(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

milo,

do let us know when the goods arrive. Thks!

The maternity clothings here are not cheap. Dorothy Perkins also carry maternity clothings and some are on sale now. I just bought a skirt.
Mothercare also has some maternity wear on sale.

milo...

i think all mummies are still resting ....haha...

me very gorrgy today. I think MS left me liao...now is back with double dose!

wish i can zzz at hm. now sitting at the office desk is so tough..

can we use "hong u" huh? how abt tiger balm? i gotten a few mozzies bite and so itchy but dun dare to anyhow use after the citronella incident

Any of you had problems eating rice?? Notice that I will feel very bloated after eating rice and most of the time not able to disgest the rice and end up throw up most of it ... dun have such problem when I eat noodle or bee hoon ...dunnoe why ...8( ... rice used to be my favourite as compare to noodle .... *sob**sob*

Hi Taurus,

I can take rice but not plain rice, i will feel bloated. Now i m eating rice but it is brown rice and white rice mixed. These days i managed to eat only 1/2 bowl and full liao

Hi twinkle,

You still can eat half bowl ah ... I only eat quarter bowl and already thow out like hell ... really feel very miserable ... but keep telling myself that so long my BB is healthy ..I just have to "ren" "ren" "ren" ..... now I most scred of meal time ... no appetite n dunnoe what to eat n will not throw out ... really veri veri xin ku ...

Hi Taurus,

Give a try to brown rice, it is good for BB and i feel less bloated. But i dun like to eat all brown rice as it taste bland so i mixed it. Yday my mum cook plain rice and I can only eat a qtr.

Hi twinkle,

Even since pregnant, I have been too lazy to cook... mostly eat out or at mum's place ... so how to eat brown rice ....8(

Hi Taurus,

I dun go back my mum's place often as it is the other end of Singapore. Now i bought a small packet of brown rice and ask my mum to eat too.

For me i cook most days as HB likes home cooked food. I do eat out and if I do, i like soup mostly bcos bb dun like noodles and heavy spiced food.

Hi twinkle,

you very good ley ... I like to cook but dun like to wash up after that ...so try to minimize cooking ... kekek ... and hate to do housework ... so now pregnant can sit down there to shake leg watch TV while HB slog with the house work ...wow ha ha ha ...kekek ...

Now I got no appetite to eat anything ...even my favourite food .. only force myself to eat to ease my hunger ... used to enjoy eating so much but now eating is a torture to me ... 8(

Did any MTB started to play music(Mozart) for your baby? I bought a CD and did play, but i feel irritating. But my fren said it's good for baby, they like to listen soft type music.

Any advice?

Hi Ivy,

Yah, holidays' coming but then, we still got meetings to attend and need to report for work quite regularly till end of Nov

I am still thinking real hard whether to apply overseas leave in dec. Wonder whether should go for holiday, even if it's only for a few days.

U ladies planning to go anywhere?

Btw, when i can eat, i can eat anything including rice. Last nite we ate out for my fil's birthday. And i managed to eat lots of chicken, chicken rice and other dishes. So happy

Well, but when it comes to moments when i can't eat, i can only take very light stuff such as biscuits

Hi Race C,
Yeah, I cldn't agree more that Mozart's music can be quite irritating esp when you need some peace tho' they say it's gd for BB. You can buy those musical box music that's more soothing to the ears

Hi Taurus!
I'm in the same plight as you - eating for the sake of eating. I've to force down food in order not to let my stomach feel acidic that'll normally lead to puking bile..I've no choice but to eat rice so as to keep my tummy full till I knock off and my last visit to the gynae showed that I've gained 0.7kg within a mth...duh......

kk: was suppose to fly off this thur for a short break to bkk but cancelled due to preg. very gian to go but hubby dun allow. was thinking of booking a hotel day in dec to relax abit. where u intend to go?

hi kk

so we are in the same line.... killing marking right, now have a bad backache and will go for massage once 1st trimester over... hehehe. Can go overseas if your obs says okay. For my 1st preggy obs says no so cannot go... so sad. Hoping that this prenancy is better and can go on a trip.

Taurus/Juzmaine
Hmmm. I only have craving for fruits... oranges, peaches, papaya... I always puke bile after i brush my teeth early in the morning. So brushing teeth is very stressful for me...

Hi Milo!

Hmmm, intend to go Perth as it is somewhere beautiful and yet flight not long. Moreover we have gone there before last dec, so kind of familiar with the food, etc there.

I was thinking of blocking out a period of overseas leave with my school first, just in case really going

Hi Gabby!

Oh really?? Me teaching in secondary school. These two days i am feeling very very sleepy *yawn* Perhaps it is marking days and there is really nothing much to do. Imagine i have been sitting here since morning, eating a yam cake and there is still an egg tart and pear awaiting me hahahaa... whole morning doing nothing but eating. Hopefully i won't feel so bored tomorrow when the students come back to disturb me.

My taste buds has also changed quite a bit. I also cannot take rice, only eat a little. I Prefer bee hoon now, easier to digest.

I used to eat lots of crackers, chips and tit bits, but now after eating a bit i felt so bloated and uncomfortable, not craving to eat them too. Wish I have this appetite after birth so that I can slim down fast :p minus the nausea feeling of course...hehe

For me, brushing teeth at nite is the siong part, i felt like vomitting. So everynite when i brush my teeth i make funny noises. Day time is ok for me. Thk my ms comes after my breakfast till at night.

I will be going to China in Dec, obs said if i wanna go then go. Frankly, I personally felt that for 1st time mothers, if u are safe to travel, pls go. Otherwise when baby is born, its even more difficult. I think during 2nd trimester should be ok.

I think my appetite is quite bad too. i completely cannot take home-cooked food and have to go out to eat. Even if i eat those food, i can't eat much too.

MY MS this week seems to get worse (Wk 9 already)...just dun feel like working and wanna stay at home to sleep.

Am wondering whether anyone heard that pregnant ladies cannot attend weddings? Any idea why?

I went to Perth during my 1st trimester for my 1st preg. That was when my MS was gone when I reached there, think the environment plays a part, less stressful...

haha my taste bud change back again. now i crave for rice more than other things!

i heard of that too abt preggy lady cannot attend wedding leh. something like will chiong but i went before i heard of that.

Hi Ino,

I JUST heard my pregnant colleague say cannot go to weddings or funerals. Before that, i didn't know about that. My mum didn't mention anything. I told my colleague in fact i just went to a wedding dinner last saturday haha! I have one more coming up in Nov and another one in Dec. My mum even asked me to accompany her to one dinner in Nov as well.

I guess it's how "bantang" we are and whether we choose to believe it or not. What do u all think?

Hi Juzmaine,

That's a big encouragement for me to travel out of Singapore

I will only decide when i went for my next checkup on 11 Nov

I hope there is still accomodation and tickets by then.

Hi KK!
Think wedding can go but not funeral, afterall, we should heed the advice of the old than be sorry yea...I've seen preg mom's attending wedding and I'll be attending one too next yr, so think it's okie, afterall, it's an auspicious occasion, unless ladies out there have more to share on tis? Then might hv to think twice....

at least some of you can figure out what food makes you bloated and uncomfortable. for me, almost everything i eat will make me bloated. after dinner, i will have a tummy that is like 4 - 5 months pregnant and i have a very uncomfortable feeling at chest area. that kind of want to burp and puke feeling.

about weddings, my mum's advice is not to be involved as an ah yee or during traditional ceremonies. she just reminded me to keep my mouth shut and dun criticise anything at the dinners.

i think attending the dinner is fine but not participating as ah yee. how abt hubby? can be bro? i know i sound abit petty but for his friend's wedding, they require him to dance with the bride's jie mei as a starting dinner type of thing. seriously i dun feel comfortable seeing my hubby dancing with someone i dun know! especially now that i am starting to look more like a balloon

Hi Milo,

In my opinion, i think this is the best to tell yr hubby how u feel. Some guys may not be that sensitive but it is always good to talk it out.

Initially i was supposed to be the ah yee for my close friend's wedding. But after my friends know i am pregnant, they dun wanna me to stress out so the bride got to look for another ah yee for her dec wedding. But at that time i didn't know we cannot get ourselves involved.

Milo, u sound so cute
My hubby would feel too pai seh to dance on the stage haha!

starry: i told my hubby and he also dun really like the idea of that but i also didnt insist that he cannot lor cause after all his friend help us during our wedding as well. imagine my hubby's colleague and bosses all there, i dunno how i shld feel actually. mayb becos preg, i feel less confident when standing next to pretty young girls all dolled up and looking good
my hormones are going crazy again...sigh...

hi milo,

if they had helped u before it is hard to reject. So many ple there especially his bosses, he must be pai seh too .

if it had to happen, i guess u pretend and laugh it off lor. Must give him face mah no matter what in the public eyes.

starry: i think most prob will do wat u have suggested lor. dunno ppl to think that i preg make me siao also.

hi milo.

ya lor and if ple think the wife is petty also no good. Pregnant is one thing but not everyone see it as our hormone issue mah. Sigh!

me going to be a ah yee for one of my buddy's wedding, hah!She did a lot for my wedding so if i do not help her, i feel bad. Anyway she wants me to be around.

Oh ya, anyone suffering from backache. I have been have serios backache since yesterday, think i will go see my gynae this afternoon. I wonder why.

So sleepy and tired. Nowadays the smell of oil makes me want to puke

thks starry for the encouragement!

bookworm: dun tire urself out and take care! ur buddy will understand. my back also ache like crazy esp if i spend a long time walking ard.

any1 done the NT scan already?

milo,

maybe you just dun go loh...cook up some excuse that you are feeling tired and want to rest at home...hee...

bookworm,

i think i rem you are the same week as me...You can hear the heartbeat? I can only see it....
Wat scan you do? 2d?

bookworm: NT scan is to measure the thickness of the bb neck to test for down syndrome. exact details not sure cause i be doing mine on 2 nov.

i only heard that as the tummy grow bigger, it is common to have backache, as for now, i am not sure whether is it normal cause on and off i am having backache too.

ivy: haha dun see no upset is it...keke

milo,

i think you must have walk too much in heels? For me last week, my hip bone pain..Then i try to rest more, the pain gone. My gynae say that try not to walk too much in heels, blood circulation not so good and bone will ache...

Twinkle,
how is your visit to Dr Lee's today?

ivy: haha i have dump my heels long ago lor. i am a super clumsy elephant, if wear heel, sure fall type so now i stick to my flat sandles.

Hi May 06 mums,

Can I join in? I just come across this forum while surfing the net for maternity clothes. Very interesting so tot I will join in here. I am now abt 8 weeks and my EDD is 29 May. i do not have MS but am burping all the time and got to say "excuse me" so often. so embarrassing!

hi margarat! welcome! lucky u not having MS. currently mine slightly better but cant help worrying is everything ok. funny hor? decided on your gynae already?

Hi Margaret,

Welcome to motherhood! You are so lucky not to have MS and can enjoy your 1st Trismeter .... me coming to end of 1st Trismeter in a week's time but still experiencing very bad MS ... I tell my collegues that the merlion just shifted to our office pantry recently ... 8( ... yestersday while walking along the road ... i just walk stop puke ..walk stop puke .... really really pathetic ..... sob sob sob

Hi milo & taurus,

Don't worry I think the ms will go away soon. At least there are some "actions" from the BB. Sometimes I will worry abt my BB how come like nothing happening, no sure whether developing anot. haha!! I think different MTB got diff set of problems.

I think MS can be hereditary. Most of my aunties do not have it (though my mum have it). Does eating different kind of food helps? I used to eat alot of fish, now I can't stand the sight of it and suddenly meat seems a better choice.

hi margaret. that true. when i got my MS a few weeks back, was complaining like mad then recently starts to feel better but worry whether bb is ok or not. so problematic.

this week i am super boring, office got nothing much to do and all my kaki went for courses. since i got no leave left, cant even take to sleep at hm...

haha! Me too! I am very free now that's why surfing the net. My job is either very busy or very free. Sometimes, I could leave on the dot, other times, I might have to work till midnight. Difficult to control my time. Thinking of getting a more routine job after BB. When do you think is a good time to switch job after bb?

hi margaret.

i am always thinking of the same question. Changing job or changing industries. For me if i dun change industries, it will always be that hectic.

margaret:

i used to be in a very hectic line but very interesting and satifying. i quitted and change to admin job after having plans for bb. still not used to sitting in front of pc and having a lesser workload. my side here when free is super free, busy time still manageable. i think the best time to change is ard 1 or 2 mths after maternity bah.

starry:

which line are u in now? mind sharing?