(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

bulma,
ur method n ur mum method the same but i prefer ur method cos hor i think blend cooked porr likely to induce wind. hehee..but ang mo blend the porr lah.

btw, do u wash the uncooked rice before grinding to smaller grain? how small u grind till? is it v v fine till powdery?

i use normal rice to cook porridge for Elvin. I just the rice and dump into the slow cooker it take abt 1.5 to 2 hrs can eat liao. It already so soft and thick already. Elvin like to eat think thick porridge.

Etelle,
i only cook once for 2 serving lei. Wat i do is after cook i scoop out 1 portion to feed elvin another portion i put into the Tiger food jar. SO after a few hrs the porridge still very hot so dun have to reheat liao.

Wat i hear is if the porridge is cold and u reheat again will have wind but if it always hot then it ok. Dunno lar. I feed Elvin in this way since abt 2.5mths liao so far he ok lei. No problem lor so i continue.

i find that my belnder is wasted. Now i dun blend food for elvin already. I just smash after boiling for sometime lei. I only use the grinder to grind the ikan bills.

wah, bulma.. your method bery ley chey and time consuming leh...

same as u jappooh, i also smash the ingredients when they are cooked and soft. sometimes, will use a food grinder for vege like broccoli.

vonvon
so far i have not tried tomato but the usual recipe would be:

- pumpkin (will replace with carrots/potato/sweet potato)
- broccoli
- fish
- meat (pork/chicken)

that time i went market to buy din realise that ngoh fish is so expensive... $7 for a small piece, even more ex than cod. Word of caution, pls remember to check for fish bones when cooking ngoh fish coz that time my gal cannot finish her porridge so i eat her leftover and i actually fished out a fish bone... cannot imagine if she swallows it!

anyway, how much porridge are you gals feeding per meal? I am feeding one scoop (using the FM scoop). So 1 day, 2 scoops of rice.

summer,
more even broccoli i also smash lei..After cook quite soft liao.

YOur scoop is whcih fm scoop? Diff fm have diff size lei..

Abt fish yes must be careful cos i spot the bones afew times also.

Mine is like tat.. hehe :p

529333.jpg

Hi Feza,

Can....will collect from you tomorrow. Can u sms me ur address again? I can't remember the place liao....hehe...forgetful lah!

Bulma,

Wah...u really take pains to cook for Jarren huh? My friends can't believe that up till now, I've not cooked a single porridge meal for Marcus...haha (& I'm laughing over it some more...haiz!).

Summer,

Thanks for your receipe. Will try this weekend.

Jappooh,

I'm thinking of buying a slow cooker also. So, just need to throw all the mashed ingredients together with water & uncooked rice into the cooker to slow cook will do? Or wait till porridge is done before adding the ingredients to slow cook?

Those who's going to Violet's place for gathering, who wants Dumex Step 2? I've got 2 small tins to give away.

Let me know who wants & I'll bring it along that day.

The pictures are taken at my house today. Kelly came over after we went walk walk for a while at jurong point. Does it seem in the picture that zi jie is saying "i didn't make him cry!" ha ha....cute right hsi expression...and he loves the camera

Bulma
u really make an effort le.For me hor can cook 2 times no problem and each time about 2-3 hours each using the slow cooker lor. Actually now easier cuz the porridge need not be very nua nua so alright cuz ethan can chew and swallow liaoz...

von and bochap,

the address is blk 524 Bedok North St 3.. i will be there from 3 to 8.. i will sms you tmr using my hubby s phone then we contact from there.. call me when you all coming la so i can bring the stuff down..

sally,

i like the calendar but hor can update the pics or not??

Feza
OK. Thanks! I was abt to ask u how to contact u tomorrow? hehe!

Etelle,
Why Ethan cried? hehe scare of Zijie ah? Wait 1 fine day, Ethan see Yujie also cry haha... Both ZJ n YJ born on same day, both "er" ren haha!

Sally
Good job leh! I wan the calendar also. Hmm... maybe we should update the pic liao!

vonvon: i wan the Step 2... hehe thank u huh...

etelle: hehe ZJ like so innocent like tat rite.. hehe so cute.. but y darling ethan cryin??

amanda/ siewlng
ethan hor cannot see me get "far" from him one. I want to take picture he thought i leaving him so he cry lor ha ha...and he wun stop crying until i go to him one hee :p

Bulma
U bery wu xin leh... how come both of us come from same teacher but diff cooking styles? hehe!
I jus throw all ingredients into the pot n boil till nuan nuan... then ok liao. Then I use spoon n smash the veg loh. For broccoli I jus cut the top portion to cook, never cook the stem for yj.
I never use the blender so far.

My PD also told me to give YJ meat, fruit n veg everyday to keep up her nutrient. So nowadays, I give YJ fruits b4 meals abt 10am or 4pm. As for milk she still drink 5-6x. Total abt 600ml.

I read the "The Contended baby of Weaning" book say at tis stage (abt 8month old) giving milk to drink with protien reduces iron adsorption by up to 50% leh. Btw 7-9months, it is important to work towards establishing 3 proper solid meals a day.

Summer
I gave YJ 2 scoops of uncooked rice (of course cook as porridge lah) each meal. I am using those white plastic spoon tat can be found at food court. Most of the time, YJ can finish 1 rice bowl of porridge, after that she still can drink 80-100ml milk.

Jappooh
Good idea hor, cook n store in the jar. Hmm... I think I will follow suit.

mashy..
ZJ always act innocent lor.. dats y etelle keep dun believe me he's a little terror until she finalli see for herself lor..

siewlng / amanda..
hehe... the moment put ethan by ZJ side he start cry immed lor.. haha... n wun stop until etelle carry him lor.. haha... mayb cos ZJ very loud n noisy bah... ethan buay tahan him.. hehe..

etelle..
ZJ not gd boi wat.. dats y see ppl cry he most happy lor...

yvonne..
hehe.. its the truth abt the crabs... we kena so many times liao.. mayb gotta do with full moon n high tides bah... so hb oso wun bring crabs hm on ard full moon period.. watse of money :p

bochap, same shifu but i improvised myself and end up bcom so many steps hahahaha so i m a stupid diciple hahaha u see everyone laughing at me for cook porridge so many steps hehehehehhe

sally, i wan the calendar too...

mashy, good idea to update photo hor but think ley chay for sally... so nvm hehe

amanda, can email me a copy of r one as well then i change into jarren's pix hahahahhaha :p

ivory: hehe ZJ cute la.. hehe

bulma: i send u on monday k... hehe i in office then will do all these things one.. haha

etelle: when i gonna do next year one then i ask u for ethan pics....

gals.
any1 wans to buy stage 2 Enfapro 900g?
I got 3 tins.
Recently, Tavis took it and had diarrohea.
not suitable for him.
Don;t know why?
Initally okie.. but now cannot?
let me know.. I sell any1 who is interested at $28 per tin.

oscar,
My boy taking Enfapro A+ (gold lid). But my hb bought at $26.50/tin. If u can sell me this price I take. U should have post earlier because we just bought 3 tins early this week.

But dun mind to get 3 more tins.

bbcutie
yes it is foam mat. Bought it from mini toons hee
that time the girls were talking about it and then i thought its better than abc mat...easy to keep

Mimi,
I oso wan the calendar. Pls send to me. Thanks!

I have a packet of Dumex nutrakids fine cereal, if anyone wants can take fm me during the gathering.

Irene / Amanda,

I've got 2 tins of Dumex Step 2 (400g). So, I give both of u 1 tin each, ok?
Will bring along on the day of gathering at Violet's place.

sally dearie lei, can send me the calender too?? email me at [email protected] can???

Bbger ger ah, me miss you sooooooooooooooooo much too, got soooo many things to tell u!!! yr work place where har? see i nearby there boh, we can go for lunch!

babycutie
where u buy the milk powder? how come so cheap?
I bought at $30.90 at NTUC leh.
Wat is the price for stage 1?
$26.50.. ler me ask my hubby coz he paid the milk powder.. if can, i sell u asap

oscar,
I bot it at Pasir Ris. That medical hall sells at cheaper price. So always get my hb to buy there.

If I dun remember wrongly, they sell Enfalac A+ at $27.80.

The medical hall name is called Jin Tai Tong.

Hi Oscar,

babycutie is right....Jin Tai Tong at Pasir Ris West Plaza sells milk powder at cheaper price. You can try buying from there.