(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

Kelly wow the spread was gd so sad tht i miss it... aiyo seeing all the food really make me drool n tht dosen't makes me feel better cos it makes me feel more hungry hahahaha... anyway i make it up to u by singing

*HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO U, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO U, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO KELLY.... HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO U!!!!!*

Gals
I'm feeling better liao thx for all ur concern.

Violet, me cfm wif u again on sat to see whether K better anot, so sry cun reply u too biz plus no access to internet cos they have not given the grant yet n i din ask the other gal to log in for me, me too paisey hehehehe....

ya mashy, yr memory no fail u
jarren is gg for pneumococal 2nd jab on sat so cant go swimming the next day lah

i suggest for the gathering at violet's place just order pizza/KFC delivery or just cater buffet... dun cook or potluck lah v "man fan" :p

tiffany
think bbies initially will need us to help them to sitting position then slowly they will know how to get in sitting position themselves. as for sit longer, think important is their balancing. my boy now can sit up himself, stand up himself with support, and can sit longer but sometime stil will topple down lor cos he v lazy bone haha

i posted a video show him sit up himself. and another is stand up himself. u can go his blog and see. but the stand up one dunno why he fell haha usually he stand quite long refused to sit down cos he "hao lian" wanna stand hahahhaha

but since he knows how to crawl and sit and stand, put him to sleep bcom a BIGGER problem then ever. he will refuse to lie down to sleep but keep wanna practise and "hao lian" his sitting, crawling and standing skill... headache manz...

as for his crawling, though better liao but stil some x bit wobbly.

etelle
i read fr ethan's blog. he refused porridge for dinner cos it's not fresh ah.. u mean u cook 1x in the morning and let ethan eat for lunch and dinner ah? i think better dun lei...

just to share with you my thought hehe not sure my theory right or not but i personally think porridge put too long will "shen feng" (got wind) no good for bb. also i fl not healthy to eat porridge that cooked so many hours ago lor even if u reheat also i fl not nutrient and no good for bb.... i hv been insisting my mum to cook separately 30mins b4 his meal (eg 30mins b4 his lunch and 30mins be his dinner) so that it's fresh and luckily she finally agree and has really been doing it for many weeks liao
i all the while like dat when i cook porridge for my boy. i dun cook and let him eat as lunch then again as dinner lor hehe cos even myself, i also cant take porridge that were cooked few hours ago. i will hv stomach cramp after eating.

hehe just sharing... dunno my theory right or not lah :p mayb other mummies wanna share and correct me if i m wrong.

I agreed with Bulma abt the ways of cooking porridge for our darlings. Cook for lunch and cook another fresh one again for dinner. That shd be the way loh...

Bulma
i think u r right leh...i will cooked separetly from now on...i think not good to cook one time for 2 meals and the hours apart so long...sigh...30mins before enough time ah? u use wat to cook???

violet: i hands up w Bulma on the lunch...

etelle: ya dun cook one time then eat 2 meal.. not good for the bb... i tink the day before the infant care dunno is it like tat let xin ru eat... then when she came back at nite, her stomach 'so windy' leh.. then she really feel uncomfortable and keep cryin in pain... after tat i apply the Ru yi oil on her twice and she poo then she can smile liao... so better cook separetly ya...

stella,
i think bulma blend the porr after cooking so no need cook so long. rite, bulma??? heehee
yep. my mum also says not so gd to cook for 2 meals n keep th porr so long. will "shen feng".
she says eat porr for a meal a day n the other meal can eat cereal lor if really no time to cook. hee

porridge if use the 'sui mi' to cook will be very fast. Normally see my maid cook very chop chop finish, it's the cooling down that takes a bit of time.

mindy
thanks for bringing the oil back! How to pay you for it? ib?

"sui mi" should be the water that you use to wash the rice.. usually after 2-3 rounds? Correct me if i am wrong. hehe. Kay poh here.:p

<font color="ff0000">MINDY</font>
YOooo hoo... thanks yah!! How to pay u? And how much per bottle? Jia lat, quite difficult to collect from Kelly too. At Violet's hse i guess.. Can?

BTW, I saw ur purchase in the Coach BP. Very nice leh, I may get the same one.. but hor. just wondering how big is it. Me gu niang, cannot carry too big bags.. kKKkeekekek.

<font color="ff0000">Solids</font>
Annika still not eating porr too well. She tends not to open her mouth! Instead, using her tongue to push out the food. I v headache. Last time my boy was so greedy.. can't wait for the foods to come one leh..

Bulma &amp; Amanda,
I oso more pro to order KFC/Pizza hee....
If no other suggesstions then I'll just stick to that.

Pls let me know what to prepare for your little ones and the elder kids.

Violet
For the kids, maybe can fry some chicken/fish nuggets, or those Japanese seaweek chicken pcs. I can volunteer to contribute that.
Anyway, adults also can eat.

claire,
the sui mi can be bought or u grind them yourself?

sunshine,
i buy Japan sushi rice (zhen zhu mi) too. but my mum says still need to cook a few hrs leh...so i thinking of grinding them.

Claire,
Where to buy the broken rice grain? Mayb I will get it n cook for Nichole too. If not, somex wana go out then the porridge take such a long time to cook. Even if I soaked the rice for abt 2 hrs, oso need abt 1.5hr to cook till soft.

Violet,
Another suggestion:
933 Curry Chicken wrap in Bun n other snacks like fried dumpling n ?????...haha..need to call n check with them on their menu..got free delivery as long as buy 2 buns..

Violet, I think for babies, no need to prepare foods for them lah. Every baby is different, and feeding them will be so messy at ur place. I will feed Annika milk too.

The 933 buns are nice! I also ordered their fried mee siam,not bad. If we order the curry chicken, it can be eaten with the mee siam. That's what we ordered in the office..Yummy..

I think the supermarkets like NTUC sell sui mi. I not very sure coz my IL buy n maid cook, so i out of the picture
My gran ground brown rice into powder to cook porridge too, then together with the brown rice she added a bit of the pearl powder, ginseng powder. That one cooks really fast. She brought to this guy at little india (coz she lives that area) to grind, n he knows it's for bb so he'll make sure the machine is not used for stuff like chili etc beforehand.

Claire,
The broken rice is use for cooking porridge right? Like those selling in hawker centre tpe of porridge right?

If so, I ever ask my mum how come dun buy those rice that cook liao look exactly like those hawker selling porridge. She told me those are lao ya rice leh. And very cheap only. So she said use whole grain is better but hv to cook longer.

thanks thanks for ally our kind advices...i know my mistake le...hee
will be more diligent to cook for Ethan

Rice
what kind to use...i go NTUC or Cold Storage i also don't know what kind to buy le...cannot find the japanese rice leh....sigh....i want to buy those can easily cook one...Claire where to buy the sui mi???

Mindy,
u gg to violet's plc?? i miss u soooooo muchy leh... hahahaha... so long din c u liao... but i tink we will hav plenty of chances together coz we'll b working closely together.. ;p

babycutie

Yah, it's true the broken rice is cheap rice coz they are broken! :p Broken rice not sui, so will be sold cheaper. Last time pp very poor will buy the broken rice to cook coz cheaper.

Can we vote? I will go with most preferred choice selected by all of u so I will not vote.

1) Mini Buffet <font color="ff0000"> 0</font>
2) KFC / Pizza <font color="ff0000"> 0</font>
3) 933 golden pillow <font color="ff0000"> 0</font>

Re: Rice
Normally I soak the normal rice for 20min then cook for 1 hour can liao ah... dun even pound leh.
Now nanny give YJ rice leh. But bery soft rice, n add water. She like leh. So hate to eat tat Cantonese porridge leh.

Mashy
Ya, we can exchange books liao... But YJ not so guai will sit there n read books lah

1) Mini Buffet <font color="ff0000">0</font>
2) KFC / Pizza <font color="ff0000">2</font>
3) 933 golden pillow <font color="ff0000">0</font>

what do you gals use to cook your porridge? i use slow cooker... but i m like etelle, i will cook for 2 meals. on weekends, will wake up at 7am and prepare all the ingredients and dump inside... ready to serve at 12-1pm, no need to grind the rice.

summer,
Same here. Cook using slow cooker at 6.30am and serve at 11-12pm. For lunch only. Currently he only eat 1 meal of solid.

Re: Porridge

Actually I find that the porridge that my MIL cooks for Marcus tend to be too 'solid'. I told her need to mash it finer but she said Marcus can take it well, so no need to purposely blend it too fine, so long as it's soft enough.

I didn't argue with her coz' she has been feeding all of my hb's nephews &amp; niece the same way. So far I've never cooked porridge for Marcus b4....actually paiseh to say this....haha. Coz' most of the time, she will have the porridge prepared &amp; all I've to do is to bring him over to eat &amp; then we go out (stay opp blk). If outside, will give him cereal or milk.

Thot of buying slow cooker &amp; let him have a taste of mommy's cooking on weekends. Hehe!!

What do you gals normally put in porridge? My MIL put ngoh he or cod fish, plus vege or potato. Can we put tomato?

von,

yr cereal is with me.. i will be at bedok (the same place you collect yr stuff that time) tomorrow.. so you wan to collect tmr? lemme know..

Violet
Lunch gathering at violet's place @Sengkang

Date : 15-Oct (Sunday)
Time : Lunch time around 12nn ~ 1pm onwards?
Menu : Pot luck or any other suggesstions?

Attending :

1) Ivory n bb ZJ (hehe.. order hm delivery beta.. i no hands to carry the food over.. haha..)
2) Yvonne n Nicholas n bb Nichole (Ya lor...same tot as Ivory...)
3) irene n Keagan ( hb not sure will cfm later)
4) Jes and Jarren (hb to be confirmed)
5) Amanda and Xin Ru
6) Sunshinekid + GnA (1 baby, 1 toddler)
7) bbger, hb n bb shayna
8) Von, hb, &amp; Marcus
9) Siewlng, hb &amp; Yujie

Total Adults, bbies, kids -
13 (+ TBC), 9, 2

Food for bb, I will cook n da bao porridge for yj.

1) Mini Buffet 0
2) KFC / Pizza 4
3) 933 golden pillow 1

aiyo, alamak, me last nite blur blur, go n pour uncooked water from kettle n mixed with hot water to make milk for yj... she drank 40ml. Hope she nothing wrong today n tomorrow...

1) Mini Buffet 0
2) KFC / Pizza 5
3) 933 golden pillow 1

Re cook Porridge
my method is as follow:-
1. Chop ingredients to small pieces
2. Put to boil
3. whil eboiling ingredients, put uncooked rice to blender to blend to grains
4. SCoop up the boiled ingredients and 1-2 tablespoon of the water.
5. use the balanced ingredients water to boil the blended uncooked rice for about 20-30mins into smooth porridge
6. while boiling porridge, blend the cooked ingredients into puree using blender.
7. Once porridge boiled, can be served.

Total time taken about 45 mins.

for my mum, she bit lazy lah but i also ok w her method lah but just prefer my own way cos i feel my way the nutrients for the ingredients will be more than her method hehe not sure i m right or not hehe

1. put rice and ingredients to boil tgther. when rice cooked liao... she will scoop everything out and put to blender to blend...

time taken : 20mins

mayb u all can comment whether which method is better haha my mum feel my method "ley chay" and troublesome hahaha i dunno lei... do u all think actually is the same? cos my mum say is same one my method or her method haha

Bulma,
Juz saw J'blog, looks like you have slimmed down quite a lot...

Ivory,
U soo funny....read abt ur posting to the Jan's mummies...crabs no meat, only water...hahaha
Actually Jan mummies very onzzz sia..they are having sooo many gatherings n even going to have photoshop of babies @botanic gardens..mmmm..mayb we shoudl organise one too...but who will take the photograhs for us huh?Or need to engage a photographer?