(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi anybody in need of a good vacuum cleaner? Please message me. Good for asthma users n good for those with dogs and having kids now...i bought one but din know my aunt has oso bought one as a gift for me. It belongs to the high end range.Please help me...

morn!!

jus went to my friend's baby full month party last weekend. heard that she had bank her baby's cord blood with cordlife. anyone has the intention to do so as well? is there a need? thks

Ivy, do you take the anti-vomitting pills? It helped me. You can try too if you cant tahan the sick feeling. I vomit every morning when I brush my teeth, sometimes vomit is white and sometimes its yellow. Today is yellowish, and have very bitter taste whole morning.
I can still tahan. I tell myself that its a good sign that baby is healthy.

hi milo! Yes I'd heard more of stemcord, but I don't know what are their packages like...will find out when EDD is nearer. Just knew it's beneficial for bb, and they can use it for emergency use next time if they needs it....... heard it's about $200+ per year after the initial sum paid.

Hi Yasmin,

I took the pills in the week of 14th Nov and broke the cycle.
But its now back again!!!
Hope to break the cycle this two days, else i will take the pills again.

hi fates,

ic...didnt really go into details on these 2 bamks but heard from other mummies that cordlife has some sort of accredition so shld be better. next time if got more info, share with me hor?

aiyo today i craving very badly for crabs leh. ask my mum can eat or not, she told me cannot, say next time baby will pinch ppl. easily meh?

Hehehehhe by eating crabs baby will pinch ppl easily? Hehehehhe
I thought its only baby will duo1 shou3 duo1 jiao3, aka itchy fingers/legs......like to touch this and that? The other version is baby will drools alot? Hahahah me hearsay too......of cos all these no scientific prooves :p:p:p:p

Ok next time if I talked to someone from stemcord, will share share

milo,

just go and eat lah. I ate twice in 1st trimester liao. Dun care abt all the hearsay...haha...

For the stemcord, i read that it is helpful for parents and other siblings but not on direct self. Cos the body will reject own cells. So if you dun intend to spend the money to store the cord, just make sure you donate to the hospital. Next time (touch wood), if you need, then you will have priority.

Dear Ivy & Milo,
dun said i curse on your baby. Its just that no crab especially during pregancy. Else your baby will have skin problem n mostly acnes over the face.

Sure you wont want your kid to complain to you.. My colleague and my mum ate crab during pregancy. End up, my youngest brother and my colleague's son all have acnes over the face.. now my brother face is just like Mark Lee.. a lot of holes..

Dear Yasmin.
Hmm.. you still suffering morning sickness. I had it for the 1st 3 mths.. now better. will puke when my migraine attrack..
White & yellow colour represent your gastric acidic.. Better dun eat too much anti nausea pill, I read from the pregancy book, not so good.
4 me, i eat salty plum (bite by bite) to ease the uncomfortable.

milo,

For acne and skin problems, they are highly decided in the genes. If you not sure abt food, just ask the gynae, i am sure he is more expert in this area than any of us here.

Hi milo,

Yah I also agree with Ivy and I think its ok to eat a little bit but not too much coz seafood is consider "tu" ... so not too good for baby's skin ... 2 of my friends got sudden craving for clams during their pregnancy , and one of them ...her baby is very prone to having sores with pus and the other pregnancy got rashes with pus on herself .... but I do have freinds who eat crabs a few times during their pregnancy ...their BB turns out fine .... so I guess everything in moderation is Ok ....if really have the craving ....I think its ok to eat a little to ease the crave ...

Yo ladies, my mom luvs eating crab when carrying my bro and till now his face doean't hv pimple/acne, tot skin prob it's more of hereditary????? I ate crab too, yum!yum! musn't let BB drool....;p

Hi Ladies!

My mum told me a combination of what milo and fates have mentioned. Eating crabs the bb will have itchy fingers and also pinch pple real hard haha...

I never heard of skin problem link to crabs though, but i believe there is some truth to it as seafood is normally considered main cause of skin problems, even in adults. Like what taurus said, they are very du lor.

So if we can avoid, try to avoid. Else eat in moderation

Hi Ivy /Milo

to ease craving take a bit lah. i also took in 1st trimester . I only take 1 piece just for the ease.

ivy / taurus:

haha the both of u so nice...okie tonight i shall get hubby to buy 1 back for me. taste abit i also happy.

ivy:

if i ask gynae whether crab will cause acne and skin prob in baby, i think he will definitely laugh at me :p so i better not ask lah. like tarus say, everything in moderation is ok

milo,

yup...just taste a little of everything and dun worry too much!
Yes, gynae usually tell us dun worry abt these tales but they do tell you to avoid certain food too. Esp if your gynae is the experienced type where they have delivered many babies.

Enjoy your dinner tonight!

Annie,
Sorry if I sound rude to you.

I'm a silent reader of this thread. I find that you are very nice to share your knowledge from what you read and hear from pple. But sometimes too much of following doesn't bring you anywhere.

beside, I think that your post should be more considerate. Rather than cursing pple's bb. All MTB here wishes things well for their bb, and I believe you too.

Anyway, this is just how I feel. Hope that you don't feel offended.

ivy / kk:

i am already drooling liao. whole morn thinking of the taste of chilli crab. lunch also no appetite but force myself to eat some, who knows jus now went to puke liao...sigh..this naughty baby so diff to please. come out mummy will spank pipi

Ivy,

is it so? Then y my sis n myself didnt have ance problem. Our faces are so smooth.. My colleague's son has acnes problem n her daughter didnt have it.
My mum ate when she expected my brother same case for my colleague.
Better play safe. Crab is oso v cooling and got wind same as fried oyster. Thats y, dun eat during pregancy.
My gfs obey the rules... same here, i love crab but my hubby v strict on me.. hehe

Annie,
My mum, my aunties and all my relatives and includes me eat crab during pregnancy, and have birdnest every week after 2nd trimester, we don't get allergy, ance and asthma problem. And all our complexion is on tip top condition.

So what makes you think that by following the rules your bb will never have ance and sensitives skin?

Piglet,
i think u got the wrong msg. i didnt cursing or any intention to curse anyone baby. As you said, everyone is the same situation.

i just put a front word that crab cannot eat else got skin problem and acne problem. Tats y afraid people to mistaken i am cursing. Thats y i said i dont curse.

Annie,
maybe I mis-understood your post. But see, if I mis-understood yours, means other might be also. That's why I say be more considerate in your post.

Pigletz (poohie),
I nvb imply anyone to follow my rule. Somemore, eating crabs are most not allow by old folks and i am stating out of what i known.
of cos, like you said, your family got a good history of genes that dont at problem with birdnest and crabs.
However, thats doesnt imply that every baby will have the same effort.
I only put my thoughts and didnt put a gun on another head to follow. Why are you so sensitive?
I thought the forum is meant for us to put our thoughts, whose ever want to follow the rules or read, all by others mean. Doesn't imply that strict rules have to follow or listen whose ever suggest.
I already highlight better to prevent.

Hi Milo,

Wow, ur urge for crab is really great! Are u a crab lover ever since young? For me and hubby, we rarely take crabs. And i only take crabs when my mum cooks them. I love my mum's crabs! i dun eat crabs outside. But dun think my mum will cook crab now lah since she forbid me to take :p

Pigletz (poohie),
thanks for consider for me. I consider myself a lousy bad english writer. Thanks for highlight me.
By the way, how many weeks already? I am going to do triple blood test this evening. Quite worry. ...
Afraid that i eat too bad mc donald n cracker, might kena hypertension.. or diabetic..cos i lost 1kg .. currently 15th week.
Same again, my earlier reply oso dun mean any harsh word.. i m those whose speak out of my mind but duo hold any ill intention or bad thinking.. cheers

Annie,
Well Said!

Forum is meant for us to put our thoughts. Which I'm doing it right now.

Which also means that you can ignore my post and don't be bothered by it.

Hi Annie,
Yah lor, I still puke in the mornings. Sour plums dont help me leh. Infact, aft taking them will have gastric. Me very weird.

Sorry me a bit blur, I thought crabs were heaty, but they are cooling ah. For myself, I dont take them, cos I had very bad urine infection after eating crabs one day while in my teens. I peed blood also had diahrrohea, will never forget that experience.

Ask you mummies, does anyone of you suffer from low blood pressure. My blood pressure has been low for few mths alreay. Dont know what to do.

Annie,
I think all of us will have different weight gain. Don't worry abt losing weight. I'm already reaching my 3rd trimester and I hv not gain a single KG. As long as you and bb are healthy, don't need to worry too much.

Everything you eat or drink, just rem to be moderate, don't eat or drink too much of everything.

Anyone heard of peanut butter cannot be taken during pregancy? I read from this "conception, Pregancy .. bk that i brought. UK writer.
Stated that taking peanut butter will cos baby to arise allegy to peanut in future.
Anyone heard of this?
i had it spread on my bread every morning. I only know that nuts are good for pregancy... provide zinc and iron but eat modersate... cos fatty..
However, my migraine stop me from eating cheese, chocolate and milk.. these daily products will stir up migraine..

kk,

hehe i am a crab lover since young! before i was preg, on and off will also have cravings for crab but can ignore type. now this bb of mine very sturborn, must eat means must eat, cannot ignore or the whole night i will think of the food or even dream abt it :p frightening right? hubby say baby follow after my character

Hi Annie,

I think i read about peanuts somewhere. I read from forum, some gals say peanuts cause eczema (dunno correct spelling or not) in bb. But what i read from books is that it will only cause an effect if the mum herself is allergic to peanuts. if we dun have that allergy, then it is ok.

i am still eating peanuts, when i use them in boiling soups.

Talking about peanut butter, i was telling my hubby yesterday i have sudden urge for peanut butter spread for my bread. But didn't get any yesterday though :p

Milo,

So u must have dreamt of crabs!!! Hahha...

yasmin,
oh! thats bad, i oso have v bad gastric, fully understand how u go through sickness. i had to puke out the whole days for the 1st 3 mths.. till i really want 2 give up this unborn monster.
Yes crab and Oyster (fried) n clams are all v cooling (han).Thats y, most people fried these stuffs to ease the cooling a bit.. however, the wind is v v strong..
Yap, since you have gastric problem, eating crab will have diarrohea effect. Like Oyster raw, i oso got diarrohea. As for urine infection, I had v bad experience, even sent to hospital b4. You should try to drink more water. (chinese physician stated that if you have too much heatiness in your intestine, will affect your urine and motion). Its apply to me, you montior and check whether same for you. Barely is a good way to prevent urine infection. However, you cannot take barely now.
Maybe, you try carreberry juice, doc alway advise me to take if urine infection occur. I found its expensive and sweet.

Regarding the peanut butter, i oso not v sure. my gyne alway stated that he doesnt restrict to eat any food.
However, all my old folk colleagues stated that we chinese must .... (follow the rules, else suffer)...
From the bk that i read, stated that human being get to have difference allegy..
Peanut butter is one cause that the baby will have allegy to peanut. I noe pp allegy to eggs, pineapple, milk, bird nest...

Hi piglzet (poohie),

Thanks for your acknowledge.. So envy you, still no weight gain.. Wah! thats mean you dun need to undergo the diet after labour..

Hopefully, i can be the same. But, i doubt so, my monster loves mc donald food, the only fast food that i wont puke out so far ever..

Hopefully, i would feel the urge when later stage come.

Annie,
*smiles* Yup, didn't undergo diet after my 1st labour too. This is my second pregnancy btw.

milo,
go as the urge come. haha, eat crab if you want to. Very horrible to have the urge and then hor, don't eat one.

mmm..my cols told me to eat if there's a craving if nt BB will drool after birth...kekke..dunno how true but I'll find every reason to eat thgs I can eat (which means BB likes if din puke) except for rice :D
I don't hv the courage to drink herbal tonics so now only drink birdnest 3 times a week...hope BB is absorbing well..plus my mil is not into concocting soup loh...and as I've nt been eating rice for the past 1 mth, veg is oso sthg I can't really take, so nowadays "surviving" on noodles..gd thg I crave for pizza, chicken leg (from Breeks! Yummy) and other junk food..

Hi milo,

You so lucky ..ur BB follow your taste bud .... mine follows exactly what hubby eats which is all the food that I never like ..... I never fancy any fried stuff like fried Bee hoon, fried kway teow, fried rice, nasi lemak, luncheon meat, potato , fast food , cold drinks , bread etc etc ...but now I crave for these food ... and for food that I like like crabs, seafood , soupy stuff, cookies ... i will puke if i force myself to eat the things i like .... veri veri chiam ... and hubby so how lian now ... keep saying BB veri "shi huo" noe who to follow ....8(

Juzmaine,

Heard that bird nest is rather liang. And not only that, it can cause phlegm and asthma in bb. It is also believed to contain some hidden feathers which are not yet removed and not readily visible so we can't really wash clean.

3 times a week seems a bit too much leh.. heee.. u must have spent a bomb on bird nest! Me take it only once per fortnight.

has anyone signed for the childbirth education course at TMC? i have registered for the class starting from 21 Jan. there are 3 sessions on Saturdays and i will be attending the 4.30 - 6.30pm class.

Hi taurus,

What u have mentioned are the foods i have been eating in my 1st trimester haha... even now, i can't resist nasi lemak, luncheon meat and potato. But i control myself not to eat these often, especially nasi lemak. The most is once per week or fortnight. i guess potatoes are fine, just that they can be fattening.

Hi KK,
Yeah, heard abt asthma and phlegms in BB but me can't take other tonics, and I dare not chew the contents, always pour into throat straight loh...
heee..hubby has accumulated enough pts from petrol kiosk to redeem the birdnests ;p
I realise I'm not as conscious with wat I eat as compared to my 1st BB..1 thg bcos ist preg no MS, can eat per normal plus I ate lotsa greens, tho still got constipation. This preg, BB quite fastidious, but ironically can go toilet reg.
The symptoms are juz oppo. Hope BB is fine with the food I eat cos I dun eat lotsa healthy food now....gonna close my factory after this

Hi Juzmaine,

I also same same as you ... been drinking birdnest until some of the gals here say too liang ...I tried to cut down to weekly intake ... btw do you take those freshly brew one or bottled ones coz I heard bottle ones is not too good coz its reprocessed and may have preservatives ... so far I only take the freshly brew type ....

Me used to love eating rice but now always puke after taking rice...so no choice have to cut down and also not able to take any cooked veg .... even my fav mushroom ...now I cannot even stand the smell not to mentioned eating them ...the only veg I eat is salad and tomatoes .... veggies that are not cooked...anything cooked veg... BB wont take ....sign ...dunnoe why is this so....

milo,
I 2 heard abt what Juzmaine stated, that if you have the craving and don't eat, bb will have drool after birth. However, i thought all bb will have drool when they are abt to have new teeth growing..

Pigletz,
Wah! so good. You must be those slim type of gal that nvb put on weight.. so envy

Ic! 2nd pregancy huh.. must be more tiring rite? cos have to take care the big one then still have to carry heavy tummy around..
Gurantee! i wont give myself another chance to expect for 2nd one. Heard from my colleague, she got so tired, the big one pester her then still have to wake up nightly to feed the 2nd one.. cant imagine..

Juzmaine,

Other tonics may be good, but heaty lor. Everytime i drink black chicken soup, i cannot take it leh. Feel like having headache. But luckily headache never really get started all the time.

taurus,

i dun take rice ever since before my wedding. But now bobian, i need to take rice for dinner. Else will feel hungry after that. Only with rice, then i will feel i am having a full dinner

I can't take veg before. No appetite. Only can take unhealthy food. But now ok already. The more greens, the merrier

So u still take salad?

How's ur MS? ok already??

Btw, which week are u in now?

taurus,

haha baby only started to follow my taste buds recently now that ms getting better. for my entire 1st trimester, like u, i was eating wat hubby normally eat - milk, cheese, choco, soupy stuff and puke out watever i used to love. very pek chey one and then hubby was there yaya abt how much baby follow after him wor.

tomorrow i be going for my triple test, need to abstain from food or it doesnt matter?

Hihi Taurus, me drink those bottled ones...easier to swallow w/o chewing but yeah not as gd as brew ones..dun wanna trouble my mil cos she has been doing alot for me even before I'm preg, plus got my gal to look after, and me too lazy to clean the fresh ones...think 2nd kid me no longer dat particular...(Oops! BB angry wif my thinking again ;p) kekeke
Maybe I should drop by Popular & grab a book or 2 on how to brew fool-proof soup. Saw those ready packed herbal ingredients, think it's gd? ;p - lazy mom