(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

hi all..i read somewhere ultrascan that we do is not harmful to baby at all, so should be pretty alright to do the scan everytime we go see gynae..anyway,i'm sure we all want to see our baby when we go for check up right?? hehe..

recently, i dun feel much ms oredi, dunno whether it's ok or not...

HI des
yah i agree think ah the scan will not do any harm. Anyway u girls heard of contracting gum disease during pregnancy. My friend whose into her 17th week told me bgetter go see dentist check if case kena gum disease?

etelle

i think if all along you've been diligent in taking care of your teeth, going for regular check ups, u should be ok. Unless u've been neglecting them all this while... :p

Hi Mashy
i brushed my teeth twice a day and yah i take good care of them. check up only went last september hee hee i scared go dentist leh. You know after secondary school i have never been to dentist until last september. To my surprise the dentist said my teeth are well taken care of.. She said i sure make an effor to clean my teeth that i don't have to see them ha ha :p

Oh I feel better after hearing from you girls it's ok to do normal scans. Actually the adults are confusing me.
My mum just bought some birdnest and ginseng for me. I was like is it safe to drink now. Cos I read from here some of the girls were advising it's better to start 2nd trimester. I think my mum is out of touch sometimes.

Etelle I read that some have crooked teeth cos our gum are softer during pregnancy. Dunno true or not. Nowadays when i brush my teeth, I use lesser paste. The smell makes me nauseous.

hi ginger, the reason why some people say to drink birdnest and ginseng in second trim is because now baby too small to absorb the goodness of the birdnest and ginseng, so it's like drink liao also wasted. I think you mum gan cheong for you, must be your first baby right?

Claire,
if ur brown discharge is abit, is ok
so long as is nt red/pink

who is ur gynae?

Gingerale,
u also seeing Dr Euince Chua ah?
so long as she say the scan wont hurt bb, shld b alright

MTBs here
do u all feel ur lower abdomen v tight n some pulling cramps?
I do feel it last night, n tummy seems getting more bloated too
think bb is expanding n make my tummy tight ;p

hi Valerie,
sometimes i feel cramp like the ones i always get during menses. ARe the cramps you say like menstrual cramps

Hi Ivory
it's okie lah i dun know dare to drink or not hee hee :p

Gingerale
actually you want to drink bird nest go ahead and drink lor ha ha but like most of them said sorta like wasted lah if 1st trimester drink so maybe once into 3rd trimester then drink lor.

HI Val
I dun feel cramps lately kinda like no feeling hee hee only the sore breast when press ah pain leh hee hee do u all feel pain? can i check ah inside the breast is there a breast seed? that when u press u can feel it right?

destitonia you are right. First baby. Somemore first grandchild on my dad's side. Alot of pple telling me this and that. Abit too much sometimes.
I'll wait till my 2nd trimester to drink the bird nest.
The ginseng is with the bird nest leh. My mum say ok leh. Think have to remember to ask my gynae about the ginseng nxt time.

HiValerie yup. Seeing Dr Chua. You too?
I don't have cramps. But my tummy is quite tight. Especially after a meal. Always feel bloated too. Sometimes dunno hungry or not hungry.
I just measured my waist. Wow, 29.5cm now. I was 25 before.

Talking about sore breast. Sometimes I feel my breast throbbing with soreness. It lasted for a few minutes only most of the time.

Etelle what is breast seed?

hee...can I cal u Dest?
easier :p

well, mine is on/off pulling cramp in middle uterus,
but today dont hv any cramps :p
but hor...yest had my 1st puke n is mango :p
kekeke....
guess I had indigestin, bought vitagen today n feel better
but evening time m/s come again
want to vomit but only air n saliva :p
n bloatness at tummy

hey gals
m/s is gd cos is a way of protecting our bb

so if we hv m/s till 14th weeks, bb is stronger

Etelle,
yup, feel sore/pain when press my breast
also seems grow bigger

ya gingerale,
me Dr Eunice patient too

hee...me too waist was 25, dun date to measure nw
cos tummy bloated :p

Ashlee,
Dr Eunice Chua is one of the gynae at TLC in TMC
TMC has a lot of pte clinics, TLC is located at level 3

Ashlee as Valarie said. The Dr Chua I am seeing is Dr Eunice Chua from TMC.

I read that m/s is a good sign too. Dr Chua is always telling me no worries when I complain abt my morning sickness. Wanna chk with you girls. Those who experience m/s, do you consider yourself active or healthy before pregnancy?
I always feel sleepy very easily even before pregnancy and the occassional headaches and insomnia. So I'm not really surprise I have m/s now.

Val, I prefer yakult. Vitagen not sweet enuff.hehe.

Hi Gingerale
difficult to explain leh. Like when you squeezed your breast do you feel there is something inside....?

Val
I also feel breast bigger leh but hor should we buy normal bra bigger or go buy maternity bra?

Good morning girls

Had a bad night yesterday. Wake up 2 times to go toilet. Then sleep, dream then wake up then sleep again dream then wake up. intermittent sleep. Then feel vagina itch leh. Wonder why? do you girls have vagina itch?

gingerale: huh.. got m/s then baby growing strong ah.. i dun quite have leh...

Etelle: tot maternity bra is at later stage? hehe.. now maybe buy bigger cup bra first lor... :p
i din sleep well last nite also.. had itchyness at my back then like cannot sleep like tat... haizz basically now everywhere also got chance to itch leh.... now feelin so sian like tat... so tired and dun feel like working...

Hi Amanda
Yah pregnant and working. Hee Hee sounds tiring ah. For me okie lah work is fine so working is fine. Just that need to sleep more if have chance for afternoon nap better still hee hee :p Oooh so buy bigger cup ah maybe i go buy lor. But now ah not over B size but not enough to filla C cup ha ha maybe just hang in there with a b cup until full bloom. Ha ha

M/s will make baby strong didn't hear that from the gynae leh hee hee when i said i no m/s he said evry good, lucky one so enjoy your pregnancy hee hee :p

Val: can call me dest, des, anything lor..

ginger : my gynae also told me ms is good .. hhahah..he was quite happy when i told him i puked quite a lot..he said good good, that's a good sign..as long as some food goes in..

Etelle: i also have been waking up so often during night time. twice almost every night..even try not to drink after 9pm also no use..

etelle: haiz.. u good lor.. me here so KNS one.. everything got to do.. haha now not 3 not 4 rite.. tat's y i din buy then sometime at home dun wear but heavy leh.. hehe.. :p
i saw gingerale msg lah.. then worried me lor... hehe.. :p

i went to OG bugis last weekend and found some maternity clothing at reasonable price leh.. i bought a bottom at $29.90.. can go there see see lor...its at the 3rd floor where the children dept is...

hi gals!

me too! I also wake up at night very often and then cannot sleep after that.

Think it's nature's way of preparing us for our babies. We won't be getting any uninterrupted sleep next time.

I've bought bigger bra sizes with longer length. It barely fit then when i bought it. Now no problem, can fit into them already. The rib cage is expanding too.

My MIL insists i stay with her during my confinement.
She's a bossy woman, very scared how it will be to live under the same roof.

HAha Des, sometimes I was thinking it's quite sadistic. They are still saying good good although we were hugging the toilet bowl to sleep or feeling so nauseous.

Amanda, not all ladies have m/s though. It's prefectly normal and I also lucky I feel.

Etelle don't think I feel anyone seeds thing leh. Maybe you can ask your gynae about it.

Anyone of you going for the DS test soon?

Oh mashy brainz, feel for you. I'll be quite terrified if it happens to me. Sometimes it's hard to refused your inlaws suggestions cos you're afraid to offend them.
With own mother is ok cos they know your temperament.
Can't you say you're gonna hire a confinement lady or something? Or have your own mother take the job?

gingerale

my MIL wants me to hire a CL & stay with her!
Coz she says like that can have someone there in case the CL needs to go market. But when CL goes market in morning, also nobody around what!

Hmm Mashy I have no idea the diff btw detailed scan and NT scan?I found some info on detailed scan on the web.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/557390.html

Can you share the reason why you are not going for the test? My husband is not very keen on the test cos he is quite against abortion in any way. For me, I am like, at least don't abort, you are prepared though I worry if we can really handle it.

Oh dear! Does she stay near you. Ask her to come over at specific time only, no need to stay over? Say you don't like to have so many pple fuss over you? ehh dunno saying this will offend her anot. Or say your aunty or other elder relatives is gonna help you already?

gingerale

my hb's also against abortion. So since even if we find that bb got DS (touch wood!), and we won't be aborting, no point finding out. It'll only add to our agony.

My MIL doesn't stay that near. My flat's a bit cramp coz my parents stay with me. And getting a CL will be diff coz no space. But my MIL got this superstition (or rather she say in case other pp talk) that mothers shouldn't take care of their daughters during confinement. Mothers will have some mishap wor. Anyway, i was thinking i don't want to overload my stepmom (she's Malaysian) and i supposed she would want to return to M'sia to visit her son during CNY lor.

At first my MIL gave us option to stay in another empty apartment which they own. We told her we'll stay there and she said no. Sigh, keep changing her mind, just like our wedding plans.

Huh really. I never heard before about tt. It's abit difficuilt for you to "siam" hor. Confinement is one month only right? On the bright side, at least not forever lor.

hi girls,

i m back.. m/s is better now.. in fact i feel great.. though my breast hurts and i keep burping (dunno why).. like some of you me too i experience the cannot sleep at nyte.. i will wake up like every hour or so... and i will feel so thirsty and there a weird taste in my mouth... very sourish.. can never seem to go away..

as for the mother and MIL thingy, i think i personally prefer my MIL.. maybe first grandchild so she more concern whereas my own mother very boh chap coz got lots of grand kids already.. MIL came to visit me yesterday.. she and my SIL so sweet bought me maternity clothes.. which i can t wear yet still very loose...

Hi Girls
mother in law and confinement topic ah hee hee :p oh well hee hee for me think confirmed mother be coming to do for me unless something otherwise happens. Then if not see how lor...hee hee :p

I think have to go buy bigger bra and then ah slowly will fill up the whole thing maybe?? As for the breast thing i have already been checked by gynae but he din mention antyhign just said breast is hard so i assume he is talking about what i'm feeling but he din say anything so assume everything alright the next time i go think will ask him hee hee :p but how to ask " Dr anythingw rong with my breasts?" Hee Hee. weird weird leh

<center><font size="+2">February 2006 Babies!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><center>S/N</center></TD><TD><center>Mummy's Name</center></TD><TD><center>Mummy's Age</center></TD><TD><center>EDD</center></TD><TD><center>Weeks into</center></TD><TD><center>Hospital</center></TD><TD><center>Gynae</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Feb-06</TD><TD>11.1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>gingerale</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>02-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Ivory</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>02-Feb-06</TD><TD>11.4</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr KW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>05-Feb-06</TD><TD>10.3</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Etelle</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>11-Feb-06</TD><TD>10.7</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

hi ivory,
can add me into the list

claire 25 24-feb-06 7 prob Mt A Dr Chen Lin Han

Val
Went to see gynae on Fri and thank god he said it's ok, just need more rest and gave me duphaston to take. Now it's cleared up and all is back to normal.

m/s is good? How come all the gd things are so xin ku? I thot was ok, then from 5th wk all the nausea feeling started. Dun puke but still v uncomfortable most of the time. talking abt bird's nest, my colleague said she had a tsp of birdnest every morning that's why her bb skin so beautiful
dunno whether true or not. anyone heard that b4?

<font color="0000ff">hi claire / fan...</font>
added ur details liao... will be able to see at the updated table next Mon

Mashy,
ur MIL is taking care of u during confinement only for 1 mth?
well, tahan abit lor, whatever she cook os gd for u n bb
me also will be MIL,cos she use to be a confinement nanny before
but still will ask my mum if she is doing confinement

Ivory can add my details,thks

EDD: shld be 2md March though maybe earlier like end Feb
currently 7 weeks
age 28
hospital TMC,
gynae Dr Eunice Chua

val

no, she's not cooking for me. Coz recruiting a CL. She's just going to be around.
She's got a long list of 'must dos' &amp; 'cannot dos". I scared i go there i'll feel suffocated.

<font color="0000ff">mashy...</font>
me same as u... though im living with my in-laws, initially i really worried my MIL will start a list of can dos or cant dos when she know im preggy... heng she never did that... instead she help me wash most of my clothes that i oni handwash or machine was my bedsheets.. so got good n bad lah...

now i oso abit worry about the part where i cant bathe for 1 mth... i think i will go crazy... die die will insist i must bath..

ivory
thank you!

yar, i heard abt the cannot bathe bit too but my mom also cannot tahan when she confinement, so she say never mind, can shower and wash hair but must use hot water to do so. And cannot have fan/aircon facing you otherwise old already will suffer. I think now she has bad headaches and dunno what aches.

for confinement makan, i noe sure no prob, either my gran or my aunt-in-law will do, but the rest of it, I haven't thot abt yet. AuntIL said i can go stay at her place during the conf. period, but I can't stand the place. Always got ppl play mahjong and smoke, i tak boleh tahan.

Hi Ivory,

U can add me too..
Ling79 26 EDD 05 Feb'06, current 11 wks Mt A. Dr YC Goh...

Hello everybody...has been quite sometime since I last logged in..very busy with my work lah..anyway I am 11 wks now..gg for my aptment this Thursday. I am not having much MS recently but tummy still feel bloated sometimes leh..

During my last confinement, I oso cannot tahan without bathing even for 2 days.Actually I try to use the dry shampoo but it became worst. So advise to everyone, dont buy dry shampoo for your hair as it is gg to make you feel even uncomfortable. In the end, I oso bathe but once in 2 days lor..sometimes used a warm towel to clean..

i think if don't clean body, at least can wipe. i cannot imagine not washing my hair. My hair smells if i don't wash for 2 days. Can't imagine one month.

totally agree abt the washing part. Can u imagine not bathing &amp; you're bleeding thru out the month, plus u have to breast feed baby leh. So dirty &amp; unhygienic.

I just read a Chinese website (China) on bathing during confinement.

According to them, coz' we're in Summer climate all the time, we can bathe. However, the water has to be very warm from 34-37deg. And have to wipe dry quickly. If u wash your hair, do not tie up, nor sleep with wet hair. Blow dry if possible.

Air your room. If not poor air circulation will make u sick. And Do not Bundle yourself up, or u might get heatstroke. Hey, i'm not kidding on this one. However, also do not direct the fan/aircon on yourself nor sleep without blanket, as you will tend to catch a cold easily if u don't take care.

For more info, refer to this website. I find it very useful and can use to counter objections. After all, China has moved on, but Singapore is still stuck in the 19th Century since our ancestors came down to Nanyang.

http://www.huaiyun.com/yuezihuli/chanhoukangfu/

Hi Mashy
then also quite difficult how we know whta's the temperature of the water and dry fast ah?? Blow dry also take some time for the hair to dry....

gingerale
my scalp also quite oily so if 2-3 days never wash it will be oily lor and then ask me one month dun wash hair?!?!?! I intend to cut short my hair perhaps into the last trimester cuz now i am long hair.....i think when stomach too big cannot bend down and wash hair liaoz....

Ivory
you doing us a great favour here hee hee
Thanks so much
Seems like alot of us delivering at Mt A ah