(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

annie,

dun really hv frequent headache. Just abit when i eat too heaty stuff. I'm beginning to take beef noodles (it's one of my craving) for iron, for the last few wks, but duno if the iron is enuff in addition to my supplements... I noe green leafy veges are also rich in iron, but haiz! just lose appetite when i see them(!)...

dun really sleep late too... about 7-8 hrs sleep each nite... Last month, i always konked out at 9pm(!). Now can still tahan till 10+ or 11... hehe, getting some of my energy back

yasmin,

MCs are entitlement. I am sure your colleague shld understand that pregnancy is never a easy matter.
Take the doc advise and go home to rest!

gummie,
dun worry, your baby will warn u in near few weeks if you throw temper or tantrum.. i had this experience 1st few mths, my tummy became painful ... quite dangerous cos baby not yet stable.. everytime, i have to tell myself bear with it.. now, think over, quite dangerous... might just lost the baby like that..
i read from the book, your baby will start to respond in week 20.. will hear what you are talking...

cindy,

Thanks so much!!
I'm going later during lunchtime, hehehe...

How to trim tummy hair? It's really tiny & close to each other, keke...

Has anyone recently went to Kiddy Palace? A couple of months back I saw a bassinet for NB. Cost ard $199 aft discount. It has 3 types of music, lights and rocks. It is battery operated. Can be used till baby is 1 year old. I thought of getting it but cld not find it at Lot1 or Jurong Pt. If anyone saw it at other branches can let me know. I am interested to purchase it. Thanks.

yasmin,

go ahead.. take a rest... health is most important...

dun worry your weight. i alway lost my weight when i have migraine attrack..

matched gal,
You should eat beef at least one a week for the baby.. good for baby..
Hmm.. I alway sleep at 10pm.. now find v hard to wake up.. seems to have lots of dream..
Pregant woman is like a "FIRE" our body tend to be heaty than usual...

yasmin,

yah, like wat the other ladies say, health is more important than wat others tink about u. Talk to your boss - i'm sure he/she will understand...

i get headaches in the morning and sometimes lasting throughout the day if i dun have sufficient sleep the previous night. these days i need to sleep by 10.30pm or the next day i'll be very exhausted and grouchy. i wonder if any one of you experience the same? the books tell me that i'm supposed to feel very energetic in the 2nd trimester, but i still get tired very easily even though i must say i felt much better compared to the first 3 months...

matched girl,
i'm tryin to get into a prenatal exercise routine but i think i lack the disipline. it'll be close to 8 at night when i return from work and after dinner i really dun feel like moving an inch :p but i really think i shd start...

annie,
did u say the bb will start responding from 20th week? ok... i have this very irritating boss at work (whom every one curse and swear at day in and out) and i noticed i've been complaining about her very often lately. i feel v guilty afterwards (not bcos of her, but for my baby :p) and i try to remind myself again and again that i should not 'bad-mouth' her... but she gets on everybody's nerves, i'm not exaggerating...

i'm worried that my negative thoughts and words may be a bad influence, how? (tape my mouth?)

yasmin,

$199 for a bassinet seems quite exp...And BB may grow too big size for it after a while.
You starting to buy these stuff liao? I was hoping for some post xmas sales..hee..

Ivy, nope I have not bought anything yet. I found the bassinet to be quite good, looks good too! I think can withstand till 15kg. My son now at 16-17kg at 3 yrs old. I think quite durable. I had my eyes on this earlier this year but did not get an opportunity to buy it. I already have a playpen which my son hardly used. Its quite bulky and is collecting dust now. I wanted to throw the playpen and buy this bassinet instead.

yasmin,

if you going to throw the playpen, let me know hor. I dun mind if it is still workable. I bought a cot for my house, now need another cot/playpen for my mum's house cos after the 1st mth, BB will be there for most of the week.

Metro having 20% sales today and tmrw, dunno got anything good to buy.

robinsons having storewide 20% discount + 5% rebate so in total in 25% off. starting today till sunday. worth to take a look

wah! anyone wants to give away old stuff, let me noe, if its still able to use, i am keen on.. thanks

milo66,
thanks for the infor... but need any invitiation card? i didnt receive any...

grumme,
oh, dear! i understand that, bb will listen leh.. if you keep repeating the same curse then its like repeat the same sentence, then bb will remember.. like those baby education. but need to repeat till the baby born then he or she will remember.. now baby will remember the water sound of the water bag...cos every moment cause the water to flow and sound created..

same as you, i oso try to remind myself but sometime, my sales really make me angry, i just say out of my mouth..

up till now, i still run to catch train or bus.. for week 18, not good rite?

annie,

like no need leh. its advertise on the papers. think need to be member bah. maybe any1 know can provide us more info..

i also have to run to catch the bus and train every morning... no choice leh. i think now not so bad, later when tummy gets really big how to run? have to watch the bus 'zoom...!' and say bye bye...

for me i try to catch the bus at a specific timing so i dun need to rush. my friend whose wife is also pregnant thinks i'm very 'pitiful'... still have to take public transport... he always makes sure he sends his wife to and from work unless he cannot make it then ask her to take cab...

gummie,

no sad..take public transport where got pitiful, jus that no one will give up their seat for us lor. my hubby also seldom fetch me but heng i got pte transport to take me to work else my place so ulu, i sure die

gummie,

act its difficult not to compare cause we preggy feel more sensitive now mah. i was upset that night when it was pouring so heavily that hubby cant fetch me then my colleague rub salt by saying "so poor thing ah, i not preg, my hubby also come fetch me" make me boil for the whole night then hubby kana big time from me.

ivy,

i think shld include cause it say storewide leh. i dun have the papers with me now. if later i manage to catch hold of 1 i update u

gals,

i agree with you, no one bother let you have a seat.. every morning, i come out my house half an hour just to have a seat, else sengkang station alway full..

however, i have to stand when i take train home.. no choice.. pp act sleeping or busy with something that u seem transparent in front of them..

luckily, my leg havent sore or swollen, think later stage, then have pity ourselves cos the ball will be big and heavy..

maybe OUR government (since they are so pro-baby now) should come up with a new law to enforce that people should give up their seats for PREGNANT WOMEN huh? kekeke... to avoid people claiming they dunno (cos some of us tummy not big enuf) we can also paste a small 'P' sticker on us everywhere we go...

life will be alot easier for us man!

hey ladies, was just reading your latest posts on the "attitute of the singapore public to pregnant women"

wwanna share something with you all.

Was at City Hall the other day and was not feeling too well (ie, wanted to puke) so my hubby went to Marketplace asking for a few plastic bags, and the cashier glared at him and asked what for, so i stepped up and said I wanted to vomit, and cld we pls just have a couple of bags. She handed us 2. (ok, maybe i tend to vomit more, but 2 is def not enuff !!!) so i asked for more, and she very very unwillingly gave us 4, and warned us not to come back with the empty plastic otherwise they will question us ...

i walked away fuming !!! had half a mind to just be sick and vomit in that marketplace premises. It just shows how much compassion we can get from other Singaporeans, and the Govt really shld do something to generate awarness amoung the public on how to maybe help or give pregnant women some kind of support.

Wah Cindy,
you really go and cut the small "hair" actually will disappear after delivery.. once you cut, the hair will grow and worst, rougher and thicker... better dun..
Actually, if you observe careful,everyone has it.. even for the man, just that now, we have it darker in colour.. its alway there since we are young..

gummie,
yah, i too want to do prenatal exercise. But very lazy at the end of the day oreadi - reach home oreadi 8+ or 9. Duno if can exercise b4 sleep also. And no budget
Tink maybe weekend can do some simple brisk walking. Hope got energy - weekends always feel like sleeping & lazing ard. My dad says i've become a lazy pig - eat & sleep, haha ;p End up my husband also turn into a lazy pig nowadayz... but he's to do the hsework, hehehe... ;)

cindy,
i c...

btw, do any of you use epilator on leg/armpit hair now that u're preggie? Shd be ok, rite?

Hi Ivy, sure will let you know if I want to give up the playpen. I'm sure its in workable condition. Its just that its very bulky lor.

I went to see my gyane just now. He said my stomach has been badly irritated. He did a scan, just to see if baby is ok. Baby has grown well. He gave me a jab to stop vomitting. Now I feel very sleepy, still no appetite.

Talking abt energy, I dont have much of that these days. No matter how much of rest I have doesnt seem to help.

milo,

i also quarreled with my hubby once cos he did not even think of coming and pick me up from work (although he was on leave and at home that day). i happened to be feeling unwell and was hinting to him that i don't feel like taking the train and bus. guess wat? he simply asked me to go ahead when i finally gave up and said i'll take a taxi. i was so furious then! it never occur to him that he should make an effort to come and pick me??? i don't usually insist that he comes, but he was not doing anything at home leh?

anyway....

matched girl,

good to know that i'm not the only 'lazy' one around here. but really, after work very tired leh... i dun feel like going shopping these days..

btw, are you gals attending prenatal classes? is it important to attend? i have no time, so did not even sign up...

Gummie,
i oso didnt sign up for the class.. cos according to my friends.. u will forget everything once you are in the room.. jus follow what the nurse instruct or so call comment you to do.. at that point of time..

gummie,

i think its good for you and hubby to attend. For me, the classes are more for hubby to rem wat to do when we are delivering and also how to take care of new borns.
For guys, unless you go to these classes with them, they will not bother to read up on.

gummie,

yap, i signed up for the antenatal class in Mt A (Feb next yr - hope it ain't too late!), hehe. Tot it'll b good to at least have a feel of what to expect. Tot it's good to let hubby learn how to cope too

hmmmm... so u both think it's good for hubby to attend together? i thought about that too, but my hubby not around to accompany me, so i will be going alone if i do. tt's why i'm not so keen to go... very depressing one leh...

gummie,

how many weeks are you in? best its that you join only after 7th mth.. cos .. by the timing is just right and you have a good chance to exercise .... one of my gfs told me, she just join recently, currently 7th mth.

matched girl,

ya he's not working in Singapore at the moment, but tries to come back on weekends (back on Saturday and out again Sunday afternoon so very rush)... btw how many sessions do we need to attend to complete the antenatal course? you oredi signed up for next Feb?

hmmmm... if there are online courses that will be good

annie/ matched girl,

i thought these classes are free? need to pay to attend? i was told that we can start the course from 5th month onwards, but i agree with you its probably better to start later, else will forget everything by then...

annie,

Tink it's $126 if u deliver in the hosp itself, else it's $147 (if i remember correctly). Oh no, i lost the contact number liaoz
But can go to the Mt A website to have a luk, it's an indian lady whoz in charge of the schedule

gummie,

Yah, i reserve for Feb liaoz. Actually wanted it abit earlier, but the lady said Feb suitable for ladies delivering in May. Total of 5 classes, each time 2 hrs. Yah, wudn't mind online courses. If u really can't attend, maybe can ask around see who attended b4 & has the "notes"? But duno if reading offline has the same effect of hands-on...

matched girl,

like dat ah... must pay one i dunno. ok la i go back discuss with my hubby see how... also need to check out the rates at my hospital.

i thought can get some feedback from those who attended, then see if good to go or not. i guess worse come to worse i go on my own

wow. just a couple of hrs and the thread is moving so fast liao...

ladies, pls check wif ur gynae whether u can do antenatal exercise before u sign up for classes coz i do understand some mummies with low placenta cannt do exercise... u can still attend the class but have to 'skip' on the exercise if ur condition doesnt allow...well, if hubby nt free to attend, u can ask ur mum or sister to accompany u to the class ....a few of mummies also ask their mum to attend wif them when i attended my classes two yrs ago..

Gummie,
this course isnt free.. a basic guide to teach you how to exercise and how to breathe when times to come, oso, how to bath the plastic baby ... if you have confinment lady during your confinment.. still you have someone to teach you..or your mum or mil ...
You sure forget how to breathe,, cos you will be over excite when the time come..
no hurry for the class, cos if you take in the 7th mth, 6 weeks oni end at 8mths plus.. still fresh in your mind..
few baby can survive if delivery in the 7th mth.. for those who intend to deliver earlier than week 38, i advise no! cos your baby lung still developing, can survive, but you will suffer, as baby will have a lot of breathing problem.. then u have to spend $$ to see specialist and it last for life. one of my ex colleague did that.. when she just wants the baby out before week 38.. gynea oso advise dun.. unless no choice like accident... (touch wood)..

pooh,
i agreed with your gynea, will tell you how will your baby position after the result of the detailed scan.. hows well the baby and the placenta sit on your womb..

pooh,
arh... oh no. Thanks for reminding us (to chk wif gynae). I hvn't asked my gynae ;p Hope my placenta now low
By the way, do u noe wat "symptoms" to tell whether placenta low?

matched girl,

my gynae is at SGH, and I know few pple will choose SGH... it's not really tt popular with mothers-to-be. i also considered about whether i shd choose to deliver at other hospitals (my friends strongly recommend Mt Alvernia or TMC...) but finally decided agst cos my husband pointed out that the gynae may not be so familiar with the other hospital's equipment or staff/nurses, so the entire delivery may not be as smooth...
what fo u think?

sigh, i also wished i could get my mum to attend with me, but she just passed away this July. i dun have sisters also...
nvr mind, there are still some pregnant women who go alone right? shd be ok la...

geeeez... if my hubby saw this he will probably get his mum or sister to go with me.... (no way!)

think i better not complain about going alone :p

gummie,

If u're planning to deliver at SGH, maybe can ask whether SGH got prenatal classes? Might be better to have a hospital tour together wif the class too
For me, i headache very long oreadi, wondering if shd got Mt A deliver or Mt E. Tink if ur gynae is the experienced type, & has a package with another hosp, wun be unfamiliar wif the place/staff/nurses there... Tink i shd ask my gynae which hosp she prefers huh, haha ;p