(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi Ino,

i believe normal lingerie shops should sell bra extensions. i bought mine from one of those, about $4 for 2 if i rem correctly...

i have a very bad day today, suffer migraine attrack again.. taking a day leave to rest at home.. really cant torelate the pain, only right side of the head, eye, chin, nose, neck and shoulder so painful...

dun dare to eat anything, sure puke out everything after eating.. :~( really feel like taking my head to hit the wall..

kk,
Wah! you feel something already... hmm.. great! i am still waiting for my turn.. hopeful, fast, else, i wonder how long i can take my migraine every time its attrack..

teenoyl,
Chicken essential is kind of heaty.. depend whether your body can take it or not.. why not, try coredy. with american ginseng..(without chicken). 6 bottles at abt $18 sell at medical hall.. however, if you are having a flu then stop taking it for a while..
i had ginger tea last nite oso, almost catch a flu.. terrible..

celeste,
Yap, i still going for massage, but i duno which type of massage that you intend to go for? those spa type? if so, let them noe in advance, that you are pregant.. spa type of massage is kind of gentle.. they wont actually push any point hard..

The one that i go for is not for enjoyment.. i have neck and shoulder problem, my therapist actually press very hard and kind of pain.. however, i have been going like a routine visit to ease my pain..

important points that you have bare in mind, no matter what type of massage, you choose to go for, remember don't let the therapist to press or massage the point in between your mother finger n the 2nd one.(1st and second one). The other point is at your small leg, directly behind( 3 fingers down if you press your hand from the joint). Avoid tummy massage.. (old folk state, the baby head might get press flat)..

usually, a certificate massage therapist knows how to handle pregant woman cos they wont take a risk to cause you miscarriage, as you are protected under the law). so long you are pregant on week 16 and above, the unborn baby is formed as "human being" under the law..

hi ino,
I starting feeling that about 2 weeks ago (i.e. at 16 wks) but i thought that it might be bloatedness or something.

at my last appointment (last friday) Dr couldn't hear heartbeat so did quick ultrasound. she says bb was moving around alot - but I dindn't feel the movements then(maybe coz of the cold gel).
donno lei!

gummie,

i feel so unbearable for my pain.. migraine really a nightmare.. really turn my usual life style upside down.. i can't eat my migraine pill.. now, i understand why some sick pp can commit suicide..

Are you giving away your dog? hard to let go my bunny, its my baby.. gynea stated that so long i m not allergy to my bunny fur, it is safe to keep it.. only cat cannot..

my hubby and mil keep wanting me to give away my bunny.. however, i personally feel that the baby carry whose genes? i have many pets since v young.. as i live in fish farm.. i dont believe animal furs cause the allergy.. my colleague don't own any pets at home, his son also have the allergy.. my mil keeps the house so clean, end up my hubby oso have sensitive nose.. bunny only have 5 years life.. by the time, i give birth, he is already 2 years old.. he didnt have much time left ... if i give away, i have no chance to see him.. he already got so pamper.. he has human being character.. he loves biscuit,cheese, durian puff,loti boy.. (of cos, i wont let him eat a lot)... he would make noise when he smells that you are eating bread..

i wonder if i give him away, will he has such good life.. cos he doesnt allow pp to hug him or touch him ever since he was 3mths old.. i doubt anyone would want such pet.

k ong,
chy. tea is ok for pregant woman, cos its not so cooling compare to barely or other liang tey.. i have this info as i used to see chinese physican for years..
You can buy those from chinese medical hall, boil some to drink, good to ease wind and improve your eye and oso a bit of cooling...
pregant woman tend to have more heaty body compares to normal.. hence, you have to take some cooling tea to balance your body.. else not good for your baby..
how many mths are you in now? i read from books, pregant woman can take a lot of cooling during 6th mth.. however, some gals cant take cooling stuff.. everything dun overtake will be good..

Annie: thanks for the tips !
just passed 12 weeks, feeling so heated up lately ... my temper also flared at home ! poor hubby ...
oh dear, do take care of yourself. My MS seems to have eased a bit this week, so am eating more food, making up for the weight that i had lost the past 6 weeks ! lost 3kg !

hi annie,

yr migraine sounds bad ah... u better take care. i heard the pain can be unbearable sometimes, and i know its worse now for u given tt u cannot take the medication. but u have to be strong and hang on - think of yr unborn baby and the joy it will bring... pray if it helps...

no i'm not giving away my dog, its very old oredi nobody will want her. actually she still sleeps beside me on weekdays when i stay over at my parents' place cos she is quite 'sticky' to me. but i really wouldn't advice another to do the same...
i can see u're very attached to yr bunny, i also know it can be a tough call to make in yr situation. seems like yr pet is roaming freely in the house now, is it possible to section off and fence up an area for him? tt way the bunny can still stay with u and the CL can have a room?

although the general advice is 'avoid handling cat litter' only... i think it is still better to play safe. my brother has a friend who keeps 4 dogs at home, his wife ended up giving birth to a baby girl with birth defects... that is a very sad thing u know. i'm not sayin that her pets are the sure cause of it, but knowing tt it is a likelihood is enough to make the couple feel guilt-stricken and regret for life...

anyway, even if pets will not affect pregnant women, i think i will not let my dog come close to my baby next time, cos babies tend to have lower immunity and i dun wan to risk them developing any asthma or breathing problems...

actually yr problem not so big... can section off an area for yr bunny or not? say in the kitchen or living room? also, u try not to carry or touch it so often...?

gummie,
Thanks for your encouragement.. actually, i m crying now, the pain is so terrible, feel so painful,last nite, the attrack just woke me from deep sleep.. really cant imagine how to sleep...

ya, i have to hang on.. i did that when i had my migraine attrack when i was pregant in 6th week, but now, i feel out of strength to bear.. the attracks seems so frequent..

this will be my 1st and last pregant for me.. have to make sure this baby grow healthy and well..

oh! my god, so sad! hows your bother friend? sometime, its not the dogs or pet problem.. might be the genes or when the formation of the baby occur problem..

my bunny now stay in the only left bedroom. we have masterbed room n the other room combine.. hack away the wall, so have our walk in wardrobe and study room and our bed.. take up two bedrooms.. thats y, my hubby instead to give away the bunny.. he oso loves him much.. bunny has thinner fur than dogs.. thats i agree..

they say to "avoid handling cat litter" because of the risk of getting toxoplasmosis, which is a disease found in cat faeces (i don't know about other animals) and can cause deformities if mother catches it in pregnancy (it's one of the reasons why we have to also make sure food is well cooked and veges well washed) They say risk is low though and most women are already immune to the disease before pregnancy. Still good to take precautions!

annie,

does yr migraine happen when u feel stressed? i mean, is there anything u can avoid or do or eat to reduce the frequeny of such attacks?

the last i heard from my bro was the couple are v sad and still trying to cope with things. some more this is their first baby... maybe like wat u say, it's got nothing to do with the dogs, but it's difficult when pple keep insisting otherwise...

huh, did u say bunnies have thinner fur than dogs? easier to breathe in? hmmm so is tt a good or bad thing?

ino,

the bra extension is very cheap at Seiyu Bugis. I think its 2.90 for 2 pc for 2 hook type. 3 hooks type is 3.90 for 2 pc. Yesterday i went to Ero, it was $4 for 2 pc of 2 hook.

annie:
did you have migraines before your pregnancy?
Sometimes it may be due to high blood pressure - has your doctor checked that?
My blood pressure is normal, so I think my migraines mainly happen due to not drinking enough water or purely not sleeping enough.

gummie,
i oso duno.. doc n others alway stated stress stir up the attrack, however, i doubt no..
i once saw a woman tried to cut her vein on her right hand in front of me; @nuh a & e. i was there for other pain.. she told the nurses that she had migraine attrack for a mth.. no medicines can ease her pain..

Up till now, the scene still so clear on my head.. now, i understand hows she feel..

yes, bunnies have thinner fur compare to dogs so easier to breathe in.. its a bad thing, for sure.. cos, i duno where to put the bunny so that my baby wont breathe in..

currently, my hubby already forbid me to clean the cage.. he does it himself.. the cage is quite big.. can live a average size dog inside.. brought just to let my bunny have a lexury life..end up its a burden.. takes 2 hours to clean the cage each week..

Oh! feel so sad for that couple.. i witnessed how my colleague handle her down synchrome son..her hubby alway call office to scold her when problem arise. Her son already 23 years old, cant live like normal pp.. poor guy..

becos of her case, our company colleagues have their babies gone through the amino test.. up till now, i havent decide.. have to see how the detail scan ...

star & little B,
Thanks for your concern.. no.. my blood pressure alway drop when my migraine stir up.. i drink a lot of water to prevent urine infection.. (had it before).. books stated that during pregancy, urine infection is v common..

ino,
Thanks for your info, is it have to ask the counter gal for bra extention?

ino,

level 2. No brand one. Its at the bra counter near the main glass door. You just ask the girls there....
i think i need to go buy some more soon. I have to use double extension liao. Getting tight even after using 1 extension (already hook till the last one liao) sighz...

hey annie,

i had UTI also in my 6th week, was hospitalised and tt was how i found out about my pregnancy... i also try to drink a lot of water these days...

the bra extensions come in very small packaging, so u might have to ask the salesgirl for it otherwise u may not be able to find.

UTI(Urinary Tract Infection) is common among woman. We can prevent it by taking cranberries. In my last pregnancy, I got it and it was terrible. So do take care.

Have been trying to excercise to control weight gain. Sigh. Have put on 3kg so far and only 17 weeks!!!

i'm still wearing my normal underwire bras now, with the extension hooks... but i still feel v uncomfortable and tight AFTER SOME TIME. not sure if it's becos of the wiring? becos if i loosen the hook or add another extension when i wear it, it is too loose. but some time later it feels tight n uncomfortable... dunno wat to do

talking abt weight gain. i din measure myself at home, only at Dr place.
Tmrw the next visit liao, hopefully i dun put on too much.Else Dr will ask me to control diet liao!haha

anyone of you taking yoghurt? is it advisable to eat daily since its rather sweet? heard its quite good to preg mum since it can help to digest and prevent constipation

milo,

i take it once a week cos i heard it helps against UTI as well. I buy the less sweet ones and add fresh fruits in.

ivy...

good news? eh... but i jus bought a piece of new bra last week, up one size and cup size to 80C liao... now u're saying i'm a 'D'??? kekeke... cannot be la, w got grow so fast?

gummie,

not bad, your hubby must be so happy...hee...

me already a C before preggie and i DUN want any bigger!! Seems no hope, it have grow bigger....sian!

milo:
I take yoghurt about 3 times a week - good source of protein and calcium and it is said that it can help prevent fungal infections down THERE.
There are low sugar ones (marigold or Brownes I think) but more ex.

Hi Star,

i guess i will never forget that first movement hahaha.. how i wish i can feel that again!

Hi Milo,

i am taking yogurt too. It is definitely better than ice cream i guess haha... so i have been taking yogurt but not ice cream. In terms of sugar content, i dun think it is as bad as ice cream.

Oh yah ladies, my group of students has done a lab research on nutritional values of beverages. And discovered yesterday that Marigold Yogurt drink has the highest calcium, magnesium, potassium and sodium in it, compared to other brands of milk. So it is healthy! Can consider this brand if u wanna a yogurt drink next time

i just came back from tyme maternity and bought some tops and pants. apparently, those VIP member can buy any 3pcs of nett items at 30%. bought the 2 pcs $69 top and the material is 100% cotton and veri comfortable.

any1 eat durian??? i ate some today ..hhaha. have been craving for it ....

Hi Pooh,

I read from other postings that durians are very bu for bb in the 2nd trimester and can make bb very strong. Disadvantage is that durians are heaty and has high sugar content. So best to eat in moderation, else we grow fat easily!

I am taking durians in the form of durian swiss roll

Pretty interesting topic u all raised yesterday about "waistline".

Have measured my "waistline" last nite. Around 33.5 Inch. Me in 20th week.

any recommendations on which sterilizer to use? i saw Avent one in Metro and this is the one with timer while Pigeon is slightly cheaper but no timer. I think the set comes with milk bottles as well.

hi kk,

yah. u are rite. usuali mummies who ate alot of durian, the bb will be huge coz of the high sugar contents..i ate some during my 1st pregnancy...so this time, must take some also..to be fair.hahaha

hi twinkle,

i'm using the avent steriliser without the timer one coz when i bought two yrs ago, the timer one is nt out in the market. but it serve me well for the past two yrs coz now i still sterilise my gal's bottles. actuali to me, timer also is of no use coz when i sterilise, i just leave it there for 10 mins and do other things.

hi pooh,

i was trying to think with or without timer bcos the price is abt $50 different. I hv not seen avent steriliser w/o timer leh. maybe i go and look around.

Is it true that if we choose avent sterliser, we hv to use avent milk bottles as well?

Morning Mummies

I bought the Pigeon steriliser and am still using it. I dont think you actually need a timer as most sterilier will switch off on its own when the sterilising is done.

kk
Traditional method is quite a hassale unless you have a helper who can boil and make sure that the water does not dry up.

hi kk,

i was thinking of getting the steriliser bcos in long run when i dun hv maid or CL by then, it will save me the hassle when looking after my kid and do these necessary stuff.

I think it will save me time and life bcos i tend to be forgetful and may leave water till dry.

hi kk,

i went back to measure my waistline last night too, kekeke... i measure 33.5 inches like you, except i'm only in my 18th week

hi ivy,

i never like big boops too cos i think they make me look fat, esp since i have big arms

anyway... my hubby may be laughing now, but if my breasts start to sag after childbirth, i think he'll be crying together with me then, haha... this is another disadvantage of big boops, when they sag its really ugly eh?

so how did yr gynae visit go? boy or girl can tell oredi?

kk,

i bought the Avent one with timer cos it was the only kind left at John Little when i went there. And hubby saw that its is made in UK or Germany (i cant rem) rather than china, so he say to get that loh.
Actually traditional way is fine as long as the caregiver is able to do it.
My mum insist that i get 1 for her cos she is "not so free" to boil the bottles for me everyday! haha.
But i will use the traditional method at my own home when i need to use maybe 1 or 2 bottle only.

gummie,
i haven go yet, its in the afternoon.
Today is week 17 plus 5 days. Dunno can see the gender or not.

Yah lor, i was also thinking just now about the boiling of bottles... it is so much a hassle. I guess i will get one for our own use. As for my mil, i guess she will use the boiling method heeee... it is like that, not easy to convince the older generation to use such equipment.

Oh, by the way, for those 2nd time mums, do we use the steriliser even when the kids get older?

I have bought some NUK bottles. Which brand of steriliser is suitable??

Ivy,

Good luck! U should be able to see ur gender. Gender can be seen as early as week 15
Must tell ur bb to cooperate with u, ya?

Hi Gummie,

My tummy growing at a slow rate heeee... it is only getting obvious recently. So i have been wearing my maternity clothes liao

hi kk

the avent steriliser can used for other size of bottles coz the avent bottles are veri big so if u get bottles smaller than the avent one, no problem at all.

actuali once ur bb finish milk, u wash and steriliser all bottles altogether and then u can leave it there to sterilise for 10 mins liao...i feel $50 difference is alot. think both look the same except wif a LCD screen..

btw, i read somewhere that milk bottles must change every 3 mths...

hi pooh ,

do u know Avent bottles is also anti-colic bottles. i read some where that there is anti-colic bottles in the market

Milk bottles must change every 3 months? opps I change only once a year!!!

kk
I am still sterilising for my son even when he is one+... its up to you. My friend stopped when her baby turned one.

twinkle,

i tink there is this Mr Brown bottles that is supposed to be anti colic and very good.

pooh,

i dun rem that our parents changes our milk bottle every 3 mths...

Ivy

Dr Brown bottle is really expensive. My friend switch to that as baby had colic. Think it works better than avent.

My baby uses NUK as I bf him and he did not take to other nipples as they were too hard. I had to use the rubber ones. Had to change from Pigeon to Avent then to NUK before he took the bottle!!!

Hi Gabby's mum,

So u are using the pigeon steriliser for ur NUK bottles? Recently i bought NUK premium series which are bigger mouthed and so bigger size compared to the rest of NUK bottles. Still ok for pigeon steriliser?