panadol even through it is not use on me..

hi kk,

i only managed to buy one capri pant from spring maternity L size. coz the cutting is straight cut..i have big hips even before my 1st pregnancy...after i know my hubby, both of us put on weight coz we alwys eat out and supper. and got worst after we married coz he work till late hrs and i waited for him for dinner and after that we went to sleep...

i had some thyme maternity clothing mainly dress during my first pregnancy but now need some pants coz more convenient as i sitting in my gal's class every week...cant be possible to wear some set of clothings...also bought one L size top at spring but after washing, it shrink !!!

btw, dorothy pekins also have maternity wear at reasonable price. but more casual wear...check it out at marina sq or bugis branch

annie,

i din get lotsa of new born clothes. I bought a variety of 0-6mth, 6-9mths and 9-12mths kind...hee...
Anyway, i wun get hand me downs cos my kid is the first in the family and frens.

annie,

kekeke, it's me la... i'm so relieved to hear that!!! anyway these days i try hard to 'curb' my thoughts and words... every time i say something bad about others, i feel v guilty afterwards and seem to hear a voice inside telling that i'm not a good mummy... this is my first baby, so i hope happy thoughts will surround my unborn baby and of cos myself

actually if u can still wear yr old clothes i'd also suggest u try to save money of maternity clothes... u're lucky that u can still wear them :D ya they are not cheap, spend average 40-50 on each piece, i kind of regret spending so much... but well, i don't have any friends or relatives whom i can borrow from... if u have can save a sum too!

ivy,
may i know when is yr EDD? seems like yrs and mine v near leh...

Just to let yous noe that Spring maternity is having pre-christmas sales this weekend .... I think is S$19.90 for those items that usual price between S$25.90 to $45.90 .... can go n check it out .....

aiya ,

I just spent $200 at spring the other day leh.. bought a skirt and a pants, 2 sphagatti strip top and one halter Ts... What a waste...

But lucky i got DBS card.so got 10% and got the $10 voucher... hehehe

I saw in May Thread that they do up a spreadsheet showing everyone's name / age / EDD / Gynae / Hospital / Gender of bb..

Quite interesting.. maybe we can do something like that too... hehehe

Currently I am wearing a mixture of maternity clothings and normal clothing ....coz I still shop in some shops that sell babydoll tops and dresses .... though I get funny stares when I step in the shop but who cares ....kekek...so long as I can fit in the clothes can liao .... and some of the shops sells those stretchable material clothings which are meant for those sexy figure but I just buy and wears it and flaunt my protruding tummy ....kekek .... i feel that pregnant women also look very sexy with a protruding tummy ....kekek

By the way any of you intends to go for photoshoot during pregnancy??? Me and hubby planning to take and keep as remembrance .... but waiting for tummy to go slightly bigger first and hubby also say he needs to tone up his muscles first...hahah

celeste,

we have the same table as well. Fates is helping to update it.

Gummie,

my edd is on the 19th or 20th May. My gynae change the date everytime i visit him. haha

anyone bought the doppler to listen to the heartbeat? is it good?? can we really hear the heatbeat as wat we heard at gynae's plc?

Gummie,

Quite difficult to get hands-me-down from friends and relatives. My SIL gave me some but i dun like the designs at all! U know lah, pple have different preference for clothes. I told my mum if i gotta wear those to work, my students will laugh like siao. So i prefer to buy my own maternity clothes

Hi Ivy,

Yup!! Disney series bb clothes very cute rite?? That's why i spent a bomb at kiddy palace on bb clothes a few days ago. I just cannot resist them and i want to dress my bb girl prettily

i told my hubby sometimes we can splurge so much on ourselves, there is no reason for us to stop splurging on the kids. Eventually they are so important and dear to us

that day went to get mitten n booties.. and my hb already say i kan cheong... he say shld wait tilll knw the gender then buy pink or blue.. but told him white unisex mah... if i go buy the disney set.. think he will faint.. hhahaha

am i realli too kan cheong

kk,

yah loh, the disney collections are so cute. Me opp way, now i save on myself, only have 5 sets of matenity clothes for work, to mix and match.
But BB clothes, i bought a lot liao! Haha...
Also my siblings will also dote on their little nephew and buy some more for me..heehee...

Hi Ivy,

I need to get more maternity wear liao. Else i have not enough to cover 5 days work week and 2 days weekends haha... i must get them before school reopen, else nothing to wear to school.

So far i have only 5 dresses and 4 tops. No maternity pants yet. Me and hubby dun do laundry everyday. So i need to change into different piece everyday.

WOW! I thought i am the only "crazy" one hahahahaaa... me spent $370 at kiddy palace on bb clothes, 2 pairs of mittens and 2 caps. That's the problem of having princess. Tend to find everything in pink cute heeee...

I think slowly my in laws will take action soon. My mil keep saying dun buy dun buy, but guess she will buy eventually :p especially now she know that the bb is confirmed a girl

Celeste,

U remind me of booties. That day after my shopping, i showed my hubby the mittens. Then he asked me what about booties. It slipped my mind!