(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi littletot

my sister jst joined only..she needs to go thru training..dnt think will get my sis to teach her at home...i find it more interesting to attend the class and also different environment.

i have one 4 yrs old and lil one is 18 mths old. she is attending GUG once a week. no official homework lar. tiring coz hor, they have music and movement session and also 'creative' time whereby the kids get to use their hands to do some 'masterpiece'..messy messy...hehhe

Food
u can try oats wif fruits puree, ham wif bread , cheese, etc..

Re disciplinary
my elder gal 'provoke' my lil one jst now. Lil one got angry and bite herself on her hand..then this elder gal continue to irritate my lil one and finally......she grabbed her jiejie leg and gave a big bite...blue black wif mark!!! haizz...
i'm getting crazy soon...

Long time no post liao. hiaz just changed job so now at honeymoon period, freer..kekeke

Re discipline...
I have no patience.. have been using cane on boy since he is young. so far so good la once i bring the cane out, he will listen or rather run away to do other things. But really i have no choice as he has been spoilt by the grandparents n follows the actions of the spoilt cousin (ie beating pple etc)..so i have to be sterner w him

Btw, he just started walking..yesss! a bit late hor but these days he is like a walking disaster always ended up with bruises or scratches. have to watch him coz he loves to climb up and down. hub says its my fault coz i let him go to the BJG tat is why he loves to climb

Anyone sending the bb to childcare soon? Me thinking of sending in Jan 08 but dunno which ones are good near my place. any recommendations?

Hi Cheri...
Actually some CS bosses frown on taking NPL. At least at my prev job, its so. I even went back earlier during my maternity

lh_jyc,

i cannot bear to hit my boy with cane. so far, we only hit or smack his hand, leg or buttock lightly. when he has calmed down, i will talk to him and explain why his action is undesirable. he does understand but sometimes of course still choose to be naughty.

i am also planning to send my boy to half day childcare early next year. i called the 2 NTUC childcare centres in AMK and they informed they dun take in toddlers for half-day programme. same goes for a few other neighbourhood childcare centres in the area.

i plan to visit LittleSkoolHouse and Wiggle Learners at AMK Hub. has any mummy heard comments on these 2?

<font color="0000ff">Pooh</font>,
Wah! Cheese, i give k cheese everyday.He is so fussy over e brand, he doesn't eat e red cow head logo stated party cube cheese.
As for the bread, initially k is ok to eat plain and even e four corners ie harder.. but now after pumped by my parents.. he demands to have butter n jam spread over before he willing to bite and no four corners.. sigh*

Hi Anastasia,

Guess what my mil say abt me? she say me and hub "bian tai" kekeke but really my boy is veri mischevious n stubborn (like me
). he likes to imitate pple and the more u say no, the more he wants to do. nothing can stop him unless u bring either the rubberband or cane....tat's why the first few words he say is rubberband n cane ;p

lh_jyc,

oh dear! my boy knows what is 'beat'. he will sometimes stop what he is doing when we say 'beat you', then hit his own hand. our toddlers can be irritating and yet endearing at the same time.

Share a joke, whenever i asked my k to "bite" his food, he holds two hands to pray, cos e pronouncation is same as hokkien "pray" Alamak ..

Wow so much of discussion on classes for our tots...

My little girl loves school. Whenever she tags along with her brother, she loves to sit down and listen. I wonder when i really put her in school she will really listen... sigh..

Praying

Whenever my dh says lets pray, my girl will say..."God.... Amen" It always tickles me when she says that

Food

I will try to give her table food that has reduced salt/oil

Breakfast:

Cheecheongfun with a sauce (diluted with water- prepared at home)
Bananas

Lunch/dinner
Noodles that is cut/chopped
Pizza - just with cheese
Whipped potato with meat( Her favourite as it comes with milk and cheese)
Grilled chicken/fish

gabby
my ger likes chee cheong fun too but i only give her plain...how do u prepare the sauce? share share!

anastacia
oh no...talking abt beat..my mil likes to say to sil's dog...notti, beat u...n my ger will listen so attentively...i'm so afraid she will grow up thinking that dogs can be beaten...so i'll always tell her no, cannot beat the dog...hahah

annie
the qipao is so cute...i'm very gian to buy her one too..but wondering wat size to buy..must go n measure first. u getting? wat size?

lh jyc
ya, cos they think of the inconvenience we pose to them when we take npl...luckily, my boss is ok, she even supported me when i told her i hope to extend...just asked me if i'm sure this is wat i really want...told me it will hinder my promotion bla bla bla...think the stance now is pro-family so it's much easier to apply now compared to the past...

little tot
i think u can pay for a trial first at JG to c if u like...then after that u pay by term...if u join mid term, then u just pay for the pro-rated lessons. If u r doing EL, it's minimum twice per week, n CL will be 3 times per week. They dun allow once a week.

each class max number can be abt 10ish...less than 15 but more than 10..not v sure abt the exact number. yes, it's usually the same students per class so they will hv the same classmates. The main teacher is oso the same but sometimes the asst trs may change...so far her main teacher has not been sick or absent b4 come to think of it keke. Yes, there's lots of mingling n having fun in JG lessons so i'm sure socialising is not a problem. N can recog who her classmates r, can even point them out in photos

not sure if u realized it, but our thread seems to be alive again...hahah so many posts each day...well done, mummies!

so our dec x'mas gathering still on? gabby, at ur place???

this mth our babies will be turning 18M loh.. what do you think if we all post a picture of our babies during newborn and now... to see how much they have grown over the mths

cheri,
Actually I brought one earlier this year @ Kiddy palace for the lunar new year.. but quite ex.. $29.90. Almost same design.. hehe..
Well, she doesn't have my size so i gave up. hehe..
If you are getting one, do bring a spare set; cos bb tends to sweat a lot when thats,... hmm not sure abt others but k <u>sweat like nobody biz</u>.

woh...looking at the pics, really all have grown into handsome boy and princesses..

time really flies. hiaz..sometimes almost feel like having another..kekeke just think only la

Annie,

You going to post Keane's pictures?

Joyce,

Haha you are not the only one. Seeing all these babies pictures really brought back so much fond memories. I also gian to have another one but no courage unless accident :p

milo66,
i would love to.. but i am pc idiot, really duno how to edit e imagine to post here.. (k's pic are too big), last time i alway get piglet to help me..

All handsome & beautiful princess really me think to have another bb but my gynea stated that my womb was stressed during preggie for k.. hence homo unbalance liao.. hard to get preggie.. haha my wish comes true.. only 1 child.

Milo66,
Just sharing two cents, if u really want to have another bb, start now.. best to have their age gap closer.... :p

Annie,

if u din try, u never know leh..coz my gynae also told me that my uterus shape is kind of unique and diff to concieve but u see , i dnt even need to try hard and i have 2 kidddos!! hahaha

u wan to email me ur prince pic and i edit for you?? u have my email address right...

annie
i've not had time to take her measurements yet so hv not ordered...wat u mean by no size? all too small ah? $10 is cheap rite?

pooh
i love ur ger's hair! I've been waiting for ages for my ger's to grow but now nowhere as long n thick as ur ger...hhaha...any special tips ah?

Hi milo,

^5. i already dunno what is called sleep thru the nite since May 06.
if have another one...gosh...dunno what will happen to me. ha ha!

hoo...just sharing w u guys. sometimes dunno whether my boy is a rascal or angel...was flashing cards to him when he snatched away my cards and flashed (sort of) them back to me yestd. it was so funnie...they really know how to imitate our actions. nowadays need to be more careful in how i act..
keke

<font color="aa00aa">Pooh</font>,
Many thanks .. hug hug & kiss..

Well, hb & I nvb want a bb, k is <font color="0000ff">accident</font>, really a big step for us. Moreover, one rascal is really enough to handle liao. Hb comment if 2nd bb turns to be a boy, how? hahah..

cheri

no special tips lar. but i have never cut my gal's hair before...except trim her fringe lor. only trim once at Fantastic sam when she was 4 mths old (for the sake of chinese tradition). now, i trim her fringe myself like once every 3 mths or whenever i see her fringe touching her eyebrown. So ex to go saloon jst to trim fringe leh..

milo,

nope. he just like to wake so that we can pet him. if u dun, he will start screaming n the entire nite diff to sleep. i think its to assure him that someone is w him in the room.he kindof timid la..ants also scared

hi annie..
dun think he's smart..he just like to imitate pple. all bbies the same. for ie, he loves to use cloth to wipe the table floor etc...ha! thats why my tissue always runs out

feeding...any tips or special recipes? think rayne sick of the porridge i cook, he dun eat much these days,

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,
Oh! seems like our little one wakes up @ nites..
my k wakes up for water (1 or 2 slips). *Faint* or try to "squeeze" his way to sleep with me.(ie will climb out from his toddler bed n crawl to my mattress; next to him; all on e floor)

lh_jyc,
maybe can try rice? k doesn't eat mee sua <u>but</u> other noodles all ok, <u>not</u> porridge but rice with soup... :p

re sleeping thru at nite
my ger started sleeping thru from 7+ mths. i would say that for 90% of time, she will sleep thru in her cot from 8+ pm to 7+ am...so guess i cannot complain hhahah

lh jyc
my ger oso hates porridge n rice...think she jiak kan dang one...my pd says it's ok...try to think like an angmo...they oso dun take rice but subst that wif other carbo laden foods like potato, pumpkin, pasta etc...my ger loves to finger feed herself so for lunch, we'll still insist that she takes porridge or soup noodles but for dinner, will just prepare stuff that she can feed herself like fish/meat patties, hard boiled eggs, pancakes etc. No choice gotta be creative wif her menu or else she wun eat at all.

Cheri,
K wears size 4 but only 1 pce for red colour. Sigh* Not sure is it consider cheap, i brought $29.90 @ kiddy palace... <u>but</u>, i presume some other places might be selling similar @ cheaper price. Maybe can try Chinatown or Bedok.. :p

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,
Thanks for sharing with me how to handle our small one..
I just found that i brought this book few mths ago.. think will be v handful to use now..

Title: <font color="0000ff">Supernanny - How to get the Best from your children</font> By Jo Frost

Title: <font color="0000ff">The Happiest Toddler on the block - the new way to stop the daily battle of wills and raise a secure and well-behaved one to four year old</font> By Havery Karp

Guess its time for me to polish myself..

Hence, anyone willing to share any recommend on any books?

Time really flies. Okay will look for time to upload my princess photos!!! Lookingat the pics of the babies and toddlers.. maybe I think its time for o 3... hahahaha

Gathering for Christmas:

Sure can gather at my place.

However, Any mummies thought of sharing the cost then we can host a little play gym session for our kids. then they will be entertained then proceed to some makan session. I am just thinking out aloud...

Hi cheri..

so envious tat ur girl wants to feed herslf..my boy so lazy he even refused to hold his own biscuits. he wants us to hold them for him. he takes a bite...walk around and then take again. hiaz... will try the pancake thingy ;p

Hi gabby,

Good idea. am okie w sharing. but need to know the date..

annie
i borrowed the Happiest Toddler book from the library recently n really like it a lot...recommended to some mummies from the sahm thread too...there's a DVD for it too but quite ex, so i din buy. I find his perspectives n tips on how we should talk differently to tods v interesting n refreshing. I really like the book!

gabby
yes, having a playgym thingy session for them sounds great! i'm ok wif splitting the cost too...keep us updated.

lhjyc
i buy the pancake mix from supermart...can't recall which brand but i try to choose one that has no artificial flavouring etc...my ger doesn't like the pancakes plain, so i add a bit of steamed apple (her fave!) to the mix n then cook the pancake...she loves it!

pancake:
actually quiite easy to do yourself...
Add some flour, 1 egg, some buttermilk then into the pan and done!
Eh...i also dunno how much i usually use but i just agar agar..as long as the batter is of the right texture then can put in liao.

gabby,
playgym thingy okie for me too!

Playgym plus Christmas celebrations

Where do you propose to do it? There are so many to choose from:

gymbore - Tanglin; Marine Parade
My Gym -Great World

i am so excited now...

ivy
hahah..i'm lazy so just buy the pancake mix n cook...

gabby
does it mean we hv to go to the playgym to do the celeb? eg. My Gym will be GWC???

maybe if our thread mummies too few, can invite some other thread mummies too...or our own frens..think they will only do if we meet a minimum number...

maybe let's propose some dates first...for me, weekends r ok except from 16 to 22 dec as we will be in taiwan...

anyone else need to block off some dates then we can narrow down further?

gabby
not sure if these gyms do parties..some of them r more of indoor playgrounds...no structured activities.

1) JWT
2) Go Go Bambini
3) OCC Kidspot