(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Good Morning Everyone!
ydnic, heard frm my friend that mummies taking Obimin tend to have big babies. Not sure how far it is true. My galfriend who is working in SGH also took obimin and her baby was 3+kg. Quite a ok size. Her colleague took obimin and was nearly 4kg. I did call up some clinics to check if they have Obimin but so far no luck. Never crossed my mind to check out Pharmacy. Will go check out today.

U can get Neurogain from Unity and Guardian. Unity is cheaper at $29, and u get 5% if u are NTUC union member. Obimin is also cheaper in Unity, $15++, Guardian abt $18++.

I bought from pharmacy rather then my obs, should be cheaper.

INO,
Yes, they have this type of injection that you are conscious when they "open your tummy" .. but my 1 of my gf went through.. she complaint that she suffers backache after she had the injection.. According to my gynea, he d mention that there has some side effects but not everyone will experience..
My gf already delivered 4 years ago n till now,the pain is still with her.. thats y make me give up the thought of it..

fairysnowberry,
Oh! yes, i have neurogain.. but not omega 3..cos read from a book that omega 3 can only be retained by body by food not through pill.. neurogain - fish oil does help bb to develop well nerves in the brain.. which actually we need it now till labour..

Thanks for the info. I will look for Neurogain at Unity. I went Guardian yesterday but didnt see any Neurogain. Maybe the outlet i went to was out of stock.

hi ino,

your weight gain is kind of little compared to some of us. i think our average weight gain is 8kg from start of pregnancy. i wonder why your gynae is asking you to watch your diet.

i dun know how much i have gained since cny..i am guessing another 2 kg or so. that will mean a total gain of 10kg. next check up is on valentine's day.

hi anastasia,
coz my gynae says that it's the most ideal to put on 10-12 kg thru' out the whole pregnancy. Guess it's easier to lose the weight bah... instead of snacking now, think i will need to go and buy fruits instead.

btw, what's the weight of your bb now? mine is over 800 g at 24 wks...

hi fairysnowberry,
how come u dun get neurogain from your gynae? i just bought neurogain from my gynae at $28. Seems cheaper than those sold at pharmacy.

hi annie,
if i'm not wrong, the injection is an epidural. Yes, that's the side effect of an epidural. Guess it's heng/suay....so i'm still undecided whether to have epidural anot too.

Hi gals, anastasia,
Anyone experience that your tummy seems like weighing heavier and seems like pressing the urine tract.. tend to feel an urge to go toilet.. Wondering is it week 26, too early to experience such systom?

I oso feel like the chest seems to bust out. Even through, i got myself extend bra strip oso seems tight for me.. is it the tummy growing "UP"

pebbles (pebblestones76)

Thanks for info. Where is wax affair, u have the contact. I went to strips at holland village 3 times. hmm...quite pushy with their products and package. dun like.only one plus point, its clean.

been thining of going brazilian waxing, trying to muster my courage. Painful for me leh. Thinking of buying epilator, but then dun know if it can be used for brazilian waxing

hi ino,

hmmm...different gynaes seem to have different opinions. mrs wong who conducts the prenatal class at TMC says any weight gain up to 20kg is fine for Asian women.

my baby was about 600g at 24 wks. i am in my 26th week now.

annie,

my tummy has grown bigger over the past week but dun feel the weight yet. dun see any increase in visiting toilet. what i read is that this will happen in 3rd trimester.

i experience the same thing with my chest. even though on days that i wear non-wired bra, i feel very 'tight'. if i slouch, the tummy is like pushing up against my chest...very uncomfortable.

Hello everyone!

Annie, of course the tummy will gets heavier over time because your baby is growing daily mah :p As for going to the toilet more often......yes for me because i drink lots of water

bookworm, epilator is recommended for underarm hairs, but NOT for BW leh!! You wouldn't want to use it there! It's gonna be a S L O W and more painful experience this way.

Hey girls,
Wondering how you girls keep your bb's scan prints every month?Anybody any good suggestion?
Laminate or keep in dvd holder etc?

hello gals...anyone can feel their little ones rolling inside? can describe to me how does it feel like?

to me, it feel like a super big bubble bursting but unlike his kick, i cant feel it when i place my palm on my tummy. like it only happen internally like that

ydnic,
whatever you do, pls DO NOT laminate the scan. Cos once laminate, your scan will immediately become a black piece of picture. Best way to preserve ur baby's 1st pics is to scan it into ur comp and keep it there lor.

ino,
wah! ur baby over 800g at week 24 ar?? very heavy wor.. and u only gained 4.5kg.. unbelievable! Tell us ur secret!! hahahhaha

milo,
When my girl rolls, i can practically see her movement! Its like a kallang wave! hehee.. and the feeling is like someone literally roll a rolling pin INSIDE ur tummy..quite ticklish actually. but i like! ;P

Any of u feel very breathless and giddy lately? Somehow i tend to get these breathless symptoms very frequently now. Machiam asthma like that.. and then i will see 'stars' after that.. scary leh~~ Dunno issit becos i low blood then will be like that??

Milo/Sponge
Yes, my little one kicks like that too!! hehe. Anyway, what I did was to scan the scan and I kept a hard copy of it1 KS mum. But, cant laminate. The heat used will damage the photo.

Milo
As I am a teacher, I think I will take no pay till towards the end of the year... hehe...

MILO66,
oh! yes, my boy is super monster.. he loves to kick me hard if i sit n bend forward or if i lay down n squeeze hard with my pillow on my laps.. haha... think he feels no space for him inside..tats y he kicks on me..
However, i feel bit strange, seems like he has hiccups a lot especially after i have my meals.. is it normal.. i duno?

ydnic & gabby's mum,
Oh! yes, have to scan the pics else the whole thing will fade off as time goes by.. i only manage to laminade the two pages given by the TMC when i went for my detailed scanning.. cos print out from the normal paper..

Gabby's mum, so good, u r so good to your baby.. taking unpaid leave.. hmm.. i doubt so, else will lost my job..

GALS,

help me.. i brought this $59 for 125ml antistetch mark cream.. think the name is vincyl from guradian.. but i still find some stretch mark around my tummy.. anyone can recommend good brand? so afraid that the mark wont go off like my sis.. although she got back her figure within the confinment mth but the marks are there till now.. help!

Hi Ino, i just started to think i shd take neurogain now so i am checking where are the places that sells neurogain. I will check w my gynae if he sells it at his clinic, if he does, i will purchase it from him :=)

Btw, what's the dosage like? One tablet per day?

We will get to meet each other at this Sat's TMC class again. Its been a long break since our first class.

Fairysnowberry,
neurogain should be in pill form not tablets... one pill per day.. one bottles can only last 30days.. u should calculate how many days left before your labour..

hei hei fairysnowberry and ino...yes...indeed...can't wait for this sat's class. must say hei k? is neurogain a DHA thingy? My gyne sells me this damn expensive $42 Prolecta with DHA for mothers...for 60 softgels...good for baby's brain. well, obimin can be bought easily and for quite cheap too. got mine from kkh pharmacy the last time round..also, it should come free with your package with gyne...at least mine gives...but only that. cheers.

hi fairysnowberry,

it's one capsule per day. If you have taken those Scott's Emulsion cod liver oil in capsule form, then the shape and colour is similar to that. aiyo....how come your gynae never ask u to take?

tho i hate to eat fish, but now i simply got no choice...try to include fish more often in my diet. heard that deep-sea fishes/cold-water fishes like salmon, tuna and mackeral is rich in omega-3...which is good for the devpt of the bb's brain...so have to take more...

hi ydnic,
i keep my scans in my pregnancy journal which i bought from Spring maternity. Tokking about that, it's been a long time since i've updated the journal. ;-P

hi sponge,
i dunnoe lei. i eat normally lor. but i will realli need to control diet now. been having sudden cravings. yesterday, i had cravings for Xiaolongbao and my poor hubby got to accompany to crystal jade to eat....hehehehe...

hi fates.

Thanks , i didn't know that. ha!

For the rest must take more fish and veggie.After lunch now. Nowadays i feel so sleepy

Hi milo66,
Great idea, all depend on individual.. i m fine with it..

just had a heavy lunch.. mac donald..french fries n apple pie.. so full..

Hi there !
I'm from June grp and just pop in once in a while to read your postings :)
Does anyone know where to get Prolecta with DHA for mothers ?? My gynae is chargin me $50 for one mths supply (60 softgels - taken twice a day)
Quite ex horr ?

Prolecta with DHA for mothers???$50??? Wow...i have been complaining to my frends that i have been paying $38 per month for the Prolecta(60softgels-taken twice a day).wow tot i am paying for a premium product so tot of changing to Neurogain which is cheaper about $30 per box.
I oso got it from my gynae.Thomson Medical.

hi fates.

Thanks , i didn't know that. ha!

For the rest must take more fish and veggie.After lunch now. Nowadays i feel so sleepy

Ydnic: i tot Neurogain is Iron supplements ??
Wow, my gynae ripping me off !!!
hahaa, i better look for alternative sources ... do u know if it's avail at the pharmacy ?

k ONG,
neurogain is fish oil meant for helping building nerves in the baby brain.. is it not iron supplements..beside, u cant take iron pill or tables without gynea stated that u need it..cos excess iron in yr body can actually harm to your baby. ..causing bb defect..
moreover, iron supplements are suppose to take in the late stage of your pregancy..
Since your EDd is in JUne, currently, u should cont.. with folic acid and calcium pill n multi vitamin (if yr gynea gives u).. personally, i didnt take multi vitamin cos too heaty, only eat 1 each week.. multi vitamin actually are meant for u.. to have healtier body n prevent from falling sick

hei k ong....i guess we should all get ydnic to help us buy....my gyne charges me $42, yours charge u $50...hers charge her $38...hee. i was jus talking about it in a posting a few before yours...yah...would love to meet up with may mtbs....

Haha I dun mind helping your to buy it. Will ask my gynae if they can charge me cheaper if i buy in a bulk haha...Neurogain is another alternative to Prolacta and its much cheaper.Will also ask gynae on that too.

Annie: thanks for the clarification, i wrote wrongly, it sld be neurobion (cant remember exact spelling)

Chris: Yah ! why the discrepancy i wonder ?
so my gynae makes $ from the sale of supplements huh ...

ydnic: haaha, really ? thanks ! i am checking with my doc friend if he can get from pharmacy cuz Guardian doesn't sell it ...
will update when i get more info !

hi galz,

Wanna check with u guys, im now ard 25weeks, yesterday discovered have some blood discharge once in the afternoon and a few times in the night but after few wipes, clear liao not like having period. anyone experience that?

I am from the June 06 thread & am consolidating the next bulk purchase for Neurogain Pb fish oil plus. For me, gynae recommends taking the capsules from 3rd month. It costs about $31 (30 capsules) to buy from the gynaes and pharmacies.
I have contacts to get at $26.50 each for a minimum of 5 bottles.

Pls kindly email [email protected] by 15/2/06. Thank you

Anyway, for those who are clueless abt Neurogain PB plus fish oil, these are the info.

Product Details
DHA & AA: EFA`s with a structural & functional outcome.

Everybody needs DHA & AA. DHA & AA are particularly important early in life to meet structural requirements for brain & eye development, growth and immune functions. DHA & AA enter into the composition of biomembranes and play an important role in the proper functioning of the membranes and receptor-neurotransmitter functions.

Our ability to synthesize DHA & AA from precursors ALA & LA is limited. We rely more on dietary sources of DHA & AA rather than conversion from precursors. It means, the less we get DHA & AA from our diet, the less we have in our body. At times of high requirements, like during pregnancy & lactation, such a dietary intake should not be neglected in order to minimize the risk of deprivation. DHA & AA can be found in fish & eggs.

A healthy & balanced diet is particularly important during pregnancy & lactation to minimize the risk of fetal dietary deprivation. Conditions like closely spaced pregnancies, multiple pregnancies, unhealthy maternal diet, lifestyle should require extra attention.

?Maternal DHA consumption during pregnancy and lactation continues to be studied intensively as a means to improve pregnancy outcomes as well as to optimize perinatal brain and retinal development.?

What is NeuroGain PB PLUS
NeuroGain PB PLUS is a special formulation of conditionally Essential Fatty Acids for Pregnant & Breast-feeding women. NeuroGain PB PLUS is rich in DHA, low in EPA with AA & OA to help Pregnant & Breast-feeding women meet important pre & peri natal nutritional requirements. NeuroGain PB PLUS provides a balanced intake of omega 3 Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA), omega 6 Arachidonic Acid (AA) and omega 9 Oleic Acid (OA) fatty acids.

Who needs NeuroGain PB PLUS

Pregnent & breast-feeding

History of low birth weight, pre-term births

Frequent, multiple pregnancies

Allergy to fish & eggs

Poor, unbalanced maternal diet

What is the ratio of DHA : EPA in NeuroGain PLUS ?
The NeuroGain PLUS "DHA oil" is specially concentrated in DHA and diluted in EPA to mimic natural levels of DHA & EPA in the human milk in line with WHO recommendations for DHA supplementation at an early stage of life.

Early in life, high EPA levels may lead to: increased blood loss at the time of delivery , depressed AA status and affected growth.

Ingredient
DHA-rich edible fish oil, AA, OA, EPA and Vitamin E as antioxidant in a soft bovine gelatin capsule (gelatin, glycerine, water)

The DHA: EPA ratio in this formulation is higher than 10:1.

Direction

Dosage : Take 1 capsule daily with meals or as directed by your physician.

Hi Hazel, Me too on and off i have some spotting after i have been walking for too long or too tired or stand for too long...Have asked the gynae and she asks me to rest more, walk less and stand less.
Mine was spotting type.Not as frequent as yours...

morn gals!

anyone interested in stocking up nepia diaper? called their hm delivery yesterday.. they need min 4 packs to deliver.

$14/pc

Newborn - 60 pcs (up to 5kg)
S - 54 pcs (4 - 8kg)

by the way, how many pack of newborn diaper shld i stock up on huh? my friends bb stop wearing NB since 2 weeks old as he was abt 3.5kg at birth liao.

experience mummies out there, how many diapers a bb need per day for the 1st mth huh?

hi ydnic,

how u consider some spotting ar? luckily thru out whole night no longer any blood liao or maybe i was having some spotting as u mentioned. Think i was too tired as recently when i do some housechores like vacuum n mop floor i will feel extremely tired and backache.

Do we need to buy diapers now? Heard that the hospital will give u different samples to try then we go and buy it ourself.Cos not every BB can accept whatever diapers we buy...Is it true?

ydnic,

is it? duno leh, wat i heard is the hosp will provide u with diaper to use on our bb after we pop, balance can take hm.

guess will need to buy some recommended diaper to put at hm to use. if really bb cannot accept then change lor. heard bb change abt 7-9 diaper per day, unless u intend to use nappy first, i scare the sample given by hosp not enough to last leh.

Hazel...its like small dried blood spots...very small n little...the color is light brown n not the fresh dark blood color.
Think u better minimise ur housechores...ask your hubby to do it.

Hi Milo66, Will ask my gynae advice next week and share with your.
BTW are u the one having 2 dogs at home?

Hazel do u have piles?If not then better consult ur gynae.

Hi milo66, ur username seems familiar.U have two shih tzus?Yap i have one dog at home too. Having difficulty bathing her already. Have to spend money to bring her to basic grooming very 2 weekend.

ydnic,

keke.. i have 2 jrts *faint* they are terror monsters ah.. my hubby is the one that used to bath them cause he is the only one they fear..

now my hubby is overseas and i had my first try of bathing them last week. i can tell you, its a terrible experience! i bath them one at a time. kept wanting to run cause dun like water.. and i already got diff sitting on such a low stool still gotta fight with him.. think next week onwards, will jus go ahead and send them for bathing session ah