(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Milo,

Ya, was very excited over the detailed scan! Especially when my blood test was "mistaken" as possible DS. If really DS, signs would show in detailed scan. Lucky everything turns out normal!

Matched gal,

Oh, if placenta is low and doesn't shift up, it is not just a 1st trimester problem liao. My gynae mentioned if low placenta all the way, then must go for c sec. Cannot go for natural delivery already. Low placenta may also cause risk of miscarriage around week 20 or so. Can sound scary ya?

gummie,
yes, i totally agree with you, gals should have enough rest for the 1st mth else body cant hard to get recover back..
my hubby nagged me to get a confinement lady but the problem is that he wants to give away my bunny to have a room for her. i had this bunny since he is 3 mths plus till now..its like a baby to him ...
of cos, letting my bunny in a room, most pp will say, its a waste! Initially, we didnt plan to own a kid .
if i take in 1 confinement lady, my bunny has to give away, in case the fur get into my baby's nose.. :~(

milo,

actually if we put aside everything else, having yr mil look after yr baby and yr mum take care of yr meals sounds like a perfect arrangement. the only problem is how to manage your mil... that is the tricky part loh.

if u cannot find a way to turn her down, maybe you should think positive and focus on her ability to take care of the bb well. u see, some pple have problems with CL too, so yrs may not be the biggest of problems yet? besides, treat it as a one-month thingy... time will fly before u even know it. and it may help too if u can try and let her have her way with the baby (since u mentioned she's good at it) and not insist yr methods unless it is really called for? tt will prevent any unnecessary conflict.

at least with yr mum around, if u have any unhappiness u can 'complain' to her, she can be your channel or outlet
yr mum can also watch out for you and make sure u dun suffer from post-natal depression.

hi Ivy,

thanks for the info
my gynae is with SGH so most likely i will opt to deliver there. so the incentive scheme is only for those who deliver in TMC?

i wonder if those Mrs Wong books are a good alternative to attending antenatal classes?

hi gummie,

I was there to sign up the classes last friday. Happen to see some actions of Mrs Wong while a outpatient came in with breast feeding problem and handling of kids. Personally i feel she very experience and handle situation very calm and explain each step how to do this and that and why bb feel this and that. Just thought of sharing this with you. I believe other instructors shld hv the similar experience to conduct such courses

hi annie,

whether or not u get a confinement lady, u will still give need to give the bunny away? cos i think most pple will advice u not to let newborn baby exposed to animal fur?

i can understand your attachment with your bunny, cos i have a pet dog too. but you need to weigh and decide what is more important: your long-term health (and yr baby's) or your bunny? can you find someone to adopt your bunny temporarily?

gummie,

the card is only for TMC mothers to be.
But you can still sign up for the class, just no discount loh.
Later i go home to read the books and see how. But i think the class is good cos they will be teaching the hubby how to help us to do stretching exercises and also to massage us the correct way.

Twinkle,
Today i went to the Parent's craft room, also got 2 babies there. Look newborn cos so tiny. The daddys were there for some advice. One baby dunno how to drink milk from the bottle. And staff there very kind and patience.

hey girls...

I've done my detailed scan on fri, 18wks and 5 days(OB is gng for holidays) Confirmed that bb is a girl and detailed scan has showned that she's fine! Hope to hear from u girls soon

hi ivy,
i also got the FBI card lei. but the gal at parentcraft told me that it's only 5% discount for the antenatel class...u sure yours is 10%? coz i intend to send a cheque over to confirm the class. btw, which slot did u sign up for?

yeah...i also received the books. but i totally freaked out when i saw pix of the placenta and cord....

hi nana!
congrats! me going for my detailed scan in early Jan...

Hi Milo,

U having this mil taking care of bb problem too?? Me too! Sigh, what to do? My mum no time to take care for me. She has to handle my brother's 3 kids already.

At least ur mum still can cook for u! My mum cooks so much better than my mil and she is also more experienced in taking care of bbs. I really cannot imagine what will happen when my mil comes over during confinement. That is one month!! My mum know my concerns and she ask me to "ren" lor. Can't be helped. Unless i wanna get a CL. But it is really not cheap and may give problems as well. Somemore total stranger. May be even worse. I heard of horrid stories on CL, being irresponsible and stealing food.

Subsequently mil also taking care of bb. I hinted my hubby liao. Anytime i cannot "ren", i will find bb-sitter. That's why i find the website Annie gave us very useful. It might come in useful one day. But i hope that day won't come lor. If mil can take care well and there are not really big conflicts, i will still let her handle everything.

ino,

let me check the receipt again tonight. Sometimes i can be so blur cos have not been able to slp well at nights!

I sign up for the Jan 21, Sat, 7pm class. It is conducted by Mrs Wong. When is yours?

Wah, you so fast start reading it? I was just flipping thru the first couple of pages and think i am not prepared for motherhood yet! haha!

morn!

hey yesterday i went to measure my tummy and guess wat, my waistline thicker than my hubby already! now at 17 weeks and 2 days, its 35.5 inch.. anyone keen to share their measurement?

milo,

you can still find your waistline? I have not measured but looking from the mirror, i think no more waistline liao...haha

Good Morning!
Milo, I have not measured my tummy. Will go back home today and measure. Will update tomorrow.

Can I check with you gals, is it ok to contribute 'white gold'? My boss's dad has passed away and they are collecting condolence contribution. Am not sure if I can contribute. My mgr says I shld not contribute and shld not attend. Not too sure. Can advise. Thanks.

yasmin,

if you pantang, then dun attend. But i think contribute shld be okie? (thats what i learn from my mum). Maybe other gals can comment?

Hi Annie
I'm a Muslim.. Hmm mayb I can try drinking ginger tea..I was actually tinking of drinking Brand essence of chicken.. Duno can or not..

Hi milo,
mine is 34 inch, now at 17 weeks n 5 days.

Yasmin,
me also think contributing is ok but betta dun attend. When my grandma passed away, my mum told me to hang keys to my waist area so as to 'lock' baby to me.

ivy,

haha, yesterday when i ask hubby to measure my waistline, he was looking at me and ask, "dear sorry huh but where is your waist?" i also no more waist liao. i jus measure the most protruding part of my tummy lor. update us hor

cindy,

we almost same same. was looking in the mirror yesterday. look so fat fat liao. so cute

ladies...

i shall go home n measure my 'waistline' too... except it has now become the 'widest' part of me, kekeke...
but i think with my weight gain, i will top the charts, haha... :D

these days i look bui bui in the mirror, but have come to accept it gradually
initially i felt quite depressed...

ivy,
my face has always been BIG to begin with, kekeke... i also v worried it will get bigger n 'swollen'...
but now my problems are big fat arms n legs... suddenly i can't rem how i looked like before i was pregnant...

Hi gummie,

me too, my legs and arms gone big out of sudden n look very pui. as for my face, i belong to those round shape face so i think at later stage it will be very round too. I think now i look like a fat pregnant piggy liao.

twinkle-starry,

i jus asked my colleague she says my waistline cannot be 35 inches yet (no meauring tape here)... not she gets me more worried, cos it means all my weight gain has gone to the wrong places... my arms and my thighs... arghhhh!!!

hmm... the weighty issue....all my weight has gone to my boops... haha... soon i need a D cup...

I am excited as I am going for a scan on Thursday. Keeping my fingers crossed. Praying real hard that it is a girl! Then I can retire two years earlier!!! If not got to tong for 2 more years.

same here. me having a headache buying bras. i tink it's rather difficult to get bras with D cups...tink only european brands? plus those big bras are usu ugly... ;-( dunnoe how now...then again, if i splurge on bras, i dunnoe whether i'm still able to wear after giving birth...might be a waste...sigh...dilemma

Just to share w you.
depending on the bra is tight at the cup or when u hook. for me i cannot get D cup so what i did is still using C cup but i add extension to the bra hook. this way i hope can tahan. For me it is more on the extra fats that make it hard to hook. so i try this method.

was so worried that i am the only one bui bui cause before preggy, i was alreasy very meaty. now lagi worse, i hardly recognise my face liao. all the pics i took at my company's dinner show that my face is so swollen and BIG. see liao so sad but so far wt gain only 2 kg, wonder all the extra layer is it air hor....haha *hoping only*

milo,
i think is water retention, i also look so pui in every photos but hv not put on weight. being on the meaty side before pregnant make me more depressed. since last week, my hubby noticed that my feet is swollen and it is water retention.

So early already water retention at my feet , later i dun know how . me getting worried liao.

Just popped by to see what's happening. Just a suggestion, I feel that u should start wearing maternity bras if u can't fit into your current bras liao. For my case, I was a D cup before pregnancy, after pregnancy, cup didn't get bigger at first so just use the hook extension. I started wearing maternity bras when I was abt 4mths pregnant coz it's very uncomfortable squeezing my breasts in the normal bra. Get those maternity bras that also can be used as nursing bras. Very comfortable. No use getting normal bras liao as most likely u won't wear it after giving birth, unless your cup size remains as big as during pregnancy. Hope my contribution helps u gals

agree with preciousbabe - get those that can be used as nursing bras. OG sells them relatively cheaply and fits me (before preggy i was 36C - now ... i've given up measuring!)
I oso feel really pui pui - lost a lot of weight for my wedding earlier this year, then continued on my diet when I got pregnant. So now have to eat normal+, so putting on weight fast! lucky i kept the clothes I was wearing before my weight loss so I can wear them now. Thing is, I don't even look pregnant - just fat

milo/ twinkle-star,

guess wat... u will be comforted to know this - i have gained near to 6 kgs now!!! :'(
wahahaha... 3 times more than u gals leh!

i tried to get some new bras too cos my existing ones are really uncomfortable now. but those that i saw in Mothercare or other maternity shops only have bras without the underwire. i'm so used to wearing underwired bras so when i tried these on, i feel like my breasts are falling to the sides, and when i put on my clothes my bust looks so unsightly... not only that, the material is very 'thin' (the nipples can show leh). for those of u who have started wearing maternity/ nursing, may i know how u overcome this problem? do u put an extra layer of padding in between? or are there better ones available out there?

Annie,

Heard u did massage during pregnancy? any recomendation on good masssuer for preggies?? And is it safe to do at suchh an early pregnancy? I.m onli 15 weeks....

hi preciousbabe,

i came aross the bras at Perfect Mum too. how long have u been wearing them? the last time the sales girl showed me i thought the material tends to 'qi mao' (hmmm how to desribe ah? hope u know wat i'm saying...) after a few washes...

i jus got an sms from them telling me there's a xmas sale going on, maybe later after work i go and check again

Anybody knows if portable fetal doppler scanners can be bought or rented in Singapore (to listen to bb heartbeat)? I was just looking through the UK and US sites,and thought that it might be one way of reassuring (without having to go see Dr) that bb is doing ok. I know that they might be quite expensive though. Can't seem to find anything on the internet whether they can be bought here.

hi gummies,

agreed with you , i bought mothercare w/o wire and the material very thin. for big boobs like us , seems like cannot handle so i wear those at home mostly. Recently i bought from OIO , they hv a branch in Raffles hosp. and Tampines. I find not bad. u may want to take a look.

u put on 6 kg. maybe not all fats worth of 6kg leh, dun forget water also got weight mah. i am already big big before pregnant due to my hormone issues. i can understand the feeling not good but never mind we focus to lose weight after this ok. Now for the sake of the baby, we hv to be happy mah

Star & Little,

I saw the doppler several times.. but cant remember where.. think there is this shop in parkway have.. opposite mothercare..

i thought of getting it too initially but dun know how god is it..

hi celeste
Thanks. Parkway is close to where I live so will go check it out.
I suppose it might need a bit of practice to pick up the sound of bb heartbeat but it is just for reassurance.(my dr couldn't detect it last week so had to do another ultrasound - my 3rd already!) Must see the price first I suppose.

BTW, can anyone describe what first movements feel like? I think that I can feel bb - but i don't know if it's just gas or what! I'm 18wks+3 already.

hey twinkle-starry,

ya loh... i'm more or less prepared now. these days i've accepted my weight gain :p and complain lesser to my husband. n i also worry if i keep focusing on my weight, i won't be a happy preggie and my baby's moods and temperaments may be affected. now i jus try to consume in moderation
but dunno why i still put on weight much more easily than i do in the past...

anyway...

i havent heard of OIO, they also a maternity boutique? they only have 2 branches here?

gummie,
I bought 3 but only wore 1 so far. Has washed it a few times liao and furthermore I put it in the washing machine to wash. So far the material is ok. Never qi mao

Hi Star&LittleB,

I felt my first movements last sat, after 12 midnight. I was lying still on the sofa and suddenly i felt some kind of water current movement across my tummy, from left to right. It really cannot be described. It is not pain, not stretch, not cramp, not even kick. It is just a soft movement from left to right. And it happened 3 consecutive times. The feeling real wonderful!! I hope i can feel those movements again

I am now in my 20th week.

gummie,
yeap it is also a maternity boutique. so far i only know of these two branches. I first notice when i when to the banquet foodcourt in Raffles hospital to hv a meal. it is just next to the food court.

hi kk, thanks for sharing the experience! sounds really wonderful. what i feel sometimes is like flicking a finger at various points inside my bump. Maybe will have to wait till later and see. They say first-time MTB take longer to feel first movements. My colleagues don't even remember what it feels like!

hi Star&little,

at times some of the movements is like flicking a finger. I had that feeling sometime back , like someone flicking or scratching lightly inside the tummy. Other movement is like KK experience.

hi mummies-to-be,
do you knwo if it's ok to drink Chrysanthemum tea?
the sort that you make yourself ? Ie, the flowers soaked in hot water ?

hi star,
i tink i do feel the flicking of finger everyday...but i'm only at 17 wks...it's realli hard to describe lei.

hi annie,
forgot to tell u. i also experience stomach cramps yesterday nite...it's a bit like a tightening feeling. gotta ask my hubby to massage for me for about 5 mins (dare not apply oil) i also did not dare to stretch myself straight...have to sleep curled-up. ;-( thankfully, i'm betta today...